BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fever (The Breathless Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 490 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(251)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

Now i have to wait 4 months for the next one!! I loved jaces an dbethanys story the love and passion was awesome!! A must read! Mrs.banks u are amazing!!

posted by anaw22 on April 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

3.5 Stars ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Cover

3.5 Stars
~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

“I think I just expected more.” ~Under the Covers

I can’t tell you how excited I was to crack open this book! I really enjoyed book one in this series and the character I fell in love with w...
3.5 Stars
~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

“I think I just expected more.” ~Under the Covers

I can’t tell you how excited I was to crack open this book! I really enjoyed book one in this series and the character I fell in love with was Jace. The overbearing brother who shares his women with his best friend. And then I started reading FEVER and…wondered what happened?

Let me start by saying a big reason why I thought this was just an okay read was the heroine. I wasn’t too excited about her from the very beginning. She’s not very strong in general and to pair her with such a domineering man, well he steamrolled right over her sometimes. I think he needed someone that would’ve been able to challenge him more, like Mia did for Gabe, not a delicate flower. Plus there’s the fact that I never really get over the fact that I’m not sure what her motivation for being with Jace really was. See Bethany is a little down on her luck, has been her whole life, and has learned to live on the streets and in shelters. Then in swoops multi-millionaire Jace and tries to save the day. Not doing the best things for me.

But not only was the heroine not my type, Jace turned into a bit of an a$$…you know what I mean. He doesn’t listen to reason when his best friend Ash tries to protect him. He acts like a douche to EVERYONE around him in this book, for a good part of the story! Including one instance with Ash and Bethany where I almost wanted to reach across the pages and slap him silly. What happened to the man I fell in love with in RUSH?

But all that aside, the story in general is ok. There’s some intrigue, generated mainly by Bethany’s “brother” who is not really her blood brother, more like a foster brother. He gets in with some bad people and their way of getting back at him is through Bethany so Jace has to step in and protect her.

The book is sensual as usual with a Maya Banks read and Jace was hot, of course, but… I think I just expected more. At the very least I expect Jace to show up, not his alter ego.

I don’t think I can even say this book made me excited to read about Ash, but I’ll make myself remember that he was hot in RUSH and that he was at times the voice of reason and the strong but sensitive lead in this book, who got the sour end of the stick where his best friend was concerned, and then I’ll be all excited and prepared to read his story.

Sounds a bit like I didn’t like it, I did, it was enjoyable, just not as strong of an addition in this series as I would’ve liked.

*ARC provided by publisher

posted by Under_The_Covers_BookBlog on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    I am so embarrassed that I purchased this book!  I had no idea f

    I am so embarrassed that I purchased this book!  I had no idea from the summary that it was basically just porn for lack of a better word.  I wanted a quick, romantic chick lit kind of book and this was NOT it.  If you took away all of the shockingly detailed sex scenes even the story line wasn't that great.  The man literally put a collar on her.  Yes, like a dog.  To show the world that she belonged to him. Thank Goodness I can delete this trash from my library!!!!!

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    !

    Really no need to buy the book as plot spoilers has revealed everything including the ending. Bn needs to start fineing and banning these plot spoilers that does this. Maybe then they will stop ruining books.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    This book was terrible! It should not be classified as romance.

    This book was terrible! It should not be classified as romance. There is nothing romantic about group sex. How can anyone identify with a character who has such a lackadaisical attitude towards sex? As a fan of 50 Shades, I have been seeking "the next best thing", and let me assure you this is not it. There is nothing romantic about a woman trading sex for a burger, fries, and orange juice. Save your money. The Crossfire series is better. At least the main character has traits women can identify with in Crossfire. The women are cherished and, worshipped. This storyline is not erotic, passionate, or romantic. It is, quite simply, trashy.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Xxx

    On page 199....bla bla bla...boring Maya!!! Im skiming pages to get by! Rush was so much better! Oh Bethany, says Jace, your so tender and beautiful, and I never want to hurt you, but i want to inflict so much pain on you, and you're gonna love it....oh please...i'd rather be reading "oh my" every other sentence!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Not a big fan of Fever

    These are the first two books that I have read by this author. I could hardly wait for this book to come out.
    Very disappointed with this book and skipped pages, just to get to the end.
    Big fan of Gabe and Mia. Jace and Mia, not so much.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Disappointed

    Did not like at all. Not into the three some thing so I coulndn't continue reading it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    So disappointed

    Bad doesn't cut it , the first book was better should of stopped there!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Disappointing

    I fell in love with the first book but was greatly disappointed with this one. The love story between the main characters was very unbelievable which made it difficult for me to even get into the book. I'm hoping the third story will be much better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Bad

    Dissapointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Redundant, boring, poorly written couldn't wait to be finished.

    Redundant, boring, poorly written couldn't wait to be finished. Waste of money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    I really liked Rush, so I bought this book - ouch. It was painfu

    I really liked Rush, so I bought this book - ouch. It was painful to read and I could not even finish it - I just skimmed it. Too bad too because I think Jace had potential to have a good story - this book was so poorly done. Repetitive does not do the book justice. Insipid. Awful. Rush got 4 stars from me. I would NOT waste money on this one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Almost porn

    Very little story but lots of sex and kinky sex..not much fun to read with so little story line. Love her KGI series but not this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Very disappointed. Loved Rush. But this one is hard to read. Ver

    Very disappointed. Loved Rush. But this one is hard to read. Very boring. Just not believable. Honestly, it reads likes bad Fanfiction. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Please, please please... DO NOT REVEAL ENDINGS IN ANY OF A TRIOL

    Please, please please... DO NOT REVEAL ENDINGS IN ANY OF A TRIOLOGY BOOK WHEN DOING A REVIEW!!!! You are not giving a summary but rather a review... grrrrrr... I am in the middle of Rush and I love it!!! I just came up for air and was looking to see if I want to buy the next 2 while I have the money... Now I know how Rush ends so there is NO reason to continue reading it... Thanks reviewer!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    PLEASE READ!!!!!!!!!!!@@@@###$$$%%%&&&&

    Hi!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Terrible

    No story line just really gross sex it's like reading
    stupid porn that's badly written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Yea....no

    I really disliked this book. It was wayyyy out there. I feel really bad for all homeless people, more for women and children. However, in this book a homeless woman being the main character I just couldn't come to terms with it. The entire time I just wanted for it to be over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Don't bother

    Absolutely no plot, no character development and so sizzle. Boring. I didn't even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    I didn't like it!!!

    I honestly had a hard time finishing this book. I hated the fact that Jace let the threesome go down. I would have liked to delve further into Ash and Jace's relationship. Many of the sex scenes were redundant. I love a good and steamy sex scene as much as anyone, but enough already. I don't need a blow-by-blow of how the did it in the living room. Then stumbled into the bedroom for round 2, only to be followed up by very descriptive shower sex. I get it!!! And what's this about he was going to have sex with her if she passed out or not! That's not cool. Bottom line is that the story could have had much more substance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    F*** S***F*** S***

    Gratuitous use of those two words...over and over and over. Useless. Writers should have a larger vocabulary. Sex was repetitive and nt as important to the story line as it was made. And crude. This wasn't borderline porn...it was porn. Won't waste my time or money on book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3