Customer Reviews for

Fever (Chemical Garden Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fever

Where do I even begin to tell you how much I love The Chemical Garden series. When I first read Wither, I was in love. I could not put the book down. It was defiantly one of the best books I read this past year. I had to know what happens to Rhine and Gabriel. I h...
Where do I even begin to tell you how much I love The Chemical Garden series. When I first read Wither, I was in love. I could not put the book down. It was defiantly one of the best books I read this past year. I had to know what happens to Rhine and Gabriel. I had to know if they made it all right. So when I saw that the second book Fever was coming out, I knew I had to get my hands on it. I tried entering contests and giveaways. But I was not winning. :( Then in November of 2011 I was able to attend NCTE in Chicago. There I meant the wonderful people at Simon and Schuster. I was talking to one of the girls at the booth and I asked her if they had arcs of Fever there and if they did when are they going to give them out. And then this wonderful person went under the table and received the one book that I was there to get. I was on cloud nine. My life was complete. You can ask Lynn from Bringing the Epic.....the book did not leave the my side until we left to drive home. Well to make a long story short, I was about to embark on a great journey with Rhine and Gabriel and I could not wait!



This book starts off exactly where the first book ended. You are with Rhine and Gabriel and they are on the boat sailing up the coast. Rhine and Gabriel are going to Manhattan to find Rhine's brother. They come across many bumps in their journey and forks in the road. And each challenge in my eyes makes them stronger. They are first kidnapped to become part of a show, then they sneak on a truck and take it to West Virginia, then they make it all the way to Manhattan and that is where all the fun begins. That is where you start to understand the title of the book and where this whole story is going.


Lauren DeStefano is a genius! I thought Wither was good then I read Fever. I am so happy that I was able to read this remarkable book. Fever is everything that you want it to be. Fever is amazing, and breathe taking. It has suspense, sorrow, love, and hate all tied into one. It is everything that you would want in a story and more. I would say this might be book of the year for 2012!

posted by lovepassionbooks on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I really hated the ending to the last book. I loved everything e

I really hated the ending to the last book. I loved everything else, though, oddly enough. This book, because it was centered around Fever's ending, really ticked me off. I have no issues with the writer, and I suppose the writing is good as well, but the context of wha...
I really hated the ending to the last book. I loved everything else, though, oddly enough. This book, because it was centered around Fever's ending, really ticked me off. I have no issues with the writer, and I suppose the writing is good as well, but the context of what she writes made me dislike the book.

-HOW could Rhine leave with Gabriel? I always felt their relationship was so bad. They are very robotic when it comes to love, and to put it simply, she tried to make it as romantic as possible (the author) and failed miserably, as the two obviously didn't even know what love is.

-My most irritating thought was that Rhine was so nice to Linden, cuddling with that handsome poor thing, and she leaves him! It disgusted me that she left, for Gabriel of all people! I began to hate Rhine, she was such a coward, and broke Linden's heart twice.

-More Linden: HOW COULD SHE LEAVE HIM?! HOW?! She led him off into a wonderland, thinking he was truly loved, and she snapped his cord, like a Venus flytrap, back to his spaceship of possible love, leaving him to drift in a space of agony and sadness. And she left him for Gabriel, a servant. I found more love with the two, Rhine and Linden, cuddling than every second she spent with that idiot! I am not going to say which I believe is the most idiotic caracter of them all, and it isn't the bad guy. (Hint: It's Rhine and Gabriel.)

-Now, I think Rhine is extremely stupid -obviously- and has issues. She doesn't seem real to me, at all! This is a basic structure of how she is:

Rhine- "Oh, I must leave this cage! Oh no, I can't! Too dangerous. Run away with me Gabriel! We will get hurt, never mind!" I dunno about you, but I find that very annoying.

-And finally: WHY DID SHE LEAVE LINDEN.... WHHHHYYYYY?!?!?

I didn't like this book, in short, and her decision near the end made me want to break a hole in the wall and stop a alien invasion, like the Hulk.

posted by Minerviea on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fever

    Where do I even begin to tell you how much I love The Chemical Garden series. When I first read Wither, I was in love. I could not put the book down. It was defiantly one of the best books I read this past year. I had to know what happens to Rhine and Gabriel. I had to know if they made it all right. So when I saw that the second book Fever was coming out, I knew I had to get my hands on it. I tried entering contests and giveaways. But I was not winning. :( Then in November of 2011 I was able to attend NCTE in Chicago. There I meant the wonderful people at Simon and Schuster. I was talking to one of the girls at the booth and I asked her if they had arcs of Fever there and if they did when are they going to give them out. And then this wonderful person went under the table and received the one book that I was there to get. I was on cloud nine. My life was complete. You can ask Lynn from Bringing the Epic.....the book did not leave the my side until we left to drive home. Well to make a long story short, I was about to embark on a great journey with Rhine and Gabriel and I could not wait!



    This book starts off exactly where the first book ended. You are with Rhine and Gabriel and they are on the boat sailing up the coast. Rhine and Gabriel are going to Manhattan to find Rhine's brother. They come across many bumps in their journey and forks in the road. And each challenge in my eyes makes them stronger. They are first kidnapped to become part of a show, then they sneak on a truck and take it to West Virginia, then they make it all the way to Manhattan and that is where all the fun begins. That is where you start to understand the title of the book and where this whole story is going.


    Lauren DeStefano is a genius! I thought Wither was good then I read Fever. I am so happy that I was able to read this remarkable book. Fever is everything that you want it to be. Fever is amazing, and breathe taking. It has suspense, sorrow, love, and hate all tied into one. It is everything that you would want in a story and more. I would say this might be book of the year for 2012!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Febuary 2012

    I can't wait for this book to come out!(Feb. 2012) Wither was great I read it in 48 hours. And I really hope the author will give us more excperts.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Follow Lauren on Facebook!

    Don't forgt to follow Lauren DeStefano on facebook!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    So good

    The book justt makes want keep on reading! I cannot wait for the next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Just as good!

    Its just as good as the first book wither! Just when rhine thought she escaped it all, there was worse to come. Still searching for her brother, she finds that there is something she isnt admitting to herself about him. Maybe she is too emotional, but it is also what makes her strong. Secrets of her brother await her, along with things her long lost sister told gabriel about rhine that she never heard. Trying to be free seems impossible, especially when vaugnn seems to be tracking her too easily, and there are others that want her for her youth, beauty, and unique eyes. Will she ever escape? Will she find her brother? Can she save herself and the ones she loves from the fever?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    I LOVE IT !

    I LOVE IT !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Blank

    DELICIOUS! I WANT MORE! AS THE BOOK UNRAVELS, IF MAKES YOU FEEL ALL THESE DIFFERENT EMOTIONS LIKE WORRY, ANGER, SADNESS, ETC. IF YOU LIKE THE FIRST BOOK, YOU WILL LOVE THIS ONE. PLEASE READ IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Awesomie

    Best book that ive read in a lonug time

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Great sequel

    I loved this book! I read it in 5 hours and I highly anticipate the third and final book. The story's plot becomes intricately weaved and much it explained; I could not put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Brilliant!

    This book does not disappoint! I could not put it down, it is beautifully written. I cannot wait for the the final book to be released!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    WITHER

    Wither was an AMAZING BOOK!!! I highly reccomend it to anyone thatblikes mystery, twilight, or romance novels. This is the kind of book that i love writing!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    So awesome

    She found rowan omg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

          

          

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    FANTASTIC!!!!!

    I highly recommend this trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The America of The Chemical Garden is absolutely chilling.  DeSt

    The America of The Chemical Garden is absolutely chilling.  DeStefano has created a world that may be a dystopian future, but it is one that is entirely believable.  The  world has changed drastically from what it once was, from the world as we know it now.  But, as much as it has changed, there are some things that remain, even if they have been warped by the new world and its new needs.  It is a world of fear and sadness and the inevitability of a shortened lifespan.  Yet throughout this book, and the others in the series, there is the never ending thread of hope and humanity.  

    This series is an engrossing one, with fabulous characters and story lines that make you, as a reader, think.  The characters are all very different people, all with stories of their own.  Some of them you love and some of them you just love to hate.  But they are characters that often challenge you and your values, your thinking.  There are moments throughout the books when various characters act in somewhat questionable ways and, at first, it is easy to judge them.  But when you put it in the context of the chaotic world they live in, it makes you wonder what you yourself would do in the very same situation.  It is a book with definite messages, but it is done in such a way that there is absolutely no feeling of being lectured.  Instead, you have a book that is somehow beautiful, even set in a world of despair, darkness, and fear.  One of the major questions I found myself asking was whether freedom was worth the things that Rowan and Gabriel had to go through?

    Things to love about Fever...

       --The mythology.  DeStefano has taken elements of our own reality and used them as the foundation for the new post-apocalyptic reality of Rowan's world, creating a reality that is entirely possible.
       --The characters.  They challenge the reader to really think about themselves and their own beliefs and values.
       --The story lines.  There are some story lines in this book that are extremely powerful, many with some strong messages about freedom and humanity.

    My recommendation:  You definitely need to read Wither first, but this is an absolutely wonderful read!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    this trilogy was amazing.i fell in love within the first letter.

    this trilogy was amazing.i fell in love within the first letter. hunger games hangover is a joke, but this hangover is aweful. im still looking for a cure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    really loved it!!!!

    I think it was actually a little bit better than the first book was. There was more creepiness, more suspense, mystery, drama it was just amazingly good and it left on such a cliffhanger that if I don't get the next (and last ) book I am going to die!!!!!!! a
    ARGH!!!! Just some of the things that happen in this book I just... Arhhhhhh!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    :)))

    I love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Great series

    One of my favorite book series! This book is as great as the first! MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6