Customer Reviews for

Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Good, But Quick Read

    I read this at the most in 45 minutes. It was really good, but it was fairly short. Luckily I got the second book on the same day. I've only barely started The Seeing Stone, but I haven't had time to sit down and read it yet either. I'm interested to see how they organize the new Spiderwick Chronicles movie coming out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Realistic Fantasy- if that doesnt exist yet, now it does!

    The only problem with this book is that it is very short. The color photos are awesomely done for pen and ink, and the no-colors are not too shabby. But the main thing is that this book is well written. I dont really enjoy books with boys for the narrator(Other than Harry Potter, of course). But this book is on my top 10. Storyline--- Mallory, Jared (who's telling the story) and Simon, Jared's twin, have just oved in a large Victorian house with their Mom 'cause their parents got a divorce. It looks like 'twelve shacks piled on top of each other'. Their great- aunt moved out because shes in an insane asylum (she won't eat but is still alive, and tells the doctors she has food'greater than you could imagine') Jared has had some trouble in school, even to the point of breaking some kid's nose. Mallory fences, and Simon is an animal freak. They find a 'squirrel''s nest inside the wall, and get rid of it. Soon, they have a boggart. Well, thats what they think they have, when Jared discovers a secret library with a book that tells about magical creatures of lore, The Fey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Twin

    I love this book ! All the adventure twisted with the supernatural having a ' Gotta read more ' kind of ending , with those annoying brownies , [ creatures , youll have to wait and find out !] The 1st book explains the moving in of the Grace children , and the bizzare , supernatural happenings of there Aunt Lucys old house , and when , they cant have enough strenght to tell there mom , before something worse happens , and there in deep trouble when they dont know which creature to trust or they can trust and which will ruine there lives forever.... PS , you will be thirsty for more !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2005

    An excellent fantasy book!

    This book is very much like the Lemony Snicket series. It warns the readers not to read the book. But it is totally different when you read the inside. It is about Mallory, Simon and Jared Grace. I enjoyed the book because of the quality, but for the exquisitely drawn pictures. This was one of the best fantasy books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Cool

    I loved this book!! Though it was really SHORT! Th y should of just combined all the books in one and not make it a series. This book has humor ,and boys AND girls would like it because evenythough the boy is the main character,Mallory is important too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Magical and Captivating!!!

    When I first saw the Spiderwick books I wasn't really interested. Then, one day I picked up the first book and *poof* I was so entranced in it. Next thing I know I am getting all 5 books from the library. I am now reading the 2nd book, but I just want to say the 1st book is probably the best because the way the 2 authors(Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black) really explained about Mallory, Jared, Simon, and Helen Grace. Anyone 8 & older would love this book if they love books about faeries and other magical creatures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    Christmas Gift gone wild

    My twin sons received the box set from their uncle for a Christmas gift. Last week their dad ask to see the 1st book and he just finished reading the 5th book. He couldn't put it down. He is not a reader at all so these books must be very well written. Everynight I would get a short summary of what he read that day. The boys are now excited to get started reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    KOOLEST books

    The first book 'The Field Guide' does not have as much creep as the second one 'The Seeing Stone'.In book one when Jarred was'nt sure where he was when he stepped in the attic.In book two when they got kindof worried when they found Simons shoe.I love spider wick and beg my parents for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2004

    Beast series for fantasy

    All of these books are really really GREATS.I mean i love to read them and egerly await the next, it is such a good book it really sets a standard for any other books. i ALSO ENJOY lEAMONY SNICKETS BOOKS :]:]:]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    awesome

    I got all the spiderwick books!i coudnt stop reading them!i can't explain how good it is!plus you taught me magic exists.thank you!i even had a dream about spiderwick after reading all of them!it even described them all and i could see all of it happening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    A great read according to my 7 1/2 year old

    I read all of these books to my 2nd grade, 7 1/2 year old, son and he devoured them...It also was great bonding time for us as he dissected and scrutinized all of the characters and mystical creatures with their respective powers. He, in turn, began reading each and every book to himself. I am currently reading Harry Potter 1 to him right now and wouldn't have him try to do so on his own. But, the Spiderwick series were perfect for him; 'shorter' chapters, and enough pictures to stimulate his already active imagination. A great series for which we await the 6 installation!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    Kids Point of View

    This was a great novel. If you haven¿t read it, read it. Kids who love books with enchantment in them I would greatly suggest this book. It is about a field guide but not an ordinary field guide. It is a field guide about all sorts of fairies. This ¿guide¿ is found by three children Simon, Peter, and Mallory. They are brothers and sisters. How did they find the book? Why caused them to open it? Where did they find it? Who wrote it? Why did these kids care about it? What do they do with it? All of these questions will be answered in the book all you have to do is read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    A Parent's Opinion

    I read this book before giving it to my 7 year old daughter. I loved it and was really excited for her to start it - knowing once she started she would absolutely love it. She finished it in 2 nights and can't wait to get started on Book #2. My husband read it and loved it also. Not only is it well written but a great story as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2004

    the beginning of a new World

    This book opens up a new fantasy world. Once you read the first chapter you get hooked like me and you can not wait until the next book to open and just get scuked in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    This Book Was Awesome

    I just started reading this kind of books(fantasy for young adults) and I started with this ones. It was great! I read it twice and I am not tired. I am really anxious for the fith book to come. I really recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    The Best Book That I Have Ever Read In My Life!

    This book is the best book that i have ever read in my whole entire life.I read the whole thing in one day and then got the next one the day after.I couldn't put the book down.When i finished the book i was so sad.I simply couldn't wait till the next book came out.Now that i finished all three i can't wait to get the next one,and i will be sad untill the fifth one gets published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2004

    Fantastic!

    This book has really sparked the interest of my fourth-grade students. They cannot wait to get ahold of the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    WOW VERY GOOD

    This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. WOW. it says in the back that Tony Diterlizzi inspired J.R.R Tolkein and other big classic artists. This is a great fantasy book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    Coolest Book Ever...It's Freaky!

    We are a third grade class at Bedford Heights Elementary. We read this story during storytime. We especially enjoyed the scary parts! It was an excellent mystery book. We voted on our favorite character and we liked Mallory best. We wish there were going to be more than five! We also loved what they found when they explored the house. We thought the pictures from the field guide were awesome! Mallory, Jared, and Simon were much braver than we would have been. We love this book and we recommend that every kid read it! Sincerely, Miss Machos's Third Grade Class Bedford Heights Elementary Bedford, Texas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    wow

    the book was awsome it is a cliff hanger i would highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3