Customer Reviews for

The Fellowship of the Ring: Being the First Part of The Lord of the Rings

Average Rating 4.5
( 1431 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1104)

4 Star

(180)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Fellowship Of The Ring

I thought that the book was great. You would be able to understand it if you are older than 6th grade. In the story Frodo, a hobbit, inherits a very powerful ring. Frodo and 3 other hobbits travel on a journey to Rivendell to find out what to do with the ring. There the...
I thought that the book was great. You would be able to understand it if you are older than 6th grade. In the story Frodo, a hobbit, inherits a very powerful ring. Frodo and 3 other hobbits travel on a journey to Rivendell to find out what to do with the ring. There they decide that they have to destroy the ring once and for all. The fellowship must travel to the depths of Mount Doom and cast the ring into the fire. What I liked best about the book is that the hobbits aren't the fastest or the strongest of the fellowship, but they don't give up on each other. It is overall a great book that you should read.

posted by 1931781 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Re Re PIPPIN RULES

In the movies, I personally liked the dwarf, whose name I didn't catch, but in the books, I liked Legolas a TON better than anybody else, except for Gandalf. If you thought that this book was slow and not understandable, please remember that Tolkien was from a different...
In the movies, I personally liked the dwarf, whose name I didn't catch, but in the books, I liked Legolas a TON better than anybody else, except for Gandalf. If you thought that this book was slow and not understandable, please remember that Tolkien was from a different time period and that people spoke and wrote differently back than. I would highly appreciate it if you would take the time to actually read and comprehend what the text means. I think that Tolkien, Lord bless his soul, would also appreciate it. Thanks to all the people out tere who didn't have to read this message to take the time to comprehend this trilogy! To everyone who reads this message, thanks!

posted by I_AM_A_DOWNWORLDER on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 56
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    The hobbit

    It's the best book I ever read in my entier young life

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Good book

    I love the whole lord of the rings trilogy! Everyone should read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Movies r cool

    I think the movies r cool i never read the book but i look fourward to reading it cant wait i love the hunger games too started to read it but then i had to reaturn it to the library so sad if u dont like this book you r poop

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Best book ever

    Dont listen to whoever wrote this book sucks. Best book ever

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Fantastic.

    This book is great- I cannot wait to read the next one. Tolkien is so talented. As I'm reading the details are so bright and vivid that I forget that I am reading, I feel like I am journeying with Frodo, or sitting by the fireside with the Company. Read on!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Review

    I just finished the ffirst chapter and it is very good.it seems like it has a plot forming and a problem coming along. Overall i think it will be a great read and a facinating read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    Slow at first, but very immersive.

    Considering the time in which this book was written, it is a masterpiece. Today, however, youths might find it dull and boring. To each their own, but personally, I found this book very interesting and immersive. Many modern fantasies have been based off of Tolkien's "Middle Earth," and that in itself preserves the series in history. The book itself took a while to get started, but in no means became a chore to read. The specific details sent me mental pictures of The Shire and its inhabitants, and the dialogue felt realistic and appropriate. Gandalf stayed true to his character, being wise and kind. Something I enjoyed was the use of poems and songs throughout the majority of Part I, especially when the group meets a man named Tom. At times they lightened the mood when situations became dire, at others they helped characters elaborate certain matters. All in all, this book was a great read, although it only caters to readers who can stay focused and pay attention to the details. I would recommend it to any Adult and a few select Adolescents who could handle it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    The Best!

    Being only the first book in the trilogy, it's kinda slow and draggy until about the middle, after the council of elrond. i was never huge fantasy fan until i saw the movie. then afterwards, i read the book. Number two is so much better and action packed but book 1 is needed to explain alot of the characters. my only complaint is that the females are downplayed a great deal. otherwise, it's my favorite. can't wait to see the third movie!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    To anonymous on To Hey

    It is not a religious book per se but it does have religious overtones in so far as it talks about good and evil. Actually, written in England during World War II, it is an analogy about the struggle between evil, the axis powers, and good, England and her allies. But it operates at many levels. Don't dismiss it simply because you think that it is just religious propaganda. It is probably one of the finest pieces of English literature ever written. On a par with Shakespeare.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2014

    When I first found out about The Fellowship of the Ring I was v

    When I first found out about The Fellowship of the Ring I was very intrigued. I thought the concept of the book and the way Tolkien wrote the tale was amazing. What really grabbed my attention, when I started reading the book, was the lore and the diverse languages shown throughout the series. The Fellowship of the Ring can appeal to anyone of any age, due to the interesting storyline and plot that can get any reader’s attention. 
    In The Fellowship of the Ring you will go on an amazing journey throughout Middle-Earth with Frodo and his friends. You will explore the beauties of the shire and come across the wonders of Rivendell. You will go through many journeys to destroy the evil power of the one ring by casting it in the chasm of Mt. Doom. This is all necessary to defeat the Dark Lord, Sauron. 
    Once you start reading this book you will not be able to put it down because of Tolkien’s precise attention to character traits and ability of good story telling.  I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a heartwarming journey, that consists of hardship and challenges that ultimately show the true heart of the hobbits of the shire. Once you start reading this book you will not be able to put it down because of Tolkien’s precise attention to character traits and ability of good story telling.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    This is an epic book!

    Legolas is my favorite, but this whole book is wonderful and is full of mystical people and creatures from all of J.R.R. Tolkein's world. It is full of page turning chapters of mystery and fantasy. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Awesome!

    I believe that the books are so much better than the movies! They leave so many awesome things that are in the books out of the movies

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    great

    One of my favorite books in the world!!! Best in the trilogy.
    SC

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Fellowship of the RingĀ is by far one of my favorite books ever.

    Fellowship of the Ring is by far one of my favorite books ever. Its the story of Frodo a hobbit who by most accounts has lived a fairly normal and calm life and how he inherits a powerful ring that changes his life. 
    This is the first book of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. In this instalment is the story of Frodo receiving the one ring from his uncle Bilbo. Then being forced to escape evil powers searching for it in his homeland. His quest to the elven city of Rivendell. And the decision of the council there to destroy the ring in the dark land of Mordor. Finally culminating in the adventures of the first leg of their journey.
    I recommend this book to anyone who is like a good fantasy adventure story with twist, turns, and excitement. Also for anyone who enjoys a tale with both happiness and sorrow, with a hint of witty humor throughout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Great

    It is great because i am a big fan of tolkien

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Very good

    All very exciting! And very interesting. I cant put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Great read, Amazing story!

    If you enjoyed the films, then this is a must read! Tolkien had an amazing relationship with Middle Earth lore, and therefor had an amazing depth with not only the characters but the little detail in everything! It is also a great starting point (as well as the Hobbit) to get into the adventures of the ring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    My 4 year old loves it

    My husband, who read all the books as a kid, has been reading it to our 4 year old. It starts slower then The Hobbit but we are still all enjoying it. Even at 4 our child can mostly follow and understand it and its being read not paraphrased. Dont let the size and occasional big words stop you from missing out on an amazing author and a story and characters that will stick with you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Here is something AWESOME.......

    Ok. So, I'm in the fourth grade and I understood the Hobbit. So I think I can understand lord of the rings. Anything I should know???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Thanks person

    Thanks for answering my question, "To Question" now I understand

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 56