Customer Reviews for

Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Claudia

    I read this when i was nine... it was soooo amazing. I'd read it again even though i am 13. It is good for all ages

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Enticing

    I was challenged by a student to read this story and see who finished first, that is how I came to reading this story. I was pulled into the mystery of the home that the Grace children had moved in to. This first book leaves you wanting to pick up the second book to continue this mystery that lurks within the walls of the their home!! Very fun story and some of the illustations can really make the reader feel like they are a part of the story (ie. notes, letters, etc)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Enjoyed!

    I got the whole set for Christmas! I'm glad I liked them! haha! I think the whole series could have been put into one book, but they were divided into very small books for some reason. But I enjoyed them very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great for all ages

    This book is a very short but good read. I thought it was amazing how a lot of action is featured in such a small compact book. It's a perfect book for kids as there's plenty of magic, fantasy, and action all in one. There's not much boring dialogue and you don't have to worry about heavy character development. It's basically a book that's just meant to be read and to have fun.

    If you are familiar with Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events, this book may be for you. Although they are two very different books, the idea of making this book a "true story" is similar. I liked that little bit and thought it was a fun addition to the book and provides appeal to younger readers.

    The illustrations were also nicely done and provides a good visual aid to help picturing the story. As to the characters; they're all fun and once the magical/fantastical elements have been added, it's even better.

    This is a great novel for younger readers, but give it a try even if you don't fall into the age category! it's quick and light and shouldn't even take long to read. What's amazing is in those bits of pages is a lot of things happening to keep the reader entertained for a short while. I will be reading the rest of the series for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    My son and I LOVE this series!

    This is the first set of chapter books that my seven-year-old has really been intrigued with. He is always asking if we can read another chapter.

    My son says: It is the best chapter book that I have ever seen! Some parts are scary because it has lots of goblins and trolls but this makes the stories exciting. My favorite part of this book is when Mallory and Jared meet the troll in the swamp. C-R-E-E-P-Y! My favorite character is Hogsqueal! I recommend this book to children aren't afraid of goblins and trolls!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    Nice and simple

    This series is imaginative and great for young readers. I wish that the series was just one book though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    I am a Boggart...

    Love the book, I thought it was going to be a little cliche and guess what I was wrong. Love the way the writer keeps you interested throught the whole book ( less then 100 Pages) the flow of thier words were like magic. The rest of the series are first in my next book to read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Okay.....

    I thought this was an AWESOME book other than the fact that it was WAY too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    The Field Guide, by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black

    The Field Guide, by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi, is the first book of the Spiderwick Chronicles series. I rate this book with four stars. I think the book would be better if the author added more details about topics in the book (setting, characters, events, etc.). The book is about three kids, Jared, Simon, and Mallory. They move into an old house that was once owned by their Aunt Lucinda, who was but into an insane asylum. The house seems somewhat creepy at first, and it turns out 'things' live in the house with them. Later, while his siblings are outside, Jared stumbles across a book that details all of the creatures in the house. The children see a picture of a mysterious man, Arthur Spiderwick, in a secret room. This book is fast-paced and adventurous. I think this is a good book to read if you are a fan of fantasy books and mythological creatures. I think it should have more details about the characters, but overall, it is a good book. I enjoyed this book because it is easy to understand. There is nothing confusing about it. I also enjoyed the other books of this series. If you like this book, I would definitely recommend the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    SPIDERWICK #1

    This book is one of the best i have read in my life. Even know it's magical i still beleive because were could the aurthor have get this from i don't beleive in it but i recommend it even my daughter is crazy about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    FANTASY HOW YOU WANT IT

    this is one of the best book i've read.ilove it so much i would give it 5 stars,only it was too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    What a Great Book!

    Jared, Simon, Mallory and Helen Grace all go to live in Aunt Lucinda's old house so they can begin a new life. Since Helen got divorced, things have been going wrong and Jared has been getting into too much trouble lately. When they find a book called Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide to the Fantastical World Around You, a book about how to identify mystical creatures, everything gets turned upside down! JAred suspects that a Boggart has been terrorizing the house and he takes the heat. This book was fascinating to read but was way too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2003

    Good Book

    This book came to me by chance; as one boring Saturday when the cartoons were over, I happened to get this book off a shelf and read it. And my description is a clear meaning of what this book is: A pastime read. The book is full of different characters and an interesting plot. Dwarves, hobgoblins and goblins, elves, and peculiar devices come into a good work of literacy. This book is more for younger readers ages seven to ten. Do not listen to the age description if you come looking for a new Harry Potter; but otherwise, impressive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Great for boys who don't like to read!

    I'm a third grade teacher who is always looking for books that will interest the boys in my class. This series is charming enough to captivate the attention of adults, but the students I've recommended it to - LOVE it! Because our hero doesn't have a blatent talent and his parents are going through a divorce, many kids feel they can relate! This first book starts a bit slow, but stick with it. It gets more exciting with every page you turn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    A pretty good book

    Looking for a good book to read while waiting for the next King Fortis, Harry Potter and Artemis Fowl books to come out? This just might be it. The Field Guide is not written as tightly as Artemis Fowl. It is not as imaginative as King Fortis the Brave and it is not as groundbreaking as Harry Potter (in fact, in many ways it is a shallow imitation - even the cover art is reminiscent of the Harry Potter books). But it is still a fun book to read. Give it a try. You'll be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    AN OUTSTANDING FANTASY!!

    I love the Harry Potter books and the Lemony Snicket books and couldn't wait till the next ones came out so I read this and it was an outstanding book! Recommended for anyone who reads and likes the Harry Potter books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    Great Fantasy!

    I'm a librarian and great fan of Harry Potter, the Lemony Snicket books, and Artemis Fowl. This is a terrific book for younger readers--short, heavily illustrated, but loaded with fantasy and gothic appeal. Third graders and older, more reluctant readers who find the aforementioned books appealing but intimidating in size will love this. It's a fun, quick read for older fans, and a fun family read-aloud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2