Customer Reviews for

Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Insightful expose.

I just finished rereading this. I first read it in college, and have recommended it several times to my high school students. This time it struck me what was wrong about it: while the author methodically and eloquently exposes modern femininity's skewed worldview, no so...
I just finished rereading this. I first read it in college, and have recommended it several times to my high school students. This time it struck me what was wrong about it: while the author methodically and eloquently exposes modern femininity's skewed worldview, no solution is offered. As a Bible-believer I would posit that a right view of womanhood can only be gained when one has a right view of self in relation to our Creator, not our culture. John 3.

posted by MauiMatz on June 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

a big disappointment

I'm not sure why this book has gotten so many good reviews and attention. It seems like the author just wrote a few magazine articles and patched them together. There's no real work here, no real analysis, and nothing terribly new. Parts of the book are fun to read, but...
I'm not sure why this book has gotten so many good reviews and attention. It seems like the author just wrote a few magazine articles and patched them together. There's no real work here, no real analysis, and nothing terribly new. Parts of the book are fun to read, but it's nothing you couldn't get from picking up a magazine or two.

posted by Anonymous on September 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Insightful expose.

    I just finished rereading this. I first read it in college, and have recommended it several times to my high school students. This time it struck me what was wrong about it: while the author methodically and eloquently exposes modern femininity's skewed worldview, no solution is offered. As a Bible-believer I would posit that a right view of womanhood can only be gained when one has a right view of self in relation to our Creator, not our culture. John 3.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Take Off Your Rose Colored Glasses- You've got to read this book!

    The main message in this book is that men have stopped degrading women, but women are stuck being submissive due to their lack of respect for themselves and other women. Women should definitely read this book! It is such a shocker as to how we are holding ourselves back! I enjoyed this book because I could relate to it; I only disliked realizing I do many things the book says not to do. I would recommend the book Intercourse who Ariel Levy co wrote, but only to older audiences. Concisely, Levy exposes how women degrade each other, why they do it, and what behaviors need to change to be respected once more. My overall rating is 4/5 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    Wow.

    I struggle to put my exhilaration into words. Ariel Levy's book was a highly stimulating read. It brought into light many topics and concerns that undoubtedly lie in the minds of many of today's women... and men. Being a young woman about to embark on the collegiate lifestyle, I found the book to be very relevant, but this book is relevant to all of today's women, regardless of where they are in their lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Real 'Liberating Read'

    This read provides a much-deserved, refreshing b-slap in the faces of the pseudo-femninists who have gang raped the true meaning of 'women's liberation' and 'strong women' for way too long. Finally. It also provides an accurate, deep look at the raunch culture. Perhaps this book can also help some worried parents understand their daughters. At times it seems like a patchwork of different articles and incidents, but this book is worth staying up for until 4:30 in the morning. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    a big disappointment

    I'm not sure why this book has gotten so many good reviews and attention. It seems like the author just wrote a few magazine articles and patched them together. There's no real work here, no real analysis, and nothing terribly new. Parts of the book are fun to read, but it's nothing you couldn't get from picking up a magazine or two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2005

    A little lazy...

    I can see why people like this book Levy writes well and it is easy to read. Reading it is a little like listening to a smart friend rant over a topic she is passionate about. That's a strength at first, but in the end I think it points to the book's failing. There's not much content here that you couldn't get by skimming the newspapers. Levy's opinions are not so unusual or so special as to hide the underlying paucity of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture

    Levy is an outstanding writer (I always buy New York Magazine when I see she has contributed) and this book is extremely entertaining and provocative. She manages to boil a very confusing phenomena (why--for example--would 'how to make love like a porn star' make it to the best seller list and why that isn't such a great thing for women) down to an accessible and even enjoyable read. I highly recommend this book not only for the experience of Levy's writing but it is a great book if you are interested in a provocative discussion. Levy is not and does not claim to be an expert in the 'feminist movement' but that is not the point. What she does provide is an excellent take on the trend of 'raunch culture' (even William Safire thinks so). She takes what many have been puzzling about, does some excellent reporting, and wraps it all together into a comprehensive and cohesive study. I¿m sure this was a very difficult book to write.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture

    Levy offers up an insightful analysis of why we shouldn't feel ashamed if we don't find wearing thong underwear or 'pole dancing' powerful. FINALLY, someone has uncovered and explained why the emperor has no clothes when it come to the phenomena of raunch culture. This book is fantastically witty and important.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Love it

    Finally someone addresses how men are hypnotized by sex and how they use women for their insatiable appetite. It also addresses to women to Wake Up and stop letting the inferior sex take advantage of them like in "Girls Gone Wild", etc. Men are disgusting in my opinion and the world would be a much better place without all their destructive Testosterone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Flawed, but not worth passing up

    her writing isn't the best, but her observations are what is important. levy does not have the answers, but it has helped me understand what i am actually dealing with as a 22 year old woman today. her interviews offer insight into opinions and while i found the organization a bit off, i still couldn't put it down. i implore you! read this book, and spread it around, it's the only way things will begin to change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2005

    Amazing and Revelatory Book

    This was such a great book. It explians the things that have changed around us in our society so deftly. Namely our move towards emulating porn stars and the concept of a woman 'acting like a man' to get ahead. As a young woman I recommend this book extremely highly to other young women, especially. It is more than informative, but actually helpful and comforting in some way. Comforting, in that I'm not alone in feeling that some women are acting so strangely and in such contradictory and hurtful ways these days. I wish for something to come out of people reading this book. Maybe that women will stop whoring themselves and put their effort, brain power and real power into doing something amazing for the world, for ourselves, rather than just pose and posture for some man! Men: Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2