Customer Reviews for

Fence My Father Built

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

good story

a very good read

posted by Francesde1st on May 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bad

This story seems hurried from beginning to end. It jumps from event to event with no real flow. Muri was in no way endearing. Instead I found her character weak, and simple. She couldn't understand the "problem." This fact is repeated past the point of redundancy. ...
This story seems hurried from beginning to end. It jumps from event to event with no real flow. Muri was in no way endearing. Instead I found her character weak, and simple. She couldn't understand the "problem." This fact is repeated past the point of redundancy. Unless you have an IQ equal to the average third grader, you will understand the "problem" quickly, as did I. After that, the story starts to drag despite its attempts to bring suspense through the acts of animal cruelty, vandalism, arson, debilitating illness, and child runaways. The religious aspect of the story seems forced; more like a second thought than an actual theme in the story. The father character is unbelievable to say the least. In spite of being an alcoholic, he still cares about his role as a father, a protector of artifacts, a builder, and a man of God. I honestly can't believe I stuck it out and finished the whole thing. I gave it one star because the grammar, punctuation, and spelling seemed mostly correct.

posted by Jen_JenJL on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    good book

    Enjoyed it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    good story

    a very good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Worth the read.

    I enjoyed this . Good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    A good read

    This book had clean language and a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    I'd recommend this book

    Good book! easy reading and the story line kept your attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Relateable

    The characters could have been my family. Real situations that should touch a chord with many. Some gaps in the story but all in all I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    good current western

    Enjoyed this current out west theme and left ending open for future reads. there will be more to these peoples story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Recommend

    Interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Excellent!


    Being from a part of the country where the lack of water is an issue I found this an interesting book.




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Finding Your Way Home

    Muri Pond is in the midst of a divorce from Chaz when she receives word of her father, Joseph Pond's, death and the issues surrounding her inherited property. The land she inherited consisted of a dilapidated trailer where her Aunt Lutie and Uncle Tiny live, where they cared for Joseph until he died, as well as a creek and the legal problems surrounding the creek ('liquid gold'). She arrived with all belongings and her two children, Nova, 15, and Truman (Tru), 11. Attitudes clashed between mother and daughter the whole way out there and beyond!

    Lincoln Jackson (Linc) owns everything in and around Murkee except Joseph Pond's land and creek and Rubin Jonto's land, which Linc is pressuring to acquire. Everyone has acquiesced to Linc except Rubin and Joseph, and he now expects Muri to fold. But she is her father's daughter!

    Because of his drunkenness, Joseph had lost communication with Muri shortly after she turned three, when his wife left him and remarried. Linda's book, The Fence My Father Built, is the tender story of the struggling issues Muri has regarding her dad and finding his heart for her after so many years apart, the first through years of love for him and then eventual hatred. You go through the throes of love, anger, loss, rejection, and loneliness that a child, now an adult, has to reconcile with, along with the legal issues about the ranch thrown in. The story is told through the voice and heart of Muri, along with the voice and heart of her father through his journal. Definitely touches your heart.

    The struggles of the ranchers that need the 'liquid gold,' the greed of one man who threatens to take that land through legal means, which appears to go beyond just the title to the creek, are aptly described for this dry, dusty country. The tension and animosity are palpable between the characters. However, Linda tosses in a sweet romance to take the edge off the ugly issues brewing.

    I loved the story for the rich history of the land, the personal reconciliation that Muri needed to work through, the touching story of the love of a father for his daughter, and the faith and truth that binds it all together. The 'Fence" adds a delightful touch of character to the story. 'Finding your way home' has a double meaning that everyone needs to find.

    This book was provided by Linda S. Clare in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    A gripping story of unusual people

    Readers may be up half the night engrossed in Linda Clare's vivid novel. The story mixes several unique characters, an unavoidably absent, deeply loving, but flawed father and his adult daughter, Muri. She's uncertain about living with two unusual relatives. People in the area don't readily accept her or her two children, nor fully respect her late father.

    Why does a small town allow an unsavory man to control everything? Can Muri unearth this villain's secret? She gambles by bluffing at a dangerous turning point. Will she win or lose? Why did her father build his strange fence? What messages did he leave her?

    Linda Clare has crafted a story of mystery, of love and budding romance and of learning to understand family. The setting, Oregon's high desert, is beautifully described, as are snippets of ranching life. Readers will learn about important aspects of Native American culture.

    A well-written and believable tale, but with maybe too easy a resolution for Muri? After she finds a new relationship with God, did He give her answers to defeating the villain, as her aunt believes? Readers can decide, while enjoying a good story.

    © Geni J. White

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    Refreshingly real

    "This is the story of finding your way home-even when home is a trailer in the middle of nowhere. ... Muri must rediscover the faith her alcoholic Native American dad somehow never abandoned."

    Of several books sent to me recently for reading and review, The Fence My Father Built became a favorite. I was intrigued by the way the Muri's father held on so strongly to his faith, despite his addictions, and I loved the exploration of contemporary Native American issues, small town mindsets, and the dilemmas inherent in family dysfunction. Muri isn't a perfect character, and even though the story pacing is sometimes a little uneven, I believe anyone who struggles with deep family issues or a "poor white trash" background will find plenty to relate to-and see the hope and redemption shining through it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Story of Discovery

    Linda Clare pens a heart warming and sensitive story about a woman, Muri Pond, whose whole world has been turned upside down with her pending divorce. An Aunt she hardly knows seeks her out for help; help in keeping the property that belonged to her father-the father she never remembered meeting. She had hopes of meeting him someday but learns from her Aunt, her father is dead.

    Muri brings her two teenage children to stay with her Aunt while she tries to understand the lawsuit against her father's property for water rights. When they get to the Central Oregon high desert property; they soon discover that her Aunt lives in a trailer in the middle of nowhere, Muri wonders if she's done the right thing. There's no Super Wal-Mart, or any other modern convenience near by. Reality hits. What has she done?

    Life, as Muri and her children have known it, is over. Fighting this legal battle might take longer than Muri thinks. Her oldest child, Nova, gives her mother a really bad time (the way only teenagers can) about taking them away from her friends and the world they left behind. Nova couldn't get out of this desert trap fast enough.

    Muri discovers things about herself, her father and the beautiful nature around her that are surprising. In the author notes Linda reveals she's had a similar journey in life where she was seeking to learn about her father and her Native American roots. I really enjoyed how Linda told this story though the eyes of Muri with all her struggles, feelings and wonder. I received a review copy of this book and I'm looking forward to reading more books by this author.

    Finding Hope Through Fiction
    www.psalm516.blogspot.com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2