Customer Reviews for

The Feminine Mystique

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The cornerstone of feminist lit. A must read, but beware. Mystique is written from a specific perspective and one should not get all their 'feminist' ideas from this one book. Women of color in particular have had complaint since they are not given a voice and the li...
The cornerstone of feminist lit. A must read, but beware. Mystique is written from a specific perspective and one should not get all their 'feminist' ideas from this one book. Women of color in particular have had complaint since they are not given a voice and the life described by Friedan is not their own. Do give it a read though!

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Insane

Aside from the few historical chapters regarding the rights and legal changes that were hard fought, the Feminine Mystique is nothing more than the rantings of a raving lunatic who had a giant chip on her shoulder about her lot in life and blamed everyone under sun for ...
Aside from the few historical chapters regarding the rights and legal changes that were hard fought, the Feminine Mystique is nothing more than the rantings of a raving lunatic who had a giant chip on her shoulder about her lot in life and blamed everyone under sun for it. But at least I now get the tongue in cheek humor of Fear of Flying.

posted by of-course on March 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    The cornerstone of feminist lit. A must read, but beware. Mystique is written from a specific perspective and one should not get all their 'feminist' ideas from this one book. Women of color in particular have had complaint since they are not given a voice and the life described by Friedan is not their own. Do give it a read though!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    Anyone and everyone who considers themselves interested in the subject of femininity and women's place in society should read this book. Every young woman should read this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    As a male, I recommend this book...

    I highly recommend 'The Feminine Mystique' by Betty Friedan. She presents a remarkable, historically-based, argument for women to rise above the chains of the kitchen and their childrens' diapers. In the end, she presents a plan for women to progress in the world as it appeared in 1962, when originally published. The great thing about her plan is that it is still relevant today - the major point being that education should be the focal point for any person that wishes to rise above their place in life. I am recommending this book for men and women alike - particularly married couples.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Review

    When I first saw this book it got my attention. I have always been interested in how women think. When I saw this book I thought that it was going to be about how women think and what they want in life. When I started reading the book I noticed that it was about a whole different thing, not what i expected. But it is still a good book to read, I recommend it to the married couples. In this book the author talks about different ideas of women. It compares women from the past, women that fought and went through all the struggles to be recognized as a human being. Because back then, this book says, women weren't equal to men, and weren't considered human being, becuase all they did was take care of the family and fulfill man's pleasure. Compared to the women of the time when this book was written, it says that maybe all the things that women fought for were in vain because women are going back on just being a housewife. It also talks about the problems that women had. Even though they had everything they needed something else. How magazines shape women and theories about women such as Sigmund Freud.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    powerful

    a must read. This was quite a controversial book of its time (1964). I was captivated by the first couple of chapters. I underlined powerful one-liners and wanted to reread it again to analyse its technique of persuasion. I'll be honest; I wasn't as excited about the middle chapters actually skipping a few. You see, each chapter explores how the 1st couple of chapters relate to another idea so it started crossing me as repeatious (though overall this only lends to its plausibility), but *do read the 1st and last few chapters* at the very, very least

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    AWESOME

    It was such a good book, and everything that she had to see was backed up with evidence. Her research was amazing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2000

    Extreamly woundeful book

    This book was so completly outstanding. I couldn't put it down. It explained how feminisim developed and what type of forms it is disguised in. This book should be in every women's home. Everybody including men should read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Timeless and insightful

    Though the problems and statistics have changed much of it resonates with my own experiences. Women should be required to read this book, especially after they've gotten married or had children. So many questions I could not find the words for have now been answered. And a reminder to carry forward doing what makes us happiest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for everyone! Young, old, male, female.

    Changed my view of myself and why and how I became such a person. Gave me the courage and grace to see my family, myself and my children and how we were forced to believe live a life of lies. They say the truth will set you free, well next to the bible this book of a history never taught will. It is a challenge to find yourself in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Insane

    Aside from the few historical chapters regarding the rights and legal changes that were hard fought, the Feminine Mystique is nothing more than the rantings of a raving lunatic who had a giant chip on her shoulder about her lot in life and blamed everyone under sun for it. But at least I now get the tongue in cheek humor of Fear of Flying.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Feminine Mystique

    i only have a few minutes so im not going to do this like an english paper or whatever so forgive me. but this book was good...it wasn't new to me because i already know a lot on the feminist movement so i felt like i was rereading all the info i already know. but when i think about it if i was in the 1960s and it just came out.. as a woman i would've gotten off my ass and done something. because we all have our own lives to live. there is so much more to life than pleasing others. we are our own person with our own soul with our own purpose. it makes me sad for those women who are so intelligent and decide to settle and not push themselves further and live their potential life. it is really motivating and inspiring and i definitly suggest it to be a book you must read as soon as you can

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    Feminism for the gay male

    Ooh it was just delightful. I learned so much about my people. I have learned how to cope with my feelings and how to deal with men. I only wish more of us would read this wonderful book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Classic

    Read it and widen your horizons a bit. Skip the latest paperback bestseller and use your mind instead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2