Customer Reviews for

Fever Dream (Special Agent Pendergast Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 568 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(268)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Chilling Descriptions Make This One of the Best

This is one of my favorite of the Pendergast series. Twelve years after the accidental death of his beloved wife, Helen, in Africa, Pendergast discovers she was murdered. The brutality of her murder is enough to make most men go crazy, but Pendergast sets out on a mis...
This is one of my favorite of the Pendergast series. Twelve years after the accidental death of his beloved wife, Helen, in Africa, Pendergast discovers she was murdered. The brutality of her murder is enough to make most men go crazy, but Pendergast sets out on a mission of revenge. Naturally he talks Vinnie D'Agosta into taking a leave of absence from his job to help him.

They go to Africa first and discover clues about Helen's horrible death on a safari with her husband. Afterwards the setting is mainly centered in New Orleans at Pendergast's home. D'Agosta and Pendergast go from one clue to another slowly piecing together the reason why Helen was killed. I cannot say anymore about the plot without giving it away.

What made it interesting to me is the way Preston and Child reveal the clues, some random at first, a little at a time. They slowly begin to fall into place, but just when you think you know where the story is going, you don't. There are so many twists and turns that I found the book so intriguing I felt compelled to read faster! The descriptions of some of the scenes are so chillingly described, I will never forget them.

Constance Green makes a brief appearance in the book, but no more can be said about her. The ending is one of the most exciting in the Pendergast series. We get to watch Pendergast do something in the end that not only needed to be done, but it is so much fun watching him do it, you want to be there with him to enjoy it!!

Once you start reading this book, you get sucked so deeply into the plot that you are forced to read it as fast as the plot goes. I just loved it!

posted by Eslin on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

45 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

?

Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but whe...
Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but when you reveal every detail, there is no need to buy the book or even read it.

posted by 8888649 on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 571 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    ?

    Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but when you reveal every detail, there is no need to buy the book or even read it.

    45 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Chilling Descriptions Make This One of the Best

    This is one of my favorite of the Pendergast series. Twelve years after the accidental death of his beloved wife, Helen, in Africa, Pendergast discovers she was murdered. The brutality of her murder is enough to make most men go crazy, but Pendergast sets out on a mission of revenge. Naturally he talks Vinnie D'Agosta into taking a leave of absence from his job to help him.

    They go to Africa first and discover clues about Helen's horrible death on a safari with her husband. Afterwards the setting is mainly centered in New Orleans at Pendergast's home. D'Agosta and Pendergast go from one clue to another slowly piecing together the reason why Helen was killed. I cannot say anymore about the plot without giving it away.

    What made it interesting to me is the way Preston and Child reveal the clues, some random at first, a little at a time. They slowly begin to fall into place, but just when you think you know where the story is going, you don't. There are so many twists and turns that I found the book so intriguing I felt compelled to read faster! The descriptions of some of the scenes are so chillingly described, I will never forget them.

    Constance Green makes a brief appearance in the book, but no more can be said about her. The ending is one of the most exciting in the Pendergast series. We get to watch Pendergast do something in the end that not only needed to be done, but it is so much fun watching him do it, you want to be there with him to enjoy it!!

    Once you start reading this book, you get sucked so deeply into the plot that you are forced to read it as fast as the plot goes. I just loved it!

    27 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Winner

    The story opens with Special Agent Pendergast and his beloved wife Helen on safari in Africa where Helen was mauled and killed by a lion. We have heard bits and pieces of Helen in other books but we never really knew the whole story other than she had died. Now we find out all the details. Pendergast enlists the help of another old friend, Vincent D'Agosta to help him get to the bottom of things.

    I loved this book! I love all the books in the Pendergast series but some touch me more than others and this was one of those. In all the years I have been reading and cheering Pendergast on, I have always wondered about Helen, how they met, what happened to her and why he doesn't like to talk about her. In this book we see that "soft" side of Pendergast. Of course he is still following his own rules and doing things his own way which is why we love him isn't it? We see that Helen may not be the woman her husband thought she was, or is she? It's not easy to describe the book without giving away goodies so you will have to trust me, it's good, great even.

    I enjoy the camaraderie between the police lieutenant, D'Agosta and the FBI agent, Pendergast. We see a heated and at times comical interaction with Laura Haywood, D'Agosta's girlfriend and Pendergast, who she is not fond of. We have the classic cliffhangers of Preston and Child that make us want the next book right now. As in most books in the series, there are stories within stories and never a dull moment. The book moves along at a quick pace and holds your interest from page one.

    While they say the books can be read as stand alone books, I feel that knowing the characters and the back stories always make them a more enjoyable read. I don't think I would start with this one if you haven't read the others but that is just my opinion.

    If you like quirky characters that you can't really figure out, stories within stories and being entertained pick up this or any of these books and fall in love with Special Agent Pendergast, I sure did.

    15 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Fails to Deliver

    I absolutely love the Pendergrast series - but this one really disappoints. It is like a 400 page set up for a sequel. In any series, each book has elements that add to the "big story" being told by the series. However, in this book that is all there is. The "stand alone" plot of this book was very weak, and, honestly, boring. It just doesn't have the "pop" and suspense of the other books in the series.

    I think it also suffers from a serious logical flaw -Pendergrast has such wonderful deductive powers, yet in this book he seems oblivious to the most obvious villain.

    To anyone who has not read any of the other books in this series - DO NOT START WITH THIS ONE. You will just be lost and confused. To any fan of the series, I would wait until the next book is released (because the price of this one will be lower by then) and then read Fever Dream as a 400 page prologue. Otherwise, you will just have a lot of unresolved questions.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What the heck is going on?

    I love, love, love Pendergast but the past two books haven't been very good. This last one though makes me wonder whether Pendergast should be retired before I stop looking forward to the books.

    Never before has it been so obvious that two people were writing a book. It was deadly dull and the real mystery of his relationship with his wife is never resolved. You can assume things but you don't know.

    The more interesting story is Constance Greene and yet it goes nowhere. I found myself waiting for her story to start up again as soon as possible. How can Pendergast be so uninteresting?

    The last 100 pages or so are very exciting although the ending is ultimately unsatisfying.

    There's just too much going on in this novel to keep you engaged. Too many trips around the world with little result. I'm not even sure what the solution was in either Pendergast or Constance's cases. I hate a cliffhanger although that's not to say it really is a cliff hanger. More like I'm dissatisfied with the ending.

    I don't even know why Constance was in the book, honestly except to make you wish that you were reading her story instead of the main one. There's no explanation that makes sense for why she does what she does and none at all as to why Pendergast doesn't seem interested in the problems that she's experiencing.

    Although I love these two authors both together and independently, I really feel robbed these last two Pendergast novels and I'm not happy about it. It's not that I'm one of those people who needs everything spelled out but a little closure would be nice.

    Waiting for the big mystery to be uncovered and it's not so big well, I think I've already said that it's disappointing.

    That won't stop me from buying the next Pendergast novel although if the third one continues with the trend of being worse than the one before it, I may have to quit and just have my memories. Why ruin a good thing.

    This was like the anticipation of a great filet mignon but finding a sirloin on your plate instead. And over cooked to boot. I feel like I wasted so much time reading this and it wasn't tasty either.

    If the books are only being written as an obligation to the fans, we'd be better served without them. There has to be a love of the characters by the writers as there has been in the past. This time? I didn't see it at all.

    In the meantime I heartily recommend my two favorite Pendergast novels, Cabinet of Curiosities and The Book of the Dead. The other books are great but these two are exceptional.

    10 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    You can tell they're getting burned out.

    Which is highly unfortunate because A.X.L. Pendergast is my favorite fictional character bar none. Upon reading this, I thought -- this is garbage. They can do better than this. The characters were flat, they actually made some of them boring. It is pretty apparent that they're getting burned out on writing Pendergast books. There was no heart in this book, it was completely half-assed. I walked away disappointed and wishing I'd never read it at all. The ending was the worst of all. Leaving it on a cliff-hanger is understandable, but the way they wrote the characters into the cliff-hanger was not. Then a note about a new character and a new series, and I thought 'ah-ha.' Basically, I'd rather they just stopped writing Pendergast books than churn out half-ass ones. Leave it on a high-note, fellas.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Disappointment

    After reading all of the previous Pendergast stories, I was severely disappointed in this one. Although the stories typically stretch the bounds of imagination, at least there was usually a supernatural element of some kind that provided the excuse. This novel presents itself as an old-fashioned murder mystery but fails to deliver.

    Agent Pendergast begins his quest by discovering something that leads him to believe that his wife was murdered. Why he waited twelve years to notice this is never really explained. There are several similar incidents throughout the story. At times, Pendergast seems completely incompetent and dependent on the suggestions of his colleagues. At other times, however, he has flashes of insight that defy logic and lead to clues that others have overlooked for years. In total, the chain of logic is completely ridiculous. Pendergast and his friends also seem to have a superhuman way of escaping multiple attempts on their life with little or no problem.

    As a Southerner, I was also greatly offended by the authors' bad portrayal of Southern people and culture. It was extrememly prejudiced and stacked with negative stereotypes. I will not be reading anything more from either of these writers in the future.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    What's Happened?

    Have read and reread all the others....wonderful books, characters, etc.
    Where's the old Pendergast? And what happened to our dying detective? And Constance..... A real disappointment.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another good read from Preston & Child

    If you like a good mystery with a unusual twist this is the book for you. Agent Pendergast is a different kind of FBI agent. Once you read one of the Pendergast series you will want to read them all.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Disappointed

    This was my first and last Pendergast book. The plot lines were so sketchy and unfinished. The book stopped in the middle of the story. I guess that readers are expected to buy the next book to learn the ending. No thanks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    EXCELLENT

    I have read every single book of both authors, together and alone. The books just keep getting better.

    Was very glad to be able to get this for $1.99 on my Nook today since it was the very last paperback that I bought before buying my Nook!

    I see the descption of the Nook book is the same info as on the back cover of the paperback! That is why I NEVER read the back of books by authors I knew before reading them. THEY GIVE TOO MUCH AWAY!

    Now I get to read this AND Cold Vengeance again ON MY NOOK before reading Two Graves for the very first time. YES!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Not the best in the series

    I hope that this is not a harbinger of thins to come in this series. I think that this is the weakest of the series. Hopefully this will just be a fluke.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    disappointing.

    I have enjoyed many books by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, both collaborations or on their own. I've read several of the Pendergast books over the years, but lately I've been reading them in order, 1-10 (#10 being Fever Dream). I just finished "Fever Dream" and was mildly disconcerted when it ended on a cliffhanger. I grew upset when, after the cliffhanger epilogue, there was a note from the authors letting the readers know that they were suspending the series and introducing a NEW series with a new character. I found online that "Fever Dream" is the first book of a trilogy in the Pendergast series. I find it reprehensible that authors suspend a series after the first book of a trilogy -- especially on a cliffhanger -- to start a new project, leaving readers hanging. "Fever Dream" was good, but it would have been much better with an ending. I doubt if I will wait to find out what happened when the authors get back around to Pendergast. Pity.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A solid addition to the Special Agent Pendergast series. It contains all of the witty anecdotes that I've come to expect from Pendergast, but it's also a bit of a page-turner.

    I have a long-standing love affair with Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. Years ago.I picked-up Relic, which was book #1 in the series and since then, I've been enjoying the series every couple of years. There have been a few misses, so I consider these books guilty pleasures and nothing more. However, every once in a while I am reminded how good they are. This is one such case.

    Fever Dream is about Special Agent Pendergast and his discovery that his wife's death, years ago, may not have been the accident he imagined it to be. You see, he knew she was mauled by a lion while game hunting in Africa, but what he didn't know is that his wife's rifle, her only means of protection, was filled with blanks. With this new piece of information, he sets out to find the true killer.

    What makes these books special are the characters. Pendergast is a rather refined individual. Not your typical FBI agent. There are lots of asides and witticisms that are quite enjoyable. On the other hand, D'Agosta, his liaison in the police department is not as refined and a bit more stereotypical so the contrast between the two is quite entertaining.

    Overall, Fever Dream was a quick read and provided a much-needed distraction but wasn't all "fluff" and pat endings. If you shy away from crime fiction because of the million little details or mystery because of the formulaic quality of it, then I think you will like this one.

    It should be noted as well, that it really doesn't matter which order you read these books in. They are all pretty much stand-alone pieces.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Tense Thriller!

    After the awful Cemetary Dance, Special Agent Pendargast successfully returns. Through a chance gun cleaning, Pendergast realizes that his wife's supposed accidental death was in fact a murder. As the act had happened 12 years earlier the trail has gone cold. To help him, he needs someone with good detective skills so he enlists the aid of his friend Vinnie D'Agosta. He tells Vinnie to take a leave of his job and come with him to solve the mystery.

    This does not sit good at all with Vinnie's live-in girlfriend, NYPD Captain Laura Heyward. Heyward despises Pendargast's unorthodox methods and the fact that he always get's Vinnie in trouble. She reluctantly relents and Vinnie and Pendargast are off to Africa in pursuit of answers.

    The more they investigate the more that they learn that his wife was involved in a secret life involving something related to John Audoban. As the case proceeds, witnesses are dying and it seems like someone is also trying to kill them.

    The book has several tense moments and when something happens to Vinnie, Laura is reluctantly enlisted to aid Pendergast. This is the best Pendergast tale since the last trilogy.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting But Ultimately Unsatisfying

    This book provides vibrant descriptions, (particularly of Zambia and the bayou south), an interesting tangential mystery concerning a famous missing painting by wildlife painter John James Audubon, exciting periodic assassination attempts and an intensely suspenseful climax. Unfortunately, the primary mystery, (which concerns the murder of Pendergast's wife Helen by the instrument of a trained, man-eating lion), isn't fully resolved. Furthermore, the solvable portion of that mystery becomes apparent and/or predictable shortly after the novel's mid-point is reached. Moreover, the book's finish is particularly inconclusive and frustrating.

    As regards other technical aspects of the book, the primary characters are well-drawn, but the droll, eccentric and brillant Pendergast demonstrates a disconcerting loss of control at times. The pace is moderate but periodically picks up during assassination attacks and the climax. I recommend this book to any longtime Agent Pendergast fan, but warn that most, if not all, of the earlier books deliver a better, more complete arcane mystery.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Fabulous Summer Thriller

    Lincoln and Child have done it again! Fever Dream is right up there with Relic and Cabinet of Curiosities for thrills, fascinating drama, just a touch of gore to keep the book interesting and a little icky. I loved the fact that Pendergast can fall in love and be deliriouly happily married. It makes me frustrated, however, that we did not get to know Helen Pendergast better before her demise. Set in the heart of Africa and then New Orleans...and back and forth between the two adds just the right air of mystery and horror that marked the Lincoln-Child early books and made them so creepily fun. I definitely think this is a must read for the summer!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    They have done it again!

    They are at it again....robbing me of my beauty sleep! That book, like all the Preston/Child books, is impossible to put down.
    I find myself thinking "I wonder what will happen next" while I should be doing all sort of other things, like working for example ;-)
    It's definitely a page turner and I highly recommend it. Special Agent Pendergast is in rare form once again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good start to a good arc.

    PB/Thriller: I have a little bit of an issue with Constance and the Wheel of Darkness, so I was glad this book went in another direction. It was mentioned a while back that Pendergast is a widower and at the beginning of this story, we learn, with Pendergast that she was murdered. I liked the story and the conclusion. The only problem I had was that Pendergast was downright mean. Have I missed something in past books. He's always been a Sherlock and intimidated suspects, but he was intimidating witnesses. Then there was his indifference to Constance. I got the next book in hardback so it is on the short, short list. I want to see what happens to Vincent and the gang.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Iread this book out of sequence for the story, reading number 11 before number 10. Once I finished this book, I went back and read number 11 again. This entire series is a good read and captivates you from page 1 on. Just be sure to read them in order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 571 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29