Customer Reviews for

Fever (Chemical Garden Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fever

Where do I even begin to tell you how much I love The Chemical Garden series. When I first read Wither, I was in love. I could not put the book down. It was defiantly one of the best books I read this past year. I had to know what happens to Rhine and Gabriel. I h...
Where do I even begin to tell you how much I love The Chemical Garden series. When I first read Wither, I was in love. I could not put the book down. It was defiantly one of the best books I read this past year. I had to know what happens to Rhine and Gabriel. I had to know if they made it all right. So when I saw that the second book Fever was coming out, I knew I had to get my hands on it. I tried entering contests and giveaways. But I was not winning. :( Then in November of 2011 I was able to attend NCTE in Chicago. There I meant the wonderful people at Simon and Schuster. I was talking to one of the girls at the booth and I asked her if they had arcs of Fever there and if they did when are they going to give them out. And then this wonderful person went under the table and received the one book that I was there to get. I was on cloud nine. My life was complete. You can ask Lynn from Bringing the Epic.....the book did not leave the my side until we left to drive home. Well to make a long story short, I was about to embark on a great journey with Rhine and Gabriel and I could not wait!



This book starts off exactly where the first book ended. You are with Rhine and Gabriel and they are on the boat sailing up the coast. Rhine and Gabriel are going to Manhattan to find Rhine's brother. They come across many bumps in their journey and forks in the road. And each challenge in my eyes makes them stronger. They are first kidnapped to become part of a show, then they sneak on a truck and take it to West Virginia, then they make it all the way to Manhattan and that is where all the fun begins. That is where you start to understand the title of the book and where this whole story is going.


Lauren DeStefano is a genius! I thought Wither was good then I read Fever. I am so happy that I was able to read this remarkable book. Fever is everything that you want it to be. Fever is amazing, and breathe taking. It has suspense, sorrow, love, and hate all tied into one. It is everything that you would want in a story and more. I would say this might be book of the year for 2012!

posted by lovepassionbooks on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I really hated the ending to the last book. I loved everything e

I really hated the ending to the last book. I loved everything else, though, oddly enough. This book, because it was centered around Fever's ending, really ticked me off. I have no issues with the writer, and I suppose the writing is good as well, but the context of wha...
I really hated the ending to the last book. I loved everything else, though, oddly enough. This book, because it was centered around Fever's ending, really ticked me off. I have no issues with the writer, and I suppose the writing is good as well, but the context of what she writes made me dislike the book.

-HOW could Rhine leave with Gabriel? I always felt their relationship was so bad. They are very robotic when it comes to love, and to put it simply, she tried to make it as romantic as possible (the author) and failed miserably, as the two obviously didn't even know what love is.

-My most irritating thought was that Rhine was so nice to Linden, cuddling with that handsome poor thing, and she leaves him! It disgusted me that she left, for Gabriel of all people! I began to hate Rhine, she was such a coward, and broke Linden's heart twice.

-More Linden: HOW COULD SHE LEAVE HIM?! HOW?! She led him off into a wonderland, thinking he was truly loved, and she snapped his cord, like a Venus flytrap, back to his spaceship of possible love, leaving him to drift in a space of agony and sadness. And she left him for Gabriel, a servant. I found more love with the two, Rhine and Linden, cuddling than every second she spent with that idiot! I am not going to say which I believe is the most idiotic caracter of them all, and it isn't the bad guy. (Hint: It's Rhine and Gabriel.)

-Now, I think Rhine is extremely stupid -obviously- and has issues. She doesn't seem real to me, at all! This is a basic structure of how she is:

Rhine- "Oh, I must leave this cage! Oh no, I can't! Too dangerous. Run away with me Gabriel! We will get hurt, never mind!" I dunno about you, but I find that very annoying.

-And finally: WHY DID SHE LEAVE LINDEN.... WHHHHYYYYY?!?!?

I didn't like this book, in short, and her decision near the end made me want to break a hole in the wall and stop a alien invasion, like the Hulk.

posted by Minerviea on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Let me tell you, Fever is aptly titled. The first part of this b

    Let me tell you, Fever is aptly titled. The first part of this book–until about Chapter 9 or so (out of 27 chapters)–reads like a haze. DeStefano has a very lyrical way of writing, and its infused with a sort of haze all throughout the beginning that gives the book a sense of surrealism. Usually, I hate that kind of thing. Hey, have you seen my review of Shatter Me? Usually lyrical writing–overdone like that–really turns me off. But it works rather well with the surrealism of Rhine’s current situation, somehow. It still doesn’t completely jive with my particular taste in style (part of the reason this isn’t a five star review), but I found myself stuck reading…and reading…and reading. After Chapter 9, the book falls into the saner rhythm, with the lyrical phrasing and such more interspersed–the way Wither was written, basically. There is still a tinge of the “fever,” though, which helps to connect the switch.
    Another thing found in those first few chapters? DeStefano’s other magical ability, to take on a situation that has such a bad stigma to it and make it work for her story. It was polygamy in Wither, and it’s prostitution in Fever–neither of which are small change! You clearly don’t get the feelings of approval or anything, but… Well, it’s hard to describe. Anyone who’s read Wither knows what I mean. (Wait a sec. If you haven’t read Wither, what exactly are you doing here? Go check out my review of the first book and check back in here later! )
    The pace of the entirety of the book is FAST. There are a few moments of peace for the characters, but even then there is hectic undertone that makes you keep reading and reading until the book is all gone and you go WAIT GIVE ME MORE. Of course, I’m getting ahead of myself. Fever was also great about answering a few questions but then opening up a hundred more. (Read “great” with AGH I WANT TO KNOW accents.) I, for one, prefer fast paced books where things are just hitting me one after the other because it’s the only way I can keep my interest in it, and this book delivered.
    I wish I could go into my other reasons for docking a star from this review, but in my efforts to stay spoiler free I must say rather little. Actually, they are a lot like the issues I had with the first book. Most of them came from character development, nominally Rhine and Gabriel, whom I’ve had issues with since Wither. There is an aspect of falseness to their relationship still, though events in Fever suggest this might be intentional. (Though I am still completely befuddled by the whole Rhine-Linden dynamic.) Also, the tempo. Despite being fast paced, I was never utterly and completely invested in characters such as Rhine, yet I found myself liking the characters of Lilac and Maddie (don’t worry, you’ll meet them soon) right away. Thus, when things happened to Rhine, my heart wasn’t pulsing like it should have been. As I said in my review of the first book, perhaps DeStefano’s way with words is one reason the plot never got to my heart rate, but I refuse to put too much blame there because she has a way with words.
    Fans of the first book, of course, just want to know one thing (besides the entire plot and all the spoilers that they can’t get til Fever hits shelves, but you know): Does Fever measure up to Wither? The answer is yes. Totally and absolutely yes. If you were having sequel anxiety, worry not! If you loved the first book, you’ll be heading head over heels for the second one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Pretty good

    I am a huge fan of wither. It captivated me from the moment i started reading. However fever was a little disapointing. I could only really grasp the basic plotline for most of it probably because she was in a medicated derlium for most of the book. So i have to say she did a great job with that. Still incrediblly eager to find the conclusion in her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2015

    I liked it a lot. Finished it in several hours. Ends with a clif

    I liked it a lot. Finished it in several hours. Ends with a cliffhanger, ugh jk.. OK, not really a review but seriously, am I one of the only people who really hope that Linden and Rhine could be together?  I kind of know that it's not really possible, and Gabriel is a great guy, I just don't think they are meant for each other tho . 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    Overall I liked this book and the rest of the series. The cover

    Overall I liked this book and the rest of the series. The cover is what initially attracted me to these books- they are gorgeous. The story kept my attention throughout, although there were some times during long explanations where I phased out for a bit- but the author did a good job of really making you feel like you were experiencing the things Rhine (the lead character) was going through in the book. Kind of creepy and scary with the overall concept but very interesting. 


    I put in my recommendation for the series! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great story

    Love the directions this book takes you, twists and turns and hope!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    With Sever, the third and final book in the Chemical Garden Tril

    With Sever, the third and final book in the Chemical Garden Trilogy, set to release in February,  I figured I should read Fever so I was actually caught up for once.  As you may remember, Wither was not my favorite dystopian of all time.  In fact, I had some major issues with it, but it was still a unique and interesting book and I definitely wanted to know what happened to Rhine and Gabriel after their harrowing escape from the mansion.  Fever promised to be a completely different type of story.  Rhine was away from the opulence and seductive danger of the mansion and now we were going to get to see more of the gritty, treacherous, real world as she hunted for her twin, Rowan.  I had my concerns because I had heard from a lot of readers that this book suffered greatly from "middle book syndrome", just a go between, betwixt two awesome plots.  Luckily I very much disagree with this.  I found Fever to be just as interesting and even more emotional and exciting than the first book.  I felt that I really got to know Rhine and Gabriel in this book, as well as the world that they inhabit.




    LIKES:
    Dystopian Roadtrip!:  Rhine and Gabriel travel up the East Coast in a very dystopian "where are we going to sleep tonight and who is going to watch out for kidnappers" kind of way.  The come across everything from a brothel circus, to a creepy cafe owner and little old lady who happens to be a psychic.  They also gain and adorable and awesome companion who really tugs at the heartstrings, but I won't get into that here.  This setup really keeps the plot moving and kept me involved, I wanted to see where they would end up next and whom they would run into.
    Rhine and Gabriel finally get real:  One of the things that really bugged me in the last book was that Rhine ran away with Gabriel even when she barely knew him and couldn't possibly be in love with him.  I was afraid that this book would continue that trend but I was so wrong.  Gabriel acted like a real human being.  He spent most of the book, seemingly, questioning whether he should have come at all.  The mansion was a beautiful prison, but the real world is hellish.  He obviously cared about Rhine but they weren't about to jump into bed with each other.  In this book they lean on one another for support while their relationship develops and goes through it's ups and downs.  I felt like I liked them more and could relate better.
    Beautifully Grotesque:  this book was much grittier than the last and that added to the realism and also made for a much more beautiful narrative about freedom and sacrifice and love.








    DISLIKES:




    Where is Cecily:  When I first saw the cover I assumed there would be a bit of Cecily in this book.  I really wanted to know what was happening with her and the baby back at the mansion, but unfortunately she plays a minuscule role in this book.  
    The Ending:  Okay, I'm not going to go into any kind of detail because I don't want to spoil anything, but I was just so mad with how this book ended.  First of all, I just felt like it was a bit forced and could have been written in a way that wasn't such a let-down.  Second, CLIFFHANGER, seriously?  Ugh!  I know they make people want to read the next book but they're frustrating as hell.  *pout*
    I'm so happy that I didn't find this book to be a "middle book" bore.  This series keeps getting better and I can't wait to read Sever when it comes out on Feb. 12.  Especially after that cliffhanger, I guess it worked then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Fantastic sequal

    Honestly i may like it more than the first! So incredibly crazy and sad. It was excellent and i could only predict one thung and im usually good at figuring things out. It was interesting.. i only wish there was more with gabrial i think im in love(;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Well I am always leery of sequels since I always worry they won'

    Well I am always leery of sequels since I always worry they won't live up to my expectations. Once again I was wrong. Not only did Lauren keep the same spirit and atmosphere of book one, but she also added so much more. I was constantly thinking of it during the hours I couldn't be reading. It is such a dark vision but still lovely and intriguing. I'd highly recommend reading this book. I just finished it a few hours ago and the last paragraph made me scream out "OH NO I HAVE TO WAIT TILL FEBRUARY 2013!!!!" I will definitely be pre-ordering Sever so I can get it in my hands asap! lol Is it February yet? Sigh....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fever was a worthy sequel to Wither. It certainly was captivatin

    Fever was a worthy sequel to Wither. It certainly was captivating at times and it provided more action that Wither did. I'm not so sure why but Fever was a really slow read for me. I started reading over a month ago and only finished it this week, which never happens for me! Probably what bother me so much was the relationship between Gabriel and Rhine; they spent so much time together but nothing ever happened with the both of them, romance-wise.

    The plot: The plot provided us with more action and suspense than Wither yet I found that the relationship between Gabriel and Rhine could have been better; their relationship didn't develop the way I thought it would, so I'm really not sure how their relationship will turn out in the end, it really could go either way. But I do understand that the difficulties along the way were a bit of an obstacle for the both of them. Overall, the plot was very satisfying, full of action and kill-me-now moments.


    The characters: Rhine got to be a bit annoying in Fever. She was still very determined and sweet but I had a hard time relating to her. Gabriel showed us different sides to him; he is not just that sweet guy we got to know in Wither. The new characters were very memorable and different and they brought more life into this novel. Some old characters also made an appearance: Cecily, Linden and unfortunately Vaughn, too.


    Fever was a good sequel to Wither. I'm not saying it couldn't have been better but I certainly enjoyed reading it and the cliffhanger is enormous, indeed. I can't wait to get my hands on Sever now! I am most curious about the results of Vaughn's experiments on Rhine - did he discover something?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking

    Wow, this book was like an ache in the chest.

    Nearly the whole time I was thinking: oh things have to get better they HAVE to get better. But they didn't. It was such a bleak painting of a novel, one horrid thing after another and it just made my heart break.

    I also felt, while I liked it a great deal, that it had the "middle book" syndrome. Because while there was stuff going on, nothing happened in the overall scheme. Sure, secrets were revealed and relationships tested, but the amount of plot moved forward was small. It's just a bridge from the first to the last.

    But DeStefano's writing is engaging and evocative and I couldn't put this book down! The wait for the third is going to really test my nerves . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review - Fever

    I actually struggled with what to rate this. I just didn't enjoy it as much as Wither, but there was still a lot of spark to this book. I think it went in a direction I wasn't expecting.

    Rhine and Gabriel don't make it very far before being ensnared in a twisted version of a brothel with an absolutely crazy "madame". Turns out the madame thinks she can get customers to pay lots of money for Rhine. Thankfully, it's a look but not touch sort of thing. It was interesting reading about their experiences her. Gabriel is kept so high on drugs (I think they called it Angel's Blood) that he can't even think straight. Rhine is desperately trying to find a way to escape. But, it doesn't take long for their past to catch up to them (I knew then what takes Rhine until the end of the book to figure out).

    In their escape, they rescue one of the other girl's child and take her with them. Their journey to New York isn't pleasant for anybody. Gabriel goes through major withdrawals, the child has a broken arm (and she's mute), and Rhine must relive painful memories along the way. Nothing seems to go right for them, so I was hoping when they got to New York things would begin to look up.

    But, Rowan is gone and their family home is in tatters. Which gives a different picture of the type of person Rowan really is than the one that Rhine gives us. With no were else to go, they follow the clue in the book the child has carried with her the entire way. I thought maybe my initial thoughts were wrong and that Gabriel and Rhine might find some sort of peace here. But, then Vaughn shows up and drags Rhine back to the mansion.

    And this point, I think we realize what sort of monster Vaughn really is. I think I knew it all along, but the things he does to Rhine is really atrocious. And all in the name of science and finding a cure. I really think he's gone completely mad. Thankfully Linden discovers what's really going on. Although, I'm not sure that he fully understands what his father is capable of.

    I think my lack of enjoyment in this book as that it's such a downer. They escape one crappy situation to wind up in another. The characters don't feel the same (but one spends part of the book on drugs and another trying to come off of them). It just didn't feel like the same story to me. I did still enjoy it and of course want to finish the series. I'm curious what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Follow Up to Wither

    Let me start by saying that I am not a fan of this crazy cover. If you are agree, trust me on this one and don't judge Fever by its strung-out-debutante-playing-with-seemingly-random-objects cover. I loved Wither (book one of this series) and I liked Fever almost as much.

    So, when we last left her, Rhine was on the run with her hottie-crush, Gabriel with the world's worst father-in-law, Vaughn, presumably in hot pursuit. Well, gentle readers, you knew they weren't just going to spend the whole novel sitting in the beach holding hands and sipping champagne, right? So, after spending all of Wither trying to get out of that pesky (though large, opulant and comfy) frying pan, our heroes now find themselves smack dab in the middle of the proverbial fire.

    Rhine and Gabe (can I call you Gabe?) hit a snag pretty early on at the post-apocalyptic world's creepiest circus. Complete with sideshow girls for sale and a witchy ringleader.

    The majority of the tale consists of Rhine's journey to find her brother and reclaim her life while dodging bad guys in white vans and trying to forget that her date with the Grim Reaper is quickly approaching.

    Along the way many new characters were introduced and I can't wait to see where the next novel is going to take them. I'm still a fan of Rhine and she has certainly earned her place as a KAH (kick-ass heroine) in my book. For any of you looking for steamy romance in Fever, you will sorely dissappointed. DeStefano does include an ambiguous love scene in a tent, with drugged participants and peeping Toms, but honestly I am still not emtirely sure what took place there. For the remainder of the novel, one or the other of our lovers is deathly ill (not conducive to smooching) and the story takes more of an adventurous turn than a romantic one.

    The ending wraps things up well while still making me want more. Fever is a great second act and I can't wait to see how it all shapes up in the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Enjoyed it.

    I have to say its hard for me to find books that interest me. After reading the first of this series i had to read this one and now i cant wait for the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Read if....

    You like The Hunger Games
    You like romance books
    Or you like Twilight

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    The Bawdy Book Blog Reviews

    I came in a little late to the Wither party, but boy did I jump in with both feet. I absolutely loved Wither and so I couldn’t wait for Fever to come out. Fortunately, since I only just read Wither in December, I didn’t have to wait long.

    *This review may contain spoilers from the first book*

    Rhine and Gabriel have escaped Vaughn’s little large house of horrors and gained their freedom, something Gabriel has never known and Rhine has been desperate to get back. But when they land on the beach, somewhere between there and their final destination, what waits for them isn’t a pleasant society that’s willing to take them into the fold; it’s much more brutal and forsaken than that.
    If Wither was descriptive and fluid, Fever is beautiful and horrific and DeStefano’s writing flows from the pages in vivid colors and sounds. It’s like looking through a warped glass that adds a strange distortion and technicolor until they run together just a little bit. It’s a little hard to look at, but you can’t turn away because you have a fervent hope – just a hope – that Rhine will get her happily-ever-after.
    DeStefano’s characters still come to life right off the pages, as if they could just step right out of the black-and-white words in full, vibrant life. Rhine is not a delightful person; she is hopeful, but lives in a world where women are sold into marriages and prostitution akin to slavery and her outlook on life reflects that. But she is very strong and her point-of-view is brilliantly read. Gabriel is more subdued but he shines all the same. More bad things happen to him in this book and we get to see what he’s capable of and what he’s willing to do for Rhine. Madame, Lilac, and Maddie sang and danced through the pages, each in their own ways. Madame is especially intriguing and I loved every scene with her in it. She is conniving but there is something deeper there as well. I’d like to have learned more about her past and how she got to where she was. In fact, I think her scenes are my favorite in Fever, for the music, color and imagery. Oh the brilliant imagery!
    The ending was surprising and yet, not surprising. I can’t say more than that, really. But it did make my heart palpitate and some characters DID surprise me very much. I loved the ending, and I really can’t wait to see where this trilogy ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Loved it

    Cant wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Just as haunting as the first

    Fever picks up right where Wither left off. Just as she did with the opening chapter of the first book, Ms. DeStefano begins with a bang. Even though Rhine and Gabriel have escaped the mansion, it doesn’t mean they are safe. Their journey north toward Manhattan is a rocky one, and they’ll be lucky to make it there alive.

    What I love most about these books is that the author uses fluid, gorgeous prose to tell a very horrifying and ugly story. I mean who would have thought that reading about young girls (dying young girls no less), captured by a demented old woman and forced into sexual slavery in a circus setting could be so beautifully ugly?

    I especially liked seeing Rhine questioning her decision to escape the mansion. In the first book she wanted to be anywhere but where she was, and now, once she’s gone, the horrors that she stumbles upon outside the mansion gates make her life there seem like heaven. In the first book we saw a strong and determined Rhine, willing to do anything to get back to her brother. In this book, Rhine is still determined, but her decision to leave weighs heavily on her, as does her mortality. Was the escape worth it? Will she ever find her brother? Did she make a mistake when she left?

    These are all questions that hang heavily around Rhine’s neck, and she carries them with her throughout the book. Any fan of Wither should definitely check this one out, and if you haven’t read the first book, I do recommend it. This is an interesting and different type of dystopian series that crawls under your skin and holds tight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    It was okay ...

    Compared to the first book, it was awful. Gabriel and Rhine aren't even together that much, and Rhine is hallucinating half of the time. What a dissapointment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good, but redundant.

    The first part of the story was great! But then Gabriel started hallucinating, and as he got better, Rhine began hallucinating as well. It stomped out any hope that Rhine and Gabriel would grow together. The whole middle of the book was: sleep. nightmares. confusion between reality and sleep. sick. eat. soothing words. baths. That's it. And the last bit was just pain, misery and a sterile room filled with machines and needles. All in all, it was alright. The idea behind the story is wonderful, and many times, the writing was just wonderful and had me captivated! There were those times when I wondered if the hallucinations would ever end. I must say that the writing was so great, at times I felt as confused as Rhine. Overall, I loved the book and am very excited to see how this trilogy will conclude!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3