Customer Reviews for

Fever Dream (Special Agent Pendergast Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 568 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(268)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Chilling Descriptions Make This One of the Best

This is one of my favorite of the Pendergast series. Twelve years after the accidental death of his beloved wife, Helen, in Africa, Pendergast discovers she was murdered. The brutality of her murder is enough to make most men go crazy, but Pendergast sets out on a mis...
This is one of my favorite of the Pendergast series. Twelve years after the accidental death of his beloved wife, Helen, in Africa, Pendergast discovers she was murdered. The brutality of her murder is enough to make most men go crazy, but Pendergast sets out on a mission of revenge. Naturally he talks Vinnie D'Agosta into taking a leave of absence from his job to help him.

They go to Africa first and discover clues about Helen's horrible death on a safari with her husband. Afterwards the setting is mainly centered in New Orleans at Pendergast's home. D'Agosta and Pendergast go from one clue to another slowly piecing together the reason why Helen was killed. I cannot say anymore about the plot without giving it away.

What made it interesting to me is the way Preston and Child reveal the clues, some random at first, a little at a time. They slowly begin to fall into place, but just when you think you know where the story is going, you don't. There are so many twists and turns that I found the book so intriguing I felt compelled to read faster! The descriptions of some of the scenes are so chillingly described, I will never forget them.

Constance Green makes a brief appearance in the book, but no more can be said about her. The ending is one of the most exciting in the Pendergast series. We get to watch Pendergast do something in the end that not only needed to be done, but it is so much fun watching him do it, you want to be there with him to enjoy it!!

Once you start reading this book, you get sucked so deeply into the plot that you are forced to read it as fast as the plot goes. I just loved it!

posted by Eslin on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

45 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

?

Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but whe...
Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but when you reveal every detail, there is no need to buy the book or even read it.

posted by 8888649 on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Not the best in the series

    I hope that this is not a harbinger of thins to come in this series. I think that this is the weakest of the series. Hopefully this will just be a fluke.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting But Ultimately Unsatisfying

    This book provides vibrant descriptions, (particularly of Zambia and the bayou south), an interesting tangential mystery concerning a famous missing painting by wildlife painter John James Audubon, exciting periodic assassination attempts and an intensely suspenseful climax. Unfortunately, the primary mystery, (which concerns the murder of Pendergast's wife Helen by the instrument of a trained, man-eating lion), isn't fully resolved. Furthermore, the solvable portion of that mystery becomes apparent and/or predictable shortly after the novel's mid-point is reached. Moreover, the book's finish is particularly inconclusive and frustrating.

    As regards other technical aspects of the book, the primary characters are well-drawn, but the droll, eccentric and brillant Pendergast demonstrates a disconcerting loss of control at times. The pace is moderate but periodically picks up during assassination attacks and the climax. I recommend this book to any longtime Agent Pendergast fan, but warn that most, if not all, of the earlier books deliver a better, more complete arcane mystery.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    finished feeling let down

    DP and LC are among my most cherished and favorite authors. They way they write invites you into the story and captivates you as a reader. The beginning of this novel invites you in and you read further as you feel the story unfold, grasping insight to Pendergast's personal life and history. Yet somewhere along the adventure I got bored as the plot just kept dragging along. I finished the book feeling a little let down, as this just did not seem to have the normal feel and thrill I was used to from these fine authors. It is a good read, and if you like these authors I would still recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Pendergast TOO HUMAN

    I believe Pen's humanity took away too much of what makes us like him..his eccentricty...i too don't understand why constance was brought into the picture, but i for one have never liked her so i hope this is the last we see of her..i'm glad hayward got a chance to work wirh pen because her opinion of him was putting a bad taste in my mouth regarding her, but by the end of the book i can like her again... i hope pen hurries and resolves this issue with his dead wife so he can move on and get him a new love interest.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Deflated ending after such a full beginning

    For the first time, I feel dissatisfied after reading a Pendergast novel. I never felt the same amount of entertainment in this novel that I have in previous novels of this series. The beginning of the book is great, and I was very excited to know where the mystery about his wife's death would lead. I felt no sense of resolution by the end, and I the whole time I was reading the story, I kept waiting to feel the same suspense that I usually feel in Pendergast stories that really gets me hooked and entertained. Although I appreciate a new mystery at the end of a book that hints at an exciting sequel, this book's main storyline was not concluded satisfactorily. I will read the next Pendergast novel in hopes of getting some resolution to this novel. The small thread about Constance was also a bit dissatisfying, but I hope there will be a better explanation in the next novel about her behavior and situation.

    This book is still worth reading for anyone who is a fan of Pendergast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Anonymus

    I was very disapointed the book was good but the ending didnt seem compete is there a sequel i dont know about. I hope

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Okay book

    Okay not a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    A good read

    As with all the Agent Pendergast books, this is a fun read -- altho (like most of them) it has some almost-too-convenient plot twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Xcgfddfgghhg

    Dggewtty

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4