BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fevre Dream

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Simply Outstanding

This is my second favorite vampire novel--after 'Salem's Lot. Martin takes the now-almost-trite vampire novel and injects with a healthy dose of originality and action. The melding of vampires and late-1800's riverboats is fresh, ingenious and inventive, and Abner Mar...
This is my second favorite vampire novel--after 'Salem's Lot. Martin takes the now-almost-trite vampire novel and injects with a healthy dose of originality and action. The melding of vampires and late-1800's riverboats is fresh, ingenious and inventive, and Abner Marsh is about as different from Ann Rice's genteel androgynous protagonists as is possible. Marsh is a man's man--a riverboat man, dammit, which is exactly what is needed when the story careens to its thrilling, action-packed climax. Don't go looking for deep literary themes or dark psychosexual metaphors here. This is a gripping page-turner of a yarn, blending horror fiction and fast-paced adventure in the tradition of the genre's grand old masters: Shelly and Stoker.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing Work from a Great Writer

I was riveted throughout the book. Martin's storytelling style is hardly matched. I almost gave this book 4 stars until I read the last several dozen pages. The pivotal point that initiated the climax manifests because a main character made decisions completely contrary...
I was riveted throughout the book. Martin's storytelling style is hardly matched. I almost gave this book 4 stars until I read the last several dozen pages. The pivotal point that initiated the climax manifests because a main character made decisions completely contrary to his moral principals. But I can't go into more detail without giving away the ending.

I can only imagine that G. R. R. was up against a deadline and had to scramble for a conclusion, a conclusion insulting to any intelligent reader. I am sorry I read this book. His Songs of Ice and Fire series is like nothing I've ever read and my opinion of him has been shattered by Fevre Dream.

posted by Iain010100 on September 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Simply Outstanding

    This is my second favorite vampire novel--after 'Salem's Lot. Martin takes the now-almost-trite vampire novel and injects with a healthy dose of originality and action. The melding of vampires and late-1800's riverboats is fresh, ingenious and inventive, and Abner Marsh is about as different from Ann Rice's genteel androgynous protagonists as is possible. Marsh is a man's man--a riverboat man, dammit, which is exactly what is needed when the story careens to its thrilling, action-packed climax. Don't go looking for deep literary themes or dark psychosexual metaphors here. This is a gripping page-turner of a yarn, blending horror fiction and fast-paced adventure in the tradition of the genre's grand old masters: Shelly and Stoker.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fevre Dream is fantastic!!!

    Fevre Dream is a wonderful novel combining vampires and the days steamboats ruled the Mississippi. It takes you from the building of an ornate steamer to the history of the vampires and to an exciting takeover and chase down the Mississippi River. Abner Marsh is the widely revered Captain on the Fevre Dream and does all that he can to protect it from any danger. In a thrilling twist, he destroys another boat and outruns his own down the river. Fevre Dream has an ending that I never saw coming, and tied up the book perfectly.
    I enjoyed this book immensely. Fevre Dream is a book any vampire fan would love. Even if you aren't into vampires this book would be a great read. From the first chapter on I was captivated by the stories of the mighty steamboats of the rivers. I felt like I was actually on the rivers in the 1850's. George Martin should receive credit where credit is due, this book is fantastic.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    One of my all time favorites!

    I read this book many years ago, and it remains one of my absolute favorites. I own it in hardback and recently added it to my NOOK. I recommend it to anyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Simply Outstanding

    After having just finished reading the latest OSOIAF, I wanted more GRRM, and frankly, a novel with an ending. I had heard many good things about this novel, so I gave it a shot. What a great read! I felt 10x as fulfilled reading this than A Dance With Dragons, to be honest. It's the same classic liquid prose we're accustomed to with GRRM, and a story that actually wraps up! The characters are amazing, the action well-paced, and the ending one that I can be happy with. Definitely one of, if not THE best, vampire thrillers I've come across.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    I also read this book years ago

    Fevre Dream is one of those stories that stayed with me. I dont plan to loan this one out. If you enjoy a good read, don't miss this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    I am a huge fan of Anne RIce and George R R Martin's vampires ar

    I am a huge fan of Anne RIce and George R R Martin's vampires are not Anne Rice's vampires but the story is excellent and sucks you right in. His version of how vampires exist is enthralling and magical. I wish there was a sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    One of the best

    I read this book years ago after I had started reading the Ice and Fire series. I loved it so much I read it twice. Truly original and stays with you. A can't miss adventure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing Work from a Great Writer

    I was riveted throughout the book. Martin's storytelling style is hardly matched. I almost gave this book 4 stars until I read the last several dozen pages. The pivotal point that initiated the climax manifests because a main character made decisions completely contrary to his moral principals. But I can't go into more detail without giving away the ending.

    I can only imagine that G. R. R. was up against a deadline and had to scramble for a conclusion, a conclusion insulting to any intelligent reader. I am sorry I read this book. His Songs of Ice and Fire series is like nothing I've ever read and my opinion of him has been shattered by Fevre Dream.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Different Vampire, another day

    Yes, I did pick this up because it is about Vampires, it was also to see if I would like to read more of Mr. Martin’s work. One of the main assets of this book is its setting: never heard of a vampire story set on a steamer along the Mississipi. Mr Martin gathers a grim, gothic atmosphere as black as the sudden storms that devastate the river. Another asset is the extraordinary characterization: through a partly original idea about the nature of vampires the author creates three extraordinary main heroes who develop a complex intertwined relationship. Each character, even the minor ones, is obsessed with something: power, lust, steamboats, etc. and each obsession is interwoven in his nature. But somewhere about 2/3 into the story it lost something. It lost its momentum, some kind of spark. Just when finally everything starts picking up speed, we're back to a wordy (but very well-written) stance about ships and the many shades of the river. This form of attention picking goes on and on until the lengthy but still effective climax. Overall I did enjoy the story and I was impressed with how well written it was.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Well written, slightly refreshing

    This was a nice departure from the land of Westeros. This was the first non-Game of Thrones book I've read by Martin. While it wasn't as good as GoT, it was still a very well written book. The plot was novel, most of the characters had depth, and it didn't use the standard horror/adventure/sci-fi vampire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Good not great

    No ice and fire, but a good take on vampire lore

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Unique take on a vampire story

    I picked up this book because I like grrm. I found the book to be good. I like the spin on vampires and I like the setting in the civil war era south. Grrm is a better writer today so the bar was high for this book in my mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Good quick read

    Wish the epilogue gave a bit more info though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    Really good book. Different take on vampires.

    Really good book. Different take on vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Nancy

    This was an interesting read. Different than the usual vamp novel. Just the location change alone made it more interesting. The characters were well written and engaging. It was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Will keep you on the edge of the bed, eating ice to keep you awake

    Not scary as in horror, but quite suspenseful as you try to determine whose story to believe. Plus the Mississippi river has always been a place of mystery and eeriness. I hated to see this story end. And it is much different from his Game of Thrones series, of which I have read all.

    I highly recommend this story for a stormy night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    A good read.

    I've been working through G.R.R.M.s books lately. While I haven't read any other vampire novels, I enjoyed Fevre Dream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was unable to put this book down. Easily the best book dealing

    I was unable to put this book down. Easily the best book dealing with vampire mythology that I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Well written and simple vampire story. Great characters filled

    Well written and simple vampire story. Great characters filled with humanity (good and evil) that keep you from putting the book down. If you're looking for a modern vampire novel, look elsewhere. This is traditional story telling at it's best. Throw out any "Twilight" preconceptions and embrace a more traditional vampire story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6