Customer Reviews for

Fever Pitch

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    A Gooner Legend

    In the UK the Arsenal Fans are known as Gooners and this was their piece of history. The characterisation and writing is wonderful and the drama so brilliantly played out that the Gooners can re-live their Nirvana again and again. Don't read if you're a Spurs fan

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    This book is a fantastic book if you are a big English soccer fa

    This book is a fantastic book if you are a big English soccer fan (Arsenal in particular). I got into it more just because I have a general liking of the sport and was interested in a different perspective of the game. And I guess thats what I got?
    Nick is obsessed with the game and he makes that known from the beginning, so to be honest you know what your getting into. But that obsession really put me off. He talks more about the game than his unnamed lover, he gets more worked up about whats going on in a soccer game than about the death of fans a few stadiums over, and repeatedly worries about having kids, not because of the natural "Oh Crap I'm having kids" tendencies we all have but because that might mean he will have to miss ONE game to go watch the BIRTH OF HIS CHILD! 
    Overall the book was interesting but not something I would read again. For me its a 2 star book but it looks like some other people disagree. Good Luck!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    Grown men crying

    Quite simply, although I am biased as an Arsenal fan like the author, this is the only book that has ever caused me to weep tears of joy. The paragraph on the final moments of Arsenal's 2-0 championship winning victory in Liverpool is the most tearjerking moment of literary history for people like us !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Soccer motif helps reveal growth

    Everyone must find a passion in life and gain experience from failures and triumphs; in Nick Hornby¿s ¿Fever Pitch¿ a boy grows up under the wing of a soccer club and gains valuable life experiences from the anguish of defeat and the glory of victory. This semi-autobiographical book outlines Hornby¿s life with the backdrop of a lifetime obsession for London-based Arsenal. It starts when his parents become divorced and he finds comfort in the swearing and dirty crowds of Highbury Stadium in North London. As his life changes, his obsession does not. He tells readers about the anguish and torment it causes him but always comes back to the comfort of the hooligans and the small glimmers of hope every season. This book is very insightful, and achieves its theme of growth by using obscure references to soccer games as a continuing motif. These help connect the ongoing growth of Hornby with the condition of Arsenal in a particular game or season. The games are not summarized and only clear and precise images are recalled in order to give the author¿s true feeling during that point in his life. Each chapter is based on a certain game and how that pertains to Hornby¿s maturation. Arsenal¿s condition as a team, directly relates to his feelings on life. This technique does, however, make it hard for someone not familiar with English soccer to follow. Hornby takes for granted that one knows who Crystal Palace is and that the FA cup final is played at Wembley stadium. For those even slightly familiar with the EPL, however, the book is a direct hit on the soul of a sports fan and the agony it brings through shadows of hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    It's In Everyone of Us

    Reading this witty book makes me say 'Oh, so it's the common feeling of every footie mad?' as for more than ten years I question whether my obsession in footie is a normal thing or not- especially that I'm a girl. The more I read it, the more it makes me laugh and cry remebering all those feelings. The very kind of book every footie-mad would write, so thanx to Mr. Hornby for bring this madness to the world. For footie haters, this is what we -the lovers- are. Two thumbs up!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2000

    Bloody wonderful, honest book about the love of football

    It's an honest, hysterical and frighteningly real novel about the sheer pain of being a football fan. He gets it right when he says real supporters of a team don't enjoy a single second of it. He correctly illustrates the torture a fanatic goes through. Brilliant!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    As an established Arsenal...

    Two years prior to reading this, I became a fan of Arsenal. This is amazing, for me it hits heights it won't for others, but it is a brilliant chronicle of what it's like to be a football fan, and what it was like before the Barclay's family-friendlying of the Prem. Often doesn't overly romanticize it (in my opinion) so much as record the experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    This may earn me a bit of hate, but....

    I apologize to any who may be offened.....but have any of you checked the BPL standings? And, whom may i ask, is at the top? Just something to ruminate on..........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    And now . .. .

    FEVER PITCH will not resonate with everyone, the same way Palahniuk's LULLABY won't and the likes of McCrae's KATZENAJAMMER will not fall into the category of 'must haves.' But, it is an interesting book and you don't have to have a vested interest in football (European--Soccer, really) to enjoy this title. Set in memoir style, FEVER PITCH is a quizzical look at fanaticism with one sport, and how it affect the lives of people. Hornby's insights are keen, and the lets us in on a world that ranges from shallowness to great depth. Better known for his HIGH FIDELITY, Hornby nevertheless hits a high mark with this book. This book explores the way the game brings people together and at other times, tears them apart. The most riveting aspect of this title is the way Hornby shows us how the 'game' is woven so into his own life. If you enjoyed his ABOUT A BOY or the ribald and fun KATZENJAMMER (McCrae), the this book will not disappoint with its insight into the world of sports.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2