Customer Reviews for

Fever (The Breathless Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 485 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(249)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

Now i have to wait 4 months for the next one!! I loved jaces an dbethanys story the love and passion was awesome!! A must read! Mrs.banks u are amazing!!

posted by anaw22 on April 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

3.5 Stars ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Cover

3.5 Stars
~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

“I think I just expected more.” ~Under the Covers

I can’t tell you how excited I was to crack open this book! I really enjoyed book one in this series and the character I fell in love with w...
3.5 Stars
~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

“I think I just expected more.” ~Under the Covers

I can’t tell you how excited I was to crack open this book! I really enjoyed book one in this series and the character I fell in love with was Jace. The overbearing brother who shares his women with his best friend. And then I started reading FEVER and…wondered what happened?

Let me start by saying a big reason why I thought this was just an okay read was the heroine. I wasn’t too excited about her from the very beginning. She’s not very strong in general and to pair her with such a domineering man, well he steamrolled right over her sometimes. I think he needed someone that would’ve been able to challenge him more, like Mia did for Gabe, not a delicate flower. Plus there’s the fact that I never really get over the fact that I’m not sure what her motivation for being with Jace really was. See Bethany is a little down on her luck, has been her whole life, and has learned to live on the streets and in shelters. Then in swoops multi-millionaire Jace and tries to save the day. Not doing the best things for me.

But not only was the heroine not my type, Jace turned into a bit of an a$$…you know what I mean. He doesn’t listen to reason when his best friend Ash tries to protect him. He acts like a douche to EVERYONE around him in this book, for a good part of the story! Including one instance with Ash and Bethany where I almost wanted to reach across the pages and slap him silly. What happened to the man I fell in love with in RUSH?

But all that aside, the story in general is ok. There’s some intrigue, generated mainly by Bethany’s “brother” who is not really her blood brother, more like a foster brother. He gets in with some bad people and their way of getting back at him is through Bethany so Jace has to step in and protect her.

The book is sensual as usual with a Maya Banks read and Jace was hot, of course, but… I think I just expected more. At the very least I expect Jace to show up, not his alter ego.

I don’t think I can even say this book made me excited to read about Ash, but I’ll make myself remember that he was hot in RUSH and that he was at times the voice of reason and the strong but sensitive lead in this book, who got the sour end of the stick where his best friend was concerned, and then I’ll be all excited and prepared to read his story.

Sounds a bit like I didn’t like it, I did, it was enjoyable, just not as strong of an addition in this series as I would’ve liked.

*ARC provided by publisher

posted by Under_The_Covers_BookBlog on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Not up to Maya's standards

    1st off let me say that if you're writing a review, don't tell everyone the ending of the book!! I have read every one of Maya's books & loved them all. This book was very good but there was a lot of repetitous emotional stuff that I had to skip through in order to be able to finish the book. I absolutely hated the way the male characters talked in this book! What is with the "gonna get it for you" "be anything you need"? What happened to "I'M gonna get it for you" I'LL be anything you need"? Read the free sample & you'll understand what I'm saying. Sorry to say this book wasn't up to the standards I have for a Maya Banks book but hey, you can't win em all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    I am a big fan of Maya Banks books, especially her KGI series, b

    I am a big fan of Maya Banks books, especially her KGI series, but Fever was absolutely the WORSE book of hers that I have ever read.  Oh, where to begin!  I know that as fellow romance readers, especially of  erotica romance,  it is important that the story is HOT but somewhat believeable.  Here is where the problem begins for me.  First of  all, Bethany, a woman who is homeless and has been liviing on the streets and in shelters for the last 4 years, meets 2 complete strangers (Ash and Jace) and decides to trade sex for a hot meal and a place to sleep.  Really?  Talk about a dangerous situation that I think a girl who has had to survive on the streets by herself would never  do no matter how hot the guys.  Then she literally becomes a kept woman by Jace who provides her with money, clothes, food, and a place to stay and all she has to do  is service him.  But yet, one of their fights involve him saying that she is living in his apartment and she leaves hurt.  REALITY CHECK:  That is what a kept woman is when a man is providiing you with everything in exchange for sex.  Why does she act so surprised and hurt?  Also, Bethany had a drug addiction problem in the past that still haunts her but has no problem going out with the girls to the bar and getting totally wasted.  After all she said, " I had a drug problem not a drinking problem."  Huh?  I guess she thought it must have been worth it though, since the whole purpose of all that binge drinking was to have "drunk sex" in her high heel shoes since everyone knows that is the best kind of sex.  Yet the men just thought they were cute and funny and couldn't wait for sex.  Just the kind of message I think all young women need to hear.  But I really "LOVED" the end when Bethany said that now that she was getting married to Jace that she wanted to better her life.  Her solution:  going to school so that she could help others.  HELLO!!!  You are marrying a multi-millionaire.  Don't you think that is she really wanted to help, she would throw some of that money at the homeless shlelters that are underfunded to help others like her?  I even thought the sex scenes were  somewhat boring. and  repetitive.  Even Jace's character was unbelieveable to me-falling in lust/love in  less than a day?  Don't think I really want to read Ash's story if this is how the rest of the  trilogy  evolves.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    OMG! I can't believe the glowing reviews for this book. I have read almost everything Maya Banks has written and this is by far my least favorite. The characters are so unbelievable. I have no problem with love at first sight but I couldn't buy into this storyline.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Couldn't finish it

    I thought I would give the second book a chance when the first one was just ok. It drove me crazy that someone who lived on the streets for years was so so so naive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Eclipse/Silv

    Yup

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Not impressed

    Porn from beginning to end... no plot! Highly dissappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    not bad but not great.

    I liked the characters and the story line was rather interesting. It was the best of the 3. Still far fetched and unrealistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Actual writing?

    The book was ok. The thing that threw me though, was the lack of nouns and pronouns in the dialogue. I'm normally not too bothered by stuff like that, but it was constant. I've never heard anyone talk like that, especially educated people. It was distracting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    not worth the money

    I thought this book was rather boring and never finished reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Not as good as other Banks

    Didn't thrill me at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Totally LAME! The first book was good but this one was so stupi

    Totally LAME! The first book was good but this one was so stupid. I found myself skimming through the last 100 pages just to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    An easy read - good for summer beach reading

    Although I enjoyed the characters, I would have liked more out of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Fever is the third Maya Banks I have read (Fever Book 2, Rush Bo

    Fever is the third Maya Banks I have read (Fever Book 2, Rush Book 1 and Surrender - another series). All three books have a dom male who offers the submissive female up to others. Since this is the common theme and not something I want to read, I am done with these books. I think Fever is better written than Surrender but not the compelling story of Rush. I have a problem with Bethany being homeless for four years, recovering drug addic and street person. dont think the author presents a strong enough story of what Bethany offers to the relationship besides kinky submissive sex partner. In Rush I felt there was more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    I absolutely love Rush, the first book in the series. I was so d

    I absolutely love Rush, the first book in the series. I was so disappointed in the book. Bethany was the most annoying character I've ever read in a book. She emotionally all over the place and too dramatic. Sad the first book was so good. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Anonom

    Rush was better but still a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Very Dissappointing!!!!!!!!!!!I Ireally liked the first book of

    Very Dissappointing!!!!!!!!!!!I Ireally liked the first book of Maya Banks Triolgy, that is why I pre-ordered book 2 & 3. I feel like I wasted my time & money. I really hoped that Jace's character would have a good love connection but instead he gets in volved with a homeless woman who is hurting in all areas. He is an alpha male and she is a doormat. He controls everything and you wonder what she can give him back. She is loveable and breaks your heart. She deserved a better character buildup. I can only hope that Ash's story is worth the pre-order I did. I did like that we saw how Mia and Gabe are doing PLEASE LET ASH'S STORY MAKE THIS TRIOLOGY WORK..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Love this series so far.

    I really enjoyed the first book, and even though O haven't finished the second...I am enjoying it! I love that the male characters, physically at least, too me, remind me of the main characters from the TV series Supernatural... Gabe= Cass, Jace= Sam, and Ash= Dean.... I know I am crazy.... :-)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I usually love Maya Banks, but this fell a little short. I was

    I usually love Maya Banks, but this fell a little short. I was not impressed with the herion, Bethany, at all. She was too weak. She let Jace walk all over her. She was more of a child then anything. I perfer women who are strong and carry their own weight. Jace was simply an jerk. Could not really like him either. All in the all the story continued to drag on and on with with the herion constantly thinking "she wasn't good enough". Very boring in parts. Would not recommend. Ms. Banks Highland and KGI series is MUCH better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    There was no explination for the Jace and Ash need for Threesome

    There was no explination for the Jace and Ash need for Threesomes. How did Bethany survive on the streets for four years without being a bit street smart. Jace had a lack luster personality. Moreover he said he wanted to take care of her but all he did was take her shopping, feed her and arrange for body guards. This is not the best Maya Banks book and I don't think I'll be reading the next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2