Customer Reviews for

Fever Dream (Special Agent Pendergast Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 568 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(268)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Chilling Descriptions Make This One of the Best

This is one of my favorite of the Pendergast series. Twelve years after the accidental death of his beloved wife, Helen, in Africa, Pendergast discovers she was murdered. The brutality of her murder is enough to make most men go crazy, but Pendergast sets out on a mis...
This is one of my favorite of the Pendergast series. Twelve years after the accidental death of his beloved wife, Helen, in Africa, Pendergast discovers she was murdered. The brutality of her murder is enough to make most men go crazy, but Pendergast sets out on a mission of revenge. Naturally he talks Vinnie D'Agosta into taking a leave of absence from his job to help him.

They go to Africa first and discover clues about Helen's horrible death on a safari with her husband. Afterwards the setting is mainly centered in New Orleans at Pendergast's home. D'Agosta and Pendergast go from one clue to another slowly piecing together the reason why Helen was killed. I cannot say anymore about the plot without giving it away.

What made it interesting to me is the way Preston and Child reveal the clues, some random at first, a little at a time. They slowly begin to fall into place, but just when you think you know where the story is going, you don't. There are so many twists and turns that I found the book so intriguing I felt compelled to read faster! The descriptions of some of the scenes are so chillingly described, I will never forget them.

Constance Green makes a brief appearance in the book, but no more can be said about her. The ending is one of the most exciting in the Pendergast series. We get to watch Pendergast do something in the end that not only needed to be done, but it is so much fun watching him do it, you want to be there with him to enjoy it!!

Once you start reading this book, you get sucked so deeply into the plot that you are forced to read it as fast as the plot goes. I just loved it!

posted by Eslin on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

45 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

?

Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but whe...
Another book ruined by egotistical plot spoilers. You ppl shoyld be banned from posting here. A review is to tell if you liked a book or not, not ti give a dissertation or a book report or write cliff notes. Readers like to read and be surprised by what happens, but when you reveal every detail, there is no need to buy the book or even read it.

posted by 8888649 on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A solid addition to the Special Agent Pendergast series. It contains all of the witty anecdotes that I've come to expect from Pendergast, but it's also a bit of a page-turner.

    I have a long-standing love affair with Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. Years ago.I picked-up Relic, which was book #1 in the series and since then, I've been enjoying the series every couple of years. There have been a few misses, so I consider these books guilty pleasures and nothing more. However, every once in a while I am reminded how good they are. This is one such case.

    Fever Dream is about Special Agent Pendergast and his discovery that his wife's death, years ago, may not have been the accident he imagined it to be. You see, he knew she was mauled by a lion while game hunting in Africa, but what he didn't know is that his wife's rifle, her only means of protection, was filled with blanks. With this new piece of information, he sets out to find the true killer.

    What makes these books special are the characters. Pendergast is a rather refined individual. Not your typical FBI agent. There are lots of asides and witticisms that are quite enjoyable. On the other hand, D'Agosta, his liaison in the police department is not as refined and a bit more stereotypical so the contrast between the two is quite entertaining.

    Overall, Fever Dream was a quick read and provided a much-needed distraction but wasn't all "fluff" and pat endings. If you shy away from crime fiction because of the million little details or mystery because of the formulaic quality of it, then I think you will like this one.

    It should be noted as well, that it really doesn't matter which order you read these books in. They are all pretty much stand-alone pieces.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Tense Thriller!

    After the awful Cemetary Dance, Special Agent Pendargast successfully returns. Through a chance gun cleaning, Pendergast realizes that his wife's supposed accidental death was in fact a murder. As the act had happened 12 years earlier the trail has gone cold. To help him, he needs someone with good detective skills so he enlists the aid of his friend Vinnie D'Agosta. He tells Vinnie to take a leave of his job and come with him to solve the mystery.

    This does not sit good at all with Vinnie's live-in girlfriend, NYPD Captain Laura Heyward. Heyward despises Pendargast's unorthodox methods and the fact that he always get's Vinnie in trouble. She reluctantly relents and Vinnie and Pendargast are off to Africa in pursuit of answers.

    The more they investigate the more that they learn that his wife was involved in a secret life involving something related to John Audoban. As the case proceeds, witnesses are dying and it seems like someone is also trying to kill them.

    The book has several tense moments and when something happens to Vinnie, Laura is reluctantly enlisted to aid Pendergast. This is the best Pendergast tale since the last trilogy.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good start to a good arc.

    PB/Thriller: I have a little bit of an issue with Constance and the Wheel of Darkness, so I was glad this book went in another direction. It was mentioned a while back that Pendergast is a widower and at the beginning of this story, we learn, with Pendergast that she was murdered. I liked the story and the conclusion. The only problem I had was that Pendergast was downright mean. Have I missed something in past books. He's always been a Sherlock and intimidated suspects, but he was intimidating witnesses. Then there was his indifference to Constance. I got the next book in hardback so it is on the short, short list. I want to see what happens to Vincent and the gang.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Loved It!

    This is the first one I read and I'm planning on reading all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Review

    I did not enjoy this book. I didn't like all the jumping around of storylines and didn't feel like they all tied together that well. It left a lot of questions unanswered. Descriptions were long and wordy and didn't really add to the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    A worthwhile book

    A great character taking the reader in many twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    very good. can't wait to read more of his!

    Great read. Will recommend tomy book club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Fever Dream

    I love Preston and Child, they write some of my favorite books. I have read most of their books and look for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Highly recommend this book. My first book by these authors and will not be my last!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Wonderful!

    I couldn't put this one down once I started. My very first Preston & Child, and I WILL be reading more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Great read

    I really like the Pendergast series, I've read them all. They have enough of the mystic/paranormal content to make them a good escape from reality but not so much as to make them childish. I have recommended this series to several people and so far no one has been disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Good

    I recommend this book as a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    shana

    Annsjddjj

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    I need NOOK friends!

    Please tell me your gmail email! I will add you immiditley.

    And yes, I have some pretty good reads to share.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    This was my first Preston/Child read and I loved it. I am not a

    This was my first Preston/Child read and I loved it. I am not a fan of mystery but this one, I really enjoyed. While these stories of Agent Pendergast can be read and enjoyed on their own, the more I read them, the more I find out about the characters within the stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    “All because one barrel of a bloodied rifle had not been c

    “All because one barrel of a bloodied rifle had not been cleaned.”

    Indeed. That setup is essentially where “Fever Dream” begins, and it is a can’t-wait-to-get-back-to-it thrill ride from then on out. More than once I found myself marveling at the many trails such a simple beginning had taken. Lots of locations, lots of secrets, and a fun dash of history.

    I was also amazed at how approachable the book was as a standalone novel. I’ve read some of the previous Special Agent Pendergast novels, but the two preceding this book I’ve missed. It made no difference to my enjoyment. I was able to dive into “Fever Dream” without a hitch. There are only a few scenes in the book involving Constance Green (and an infanticide that is seemingly winked at) that are extraneous to the main narrative. I assume these scenes are continuations of things that happened previously, or setup for novels to come. (“Cold Vengeance” perhaps?)

    Let’s face it; Preston and Child know how to write thrillers.

    There was only one scenario in the book that made me groan. These authors appear to be under the assumption that somewhere in America, there are crowds of white folk (….environmentalist-hating local boys in this case, but fundamentalist Christians in the case of Preston’s “Blasphemy”...) just waiting to be whipped into a killing frenzy with only the slightest provocation. I understand this is a plot device used to add tension and to raise the stakes on our heroes, but really? To use such a plot device twice? (That I know of.) And with conservative Caucasians as the antagonists? If you watch the news, such behavior is seemingly more likely with other racial and religious groups. Why not use them? (I know…because it isn’t PC to do so... :) )

    All in all, though, “Fever Dream” is a great read. I’m looking forward to the next book in the Helen Trilogy.

    (A final note: This book is fairly light on adult situations and language. Though not for children, I think it is appropriate for nearly everyone else.)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Another good one

    These two are great. I always wait and wait for their next one, whether they write one together or write on their own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended-the entire series is great!

    I really hope they continue with the Pendegast series as I am hooked. I have read all through Fever Dream. These books are the first I haven't been able to figure out half way through the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Excellent and exciting read

    True to the pendergast series Preston & Child have weaved a wonderful tale filled with twists. Leaves you wanting more. I highly recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9