BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Fantasy vs. Reality

    I was never someone who really enjoyed reading! The only books I really like were children's book. Books that were mandatory to read in school I ready, but not always something I liked or something I would think about reading again. Harry Potter's been out for years now, yet I never had the intention in reading them. It wasn't until July of this year (05) that I finally picked up my sister's Harry Potter books to read. I've finished all 6 in a month. Ever since, I just wanted to read, but it was children's books that I enjoyed. I saw Spiderwick many times, but I never bought them. I guess it was too short! But yesterday, I picked up the boxset and bought it. I was on my way to work, commuting on the train, and started to read book 1. And now it's lunch time, I'am done w/ book 1. It was so interesting! I love it a lot! I'm a day dreamer, so maybe that is the reason I like a lot of children's books b/c its imaginative and creative and it gives you something cute to think about. You'd definitely like to read this book if you like Fantasy stories, but yet sometimes makes you think whether what the author is saying is real. I agree this book is too short, and that they could of combined the 5 books into 1, but it doesn't matter to me now. Whether is 1 book or 5, I'll read them all!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    this is a great book

    this was a great book and a easy read. I thought it was a great fantasy book for all ages!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Claudia

    I read this when i was nine... it was soooo amazing. I'd read it again even though i am 13. It is good for all ages

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Scary But Awesome

    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Good

    It is very good It may be short but its still one of the best books ever!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is one of the best book I have ever read

    I have read almost all the books now and recomend it to readers who are interested in fictional books

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Enticing

    I was challenged by a student to read this story and see who finished first, that is how I came to reading this story. I was pulled into the mystery of the home that the Grace children had moved in to. This first book leaves you wanting to pick up the second book to continue this mystery that lurks within the walls of the their home!! Very fun story and some of the illustations can really make the reader feel like they are a part of the story (ie. notes, letters, etc)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    To Jace

    Sure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    To sam from toch here very important

    The tree is mulgarth and he can shape shift thanks for asking great books right

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Anyone want to have sex?

    Im jace a16 year old boy that wants hot sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    To demigod interpritor

    DUDE!!!!! I LOSTMY NOOK WHEN I SAID THAT I THOUGHT MY NOOK WAS F-ING UP AND I FOUND IT!!!! I HAD IT FOR A FEW DAYS AND FORGOT WHAT WE MEET ON BUT THEN I WAS LOOKING THROUGH MY BOOKS AND I FOUND A BOOK THAT SAID SPIDERWICK AND THATS WHEN I REMEMBERED!!!!!! IM BACK!!!! what have you been doing?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Good.

    Good for all ages. Looking forward to the second book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Vicmars

    Vicmars lets have sexy sex with you sucking my boobs while you are haveing normel sex

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Demigod interpritor

    OH MY GOSH IM SO SORRY!!!!! THERE WAS THIS MAJOR BLACKOUT THAT LASTED 4 DAYS THEN MY NOOK WENT WONKY AND I DID NOT HAVE TIME TO FIX IT BECAUSE I HAD TONS OF SCHOOL WORK!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Creepy

    Sssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssscccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    The best

    The are the best books ever p.s i have read all of them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    A good start

    A great series beginning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    A friend recommended this book and series to me. I was a bit dou

    A friend recommended this book and series to me. I was a bit doubtful for a moment about the book, but now, I LOVE IT!!!!! I want my mom to buy book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Enjoyed!

    I got the whole set for Christmas! I'm glad I liked them! haha! I think the whole series could have been put into one book, but they were divided into very small books for some reason. But I enjoyed them very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great for all ages

    This book is a very short but good read. I thought it was amazing how a lot of action is featured in such a small compact book. It's a perfect book for kids as there's plenty of magic, fantasy, and action all in one. There's not much boring dialogue and you don't have to worry about heavy character development. It's basically a book that's just meant to be read and to have fun.

    If you are familiar with Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events, this book may be for you. Although they are two very different books, the idea of making this book a "true story" is similar. I liked that little bit and thought it was a fun addition to the book and provides appeal to younger readers.

    The illustrations were also nicely done and provides a good visual aid to help picturing the story. As to the characters; they're all fun and once the magical/fantastical elements have been added, it's even better.

    This is a great novel for younger readers, but give it a try even if you don't fall into the age category! it's quick and light and shouldn't even take long to read. What's amazing is in those bits of pages is a lot of things happening to keep the reader entertained for a short while. I will be reading the rest of the series for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5