BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Fantasy vs. Reality

    I was never someone who really enjoyed reading! The only books I really like were children's book. Books that were mandatory to read in school I ready, but not always something I liked or something I would think about reading again. Harry Potter's been out for years now, yet I never had the intention in reading them. It wasn't until July of this year (05) that I finally picked up my sister's Harry Potter books to read. I've finished all 6 in a month. Ever since, I just wanted to read, but it was children's books that I enjoyed. I saw Spiderwick many times, but I never bought them. I guess it was too short! But yesterday, I picked up the boxset and bought it. I was on my way to work, commuting on the train, and started to read book 1. And now it's lunch time, I'am done w/ book 1. It was so interesting! I love it a lot! I'm a day dreamer, so maybe that is the reason I like a lot of children's books b/c its imaginative and creative and it gives you something cute to think about. You'd definitely like to read this book if you like Fantasy stories, but yet sometimes makes you think whether what the author is saying is real. I agree this book is too short, and that they could of combined the 5 books into 1, but it doesn't matter to me now. Whether is 1 book or 5, I'll read them all!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    this is a great book

    this was a great book and a easy read. I thought it was a great fantasy book for all ages!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Scary But Awesome

    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Good

    It is very good It may be short but its still one of the best books ever!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is one of the best book I have ever read

    I have read almost all the books now and recomend it to readers who are interested in fictional books

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    To Jace

    Sure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    To sam from toch here very important

    The tree is mulgarth and he can shape shift thanks for asking great books right

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    Whats ur name? Jace

    Reply to jace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    To demigod interpritor

    DUDE!!!!! I LOSTMY NOOK WHEN I SAID THAT I THOUGHT MY NOOK WAS F-ING UP AND I FOUND IT!!!! I HAD IT FOR A FEW DAYS AND FORGOT WHAT WE MEET ON BUT THEN I WAS LOOKING THROUGH MY BOOKS AND I FOUND A BOOK THAT SAID SPIDERWICK AND THATS WHEN I REMEMBERED!!!!!! IM BACK!!!! what have you been doing?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Good.

    Good for all ages. Looking forward to the second book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Vicmars

    Vicmars lets have sexy sex with you sucking my boobs while you are haveing normel sex

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Demigod interpritor

    OH MY GOSH IM SO SORRY!!!!! THERE WAS THIS MAJOR BLACKOUT THAT LASTED 4 DAYS THEN MY NOOK WENT WONKY AND I DID NOT HAVE TIME TO FIX IT BECAUSE I HAD TONS OF SCHOOL WORK!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Creepy

    Sssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssscccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    The best

    The are the best books ever p.s i have read all of them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    A good start

    A great series beginning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    A friend recommended this book and series to me. I was a bit dou

    A friend recommended this book and series to me. I was a bit doubtful for a moment about the book, but now, I LOVE IT!!!!! I want my mom to buy book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    spider wich cronachles book 1

    the best book 1 i have ever read it was awsome an book 2,3 are good to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    I love this book

    I think this book is really cool though it is not exactly like the movie. I think its a lot better than the movie. I suggest this book for warriors readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    great series

    I loved this book and I just ordered the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    This was one of the first books I read and I loved it!

    How would you feel if you had just discovered a whole new world and that world was out to get you? Would you try to avoid it? Well that is exactly what happens to three children named Jared, Mallory, and Simon Grace. In this book Jared finds 'the straangest thing' in the attic. Itall starts when the three children and their mom move into the Spiderwick mansion. The children all hate the house, but their mom was just glad they had a place to live. All three children are more unique than most people. Mallory-- the oldest, is a great fencer. Simon-- the middle child, loves animals and is Jared's twin brother. Jared-- the youngest, always got into fights and got suspended. These three 'ordinary' children's lives are turned upside down when they discover Arthur Spiderwicks Field Guide, which leads them into a whole new world full of imaginary creatures. Through the story these children discover that they must protect the book from creatures that are trying to use it for evil. I enjoyed reading this bookand the rest of the series. I enjoyed this book because I liked all of the mythical creatures and because I enjoy reading adventure novels. I highly recommend this book to people of all ages and to anyone who likes a good adventure. It kept me reading the whole time. When I finished the book I couldn't wait to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4