Customer Reviews for

The Field Guide

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    spider creap

    This book is about three kids finding this ferry's. The kids fawned this book its about caching them. Fares ties the sisters hare to a bed post. One of the boys fines a book in a dark dusty room. I like this book because the adventure the kids have. It talks about magic things happen to the kids. If you like magic and dork things this book for you. If you like thrills Spider Wick for you . I thank people mite like this book. (Its sans like a book for kids to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    My son and I LOVE this series!

    This is the first set of chapter books that my seven-year-old has really been intrigued with. He is always asking if we can read another chapter.

    My son says: It is the best chapter book that I have ever seen! Some parts are scary because it has lots of goblins and trolls but this makes the stories exciting. My favorite part of this book is when Mallory and Jared meet the troll in the swamp. C-R-E-E-P-Y! My favorite character is Hogsqueal! I recommend this book to children aren't afraid of goblins and trolls!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    spider wich cronachles book 1

    the best book 1 i have ever read it was awsome an book 2,3 are good to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    Nice and simple

    This series is imaginative and great for young readers. I wish that the series was just one book though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    I love this book

    I think this book is really cool though it is not exactly like the movie. I think its a lot better than the movie. I suggest this book for warriors readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    great series

    I loved this book and I just ordered the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    I am a Boggart...

    Love the book, I thought it was going to be a little cliche and guess what I was wrong. Love the way the writer keeps you interested throught the whole book ( less then 100 Pages) the flow of thier words were like magic. The rest of the series are first in my next book to read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    This was one of the first books I read and I loved it!

    How would you feel if you had just discovered a whole new world and that world was out to get you? Would you try to avoid it? Well that is exactly what happens to three children named Jared, Mallory, and Simon Grace. In this book Jared finds 'the straangest thing' in the attic. Itall starts when the three children and their mom move into the Spiderwick mansion. The children all hate the house, but their mom was just glad they had a place to live. All three children are more unique than most people. Mallory-- the oldest, is a great fencer. Simon-- the middle child, loves animals and is Jared's twin brother. Jared-- the youngest, always got into fights and got suspended. These three 'ordinary' children's lives are turned upside down when they discover Arthur Spiderwicks Field Guide, which leads them into a whole new world full of imaginary creatures. Through the story these children discover that they must protect the book from creatures that are trying to use it for evil. I enjoyed reading this bookand the rest of the series. I enjoyed this book because I liked all of the mythical creatures and because I enjoy reading adventure novels. I highly recommend this book to people of all ages and to anyone who likes a good adventure. It kept me reading the whole time. When I finished the book I couldn't wait to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Okay.....

    I thought this was an AWESOME book other than the fact that it was WAY too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    Spiderwick #1

    Spiderwick #1 was an awesome book it had losts of action and mystrey. Its was great and i recommened it to anyone who likes to read espically if you like Narnia books Spiderwick Chronicles are sort of like them. Read it you wont regret it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    The Field Guide, by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black

    The Field Guide, by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi, is the first book of the Spiderwick Chronicles series. I rate this book with four stars. I think the book would be better if the author added more details about topics in the book (setting, characters, events, etc.). The book is about three kids, Jared, Simon, and Mallory. They move into an old house that was once owned by their Aunt Lucinda, who was but into an insane asylum. The house seems somewhat creepy at first, and it turns out 'things' live in the house with them. Later, while his siblings are outside, Jared stumbles across a book that details all of the creatures in the house. The children see a picture of a mysterious man, Arthur Spiderwick, in a secret room. This book is fast-paced and adventurous. I think this is a good book to read if you are a fan of fantasy books and mythological creatures. I think it should have more details about the characters, but overall, it is a good book. I enjoyed this book because it is easy to understand. There is nothing confusing about it. I also enjoyed the other books of this series. If you like this book, I would definitely recommend the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    SPIDERWICK #1

    This book is one of the best i have read in my life. Even know it's magical i still beleive because were could the aurthor have get this from i don't beleive in it but i recommend it even my daughter is crazy about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Awesome

    This is an awesome Book!!!! I have read all the Spiderwick books but the last (The Wrath of Mulgarth, Spiderwick Chronicles Series #5). (Must read)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Fantastical!!!!

    Recieved this book as a gift....Read it in one day, couldn't put it down..It was so good that I have had to read them all right away!!I love the illustrations they are wonderful and are great with the story.. This was an amazing story and I loved every minute of it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Good, But Quick Read

    I read this at the most in 45 minutes. It was really good, but it was fairly short. Luckily I got the second book on the same day. I've only barely started The Seeing Stone, but I haven't had time to sit down and read it yet either. I'm interested to see how they organize the new Spiderwick Chronicles movie coming out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Realistic Fantasy- if that doesnt exist yet, now it does!

    The only problem with this book is that it is very short. The color photos are awesomely done for pen and ink, and the no-colors are not too shabby. But the main thing is that this book is well written. I dont really enjoy books with boys for the narrator(Other than Harry Potter, of course). But this book is on my top 10. Storyline--- Mallory, Jared (who's telling the story) and Simon, Jared's twin, have just oved in a large Victorian house with their Mom 'cause their parents got a divorce. It looks like 'twelve shacks piled on top of each other'. Their great- aunt moved out because shes in an insane asylum (she won't eat but is still alive, and tells the doctors she has food'greater than you could imagine') Jared has had some trouble in school, even to the point of breaking some kid's nose. Mallory fences, and Simon is an animal freak. They find a 'squirrel''s nest inside the wall, and get rid of it. Soon, they have a boggart. Well, thats what they think they have, when Jared discovers a secret library with a book that tells about magical creatures of lore, The Fey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Twin

    I love this book ! All the adventure twisted with the supernatural having a ' Gotta read more ' kind of ending , with those annoying brownies , [ creatures , youll have to wait and find out !] The 1st book explains the moving in of the Grace children , and the bizzare , supernatural happenings of there Aunt Lucys old house , and when , they cant have enough strenght to tell there mom , before something worse happens , and there in deep trouble when they dont know which creature to trust or they can trust and which will ruine there lives forever.... PS , you will be thirsty for more !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    FANTASY HOW YOU WANT IT

    this is one of the best book i've read.ilove it so much i would give it 5 stars,only it was too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    An excellent fantasy book!

    This book is very much like the Lemony Snicket series. It warns the readers not to read the book. But it is totally different when you read the inside. It is about Mallory, Simon and Jared Grace. I enjoyed the book because of the quality, but for the exquisitely drawn pictures. This was one of the best fantasy books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Cool

    I loved this book!! Though it was really SHORT! Th y should of just combined all the books in one and not make it a series. This book has humor ,and boys AND girls would like it because evenythough the boy is the main character,Mallory is important too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5