Customer Reviews for

Fevre Dream

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Simply Outstanding

This is my second favorite vampire novel--after 'Salem's Lot. Martin takes the now-almost-trite vampire novel and injects with a healthy dose of originality and action. The melding of vampires and late-1800's riverboats is fresh, ingenious and inventive, and Abner Mar...
This is my second favorite vampire novel--after 'Salem's Lot. Martin takes the now-almost-trite vampire novel and injects with a healthy dose of originality and action. The melding of vampires and late-1800's riverboats is fresh, ingenious and inventive, and Abner Marsh is about as different from Ann Rice's genteel androgynous protagonists as is possible. Marsh is a man's man--a riverboat man, dammit, which is exactly what is needed when the story careens to its thrilling, action-packed climax. Don't go looking for deep literary themes or dark psychosexual metaphors here. This is a gripping page-turner of a yarn, blending horror fiction and fast-paced adventure in the tradition of the genre's grand old masters: Shelly and Stoker.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing Work from a Great Writer

I was riveted throughout the book. Martin's storytelling style is hardly matched. I almost gave this book 4 stars until I read the last several dozen pages. The pivotal point that initiated the climax manifests because a main character made decisions completely contrary...
I was riveted throughout the book. Martin's storytelling style is hardly matched. I almost gave this book 4 stars until I read the last several dozen pages. The pivotal point that initiated the climax manifests because a main character made decisions completely contrary to his moral principals. But I can't go into more detail without giving away the ending.

I can only imagine that G. R. R. was up against a deadline and had to scramble for a conclusion, a conclusion insulting to any intelligent reader. I am sorry I read this book. His Songs of Ice and Fire series is like nothing I've ever read and my opinion of him has been shattered by Fevre Dream.

posted by Iain010100 on September 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    One of the best vampire books

    This book is an overlooked classic. One of the best vampire novels ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Too long by about 100 pages

    Not Martin's best effort. The beginning was intriguing, but then . . . . The story drags to the end with its repetitioius nature, leaving you wondering why it took so long to figure out, 'Just shoot the son of a b*@$!' Must have been a pay by the page deal. The preview of his next story seemed a much better bargain than this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    unique and gripping

    You will believe in the world created by R R Martin.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Wonderfully written

    Not your typical vampire book. I couldnt put it down! Wonderfully written, you can truly feel each character's passion. Didn't want it to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Not great

    Really love the ice and fire series, but this novel was just ok . I found it hatrd to care about the main character. And some of the things that supposedly smart characters did were remarkably dumb. It just wasnt as good as the other reviews here led me to hope it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    one of the best books i have ever read

    Abner marsh is the perfevt imperfect hero

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Absolutely wonderful. The best vampire novel I've read so far.

    Absolutely wonderful. The best vampire novel I've read so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have actually just begun his Game of Thrones series and only

    I have actually just begun his Game of Thrones series and only about one quarter of the way through the first book, so I am not really any kind of fan yet. Having said that, I saw Fevre Dream on his list of works and checked out the free sample. I found it grabbed my attention right away and I ended up buying it before I had even finished the sample. I enjoyed his style and the story was exciting and well told. A solid thumbs up for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    George strikes again

    Another gripping tale from Mr. Martin. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Read it!

    Martin is the best of the best, and this book is a brilliant work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed this

    I did not know much about this author when I purchased this book. I had read most of theWild Cards books and thought I'd give Fevre Dream a try. I was very pleased and intend on reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My FAVORITE Book!

    This is the best telling of the vampire tale ever written. This book sucks you in and holds you. The first time I read this book I completed it in 24 hours, I have enjoyed it again many times since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Fabulous

    This book was purchased for me over 15 yrs ago at a yard sale for .50. It quickly became a favorite. I'm downloading it today to my Nook. One of the best vampire stories of all times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    What vampire stories should be

    George R.R. Martin wrote this novel in 1982. This is what vampire stories were like before "Twilight": character-driven, full of genuine atmosphere, and not neatly (or haphazardly) wrapped and tied with a bow at the end. The novel is set on a riverboat in the South in the 1800s, and the main characters are an honest riverboat captain down on his luck, and an ambitious, noble vampire. Okay, the "noble vampire" has become a cliche, but this is a well-written novel, unlike others. It does contain gore and violence, some sexual references, as well as slavery. The only romance comes from the main characters' love for their riverboat and the rivers on which they ply her, and the respect and honor they show for each other. And that's enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A classic

    Fevre Dream is an atmospheric tale in a rich historical setting; steamboats and rivers, steamy southern nights, all vividly brought to life by wonderful word crafting. With colorful characters to love and hate, pity and fear, this is a story filled with suspense and beauty, horror and sorrow, and most prominently, the emotional struggles and triumphs of the people littering this tale. All this in a gripping little plot line that takes a few turns, just like a winding river.

    There are some "night people" in here, but this isn't a run of the mill vampire tale-it's about much more. His take on the mythos was a bit different and I found it interesting. (And this was first printed 1982, I believe.)

    Give it a go, I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. It is a book that taught me not to lend books out that you absolutely love. This book is exciting to read, I couldn't hardly put it down. It is the best Vampire book I have ever read. I highly suggest you read this if you want a different type of vampire book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    haunting book

    george r r martin never ceases to amaze me.. i loved his ' a song of ice and fire' and being a great fan of vampires, i was eager to see what george could do... and he has out done himself. if ann rice's vampires gave you the idea that vampires are fantastical dangerous and beautiful creatures.. george makes them more feasible.. and still as deadly and beautiful. a book that will adorn my future library for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    A great story - but a reprinted title

    I remember this book very well, having first read it nearly 20 years ago. The treatment of the vampires is very original - and although this story shares a local with so many other vampire novels (vampires in the New Orleans and bayou have become quite a cliche), it should not be written off as pastiche. I look forward to re-reading Fevre Dream - it is the book that made me a George R.R. Martin fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6