Customer Reviews for

Fever

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A GraveTells Review: March 2012 Book of the Month - A gritty, st

A GraveTells Review: March 2012 Book of the Month - A gritty, steamy "must read"

4.5/5 Hearts

Ok first i just have to say mmmm, firemen! You know that combination of muscles, vulnerable boy-next-door charm, outgoing attitude, and life-risking savior complex...
A GraveTells Review: March 2012 Book of the Month - A gritty, steamy "must read"

4.5/5 Hearts

Ok first i just have to say mmmm, firemen! You know that combination of muscles, vulnerable boy-next-door charm, outgoing attitude, and life-risking savior complex that makes them so irresistible and lethal to a woman's libido? Well Teague Creek has all of that. In spades. This dude is the whole package.

Despite his offensive tattoos and the fact that you meet him as a convict, Teague is sexy and commanding right from the start. Take-charge but not rude, determinedly protecting and tending his prisoner but not weak or gullible, capable but not overconfident, and respectful and thankful for the little things. I liked that he had a reason to be so fit (those sexy muscles we ogle on the covers of books don't sculpt themselves, peeps!) and Alyssa recognized just how much time and effort that level of "wow" and *drool* requires. I think we take that for granted a lot with our heroes, like their strength just magically pops in out of nowhere. It's no wonder Alyssa found herself unintentionally attracted to him- I was too! And if you're stressing about the tattoos (bald, muscle-bound convicts with swastikas on their heads and Aryan clovers on their knuckles generally make me want to run the other direction), don't... they aren't as permanent as you might expect.

Their chemistry is searing and paced leisurely enough to be believable. In a hostage situation, especially when the man is fresh out of a three year prison stint, it would be easy to rush the pace of attraction between them, but Ms. Swan masterfully draws it out with lingering touches and looks, even as the characters themselves hesitate over Stockholm syndrome and the intense physical need resulting from Teague's time on the inside. As hot as their physical passion is (and that's without being too explicit!), their fledgling emotional connection is remarkably strong. Teague's acceptance of the mess his life has become, combined with his absolute need to protect and shelter, really touches me. This is a man who can wear the violent psychopathic prison facade as a shield when he needs to, but still manages to retain the vulnerable sense of self that prison so effectively strips away.  His personality practically begs you to care for him while obstinately keeping you at arm's length.

Fever's characters are complex and compelling, complicated and endearing, unique and memorable. The storyline is a mystery that unravels thread by interesting thread, and leaves the reader craving the next book in the series just to spend more time with the characters. This is the first book in a unique series about a group of firefighters whose lives were all supernaturally changed by a brutal warehouse explosion. I love that it's such a fresh new perspective for a series, and if the level of skill Ms. Swan shows in Fever for weaving a story with compelling, touchingly flawed characters is any indication about what's in store, I can't wait to read the rest! Fever is a must-read!

Review shortened to fit submission requirements. This book was provided by the publisher and no compensation was received for this review. Reviewer opinions are true and uncensored.

posted by DavinciKittie on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Start

It’s one of those good news/bad news types of days. Deep breath. . . .

The Cover: This is not Teague Creek. Someone please enlighten me on who has the final say on book covers because in my train of thought – it is not usually the author. Someone dropped the ball her...
It’s one of those good news/bad news types of days. Deep breath. . . .

The Cover: This is not Teague Creek. Someone please enlighten me on who has the final say on book covers because in my train of thought – it is not usually the author. Someone dropped the ball here BIG TIME. And yes, I want my cover to match what I’m reading!

Teague’s “Ability”: This is a major part of Teague’s character and plays a vital role in many scenes. Yet his “burn” is never fully explained the how, why, what, etc. Highly disappointed.

The DOD: The Department of Defense is involved somehow in Teague’s “ability”, but once again, their role never comes to fruition. I was left with unanswered questions once the last page was turned. Why and how were they involved in the incident that started the whole mess? What did they do to cause Teague’s Ability?

The Sex: Or lack of, should I say. With Paul on the cover, published by Kensington Brava, and a title of FEVER, I expected smokin’ hot, stoke the flame sex. Nope – Nem – Nyet! The sex didn’t start until page 233 and then, IMHO, one more after that for a grand total of *drum roll here* two scenes. For all of the “fire” that burned in Creek, the sex scenes were mild and simmering.

This is your basic prison escape, hostage taking, “I’m Innocent”, and a few others for good measure, completely packaged into an HEA. I would call it a “romantic suspense light” with a twist of paranormal. I found FEVER to be an easy read. I didn’t have to stumble and grumble over countless spelling, grammar, or editing errors. (Yes, I do that, but you never hear about it until I start notating/counting them!) Creek was a bit of a screw-up at times, but that is to be expected. . . escaped convict on the run. Alyssa is a little spitfire with a touch of Stockholm Syndrome. One character I found very interesting is Mitch, Alyssa’s brother. He makes quite an impact – need to know more about this guy!

posted by ArtemisSun on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A GraveTells Review: March 2012 Book of the Month - A gritty, st

    A GraveTells Review: March 2012 Book of the Month - A gritty, steamy "must read"

    4.5/5 Hearts

    Ok first i just have to say mmmm, firemen! You know that combination of muscles, vulnerable boy-next-door charm, outgoing attitude, and life-risking savior complex that makes them so irresistible and lethal to a woman's libido? Well Teague Creek has all of that. In spades. This dude is the whole package.

    Despite his offensive tattoos and the fact that you meet him as a convict, Teague is sexy and commanding right from the start. Take-charge but not rude, determinedly protecting and tending his prisoner but not weak or gullible, capable but not overconfident, and respectful and thankful for the little things. I liked that he had a reason to be so fit (those sexy muscles we ogle on the covers of books don't sculpt themselves, peeps!) and Alyssa recognized just how much time and effort that level of "wow" and *drool* requires. I think we take that for granted a lot with our heroes, like their strength just magically pops in out of nowhere. It's no wonder Alyssa found herself unintentionally attracted to him- I was too! And if you're stressing about the tattoos (bald, muscle-bound convicts with swastikas on their heads and Aryan clovers on their knuckles generally make me want to run the other direction), don't... they aren't as permanent as you might expect.

    Their chemistry is searing and paced leisurely enough to be believable. In a hostage situation, especially when the man is fresh out of a three year prison stint, it would be easy to rush the pace of attraction between them, but Ms. Swan masterfully draws it out with lingering touches and looks, even as the characters themselves hesitate over Stockholm syndrome and the intense physical need resulting from Teague's time on the inside. As hot as their physical passion is (and that's without being too explicit!), their fledgling emotional connection is remarkably strong. Teague's acceptance of the mess his life has become, combined with his absolute need to protect and shelter, really touches me. This is a man who can wear the violent psychopathic prison facade as a shield when he needs to, but still manages to retain the vulnerable sense of self that prison so effectively strips away.  His personality practically begs you to care for him while obstinately keeping you at arm's length.

    Fever's characters are complex and compelling, complicated and endearing, unique and memorable. The storyline is a mystery that unravels thread by interesting thread, and leaves the reader craving the next book in the series just to spend more time with the characters. This is the first book in a unique series about a group of firefighters whose lives were all supernaturally changed by a brutal warehouse explosion. I love that it's such a fresh new perspective for a series, and if the level of skill Ms. Swan shows in Fever for weaving a story with compelling, touchingly flawed characters is any indication about what's in store, I can't wait to read the rest! Fever is a must-read!

    Review shortened to fit submission requirements. This book was provided by the publisher and no compensation was received for this review. Reviewer opinions are true and uncensored.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book in a series. The premise is seven members

    This is the first book in a series. The premise is seven members of a fire fighting hazmat unit had gone into a warehouse firefight as ordinary people. Six had emerged permanently altered. One died. Each of the books in this series will deal with the survivors and what happened to them after.

    Fever is about Teague Creek’s story. Five years ago after the fire in the warehouse Teague was married with a little girl. His wife suffered from extreme depression. She knew that something had changed all 6 members after the fire that also included her twin brother Luke. Teague’s gift is he runs hot. If he gets upset or aroused his body temp goes way up. He has learned he can do some minor healing with this gift and a few other things but really doesn’t haven’t any real control or understanding of what is going on with his body. His wife’s depression worsened until she killed herself. Years later Teague is with a new girlfriend and she is violently murdered. He gets accused of her murder and sent to prison for life.

    The story starts off with Teague and another inmate kidnapping and escaping with Dr. Alyssa Foster. The other prisoner Taz is a racist SOB in the worst sense of the word. I am not going to beat this part of the book to death as many other reviews have. It’s an ugly part of our world but nothing that was said or portrayed by Taz is untrue. Teague is not portrayed ns a good light either in the beginning and you don’t know anything about him but you do notice that he is protecting Alyssa from Taz even though he thinks she is someone else. Alyssa figures out there is more to Teague than he is saying after she is stabbed. This is when Teague first uses his “healing power” on her. After an altercation with between Teague and Taz which leaves him dead (by this point you are clapping) the story finally starts going in the right direction. Alyssa finds out slowly from Teague why he has the “fever” why he was sent to prison and why he broke out of prison. They both also realize that there is a major government cover up going on and that a lot of people that have had contact with the six surviving members are dead or missing. We get the POV of the people that want Teague dead so we know just how high up this goes.

    In this book we get to meet Alyssa twin Mitch Foster who is a criminal defense attorney but with some great government connections himself . Luke Ransom who was the twin brother of Teague's wife and also used to be his best friend but turned on him after his sister died and went for full custody of his niece and won. Luke was also one of the 6 firefighters in that warehouse and has a gift of his own. He now works for the ATF. His story is next in the series.

    Once I was finished with this book and could look back on each piece of the puzzle we were given though out I really liked the concept of this series. When you first start the book you just don’t have enough to go on and wonder where the author is going.. But if you just wait till the end and process everything I think you really like this series.
    (less)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    OMG... yep it's worth those three little letters right there! J

    OMG... yep it's worth those three little letters right there!

    Joan hits a home run with me her first out of the gate! Suspense thriller with a paranormal aspect unlike anything available out there today. If you want a story, and I mean a full on well plotted beginning to end story then Fever is for you. I love how the drive of the story is pulled along by the hero's conflict and resolution as opposed to the hero always being the rescurer of the heroine!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    4.5 Stars - Gutsy, sexy and action packed! I’m going to s

    4.5 Stars - Gutsy, sexy and action packed!

    I’m going to start this review a bit differently. A lot of people don’t give this book a chance because of racial slurs and downright ugly language. Yes, this book has those factors in it, but it is not the book. The individual who talks like that doesn’t last long. This is NOT his story. It’s an unpleasant reality that there are people out there that still think and talk like this, but like I said…It is a reality. I have to give kudos to the author for not sugar coating the truth no matter how objectionable it is.

    Teague had it all once upon a time. A loving wife, a beautiful child and a career he enjoyed immensely. One tragic event changed his life forever, unbeknown to him. From that moment on, his life took a downhill plummet. He has lost nearly everything and now he has nothing left to lose. Determined to take back the one thing that is most precious in his life; he takes a chance and breaks out of prison. Now all he has to do is reach his final goal and to hell with everyone in his way.

    Dr. Alyssa Foster is having a really tough day. Exhausted and beat, she has no idea she just entered a storm. Now she is being held captive by two men; one who does nothing but hate her for living and the other that confuses her all the way down to her toes. No matter what, she must survive. She has too much to live for and she has worked too hard to let these men ruin her life.

    Things don’t look promising for these escapees. If they are not fighting among themselves, they have gangs, the police and an unknown entity after them. They are running out of time and things are not looking better but worse.

    This is one high octane ride! Fever is sexy, dark, mysterious and kick-butt. I loved the chemistry between Teague and Alyssa. She is one smart cookie and she doesn’t take any crap. Their adventure is definitely a roller coaster ride from start to finish.

    In her blurb about herself, Ms. Swan mentions that she writes romance suspense with a paranormal twist. I would agree. While this story is NOT a paranormal romance, it does have a different element/feel to it. I would have to compare it to Spiderman, if you will. Parker got bit by the radioactive spider and now he has these amazing abilities. I know it’s kind of geekish of me to compare it like that, but that is the best comparison that I could come up with. So there is no supernatural in this book, just the unnatural. This is romance with a little extra edge. It works - trust me!

    Heck, if you don’t pick up the book for the cover alone, I would have to question your sanity, just kidding. Fever really is a great read. Full of suspense and action, but tender loving moments that steamed up my glasses. If Ms. Swan is making this a series, I’m on board and will be in line for the next installment. I loved her voice and she knows how to write hot sexy romance with clever dialog. These are all bonuses in my view. Great job and well done!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    From the moment it begins to its blazing conclusion, Fever by Jo

    From the moment it begins to its blazing conclusion, Fever by Joan Swan is intense, steamy and overall very satisfying.

    If only movies were this good, I'd be in heaven.

    Don't get put off by the outward appearance of the book itself, Fever is not like other romance, at least, not the ones I've been reading. The twists and turns of this book kept me guessing until the very end! The action, danger and mystery perfectly balanced out the sexual tension between Teague and Alyssa so that Fever didn't feel like I was reading a woman's sexual fantasy about getting it on with an escaped convict. Joan Swan gave backgrounds to these two characters, lives, loved ones they both wanted to get back to desperately. That desperation eventually drives them together and it's the intense attraction to one another that binds them.

    As the hero, Teague is different. Sure he's got the classic good looks with a body to die for but on the inside, he's more human than any other male character I've ever met. He's not cocky, vain or arrogant. He's desperate, lonely and afraid. He doesn't want to go back to prison of course, but he has a more important reason to keep out of the reach of the police and other, more dangerous people. However, as desperate as he is for his freedom, Teague still doesn't have it in him to be the hardened criminal everyone thinks he is. Every step of the way he protects Alyssa, whom he mistakes for someone else, from his fellow escaped convict (and racist, so be warned there are racial slurs but they didn't bother me as it's just a story and stories need realism), Taz.

    Alyssa is no shrinking violet, even though she finds herself hostage to two escaped convicts, she's not going down without a fight. Sure, occasionally she does or says stupid things that could have had grave consequences but with the mentality of "I'm going to die anyway" it's understandable. She's smart, quick witted and tough. I thought for sure she's going to start wailing at any moment and get on my nerves, but no, she kept herself in tact, knowing that tears and showing fear would make things worse for her. Alyssa is tenacious. Once she begins to doubt Teague's reason for being in prison, she doesn't let up until she discovers over looked facts in his case. She believes in him, even when he doesn't. She's not afraid to go toe to toe with Teague, or any one else for that matter and that's what made me like her even more.

    As with all books in a series, you get to meet characters that will eventually (I'm assuming) take the lead in their own books. These secondary characters were well thought of and given just enough "Page Time" to pique your interest but not too much as to take your attention away from the real stars of the story.

    I completely loved this book, more than I thought. It went up to my expectations and blew them into the next country. Being more of a fan of action movies than rom-coms, this book appealed to me on so many levels yet still maintained the criteria of a romance novel. Fever kept me up until the wee hours of the morning, I just couldn't put it down. It was sexy, fast paced and filled with action, suspense and mystery. Once I was finished reading it, I went to sleep with a smile on my face. I can't wait for the next book in the series because I have officially added Joan Swan and The Phoenix Rising series to my "Favorite Authors" and "Must Have" lists.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sizzling hot with tons of heart pounding suspense

    Fever by Joan Swan starts with a bang with a serious case of mistaken identity that sets the stage for a sizzling hot romantic suspense novel that will leave your pulse racing. The character of Teague Creek is the token bad boy with a rough exterior that hides his gentler side. The way each of the characters play off one another and their dialogue is just one of the things that I love about this book. I found myself liking the characters Alyssa and Teague more and more as the story progressed because Alyssa was not afraid to fight back at all and while Teague does certain things most people wouldn't do, I was able to understand the reasoning behind his actions. I mentally applauded when Luke and Teague overcame their differences and worked together to stop Vasser, someone from Teague's past who is ruthless and will stop at nothing to get what he wants. The relationship between Alyssa and Teague proves that the line between love and hate is indeed a thin one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The cover is not the only hot aspect of this romantic suspense d

    The cover is not the only hot aspect of this romantic suspense debut novel by Joan Swan. I have one word for you: UNPUTDOWNABLE. This genre is not usually my cup of tea ( in addition to the suspense element, FEVER features also a paranormal twist), but in this case I found myself devouring this well executed novel page after page, totally absorbed by the riveting and well-paced storyline , by the compelling and fully nuanced characters, by the emotional depth and scorching romance.
    During the explosion of a warehouse where experiments for the advancement of military warfare were secretly conducted, firefighter/paramedic Teague Creek and his team are exposed to some chemicals that will give him the power to control and manipulate heat. When Teague starts investigating the true nature of those chemicals and his “mutation”, the government secret services set him up with false accusations of aggravated murder and lock him in jail for life. Life in prison for a crime he never committed is too much to bear, especially when outside there is a five years old daughter he will never have the chance to hold in his arms again and a new and healing love he desperately needs.
    Driven by sheer desperation (he would rather die than go back to jail and witness horrors and tortures), he breaks free during a medical check-up and kidnaps a young doctor (Alyssa Foster) with the intention to exchange his hostage with his daughter, flee the country and start a new life elsewhere. What initially seems to be a further complication (the kidnapping of Doc Alyssa Foster), turns out to be a blessing and the tool of his redemption.
    Teague and Alyssa’s relationship is the thing that I loved the most about the book: their chemistry is so palpable, their emotional connection deep and immediate, their dialogues mesmerizing, their mutual need so heartwarming. There is great intensity in this book and an overall feeling of right proportions between action and romance, character development and sensuality.
    As for the accusations made by some readers regarding the author’s indulgent use of vulgar language and racial slurs, please mind that it’s less extensive than some reviews may lead you to believe and it needs to be read only as part of the characterization of a particular character throughout a limited number of pages (compared to the length of the novel), certainly not such a defining aspect of the whole book. Realistically, I wouldn’t expect the secondary character in question to express himself in a different manner. The use of a certain language is true to the context and adds to the credibility and consistency of the character.
    For me it was a 5 stars plus reading and I wholeheartedly recommend it. I will definitely put my ends on Blaze, the second installment in this series, as soon as it will be released.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking and suspenseful...

    My Review:
    This is a book that I have been looking forward to for months. Finally, my pre-ordered copy showed up and I devoured this book within hours of it's arrival. Once I started it, I couldn't put it down. It surpassed all of my already high expectations...OMG, I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!


    This is the first in a series of books about a group of firefighters who got caught up in a warehouse explosion. Something was in that explosion which affected the group, but it's affected them all in different ways. Certain key players within the government is trying to cover it all up.


    This first book follows Teague, who has developed a thermokinesis ability (his body reaches extreme heats when he's faced with strong emotion) and he can also heal with touch. The warehouse explosion and the subsequent quarantine, which happened five years ago, began the start of a breakdown of his life. His wife committed suicide and his brother in law (his former best friend) decided to sue for custody of Teague's daughter, Kat. The past three years he's been in San Quentin serving a life sentence for a murder that he was framed for because he kept asking questions about the warehouse event. He doesn't care about anything else besides escaping and getting to his little 6 yo daughter, Kat. To say that he is disillusioned with the world is putting it mildly. He's lost all faith in pretty much everything. The only thing he knows is that he loves his little girl desperately and needs to be with her.


    Alyssa is a doctor who was covering for a tech the day that Teague was brought in for an exam. In a case of mistaken identity, Teague kidnapped her during his escape. I liked Alyssa's character. She's terrified, but that doesn't stop her from fighting back. She is tough and scrappy and constantly comes up swinging. But she's also incredibly intelligent, fair, and compassionate. As Teague constantly does things to protect her even when he himself is threatening her, she starts to see him differently.


    This book is heartbreaking and suspenseful. I just couldn't see how it could all work out. Even though Teague didn't commit the original crime, he's committed a whole bunch since his escape, but this is not a bad guy. He was a paramedic and firefighter. This is someone who committed his life to saving others, but somehow got caught up in these horrible circumstances and he can't find a way out. This book is brilliant. The twists and turns....just Wow! It's an absolutely amazing read and Joan Swan is an amazing story teller. I was riveted from the very moment I started it.


    There are still lots of questions to be answered about what happened to these firefighters and I am anxiously awaiting the next installment in the series. We've already seen glimpses of a couple of the other guys...I am thinking all the books are going to be this hot...Yay!! Definitely something to look forward to.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sizzling Thrill Ride WOW! Joan Swan's debut romantic-suspense

    Sizzling Thrill Ride

    WOW! Joan Swan's debut romantic-suspense novel, FEVER, is a thrill ride you won't want to miss! When San Quentin prisoner, Teague Creek, former firefighter and paramedic, is transported to a San Francisco medical center for a medical exam, he sets his plan for escape in motion. His plans include taking a specific hostage, but what he didn't know is that the hospital would be short staffed that evening, and he mistakenly takes another person. As Teague and another inmate escape with Dr. Alyssa Foster as their hostage, the suspense just builds and builds from there!

    Teague and Alyssa are both strong characters that have obvious chemistry from the beginning. Teague is wrongly accused, hardened from prison life and determined to escape to not only prove his innocence, but to get to the person who matters to him the most. Alyssa is career-driven and strong-willed. She stands up to Teague and fights him from the beginning. When the situation they're in intensifies and Alyssa gets injured, they gradually learn to rely on each another. Ms. Swan does a great job building their romance too. Teague and Alyssa are physically attracted to one another from the get go. Their trust and emotional bond gradually strengthens as they seek answers. Throughout most of the book, these two keep resisting one another to the point of utter frustration, but when they finally get together it is so worth it!

    Negative comments: Not much. I know many people will be sensitive to the racial slurs spoken in this book. I don't like reading about bigotry either, but Swan wrote a particular character very honestly even though he is rather despicable.

    One of my favorite moments that made me laugh was when a certain character was belting out a song in the car. Joan Swan, how did you know I love that band? I just had to sing along too!

    FEVER is a fantastic start to Swan's Phoenix Rising Series. The paranormal aspect is minimal and used well. Teague was exposed to something in a warehouse explosion and ends up having constant high body heat. He is literally hot to touch and is still learning how to control his power. There were six surviving people from that explosion, so maybe we'll learn more about the others in future books. In this book Luke and Mitch are great secondary characters, and I wanted to learn more about them. Hopefully they will get their HEA in the next books as well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    I am in love with Joan Swan

    Fever is Joan Swan's break out novel. I had the great pleasure of getting to read an ARC of Fever. LOVED!!! LOVED!!!! LOVED this book!!!
    Joan has created a world for us that starts with a single event. A Fire. A warehouse fire. A warehouse fire that will forever change the life's of the men and women caught in that fire.
    In Fever we meet Teague Creek an man on the run. On a mission to get to the one person he loves the most and nothing or no one will stand in his way. Teague is a tough talking, tough looking man who deep down is very loving and tormented by the past. I loved Teague. Loved to see how he grows over the course of this book. How he changes, how he tries to protect the ones he loves, even the one that have hurt him in the past. But Teague's biggest lesson learned is to Trust. To trust those around him.
    Alyssa kicks butt. For a girl who was in the wrong place at the wrong time she makes a great heroine. I love to watch her stand up to these tough talking guys and bring them to their knees.
    I loved this book and can't wait for the second installment in this series
    Kelly
    Books-n-Kisses

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Once in a while I read a book that I can’t put down. It’s the kind of book that I think about when I’m folding laundry or driving to the store or jogging around the neighborhood. I wonder how the characters are possibly going to solve their problems and end up together. And I stay up late, even though it means functioning on four hours of sleep, because I cannot wait to find out how the novel ends. I hadn’t read a book like that in a long time. Until I picked up Joan Swan’s debut, Fever. From the initial pages of Fever, Swan had me wondering how she was possibly going to make this story work. A beautiful doctor as a heroine isn’t too unconventional. A convicted murderer as a hero is pretty much unheard of. Alyssa Foster is a physician with a bright future and a lot of competition. She’s beautiful, tired, and overworked. She doesn’t like having to work on prisoners as patients, but she has to suck it up because the hospital is short staffed. Lucky for Teague Creek, Alyssa also has a bad boy fetish. But then who wouldn’t have a bad boy fetish with a gorgeous guy like Teague Creek half-naked in front of you, whether he’s a prisoner from San Quentin or not. But Alyssa’s normal life is shattered when Teague kidnaps her and takes off. His companion is a lowlife scum who would just as soon rape and kill Alyssa, but Teague protects her. She soon realizes he has her mistaken with someone else, and she fears when he discovers who she really is, and that he doesn’t need her anymore, Teague will kill her. Teague Creek is not your average hero. He has special powers, whereby he can actually burn or heal with his hands. Alyssa calls it thermokinesis, and basically it means he can control his body temperature. Teague has other secrets, but I won’t reveal those because I found it so delicious and exciting to puzzle out all the little mysteries in this book, and I think you will too. This story moves fast. Swan’s pacing is excellent. The novel is also hot—no pun intended. Alyssa and Teague have so much sexual tension the pages of my ARC were crackling. When they finally make love, Swan makes it incredibly romantic and poignant too. Fever is an awesome book, so much so I can’t even believe it’s a debut. Joan Swan has a dazzling future ahead of her. I highly recommend this novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Fast-paced, super sexy, extremely suspenseful, engaging story!

    For full review including excerpt and dialogue highlight, please visit Reader's Edyn at: ~~~ readersedyn (dot) blogspot (dot) com ~~~ Review: ~~~ Holy Wow! I was completely blown away by this debut novel. I absolutely fell in love with both main characters and have an overwhelming urge to read about the fabulous supporting characters. I was engaged from the first page and the book never let me go until it ended. My only regret was that it did end. I found myself frequently looking at how much was left to read, knowing I was nearing the final pages, and wishing more pages would magically appear. ~~~ Teague – love that name, by the way – is not what he first seems. In fact, he couldn’t be anything further from his first impressions. I thoroughly enjoyed how Ms. Swan only let us in on his true background in bits and pieces. She didn’t lay it all out there and immediately flip the reader’s mind, she let the reader gradually reassess just exactly who this man was much in the same way Alyssa did. Alyssa is constantly grappling for the right thread of truth to cling to throughout her entire “ordeal” with Teague. I say ordeal for lack of a better word, but please don’t misunderstand. There are some high points within this ordeal. She makes an immediate judgment call about Teague’s character, which seems pretty accurate given the circumstances. And who could blame her? But as the hours tick by (the book takes place in the span of a few days), she begins to war within herself. Is Teague who he seems to be, or it there a real human being somewhere within; a human being she is drawn to despite trying desperately not to acknowledge such a longing. As the deception unfold – and there is a whole lot of deception, Yo! – Teague and Alyssa’s roles dramatically switch from the first couple of chapters. And their sexual chemistry? Holy hotness Batman! Ms. Swan knocked it out of the park by allowing the sexual tension to build to a blazing desire, making their surrender to each other that much better. ~~~ Ms. Swan is an author to watch. With a debut like this, I have high hopes for her future releases. She clearly has a gift in writing. Overall, Fever is a fast-paced, super sexy, extremely suspenseful, engaging story. I was beyond satisfied with this read and look forward to many more in the future. Blaze is already on my TBR list! My recommendation? Buy! This! Book! You will not be disappointed. ~~~ (Uncorrected proof provided by Kensington for review.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Great book!

    Joan Swan has officially become one of my favorite romantic suspense authors. I started with Intimate Enemies, which I loved, and moved on to Fever. It was great. Fast-paced intrigue blent beautifully with the romance budding between the two main characters. The hero is awesome, and you just cheer for him from beginning to end. The heroine is smart and fisty and knows how to fight for her man. I love that about Swan's female characters. I highly recommend the book. I cannot wait to start reading the next one in the series, Blaze.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An exceptional, Suspenseful Roller-Coaster Ride!

    ****I would like to thank Joan Swan for providing a review copy in exchange for a honest review! :D****

    Don’t you just love it when an author takes a simple idea and turns it into this mind blowing piece of work, that you aren’t likely to forget for the next how many ever days!? Fever did that to me. In fact, Ms. Swan gave romantic suspense a whole new meaning. There was never a dull moment - I was instantly sucked in by the very first action-packed scene, and I was kept absorbed until the very last romantic scene. Plus, in between all that, readers get a boat full of action, suspense, humour, mystery, even more romance and of course a hint of the paranormal. With complex characters and a plot that will keep you at the edge of your seat, Fever was an exceptional debut novel by Ms. Swan.

    That aside I was thoroughly satisfied by the plot of this book. I would imagine writing a suspense story requires more than hard work, since each event must be executed at the perfect timing to ensure a great read - but Ms. Swan had no trouble with it. All the events unfolded in a perfect manner and the intrigue factor was done flawlessly, as it keeps the reader going on to find out more. The atmosphere and mood of Fever are very dark and cruel, yet there are enough light moments to keep the story from getting overwhelming. A perfect balance. The vivid plot was brilliantly done.

    As far as the characters go, I really liked Alyssa and Teague overall. Alyssa was a total firecracker. Right from the beginning when she gets kidnapped, she gives Teague heck. She wasn’t afraid to speak her mind and express her opinions, in the face of danger. I really liked her bold personality. Teague, on the other hand, is not your normal guy - which is why I enjoyed him so much (aside from his crazy sex appeal ;p). He is tough and hard on the outside and only has one goal in mind - to escape. But as the story progresses, Teague’s intentions become evident and you can’t help but fall for him. The depth of Ms. Swan’s characters and their distinct personalities was definitely a major factor that contributed into making the characters likeable.

    The romance was done just right. Teague and Alyssa’s relationship is unlikely. A doctor and a convict - it doesn’t seem like it could happen in the real world, but the way the romance is crafted will have you forgetting about the unlikeliness of the coupling. Both characters complimented each other very nicely and their chemistry was steamy. Despite having a tough exterior, Teague’s soft and protective side never fails to show up where Alyssa is concerned, which I thought was very sweet. Both are drawn to each other and they made the perfect team.

    One thing I would like to touch up on is about the racial slurs. Where most people found that upsetting, I thought it fit well according to the personalities of the characters that say them. A gang and Taz (the escapee with Teague) - were racist and foul mouthed, as would be expected of any said person in the real world. It went well with the story, so I didn’t think much of it. It just makes the readers feel a strong hatred for Taz’s character or the gang’s - which was the author’s intention.

    Fever was a brilliant start to a new series and I am just anxious to get my hands on the second installment. With a very unexpected conclusion, and many questions left unanswered, I am curious to see where Ms. Swan takes the story next. A definite must read for all romantic suspense/par

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    I am a very fast reader, and it depends for me on how fast a boo

    I am a very fast reader, and it depends for me on how fast a book moves. Fever moves and moves quickly.I loved that Ms. Swan didn't cut corners either, it's gritty in the places you look for grit and tender where it counts.You will fall for Dr. Alyssa Foster who is kidnapped by prison escapee Teague Creek. Teague is a a wrongfully convicted felon in a high-security prison and all he wants to do is prove that he's innocent. Fever is a non stop thrill ride that left me wanting more. It made me laugh, cringe and cry in many different places. It's sensual not sexual meaning I can sell it to customers who love romance but don't need every other chapter to be a steamy scene. Romantic suspense readers who don't pick this book up will be truly be missing a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fever is Hot!

    I have been hearing a lot of buzz about this book for the last few months and now that I have read it, I understand what all the hoopla was about. Not only is Teague the perfect hero, strong, thoughtful, protective and sexy, but Alyssa is a heroine that isn’t going to take trouble from anyone, not even desperate criminals escaping from prison. On top of the awesome characters, this story hits the ground running (literally—prison break remember) and it just doesn’t stop ‘til you hit the last page, and it has everything: desperate criminals, kidnapping, gang members, cops, FBI, knife fights, gun fights, fires…even wolves (but not the werewolf kind). Definitely pick this up and make sure you have plenty of time to read since the worst thing was trying to pick a place to stop and go to sleep.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Great read!

    Lovef it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Omg

    Why does everyone think they have to write a novelle review!!?? I totally skip the long reviews and base a decission on the short and to the point reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book. I had a hard time putting it down

    I absolutely loved this book. I had a hard time putting it down at 2:00 am each morning in order to try to get a few hours of sleep before work. All the characters were very well written with their back story and the current story. My heart broke for Teague as he dealt with his inner demons from being in prison for a crime he didn't commit and the life of fear he led to breaking out so he could be reunited with his daughter and the fear that she would reject him. His love for his daughter was so sincere. The turn of events with Hannah "Alyssa" was very well thought out. Alyssa is just what Teague needed. Speaking her mind and telling him like it is even though at times she feared for her own safety. Teague's internal struggle of wanting Alyssa but not feeling that he was good enough for her and then her taking the first step was great. He was so honorable in the way he protected and cared for her even though he put her in the position she was in. I love a man that is all alpha male but still has a soft side for the woman he cares about. After everything he went through and all his self doubt to have him express his feelings the way he did, Oh My, is all I can say!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    love this book

    what a great book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2