BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Feng Shui Your Life: Second Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A book full of beauty and joy

I read a lot of feng shui books and websites, but I couldn't make feng shui - or my life - work for me. When I concentrated on Jayme Barrett's beautiful Feng Shui Your Life, I found clarity. This book is complete. Covering the depth and breadth of feng shui from the ins...
I read a lot of feng shui books and websites, but I couldn't make feng shui - or my life - work for me. When I concentrated on Jayme Barrett's beautiful Feng Shui Your Life, I found clarity. This book is complete. Covering the depth and breadth of feng shui from the inside out, Jayme's thorough understanding of energy makes my efforts fun and amazingly enlightening. But best of all, it works! So I gladly decluttered the other books (and that silly money toad) and follow Jayme's teaching exclusively. I am thrilled with the daily insights as well as the infusion of revitalizing energy in my life. This is one of those rare, truly life-transforming books, and I'm a five-star fan! Thank you, Jayme, for bringing beauty and joy back to my life!

posted by Anonymous on August 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not a good product for Nook

The book may be OK but your blood pressure will be elevated by the time it has loaded on the nook. it will not load on the older Nook's and is probably a better hard copy....

posted by PaulT55 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    This book is a Shui-In (pardon pronunciation)

    This is the best self-help book I've read, ever. Jayme takes a subject that can be overwhelming and presents it in a way that can be easily understood and applied by anyone from novice to expert. My home, my office, and my life have changed dramatically due in great part to the Barrett Way. What you want may not fall into your lap, but you will find ways to make things happen for you, and you will find ways of seeing everyday miracles that you wouldn't otherwise see, thus enriching your life. If there were more than five stars, Jayme would surely warrant them!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    Stunning and Practical

    Jayme Barrett has written a book on feng shui that is highly informative, readable, easy to use, and beautiful to look at. This book, as well as Jayme's course here at B&N, have absolutely helped me to change tracks. Just beginning to implement the suggestions in this book has resulted in increasing my energy and motivation as well as improving my overall mood. The book is filled with gorgeous photographs by Jonn Coolidge that beautifully illustrate the ideas presented by Jayme. It is a joy to read as well as to browse through the pictures. I've read the book several times now and have begun to suspect that I will have to buy a backup copy since I will probably wear this one out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    AWESOME BOOK!!!

    This book is amazing!!! Everything the author talked about I understood and connected with. Great book on how to organize your life and look at things from a different perspective. It not only talks about organizing your house with fung shui, but putting it into your life as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    Feng Shui made easy

    I really loved this title. It made Feng Shui much more simple than other books I've read on the subject. A much appreciated part of my library that will be used over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    IT WORKS!

    By following the suggestions in the book and on the website, I was able to secure a job after being out of work for over a year. Not just a 'job' but a very good one that pays extremely well. I have signed up for the course again, there is still a lot of improvement needed, in other areas. So I am taking the course again to learn and change even more! I wanted not just to find a job, but a new lifestyle, and it looks like that is happening as well. I am looking forward to making even more progress in applying fung shui to other areas of my life. Thank you for sharing your knowledge Jayne!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    Feng Shui You Can Use!

    Ms. Barrett¿s book is the most motivating and beautifully presented of all the Feng Shui books I have read. Not only that, but it actually motivated me to get started making our house more harmonious and pleasing. She gives us activities at the end of each chapter to get us out of our comfortable chairs and happily at work improving our surroundings. There is even a chapter to help those of us who tend to accumulate clutter. Reading this book has changed my life for the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    This is feng shui 'for' your life

    This book is so much more than placement of furniture or painting your door red. You will want to read it from cover to cover many times. Ms. Barrett is truly an inspired and gifted writer bringing to her audience a way to `Feng Shui Your Life¿. Bringing energy into your home and into your life is not a quick fix but a lifelong pursuit. The author gives us many tools to work with in our every day lives. To be able to connect to our energy with our intuition and our sacred spaces brings healing on all levels. This is a great reference, instructional and inspirational book that you will want to revisit many, many times. I am deeply appreciative of the guidance and encouragement I received. If you read this book, you will indeed be grateful for the positive changes you make in your life. I was fortunate to be able to take the Barnes and Noble University Class offered on the Internet. It was one of my favorite classes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    Wonderful book!

    This was a great read. It was so easy to understand. I love the way the book is laid out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    Outstanding!!

    This book is excellent! This is absolutely the best book on Feng Shui I've ever read! I implemented concepts from the book in my home and life bringing in numerous positive and harmonius changes. I also own a spa in Los Angeles and had the wonderful pleasure of a Feng Shui consultation with Jayme for my business. Since then the business has more than doubled and prosperity and abundance continue to flourish. The space flows with wonderful positive energy and looks beautiful. Jayme I cant thank you enough for all of the inspiration! I HIGHLY recommend this book as well as a Feng Shui consultation with Jayme. It will change your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    Amazing book

    This book is the best one i've read so far. It breaks down what feng shui is really about with out getting all caught up in too many rules. I'm so glad I bought this book and highly recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Best Feng Shui Book Ever, I mean Ever!

    This book is is divine. I have read at least 12 books on Feng Shui and this one no doubt is the best book on the subject for beginners and those with experience. It is easy to read, understand, and even better to implement right away. Within two months of implementing some of the techniques, I recieved a small fortune in cash. It also helped me solve several family relationship problems that I thought would never get worked out. My energy has increased, my diet has improved, and my outlook on life has dramatically improved. Jayme's techniques work. I mean really work, I still can't believe how quick they work and how exact they are. It seems like a dream. Purchase this book and good started right away. It was the best investment I made all year and has paid me back many, many times over. In fact, I am sending a cash gift to the author to thank her for making such a divine work availble to help everday people change their lives for the better. She does not ask people to do this, but I want to give back because of all the prosperity that I have received since using the information in her book. Again, don't delay...invest in this book today and you will be writing a review like this in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2004

    This Book Will Change Your Life!

    This is the best book on Fung Shui I have read, an easy read. It brings many changes, and not just to your home! The class on this book at Barnes and Noble University site is outstanding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Simply a Must for Those Seeking Clarity

    This is a beautiful book, full of practical and enlightening advice on how to surround yourself with positivity and harmony. No other book on my landscape and design shelves has been more practical, easy to understand and immediately applicable to my personal and professional life as <i>Feng Shui Your Life</i>. Barrett has transformed the ancient into the contemporary, the esoteric into the human, all with a warm and supportive tone that encourages the reader to embrace the patterns that exist in nature and bring them in to remodel and nourish our stressful, cluttered lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    The power of clear energy

    As a yoga teacher I've spent years opening my energetic body, but with this book, I took working on energy into my home. My wife and I discovered REMARKABLE results. Upon implimenting some of the energitic feng shui techniques in the book, the movement in our lives has shifted. Upon spending time cultivating our 'wealth & prosperity' center, within a week I was paid remarkably well for to lead a yoga video, (my first). A week later, after spending the afternoon developing our 'career' center, my wife ran into old creative friends who not only were delighted to see her, but offered her a creative job on the spot. I'd always known how wonderful the body feels when energetically in alignment, but now, (of course), I understand how it works outside of the body as well. Energy is energy is energy. When it's flowing clearly, cleanly, how can life not be better? This book has been wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2003

    Change Your Life!

    What first attracts you to the book is its beautiful, contemporary photographs. Then the book opens itself to you like a beautiful flower'each page like a petal, revealing fresh insight. Jayme Barret is the Martha Stewart of Feng Shui. Like Martha, she has taken a difficult to understand subject and has brought it to the masses with style, simplicity and beautiful design. You will enjoy her wisdom and attention to detail. Unlike other books on Feng Shui, you will actually have a good sense of what all the fuss is about. If you are the least bit skeptical, this book will change your mind. All of Jayme's Feng Shui remedies and tips are practical and easy to implement. P.S. After reading the book, we actually had the pleasure of a Feng Shui consultation with Jayme. She was every bit as wonderful as the book. With professionalism and grace, she showed us many important things we could do to create more energy in our living space. Since then, we have noticed a tremendous change in our lives. We are charged with excitement and many things are going our way. Thank you, Jayme!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    THE BEST BOOK ON FENG SHUI

    This book is loaded with in-depth, easy-to-follow explanations on Feng Shui, and phenomenal, elegant photographs. The approach in 'Feng Shui Your Life' allowed us to transform our home and 'lift' the energy. I would HIGHLY RECOMMED this book to anyone wanting to give their empty walls and sad corners a 'pick me up.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    Great Feng Shui Book

    There are a lot of similar books on the market, but the design and information in this book far surpass any I have read. A great gift book. Myself and my friends have all commented on how nice it is to go back and re-read things, and absorb the photographs, again and again. More of a coffee table type book. Wish it were in hard cover. A keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    This Book Will Transform Your Life

    For those out there like myself with a real suspicion of all things spiritual or energetic, this book will come as an enriching surprise. Jayme Barrett has managed to combine western practicality and style with the wisdom and tradition of this ancient art. Hundreds of beautiful photographs and illustrations vividly demonstrate the ease with which these life-changing ideas can be quickly implemented. I've applied many of these concepts to enhance my home, office and personal life, experiencing genuine positive change. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a life makeover. I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    Outstanding Feng Shui Book !

    Jayme Barrett's book is excellent ! Easy to read, easy to implement solutions, great photographs, clear and logical presentation of the Ba-Gua. Sometimes feng shui books can appear confusing or contradictory -- or leave you feeling like since you can't move a wall in your home, the room just isn't right'> Well, not so with Jayme Barrett -- she offers solutions that enhance any space, and they are all logical and make sense and can be done by any of us ! I can't sing this book's praises enough ! I've read more than 3 dozen feng shui books over the last 2 years, and this one is one of the very best !) This woman knows her stuff, and I would definitely go to her seminars, read her future books, and ask her for a feng shui consultation for my home and/or garden ! A must have for the person wanting to beautify their environment !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3