Customer Reviews for

Fever (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fever

Where do I even begin to tell you how much I love The Chemical Garden series. When I first read Wither, I was in love. I could not put the book down. It was defiantly one of the best books I read this past year. I had to know what happens to Rhine and Gabriel. I h...
Where do I even begin to tell you how much I love The Chemical Garden series. When I first read Wither, I was in love. I could not put the book down. It was defiantly one of the best books I read this past year. I had to know what happens to Rhine and Gabriel. I had to know if they made it all right. So when I saw that the second book Fever was coming out, I knew I had to get my hands on it. I tried entering contests and giveaways. But I was not winning. :( Then in November of 2011 I was able to attend NCTE in Chicago. There I meant the wonderful people at Simon and Schuster. I was talking to one of the girls at the booth and I asked her if they had arcs of Fever there and if they did when are they going to give them out. And then this wonderful person went under the table and received the one book that I was there to get. I was on cloud nine. My life was complete. You can ask Lynn from Bringing the Epic.....the book did not leave the my side until we left to drive home. Well to make a long story short, I was about to embark on a great journey with Rhine and Gabriel and I could not wait!



This book starts off exactly where the first book ended. You are with Rhine and Gabriel and they are on the boat sailing up the coast. Rhine and Gabriel are going to Manhattan to find Rhine's brother. They come across many bumps in their journey and forks in the road. And each challenge in my eyes makes them stronger. They are first kidnapped to become part of a show, then they sneak on a truck and take it to West Virginia, then they make it all the way to Manhattan and that is where all the fun begins. That is where you start to understand the title of the book and where this whole story is going.


Lauren DeStefano is a genius! I thought Wither was good then I read Fever. I am so happy that I was able to read this remarkable book. Fever is everything that you want it to be. Fever is amazing, and breathe taking. It has suspense, sorrow, love, and hate all tied into one. It is everything that you would want in a story and more. I would say this might be book of the year for 2012!

posted by lovepassionbooks on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I really hated the ending to the last book. I loved everything e

I really hated the ending to the last book. I loved everything else, though, oddly enough. This book, because it was centered around Fever's ending, really ticked me off. I have no issues with the writer, and I suppose the writing is good as well, but the context of wha...
I really hated the ending to the last book. I loved everything else, though, oddly enough. This book, because it was centered around Fever's ending, really ticked me off. I have no issues with the writer, and I suppose the writing is good as well, but the context of what she writes made me dislike the book.

-HOW could Rhine leave with Gabriel? I always felt their relationship was so bad. They are very robotic when it comes to love, and to put it simply, she tried to make it as romantic as possible (the author) and failed miserably, as the two obviously didn't even know what love is.

-My most irritating thought was that Rhine was so nice to Linden, cuddling with that handsome poor thing, and she leaves him! It disgusted me that she left, for Gabriel of all people! I began to hate Rhine, she was such a coward, and broke Linden's heart twice.

-More Linden: HOW COULD SHE LEAVE HIM?! HOW?! She led him off into a wonderland, thinking he was truly loved, and she snapped his cord, like a Venus flytrap, back to his spaceship of possible love, leaving him to drift in a space of agony and sadness. And she left him for Gabriel, a servant. I found more love with the two, Rhine and Linden, cuddling than every second she spent with that idiot! I am not going to say which I believe is the most idiotic caracter of them all, and it isn't the bad guy. (Hint: It's Rhine and Gabriel.)

-Now, I think Rhine is extremely stupid -obviously- and has issues. She doesn't seem real to me, at all! This is a basic structure of how she is:

Rhine- "Oh, I must leave this cage! Oh no, I can't! Too dangerous. Run away with me Gabriel! We will get hurt, never mind!" I dunno about you, but I find that very annoying.

-And finally: WHY DID SHE LEAVE LINDEN.... WHHHHYYYYY?!?!?

I didn't like this book, in short, and her decision near the end made me want to break a hole in the wall and stop a alien invasion, like the Hulk.

posted by Minerviea on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fever

    Where do I even begin to tell you how much I love The Chemical Garden series. When I first read Wither, I was in love. I could not put the book down. It was defiantly one of the best books I read this past year. I had to know what happens to Rhine and Gabriel. I had to know if they made it all right. So when I saw that the second book Fever was coming out, I knew I had to get my hands on it. I tried entering contests and giveaways. But I was not winning. :( Then in November of 2011 I was able to attend NCTE in Chicago. There I meant the wonderful people at Simon and Schuster. I was talking to one of the girls at the booth and I asked her if they had arcs of Fever there and if they did when are they going to give them out. And then this wonderful person went under the table and received the one book that I was there to get. I was on cloud nine. My life was complete. You can ask Lynn from Bringing the Epic.....the book did not leave the my side until we left to drive home. Well to make a long story short, I was about to embark on a great journey with Rhine and Gabriel and I could not wait!



    This book starts off exactly where the first book ended. You are with Rhine and Gabriel and they are on the boat sailing up the coast. Rhine and Gabriel are going to Manhattan to find Rhine's brother. They come across many bumps in their journey and forks in the road. And each challenge in my eyes makes them stronger. They are first kidnapped to become part of a show, then they sneak on a truck and take it to West Virginia, then they make it all the way to Manhattan and that is where all the fun begins. That is where you start to understand the title of the book and where this whole story is going.


    Lauren DeStefano is a genius! I thought Wither was good then I read Fever. I am so happy that I was able to read this remarkable book. Fever is everything that you want it to be. Fever is amazing, and breathe taking. It has suspense, sorrow, love, and hate all tied into one. It is everything that you would want in a story and more. I would say this might be book of the year for 2012!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Febuary 2012

    I can't wait for this book to come out!(Feb. 2012) Wither was great I read it in 48 hours. And I really hope the author will give us more excperts.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    I really hated the ending to the last book. I loved everything e

    I really hated the ending to the last book. I loved everything else, though, oddly enough. This book, because it was centered around Fever's ending, really ticked me off. I have no issues with the writer, and I suppose the writing is good as well, but the context of what she writes made me dislike the book.

    -HOW could Rhine leave with Gabriel? I always felt their relationship was so bad. They are very robotic when it comes to love, and to put it simply, she tried to make it as romantic as possible (the author) and failed miserably, as the two obviously didn't even know what love is.

    -My most irritating thought was that Rhine was so nice to Linden, cuddling with that handsome poor thing, and she leaves him! It disgusted me that she left, for Gabriel of all people! I began to hate Rhine, she was such a coward, and broke Linden's heart twice.

    -More Linden: HOW COULD SHE LEAVE HIM?! HOW?! She led him off into a wonderland, thinking he was truly loved, and she snapped his cord, like a Venus flytrap, back to his spaceship of possible love, leaving him to drift in a space of agony and sadness. And she left him for Gabriel, a servant. I found more love with the two, Rhine and Linden, cuddling than every second she spent with that idiot! I am not going to say which I believe is the most idiotic caracter of them all, and it isn't the bad guy. (Hint: It's Rhine and Gabriel.)

    -Now, I think Rhine is extremely stupid -obviously- and has issues. She doesn't seem real to me, at all! This is a basic structure of how she is:

    Rhine- "Oh, I must leave this cage! Oh no, I can't! Too dangerous. Run away with me Gabriel! We will get hurt, never mind!" I dunno about you, but I find that very annoying.

    -And finally: WHY DID SHE LEAVE LINDEN.... WHHHHYYYYY?!?!?

    I didn't like this book, in short, and her decision near the end made me want to break a hole in the wall and stop a alien invasion, like the Hulk.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Follow Lauren on Facebook!

    Don't forgt to follow Lauren DeStefano on facebook!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    So good

    The book justt makes want keep on reading! I cannot wait for the next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Just as good!

    Its just as good as the first book wither! Just when rhine thought she escaped it all, there was worse to come. Still searching for her brother, she finds that there is something she isnt admitting to herself about him. Maybe she is too emotional, but it is also what makes her strong. Secrets of her brother await her, along with things her long lost sister told gabriel about rhine that she never heard. Trying to be free seems impossible, especially when vaugnn seems to be tracking her too easily, and there are others that want her for her youth, beauty, and unique eyes. Will she ever escape? Will she find her brother? Can she save herself and the ones she loves from the fever?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Disappointing

    This book suffers greatly from the current trilogy trend. The book fails to expand on the story presented (well) in Wither until the last few pages and then ends practically mid-sentence. DeStefano's language remains lyrical if ultimately empty making for a quick, relatively painless read (damned with faint praise). Skip this one or at most borrow from the library and hope for a better resolution. The story is definitely still there to be told. If only the publishing powers didn't insist on telling it in threes.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    I LOVE IT !

    I LOVE IT !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Blank

    DELICIOUS! I WANT MORE! AS THE BOOK UNRAVELS, IF MAKES YOU FEEL ALL THESE DIFFERENT EMOTIONS LIKE WORRY, ANGER, SADNESS, ETC. IF YOU LIKE THE FIRST BOOK, YOU WILL LOVE THIS ONE. PLEASE READ IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Better luck next time?

    This wasn't as interesting as the first book. I kept skiping pages trying to find something interesting. The ending was a little rushed. Does Rhine and Gaberial even like each other? The half of the book that i did read was some what good but not great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Awesomie

    Best book that ive read in a lonug time

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Let me tell you, Fever is aptly titled. The first part of this b

    Let me tell you, Fever is aptly titled. The first part of this book–until about Chapter 9 or so (out of 27 chapters)–reads like a haze. DeStefano has a very lyrical way of writing, and its infused with a sort of haze all throughout the beginning that gives the book a sense of surrealism. Usually, I hate that kind of thing. Hey, have you seen my review of Shatter Me? Usually lyrical writing–overdone like that–really turns me off. But it works rather well with the surrealism of Rhine’s current situation, somehow. It still doesn’t completely jive with my particular taste in style (part of the reason this isn’t a five star review), but I found myself stuck reading…and reading…and reading. After Chapter 9, the book falls into the saner rhythm, with the lyrical phrasing and such more interspersed–the way Wither was written, basically. There is still a tinge of the “fever,” though, which helps to connect the switch.
    Another thing found in those first few chapters? DeStefano’s other magical ability, to take on a situation that has such a bad stigma to it and make it work for her story. It was polygamy in Wither, and it’s prostitution in Fever–neither of which are small change! You clearly don’t get the feelings of approval or anything, but… Well, it’s hard to describe. Anyone who’s read Wither knows what I mean. (Wait a sec. If you haven’t read Wither, what exactly are you doing here? Go check out my review of the first book and check back in here later! )
    The pace of the entirety of the book is FAST. There are a few moments of peace for the characters, but even then there is hectic undertone that makes you keep reading and reading until the book is all gone and you go WAIT GIVE ME MORE. Of course, I’m getting ahead of myself. Fever was also great about answering a few questions but then opening up a hundred more. (Read “great” with AGH I WANT TO KNOW accents.) I, for one, prefer fast paced books where things are just hitting me one after the other because it’s the only way I can keep my interest in it, and this book delivered.
    I wish I could go into my other reasons for docking a star from this review, but in my efforts to stay spoiler free I must say rather little. Actually, they are a lot like the issues I had with the first book. Most of them came from character development, nominally Rhine and Gabriel, whom I’ve had issues with since Wither. There is an aspect of falseness to their relationship still, though events in Fever suggest this might be intentional. (Though I am still completely befuddled by the whole Rhine-Linden dynamic.) Also, the tempo. Despite being fast paced, I was never utterly and completely invested in characters such as Rhine, yet I found myself liking the characters of Lilac and Maddie (don’t worry, you’ll meet them soon) right away. Thus, when things happened to Rhine, my heart wasn’t pulsing like it should have been. As I said in my review of the first book, perhaps DeStefano’s way with words is one reason the plot never got to my heart rate, but I refuse to put too much blame there because she has a way with words.
    Fans of the first book, of course, just want to know one thing (besides the entire plot and all the spoilers that they can’t get til Fever hits shelves, but you know): Does Fever measure up to Wither? The answer is yes. Totally and absolutely yes. If you were having sequel anxiety, worry not! If you loved the first book, you’ll be heading head over heels for the second one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    “Things will get worse before they get better. A little m

    “Things will get worse before they get better. A little more agony before the fever will break.”

    I believe this quote to be an accurate assessment and theme of this novel. Fever has left me with conflicting thoughts. I wanted to like it, I generally did like it, but I didn’t much like much of what happened in the book. How does this make sense? Well, I’ll try to explain the best I can without many spoilers.

    Fever is a darker, grittier, more troubled look at the dystopian world of The Chemical Garden Trilogy (although I still feel like we know very little about this world). From the very outset, it is unyieldingly bleak. Fever picks up right where Wither left off, with Rhine and Gabriel’s escape. But there is no rest for the wicked, and no chance for happiness between the couple before events take a turn down an even darker path. Rhine’s escape into “freedom” brings with it the dangers of a hopeless world full of immoral individuals, prostitution, drugs, people who sell and buy flesh alike.

    Rhine is left reeling with the consequences of her decisions to bring herself and Gabriel out into this harsh world. However, I feel like she is never touched by the events as much as she should be. Nothing she encounters seems to affect her deeply enough for me to connect with her character. Her obsession with the material luxuries she left behind rubbed me the wrong way. I understand her concerns that she left such a luxorious world for such a gritty one, but every subsequent time she brought up that white sweater, I wanted to slap her silly. It seemed to me like she cared about the things she lost than the people and situations around her.

    Most of the meat of the book happened towards the end, as Fever sets us up for the final installment of the trilogy. When you have about 20 pages left, you’re not sure how it is going to possibly come to a satisfying end. However, the great cliffhanger DeStefano leaves us with leaves me wanting for the last novel.

    Overall, I would recommend this to fans of Wither. It’s a different speed of novel, and not a whole lot actually happens in it (a condition I call “middle book syndrome”), but it is interesting all the same. I think you’ll want to read this installment and the next if for no other reason than to see how it ends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Pretty good

    I am a huge fan of wither. It captivated me from the moment i started reading. However fever was a little disapointing. I could only really grasp the basic plotline for most of it probably because she was in a medicated derlium for most of the book. So i have to say she did a great job with that. Still incrediblly eager to find the conclusion in her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Great sequel

    I loved this book! I read it in 5 hours and I highly anticipate the third and final book. The story's plot becomes intricately weaved and much it explained; I could not put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Brilliant!

    This book does not disappoint! I could not put it down, it is beautifully written. I cannot wait for the the final book to be released!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    WITHER

    Wither was an AMAZING BOOK!!! I highly reccomend it to anyone thatblikes mystery, twilight, or romance novels. This is the kind of book that i love writing!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    So awesome

    She found rowan omg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

          

          

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10