Customer Reviews for

Fever 1793

Average Rating 4.5
( 686 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(488)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Fever

The book Fever 1793 is a wonderful book to read if you are like 10-12 years old of course it took place in 1793 it was when Washington lived. This book takes place in Philadelphia the book is about this girl named Matilda she is 12 years old and lives with her grandfath...
The book Fever 1793 is a wonderful book to read if you are like 10-12 years old of course it took place in 1793 it was when Washington lived. This book takes place in Philadelphia the book is about this girl named Matilda she is 12 years old and lives with her grandfather and mother (her father died). Yellow fever come into town and more then a 1,000 people were killed it was a disaster. All of Matilda family gets sick and has yellow fever even her to find out if she died or not read this book. If u cry when you read sad book then get a tissue box and start reading!!!! :)

posted by 1918786 on November 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

So, I just read fever 1793...

This was an absolutely interesting book, for sure. The characters spoke in Old English, somewhat. Many parts were very emotional, but the characters knew how to make fun of a situation. Although this book was good overall, I wouldn't give it five stars. I found it v...
This was an absolutely interesting book, for sure. The characters spoke in Old English, somewhat. Many parts were very emotional, but the characters knew how to make fun of a situation. Although this book was good overall, I wouldn't give it five stars. I found it very difficult to get hooked, to keep reading. I basically had to push myself to finish the book. It was pretty interesting overall, though.

posted by 267568 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Fever 1793 Book Review

    Any teenager would love this book, they can perfectly relate to the main character Mattie Cook. the book begins with Mattie and her mother consistently arguing about when to do chores and work, but Mattie wants the general family coffee shop to turn into Philadelphia's greatest. Just one problem, suddenly the yellow fever strikes Philadelphia causing numerous amounts of sudden death. The yellow fever causes Mattie's family to separate, and endangering their lives. When Mattie arrives in this new land, she realizes that the fever is taking over everywhere. She has to realize how to adapt to a sick environment and survive the fever.
    Even though the setting is based in the late 1700's you can easily relate to the characters. Mattie is like any teenage girl, she is opinionated and strong willed. The point to view of the book is in first person, from Mattie's perspective. As you read this novel, you may interpret her mother as a demanding housewife but as the story precede you realize Mattie's great appreciation for her mother. If an adult were to have read this novel, they would most likely have a different perspective of the story.
    I recommend this book to anyone that loves suspense and history. This book is very suspenseful, you are always thinking about what is going to happen next. It is hard to put the book down! Also this book made me realize history can be very interesting. I felt that it took me back in time. This book was so intense you could feel what the character feels. I loved this book.

    30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Looks good

    Should i read it. I am in 5 th grade and a huge Hunger Games fan. Would it be good for me?

    29 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good book

    This was a pretty good book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Fever 1793

    Hi, I'm doing a book report on this book in 5th grade, I'm a really big reader and love mystery. So far, it's really good but I'm not very far. Do you think I'll like it?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Very good book. Very good book and story. Interesting informatio

    Very good book.
    Very good book and story. Interesting information in the back of book to confirm or help to understand the times and people. I'm glad I read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow was this a good one. One of my favorite authors. At least fr

    Wow was this a good one. One of my favorite authors. At least from what I read so far. This one while good was also very sad as well. But the writing was really good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Very Good

    Captivating and interesting, Fever 1793 is my favorite book written by LHA. People who are interested in famous plagues would enjoy it. My entire class read this book after it was introduced by our teacher for book clubs. Really good, but is a bit creepy and sad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    It looks really good

    I want to read this it looks good. i <3 books like it shouhed i?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Okay

    It was okay, ive read better but it was still a very enjoyable read... i was 10 when i read it and im 12 now so that might be partially the reason ive lost some interest

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Realy good!...but sad:(

    It was a really good book but sad too. Many people die because of the fever that passes through a town. But on the other hand the book was great!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Backyard Outhouse Was All She Had.

    Fever 1793 is a very good book. The storyline is outstanding and tells a heartbreaking tale of a young girl whose mother has been struck with illness. Yellow Fever raged through the United States and took everyone that it could. As soon as her mother was sent to the hospital, she was a lone wolf, and had no place to go. As she walked the streets, she noticed the markets getting smaller, the people getting paler, and the produce coming to a hault. The family's at home business as a bakery came to a depressing slow, and she started to dwell on the next day. Did she ever see her mother again? Did the business thrive another day? Or did she even survive the epidemic? Read to find out [:

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    .

    Very good book. Recomend it! Sad in parts, but a good one altogether

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Ehh

    This book was preety good but there are a few gross parts. I think that if your in 2nd grade or under this book is to gross for u.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    hi

    it kindof gets boring after a while becuase it really doesnt go anywhere for a while

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    A Book review by MGD :Spoiler Free A Book Review spoiler free

    Im reading this in english. Expect a zombie flick without the. zombies. This book is written in diary format. Our narrator Matilda the teenager tries to not to catch the yellow fever and at the same time deal with everybody dying. As did I. I found something negative in each chapter so far. In fact it was so depressing at some parts I held my dog and cried. As an average middle school boy I would have never picked this up, but biases aside if you're in to this genre you'll like it! So I think it's worth a buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Good

    We read this book for school it is really good but it is really sad at the end so be aware but other than that it is a amazing book it is worth gettin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Good

    I read this book twice, once on my own, and once with the class. I absoloutly loved it! I didn't think I would, but it got me into historical fiction. I've found many more in this genre that are pretty good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    This book was very good book overall, sometimes the story line

    This book was very good book overall, sometimes the story line was shaky, but, overall, I loved it and I would recomend it to anyone in the young adult range.. It was a very simple read, finished it in a day..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Very good!

    I am reading this in school and so far it is very good. We could read fever 1793, the cay, or number the stars. As you might have noticed, al of these books are historical fiction. That is because we are studying/ reading historical fiction that goes very well with what we are studying in social studies. I chose fever 1793 as you aready know and that it is very good so far. I am probaly going to read the that other books, number the stars and the cay too becaus they both look like very good books. Even though i have not read all of the books i have just listed, i still would really recommend all of these books. :)


    Thank you so much for taking your time to read this!!!!


    :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Great buuuuut

    This book was pretty good but i feel like it was missing some little detail that turns me towards the 4 out of 5 range!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7