Customer Reviews for

The Fiddler's Gun

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Boston Bob reviews

    yawn, immature story line, quick read overall C minus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Question?

    What are the three book names in order please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Can't even begin...

    You'll just have to read this. It's hard to explain, with its beauty and history and heartbreak and growth. . . I'm afraid that my reviewing skills will not do this work justice, so I'll just tell you that it will be the best NOOK purchase you've made. You will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    I was very disappointed in the plot and in the extensive foul la

    I was very disappointed in the plot and in the extensive foul language and violence.
    I kept hoping that by the middle of the book the story would improve, but it only grew worse. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Amazing story!

    Triumph and defeat, hope and despair mingle in violent clashes as Fin Button plies the coastal waters of revolutionary America search of away home. A driving story filled with violence, love, friendship and the loyalties of new friends and old. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Three Cheers for Peterson!

    Fiddlers Gun literally has everything you could ever want in great work of fiction, and the second one is even better! This book is most definitely a permanent addition to my library. Fin Button Lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Wonderful!

    The storyline was fantastic, and the characters were compelling. I was engrossed in every page turn. Mr. Peterson has found a fan in me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Best read in a long time. Do try it.

    Well written... interesting charactors ... suspensful plot ... amusing interludes. Couldn't put it down. Have become a real fan of Peterson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Loved it!!

    I just finished reading The Fiddler's Gun by A. S. Peterson. I was not sent this book for free in exchange for a review. I bought it with my hard-earned swim official cash. And I don't regret it. I would do it again. In fact, you should do it, too.

    On the surface, this was not a book I would pick up at the library or at a bookstore. The truth of the matter is I was suffering from severe withdrawal after finishing Andrew Peterson's North! Or Be Eaten. I read the first two books of the Wingfeather Saga together with my 11 year old as read-alouds, and when we finished, we were stuck waiting for Andrew Peterson to finish book three, The Monster in the Hollows which is now available.

    I saw The Fiddler's Gun written by Andrew Peterson's brother and wondered if I could read it out loud with my 11 year old. However, it wasn't being marketed as a children's book, so I thought I had better read it myself first. Good thing. It's not a children's book. But I liked it very much.

    It's a pirate-y Revolutionary War story. If The Fiddler's Gun is ever made into a movie, however, I probably would not watch it. There's lots of swashbuckling violence, and I don't do well with movie violence. For Schindler's List, I never saw the movie, but I read the book. I'm pretty much a G or PG sort of person.

    The best thing about the book is the heroine. A. S. Peterson created a very memorable character in Fin Button. From the first pages of our introduction, I knew that she was going to be someone who stuck with me. I like her because she is real. She makes bad decisions at times, but underneath it all, she has a good heart. We see this in the fact that she is loved by a good man, and her love for him sustains her.

    I admire an author's ability to create a character. The truly great authors can do that - Dickens, Hugo, Leroux, to name a few. I can only write about what I see. My imagination is too small.

    I want to ask A. S. Peterson "How do you do it? How do you come up with characters like Fin Button?"

    If you don't know what I'm talking about, you need to read the books. Great stories. Great characters. Love 'em.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Fiddler's Gun Review

    I think I will be singing the praises of this book for a very long time.

    This book had everything. Kick-butt heroine? Check. Fascinating time in history? Check. Humor? Check. Heart-break? Check. Action? Check. Pirates? Double-check.

    When I began the book I was immediately taken in by the almost fairy-tale like start. It was all just so.. fascinating. Fin's origins, the complex characters that made up the people in her life. Hilde.. I couldn't decide whether to love or hate (and I think that's the point!). I fell in love with Bart. Who wouldn't love a fiddle-playing pirate turned cook? I fell for the pure sweetness of Peter and never once for a moment doubted the outcome of the end of the book with regards to the relationship there.

    I read this book in an afternoon. Now, granted, I was traveling.. so I had a lot of reading time, but I found myself walking between gates at the airport, my Kindle in hand, completely absorbed in the saga.

    Peterson does not pull any punches. This story will knock you over, pick you up and then knock you over again. I finished it and immediately turned back to the beginning, wanting to read it again (but decided, ultimately, I shouldn't if I planned to finish my reading list for the week). But I can guarantee you, I WILL be re-reading this book again in the near future.

    It's very easy to see why The Fiddler's Gun is nominated for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. This book lived up to the story excerpt I read first and then some. Bring on The Fiddler's Green, Peterson! I want to read it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Join the Revolution!

    If you enjoy reading historical fiction, I highly recommend this book! The Fiddler's Gun is set in Ebenezer, a suburb of Savannah, GA. Phinea Button is a young woman who has lived in an orphanage since she was an infant. Phinea, more affectionately known as Fin to the other orphans, was a tomboy and a troublemaker, often pulling pranks on the women who ran the orphanage. The younger orphans considered Fin to be their protector, getting into a number of fights with the older kids who were being bullies.

    In an effort to civilize Fin into a proper lady, Fin was sent to work in the kitchen with Bartimaeus. It's there that Fin begins to learn about the war that's brewing and the oppression of the colonies from the British government. Initially, Fin hopes to avoid the coming war because all she wants is to marry her best friend Peter, who was also an orphan. When British soldiers begin to show a greater presence in the area, the situation goes sour.

    Fin has a bad run-in with some soldiers, which leads to events that inadvertently throw her into the war. Having no choice, Fin must leave her home and Peter. In Savannah, Fin is mistaken for a boy and pressed into work on a merchant ship. While at sea, Fin encounters British marines, dangerous seas, pirates, and more! From sea battles to treasure hunts, there is no lack of excitement in Fin's life once the British come to town!

    I can't recommend this book enough! I was instantly drawn to the book by the attractive cover! The title is written in a very cool script that integrates the design of a fiddle down the middle. In the foreground, there is a ship's wheel and branches covered in Spanish moss, and in the background you can see a ship on the ocean. You immediately gain a sense of adventure on the high seas just from looking at the cover!

    The writing was fantastic and flowed well. Throughout the book, the author constantly introduces the reader to new characters. Even with so many characters, I never had trouble keeping track of who was who or who was speaking. You learn the history behind the primary characters, and grow attached to them as you learn about their lives. I found myself crying a couple of times! I love how each detail ends up tying back into the main plot. Characters and even personal items that initially seem insignificant come to light later in the book as the key to some incredibly important situation.

    The plot itself was very interesting, keeping my attention throughout the book. I couldn't put it down! The plot is initially a bit slow as Fin is dealing with life at the orphanage, but within a few chapters, the story is off and running as Fin escapes to a life at sea. Once Fin joins the crew of the 'Snake, there's a never ending deluge of activity keeping Fin and the crew busy.

    This was my first foray into historical fiction based around the Revolutionary War, and I couldn't have had a better introduction! This book has so many great plot elements- a strong, independent heroine, adventure, patriotism, pirates, treasure, sword fights, romance. I could go one for ages! You really must try this book! It will make you laugh out loud, cry, and everything in between! Give it a read! I can't wait for Book Two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1