Customer Reviews for

Fever Dream (Special Agent Pendergast Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 574 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(271)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Chilling Descriptions Make This One of the Best

This is one of my favorite of the Pendergast series. Twelve years after the accidental death of his beloved wife, Helen, in Africa, Pendergast discovers she was murdered. The brutality of her murder is enough to make most men go crazy, but Pendergast sets out on a mis...
This is one of my favorite of the Pendergast series. Twelve years after the accidental death of his beloved wife, Helen, in Africa, Pendergast discovers she was murdered. The brutality of her murder is enough to make most men go crazy, but Pendergast sets out on a mission of revenge. Naturally he talks Vinnie D'Agosta into taking a leave of absence from his job to help him.

They go to Africa first and discover clues about Helen's horrible death on a safari with her husband. Afterwards the setting is mainly centered in New Orleans at Pendergast's home. D'Agosta and Pendergast go from one clue to another slowly piecing together the reason why Helen was killed. I cannot say anymore about the plot without giving it away.

What made it interesting to me is the way Preston and Child reveal the clues, some random at first, a little at a time. They slowly begin to fall into place, but just when you think you know where the story is going, you don't. There are so many twists and turns that I found the book so intriguing I felt compelled to read faster! The descriptions of some of the scenes are so chillingly described, I will never forget them.

Constance Green makes a brief appearance in the book, but no more can be said about her. The ending is one of the most exciting in the Pendergast series. We get to watch Pendergast do something in the end that not only needed to be done, but it is so much fun watching him do it, you want to be there with him to enjoy it!!

Once you start reading this book, you get sucked so deeply into the plot that you are forced to read it as fast as the plot goes. I just loved it!

posted by Eslin on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

?

Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but whe...
Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but when you reveal every detail, there is no need to buy the book or even read it.

posted by 8888649 on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 575 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 29
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Why aren't these block buster movies? Thrilling!

    For the life of me I can't figure out why the Preston & Child Agent Pendergast books have not been swept up by Hollywood. I can even imagine a few good actors who could bring to life these amazing characters - maybe Daniel Craig for Pendergast?

    Fever Dream and it's sequal Cold Vengeance were awesome. For anyone who has started reading the Pendergast series, these are the most personal books regarding Pendergasts' love story with his wife and a most bizarre departure on her part in the jaws of a lion on Africa safari. The story unravels a string of mysteries surrounding who his wife really was, what she was involved in and how her death was actually planned. Fever Dream sets up the highly tense story and Cold Vengeance gives you the answers to many questions as Pendergast knocks the ball out of the park.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    BEST SERIE!!!

    I've been a fan of the Pendergast series since Book 1. I love the way the books are written. They grab you from page one. Love the characters, the suspense, the thrillers, the stories. After 9 books the authors still keep you interested in reading the next one. LOVED IT!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    finished feeling let down

    DP and LC are among my most cherished and favorite authors. They way they write invites you into the story and captivates you as a reader. The beginning of this novel invites you in and you read further as you feel the story unfold, grasping insight to Pendergast's personal life and history. Yet somewhere along the adventure I got bored as the plot just kept dragging along. I finished the book feeling a little let down, as this just did not seem to have the normal feel and thrill I was used to from these fine authors. It is a good read, and if you like these authors I would still recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    very disappointed

    I was very disappointed with the few sentences about Constance and her baby,that she was in a jail cell.I was waiting forever to find out about her since she stayed in Tibet. No relief was found in this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    awful

    Hard to imagine that these two authors get published. Unbelievable plot line, ridiculous characters, clumsy prose, lost threads of ideas. In short, a waist of time and money. I finished it with the hope that they would somehow pull it all together. Unfortunately, this never happened.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of their best books . . .

    I'll just throw it out there and say "Fever Dream" is one of the best books in the Pendergast series, perhaps out of all of their books. It truly was hard to put down. It took me two days to finish but that was because I'm human and needed sleep. This book is really that good. Preston and Child create a mystery in this book that is extremely creative. This book also has plenty of suspense that will keep you turning the pages. The only problem is that I have to wait another year for the next Pendergast novel. I'll just have to get caught up on some of their other books in the meantime.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Finally have a Pendergast Fix!

    I love Special Agent Pendergast and eagerly await each volume - sometimes even get to a book signing which is always thrilling. So I am a "biased" reader. Everything in print on Pendergast I instantly love. That being said it still is a great book for the non-initiated. Pendergast finds out his wife was murdered - not accidently killed by a lion. I was thrilled to read this because I've wondered for years about what happened to Helen and wondered who she was - this woman who was married to my Pendergast. I even asked the authors a few years ago if we'd ever find out about her. I guess I'm starting to sound like a stalker. It's a typical Pendergast novel - very exciting. You wonder which beloved character will die. It also showed sides of Pendergast that I've never seen. Somethings were quite out of character - so I was psyched. I recommend this book to any fan. If you haven't read Pendergast - my favorite novel is Cabinet of Curiosities - or you can start with the first book, Relic (which was made into a movie WITHOUT the main character in it!).

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    Good read

    As a fan of the Agent Pendergast series, I was not disappointed with this latest installment. I finished this in a day, couldn't put it down. The descriptions of the time in Africa were so real that you could feel the heat and dust. The search for Helen's killer was a great story line. And it left the door open for another book to explain why was the Pendergast home in New Orleans burnt down by a mob long ago. Can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Pendergast TOO HUMAN

    I believe Pen's humanity took away too much of what makes us like him..his eccentricty...i too don't understand why constance was brought into the picture, but i for one have never liked her so i hope this is the last we see of her..i'm glad hayward got a chance to work wirh pen because her opinion of him was putting a bad taste in my mouth regarding her, but by the end of the book i can like her again... i hope pen hurries and resolves this issue with his dead wife so he can move on and get him a new love interest.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Deflated ending after such a full beginning

    For the first time, I feel dissatisfied after reading a Pendergast novel. I never felt the same amount of entertainment in this novel that I have in previous novels of this series. The beginning of the book is great, and I was very excited to know where the mystery about his wife's death would lead. I felt no sense of resolution by the end, and I the whole time I was reading the story, I kept waiting to feel the same suspense that I usually feel in Pendergast stories that really gets me hooked and entertained. Although I appreciate a new mystery at the end of a book that hints at an exciting sequel, this book's main storyline was not concluded satisfactorily. I will read the next Pendergast novel in hopes of getting some resolution to this novel. The small thread about Constance was also a bit dissatisfying, but I hope there will be a better explanation in the next novel about her behavior and situation.

    This book is still worth reading for anyone who is a fan of Pendergast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Finally more details about Pendergast's past.

    The most exciting part of this book is insight into the short marriage between Aloysius and Helen, about whom we know nothing. Child and Preston have kept the long running Pendergast story fresh by injecting the characters into detailed new environments, and by altering the signature behavior of the main character (this time he is out for blood, but not in the same way as when he was hunting Diogenes). If you enjoyed the other Pendergast books, you will love this one, because it makes excellent use of familiar characters and their histories. Even though this book builds on an already established universe, I would argue that it has substantial stand-alone appeal. I hope that Child and Preston are already working on the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    Tgy g

    Vt vygy tydgtodgrtcb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    li

    Whyoooo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Special Agent Pendergast is a real character, and I've enjoyed following his adventures through all of the books about him by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. Like all the rest of Pendergast books, reading this one is far more entertaining than watching TV. Won't make you dumber, either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Ignus

    Appears as a crash echoes from res 1. He then disappears, having teleported to the wrong place.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Clara

    ( going to bed. Talk soon)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Riker

    (Ok see ya

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Loved It!

    This is the first one I read and I'm planning on reading all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Seth to teddy

    Aee you there

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 575 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 29