Customer Reviews for

The Female Brain

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    A Disagreement

    While this book brings focus to many differences between men and women, it does concentrate on a lot of stereotypes which have been empirically proven not to be real. The book is unjustified in many of the stereotypical assumptions it confirms, for example, that men cannot recognize emotion while women can. It oversimplifies situations instead of allowing for multiple explanations for certain trends. It is a good read to understand what many people will believe to be the problem however, as long as one maintains critical thinking throughout reading this , then one will find this book far more useful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    Loved it!

    This is is very well-written. It is easy to read for beginers and to understand. Brizendine used several examples, some of which were funny. It is extremely interesting and captivating. Not only women should should this but men as well, you might learn a thing or two!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2006

    A NO-BRAINER

    I find this book very unflattering to women, mildly informative and beleaguered with sweeping generalizations. What do we know? Yes women are moody ¿ emotional roller coasters ¿ wired to blow their fuse at the drop of a misperception or doubt and are emotionally out of control. Now women, who for centuries have been accused of having no accountability and sense of reason, are being told by this researcher that all they need to do is to pop a pill and they will be contented and complacent. We will all be able have acceptable female friends, female partners, wives, waitresses and window washers, albeit stoned Stepford Wives. The tears will be replaced with calm and cool, and we will be capable of getting on to the next level of business without the fearsome Carries and Camilles. With regard to women¿s intuition and keen sense of perception, clearly the author leaves out the proposition, that woman by nature (as she herself supposes) are nurturing, and needing of approval and acceptance, and are looking harder and longer for anything that would smack of approval or disapproval, and in vigorously doing so are going to find a flaw or inconsistency. Let¿s not confuse trouble making with table tapping. I think this book does an injustice to the centuries of social pressure and brainwashing put upon women who have become convinced that, without drugs, they have no control over their emotions. It underplays the role of drugless self-analysis and confidence building. On the subject of the male brain, she suggests that that is ¿another book¿. Okay somebody, get with it and let¿s even the playing field. Perhaps a more balanced comparative study would make for better sense of this issue.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    I disagree

    As a woman I have to disagree with the many generalizations in this book. I found many of them to be very untrue. I don't think the author has taken into consideration that many of these behaviors come out in women who are very unhappy. Drugging themselves isn't going to solve the problem, although it may make them feel better. I have not read the male version of this book, and I don't think I will either. It will likely excuse all their behaviors with testoterone, hormones and other brain activity. This book did not take into consideration environement at all either. I give it three stars, because I think that's about how much of the overall answer to women's behavior that it contained. a good 2 stars worth was missing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    I read it to my wife, and we winced and laughed as we came to some recognition of events over our 45 years of marriage. Thank you Dr. Brizendine! This is a must read for husbands and wives, fathers and mothers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    Gives women serious superiority complex!

    This book will leave you truly fascinated with the female brain. Provides good read for everyone. You don't have to be a women's studies major, a man looking to score women, or a neuroscience lover to like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    librarian

    This book is very intriguing! The author combines a scientific work with a narrative that will keep you captivated until the end. The book looks at the female brain, with a few comparisons to the male counterpart, from early development to postmenopausal and analyses what is occurring and influencing the brain's functions at these various stages. One of the best parts of this book is that the author has the credentials and studies to support her research. I would highly recommend this book to both men and women!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    Recognition at last.

    After a very long wait for both thos book and the recognition, women can at last begin to understand why we don't seem to understand men. Like everything else in life, it is our brain. This book does an outstanding job explaining the intricacies of both the brain itself and of its chemical messagers, the neurotransmitters. The author is able to put the newest information in neuroscience into easy to understand language and has writen about a very complex subject in a very readable manner. Overall, I was overjoyed to have lived long enough to finally hear a female scientist state that we are indeed very different from males.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1