Customer Reviews for

Fever

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Good Effortz

    Important issues are brought up in this book. There was a lot to tie together so some of the very unlikley aspects of this story can be forgiven. That said, Charles caused most of his own problems and was a very unpleasant person. Hard to connect with him, let alone like him. One thing I don't like is the dumb wife is a "good" woman, the smart scientist is a "bad " woman. Charles was abusive to Ellen and it seems the author thinks she is bad for having slept with him and for objecting to the abusive treatment from Charles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Fever was a very exciting book that I highly recommend. Robin always tells a very compelling story that really can scare you because you know it can so happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Icestar

    Imsorry, ok? Meet me in fever result 10 in the next 5 min. Please. I have... something to ask u.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Awesome

    I dontget what happens in the epilogue though, so does the benzene return and go into the river again? Ifbsomene knows please comment back. Thanks!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it! Check it out!!!!

    This book was a really good book. I would have to say that its content was for more mature readers. There was nothing inappropriate, but it was long, and there were some things which younger people may not understand.

    I chose this as one of my summer reading books for my school. Some people at the school recommended the book and so I decided to try it out. I loved it. The book did start off a little slow but once you got into it, it was much better.

    The story was about this researcher, Charles Martel, who was a cancer researcher. His daughter was diagnosed with leukemia and Charles just kind of lost it. He had lost his wife a few years earlier so he was married to Cathyrn, the stepmother. Cathryn was a very supportive character in the book. She would always back him up and she would always be there for Rachel, Charles' daughter. There were two other big-ish characters in the story. There was Chuck and Jean Paul. They were Charles' sons. Chuck was about as annoying as you could get, but Jean Paul was more understanding when it came to things. He stood on the sidelines and watched. Yes, he would annoy his sister from time to time, but otherwise he was a gentle soul.

    Towards the end of the book Charles started to lose his mind. His mind itself was perfectly fine, but with all the stress he just started to have some weird thoughts - thoughts that were irrational.

    The characters in this book were not extremely well described but they did not have to be. You got all of their personalities. You did not really need to know what they looked like. Also there was so much going on, it would have been a bit too confusing. I liked how the characters were not described, because with all that was going on, I got to use my imagination.

    The personalities of each character were.

    Rachel - loving, caring, has lots of responsibility as she took over the female role after her mother died, cares about everyone else before herself

    Charles - a smart researcher, easily angered, sharp tongue, wily, wants Chuck to follow in his foot steps

    Cathryn - arbitrator, loving, caring

    Chuck - annoying, easily annoyed, quite strong, doesn't want to follow his fathers footsteps

    Jean Paul - loving, brother-like (has the moments when he picks on his sister, but cares too), quiet

    I would recommend for you to go and check this book out of the library. It is for older readers like 15 and up, but otherwise this was a really good book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    great book, but...

    The problem I have is connecting with and feeling sympathy for the main protagonist (the scientist). He is so uncontrollably angry at everyone through the first two thirds of the book that you almost understand why practically everyone (except his daughter) has a beef. However, he is clearly the "good-guy" because each other adult character (other doctors and scientists, federal and local government officers, factory workers) is conveniently either a sociopath or a psychopath-even members of his own family (other than his daughter and youngest son) are troubling. Also, for the lay-people, this is first book I have read where the medical terminology was consistently over my head. You need a background in chemistry and biology to understand all the terms.

    On the flip side, the writing style is compelling and vivid. It is definitely a page turner and a stimulating read. A good beach-book. Not for the sensitive due to the graphically depicted deterioration of a sweet 12 year old girl.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    A Must Read Book....

    Fever is one of the most interesting books that i have ever read.I personally loved it. From the first page to the last there is drama, suspense, and a lot of emotion. Fever is a no ordinary book, it is an outstanding book. You have to read it to believe it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2002

    Imaginative but Realistic

    Cook does an awesome job in telling the story of Martel and his family and his struggle against a medical establishment. A very believable and outstanding book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2001

    It's a on your seat thriller that you won't be able to put down

    This book takes place in New Hampshire and is about how an excellent scientist realized that his daughter has luekemia and has to find a way how his daughter got it. It's just a really good book that everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    A Non-Stop Suspence Classic

    Fever was an unbelievably accurate and still yet imaginitive novel. The way Robin Cook took you deep into the minds of the characters really gave the this book that extra boost which makes the Robin Cook the amazing author he is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1