Customer Reviews for

Fever Dream (Special Agent Pendergast Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 568 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(268)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Another Winner

The story opens with Special Agent Pendergast and his beloved wife Helen on safari in Africa where Helen was mauled and killed by a lion. We have heard bits and pieces of Helen in other books but we never really knew the whole story other than she had died. Now we find ...
The story opens with Special Agent Pendergast and his beloved wife Helen on safari in Africa where Helen was mauled and killed by a lion. We have heard bits and pieces of Helen in other books but we never really knew the whole story other than she had died. Now we find out all the details. Pendergast enlists the help of another old friend, Vincent D'Agosta to help him get to the bottom of things.

I loved this book! I love all the books in the Pendergast series but some touch me more than others and this was one of those. In all the years I have been reading and cheering Pendergast on, I have always wondered about Helen, how they met, what happened to her and why he doesn't like to talk about her. In this book we see that "soft" side of Pendergast. Of course he is still following his own rules and doing things his own way which is why we love him isn't it? We see that Helen may not be the woman her husband thought she was, or is she? It's not easy to describe the book without giving away goodies so you will have to trust me, it's good, great even.

I enjoy the camaraderie between the police lieutenant, D'Agosta and the FBI agent, Pendergast. We see a heated and at times comical interaction with Laura Haywood, D'Agosta's girlfriend and Pendergast, who she is not fond of. We have the classic cliffhangers of Preston and Child that make us want the next book right now. As in most books in the series, there are stories within stories and never a dull moment. The book moves along at a quick pace and holds your interest from page one.

While they say the books can be read as stand alone books, I feel that knowing the characters and the back stories always make them a more enjoyable read. I don't think I would start with this one if you haven't read the others but that is just my opinion.

If you like quirky characters that you can't really figure out, stories within stories and being entertained pick up this or any of these books and fall in love with Special Agent Pendergast, I sure did.

posted by Kay2001 on July 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

45 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

?

Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but whe...
Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but when you reveal every detail, there is no need to buy the book or even read it.

posted by 8888649 on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 507 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    ?

    Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but when you reveal every detail, there is no need to buy the book or even read it.

    45 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Winner

    The story opens with Special Agent Pendergast and his beloved wife Helen on safari in Africa where Helen was mauled and killed by a lion. We have heard bits and pieces of Helen in other books but we never really knew the whole story other than she had died. Now we find out all the details. Pendergast enlists the help of another old friend, Vincent D'Agosta to help him get to the bottom of things.

    I loved this book! I love all the books in the Pendergast series but some touch me more than others and this was one of those. In all the years I have been reading and cheering Pendergast on, I have always wondered about Helen, how they met, what happened to her and why he doesn't like to talk about her. In this book we see that "soft" side of Pendergast. Of course he is still following his own rules and doing things his own way which is why we love him isn't it? We see that Helen may not be the woman her husband thought she was, or is she? It's not easy to describe the book without giving away goodies so you will have to trust me, it's good, great even.

    I enjoy the camaraderie between the police lieutenant, D'Agosta and the FBI agent, Pendergast. We see a heated and at times comical interaction with Laura Haywood, D'Agosta's girlfriend and Pendergast, who she is not fond of. We have the classic cliffhangers of Preston and Child that make us want the next book right now. As in most books in the series, there are stories within stories and never a dull moment. The book moves along at a quick pace and holds your interest from page one.

    While they say the books can be read as stand alone books, I feel that knowing the characters and the back stories always make them a more enjoyable read. I don't think I would start with this one if you haven't read the others but that is just my opinion.

    If you like quirky characters that you can't really figure out, stories within stories and being entertained pick up this or any of these books and fall in love with Special Agent Pendergast, I sure did.

    15 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Fails to Deliver

    I absolutely love the Pendergrast series - but this one really disappoints. It is like a 400 page set up for a sequel. In any series, each book has elements that add to the "big story" being told by the series. However, in this book that is all there is. The "stand alone" plot of this book was very weak, and, honestly, boring. It just doesn't have the "pop" and suspense of the other books in the series.

    I think it also suffers from a serious logical flaw -Pendergrast has such wonderful deductive powers, yet in this book he seems oblivious to the most obvious villain.

    To anyone who has not read any of the other books in this series - DO NOT START WITH THIS ONE. You will just be lost and confused. To any fan of the series, I would wait until the next book is released (because the price of this one will be lower by then) and then read Fever Dream as a 400 page prologue. Otherwise, you will just have a lot of unresolved questions.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Disappointment

    After reading all of the previous Pendergast stories, I was severely disappointed in this one. Although the stories typically stretch the bounds of imagination, at least there was usually a supernatural element of some kind that provided the excuse. This novel presents itself as an old-fashioned murder mystery but fails to deliver.

    Agent Pendergast begins his quest by discovering something that leads him to believe that his wife was murdered. Why he waited twelve years to notice this is never really explained. There are several similar incidents throughout the story. At times, Pendergast seems completely incompetent and dependent on the suggestions of his colleagues. At other times, however, he has flashes of insight that defy logic and lead to clues that others have overlooked for years. In total, the chain of logic is completely ridiculous. Pendergast and his friends also seem to have a superhuman way of escaping multiple attempts on their life with little or no problem.

    As a Southerner, I was also greatly offended by the authors' bad portrayal of Southern people and culture. It was extrememly prejudiced and stacked with negative stereotypes. I will not be reading anything more from either of these writers in the future.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    What's Happened?

    Have read and reread all the others....wonderful books, characters, etc.
    Where's the old Pendergast? And what happened to our dying detective? And Constance..... A real disappointment.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another good read from Preston & Child

    If you like a good mystery with a unusual twist this is the book for you. Agent Pendergast is a different kind of FBI agent. Once you read one of the Pendergast series you will want to read them all.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Disappointed

    This was my first and last Pendergast book. The plot lines were so sketchy and unfinished. The book stopped in the middle of the story. I guess that readers are expected to buy the next book to learn the ending. No thanks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    EXCELLENT

    I have read every single book of both authors, together and alone. The books just keep getting better.

    Was very glad to be able to get this for $1.99 on my Nook today since it was the very last paperback that I bought before buying my Nook!

    I see the descption of the Nook book is the same info as on the back cover of the paperback! That is why I NEVER read the back of books by authors I knew before reading them. THEY GIVE TOO MUCH AWAY!

    Now I get to read this AND Cold Vengeance again ON MY NOOK before reading Two Graves for the very first time. YES!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Not the best in the series

    I hope that this is not a harbinger of thins to come in this series. I think that this is the weakest of the series. Hopefully this will just be a fluke.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Tense Thriller!

    After the awful Cemetary Dance, Special Agent Pendargast successfully returns. Through a chance gun cleaning, Pendergast realizes that his wife's supposed accidental death was in fact a murder. As the act had happened 12 years earlier the trail has gone cold. To help him, he needs someone with good detective skills so he enlists the aid of his friend Vinnie D'Agosta. He tells Vinnie to take a leave of his job and come with him to solve the mystery.

    This does not sit good at all with Vinnie's live-in girlfriend, NYPD Captain Laura Heyward. Heyward despises Pendargast's unorthodox methods and the fact that he always get's Vinnie in trouble. She reluctantly relents and Vinnie and Pendargast are off to Africa in pursuit of answers.

    The more they investigate the more that they learn that his wife was involved in a secret life involving something related to John Audoban. As the case proceeds, witnesses are dying and it seems like someone is also trying to kill them.

    The book has several tense moments and when something happens to Vinnie, Laura is reluctantly enlisted to aid Pendergast. This is the best Pendergast tale since the last trilogy.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    They have done it again!

    They are at it again....robbing me of my beauty sleep! That book, like all the Preston/Child books, is impossible to put down.
    I find myself thinking "I wonder what will happen next" while I should be doing all sort of other things, like working for example ;-)
    It's definitely a page turner and I highly recommend it. Special Agent Pendergast is in rare form once again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Iread this book out of sequence for the story, reading number 11 before number 10. Once I finished this book, I went back and read number 11 again. This entire series is a good read and captivates you from page 1 on. Just be sure to read them in order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Why aren't these block buster movies? Thrilling!

    For the life of me I can't figure out why the Preston & Child Agent Pendergast books have not been swept up by Hollywood. I can even imagine a few good actors who could bring to life these amazing characters - maybe Daniel Craig for Pendergast?

    Fever Dream and it's sequal Cold Vengeance were awesome. For anyone who has started reading the Pendergast series, these are the most personal books regarding Pendergasts' love story with his wife and a most bizarre departure on her part in the jaws of a lion on Africa safari. The story unravels a string of mysteries surrounding who his wife really was, what she was involved in and how her death was actually planned. Fever Dream sets up the highly tense story and Cold Vengeance gives you the answers to many questions as Pendergast knocks the ball out of the park.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    very disappointed

    I was very disappointed with the few sentences about Constance and her baby,that she was in a jail cell.I was waiting forever to find out about her since she stayed in Tibet. No relief was found in this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    awful

    Hard to imagine that these two authors get published. Unbelievable plot line, ridiculous characters, clumsy prose, lost threads of ideas. In short, a waist of time and money. I finished it with the hope that they would somehow pull it all together. Unfortunately, this never happened.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Finally have a Pendergast Fix!

    I love Special Agent Pendergast and eagerly await each volume - sometimes even get to a book signing which is always thrilling. So I am a "biased" reader. Everything in print on Pendergast I instantly love. That being said it still is a great book for the non-initiated. Pendergast finds out his wife was murdered - not accidently killed by a lion. I was thrilled to read this because I've wondered for years about what happened to Helen and wondered who she was - this woman who was married to my Pendergast. I even asked the authors a few years ago if we'd ever find out about her. I guess I'm starting to sound like a stalker. It's a typical Pendergast novel - very exciting. You wonder which beloved character will die. It also showed sides of Pendergast that I've never seen. Somethings were quite out of character - so I was psyched. I recommend this book to any fan. If you haven't read Pendergast - my favorite novel is Cabinet of Curiosities - or you can start with the first book, Relic (which was made into a movie WITHOUT the main character in it!).

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Pendergast TOO HUMAN

    I believe Pen's humanity took away too much of what makes us like him..his eccentricty...i too don't understand why constance was brought into the picture, but i for one have never liked her so i hope this is the last we see of her..i'm glad hayward got a chance to work wirh pen because her opinion of him was putting a bad taste in my mouth regarding her, but by the end of the book i can like her again... i hope pen hurries and resolves this issue with his dead wife so he can move on and get him a new love interest.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    li

    Whyoooo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Special Agent Pendergast is a real character, and I've enjoyed following his adventures through all of the books about him by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. Like all the rest of Pendergast books, reading this one is far more entertaining than watching TV. Won't make you dumber, either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 507 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26