Customer Reviews for

A Feral Darkness

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A suspenseful modern fantasy

Brenna Fallon is a very good pet groomer in a small New York town. When rumors of a savage pack of feral dogs surface, her unusual rapport with the animals is hardly enough--because the pack appears supernatural. And malevolent. This book has a conventional plot, b...
Brenna Fallon is a very good pet groomer in a small New York town. When rumors of a savage pack of feral dogs surface, her unusual rapport with the animals is hardly enough--because the pack appears supernatural. And malevolent. This book has a conventional plot, but very well drawn characters, pleasant style, and evocative portrayals of pets and nature. The fantasy has suspence, magic, romance and crime, all blended into an anjoyable novel.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

waste of time

got this book because of all the great reviews and it was free - it was very slow and tried to force myself to finish. Just could not connect with the characters. very disappointed

posted by MoNika24 on January 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2001

    Best Durgin Yet

    I've always been impressed with Durgin's characters, especially her animals, but Feral Darkness is especially wonderful. I've lived with dogs, and will remember Druid and Sunny long after I put the book down. The pacing of this story kept me up long past midnight. Highly recommended.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    I had to buy this used years ago, because it's been out of print

    I had to buy this used years ago, because it's been out of print for so long. I'm THRILLED to see it newly available to readers. This is one of my favorite Durgin books - and that's saying a lot, because I like all of her books. Why? because she always seems to produce a book with a perfect (for me) blend of well-rounded, fully "backgrounded" characters I really like, and action that keeps the story moving. It's not actually that common, because authors who really get into character development often bog down the action with that development, and authors who do great action often skimp on character development. So I love to find authors who do both, and go out of my way (hence the "used" purchase) to buy all of their books.

    As far as this book... well, others have covered the plot, so I'll just add a few notes: You don't have to be a dog lover to love this book - there's enough "people power" to keep you interested. You don't have to be a fantasy lover to love this book - there's enough grounding in the real world to hold your interest. You don't have to be an action lover to love this book, there's enough background and character development to balance out the mad dashes into (and eventually, out of) trouble. And you don't have to be a romance lover to love this book, because the romance doesn't take center stage, it's just a lovely bit of sidelight to the characters and the events of the rest of the story.

    One note to the person who felt offended by the pagan aspects of the book... I sort of wonder why you continued reading it, since it was a *successful* appeal to a Celtic deity that sorta started the whole ball rolling. OF COURSE there would be pagan aspects. If the very existence of other religious belief systems offends you, why read about it?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the book; I haven't read many from the paranormal thrill

    I loved the book; I haven't read many from the paranormal thriller, adventure, romance genre, but this book was a page turner. The characters were real and entirely believable. I enjoyed being introduced to the notion of the good vs evil plot that transpired over the course of the story in a totally unexpected way..

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Fantastic

    I loved this story. The female protaganist is strong and takes charge in the story. The ending made me cry but with joy. I highly recommend this story as well worth the price. In fact i just went to the book store and bought another book by this author. The set up for the story is slow but the ending rocked.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2001

    Durgin's best yet

    Doranna Durgin has hit her stride with this one. A FERAL DARKNESS has wonderful characters and a tightly written story with just the right touch of Mystery in the mundane world. Highly recommended.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Recommend

    I Love Dogs. This book is written with the dog lover in mind. Just enough suspense to keep it good. The characters were nicely rounded. Would recommend to other readers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book. Good character development. This story had me hooked and kept my intrest throught. I would highly recommend this book. It is about 677 pages. I plan on reafing more by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Loved it

    Magic, mystery, suspense, heartbreak, time manipulation, this book has it all. Five thumbs up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    Wow. Beyond engrossing. The characters were well rounded and likeable. Very interesting twist on the paranormal. Very few editing errors too. Ill be looking for more by this author!
    Mad Cricket

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Great book

    This book was great, I couldent put it down

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2014

    I have been a fan of Doranna Durgin's books for many years.  I j

    I have been a fan of Doranna Durgin's books for many years.  I just re-read this book, and loved it just as much as the first time around.  The book grabs you from page one as Brenna finds a way to help extend her old dog's life, and carries you through to her current-day troubles.  A Feral Darkness combines fantasy, paranormal, mystery and romance.  Over the course of the book, Brenna evolves from a rather quiet person to someone who is sure of herself and sticks up for herself.  As a dog lover, I loved the doggy characters in the book!  Each has their own distinct personality, and with major roles in the book.  I had a hard time putting it down!  I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a well-told story.




    Please note I was given a free copy of this e-book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    A fantastic read!

    Although it was a little bit slow to start, for me, once you get passed it the book is worth it. This book was nothing i expected to read in a good way. I will be looking into this author more to see if the other books are just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Loved this book!

    This book made me smile and cry haven't enjoyed a story so much in awhile. Neat little plot twist. Makes me want to check out some other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Fantastic!

    I got this one for free and opened it up, thinking I needed a new book and didn't want to get too wrapped up in the story. WRONG BOOK FOR THAT!!! I stayed up half the night reading and haven't done a thing all day! Fantastic story with fantastic characters! I can't wait to read it again and to read more from this author! I would recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Def a must read

    Loved this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Must read!

    The characters grab you and keep you until the end. This book is amazing and the love of dogs keeps me until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I loved this book.

    I loved the story, the ending touched my heart. I had difficulty doing any work once I started reading it (supper was late that day).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2