Customer Reviews for

Field of Blood

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Unique, edge of your seat thriller

    When I was finished reading this trilogy my mind was screaming for more, yet I was deeply satisfied with each part of the story. Eric has a way of taking you right into the mind of both good and evil, once you read this book you will never think of vampires the same!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I have never read such a unique and creative novel from a Christian publisher

    A construction crew accidently discovers burial caves on the outskirts of Jerusalem, which turns out to be the Akeldama, the place where Judas Iscariot died. Before the archeologists can arrive to do their thing, the Collectors enter the tombs. The Akeldama Collectors are demon-like beings who have been waiting 2000 years to get at these bones, because bones combined with the blood of Judas that seeped into the soil makes it possible for the Collectors to awaken the dead. Once they each choose a body, they need to feed. Then they need to find and destroy the Nistarim, those immortal beings that rose at the death of the Nazarene to protect mankind.

    Gina Lazarescu has managed to break away from her controlling mother and make a life for herself in the States. But when she is hit by a van and hears her body heal itself, the past is dug up again. Could she have a connection to the Nistarim her mother used to talk about, and if so, is she being hunted by the undead?

    I have never read such a unique and creative novel from a Christian publisher. I applaud Thomas Nelson for publishing this book. It's totally creepy-half the book is from the undead (vampire) perspective-so it's not for everyone. I got a bit confused here and there because the story is action packed and moves right along. I found myself going back to reference characters. There is mild sensuality and violence from the bad guys' scenes, but there is nothing graphic. If you like vampire stories, characters that are just as flawed as the next guy, and a plot that keeps you guessing, give this one a try. I was very impressed with how Wilson used scripture and history to weave this creative tale. In fact, when I finished reading it, I ran to my Bible to see the scriptures for myself. Pretty cool stuff. Highly recommended (with caution for the creepy factor).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An oxymoron: A scary Christian novel

    A Christian vampire novel? Genius. It is quite difficult for vampire fans to find a genuine vampire novel absent of excessive eroticism, yet still embraces the essence to intrigue the imagination. This is not just another spinoff of Bram Stoker's excellent novel, but an exquisitely unique narrative based on vampire lore and enriched with Wilson's originality and creativity. He accomplishes this rare feat while still nourishing an edgy mood. By contrast and point of reference, I've also read Elizabeth Kostova's vampire novel, THE HISTORIAN. Her book is beautifully written, but after a while the suspense fades, which caused me to lose interest. If you like a novel that is a thrill from the first page through the last, Wilson does not disappoint.

    The story starts with the events following Judas's suicide in the field of Akeldama, or Field of Blood.
    "What if his tainted blood seeped deep into the earth, into burial caves, causing a counterfeit resurrection of the dead?" Counterfeit life was breathed into the buried dead--and born were the undead. They secretly infiltrate pockets of society, walking dead among the mortal. Their mission: lure the unwary into deviltry and collect souls. An opposing force, the immortal Nistarim, battles to protect mankind from the Akeldama, creating epic tension in the spiritual realms.

    I appreciate novels that involve impressive research, and this one surpasses typical expectations. The author even travelled to Jerusalem to research the story elements. This depth is important, because it allows the reader to more easily suspend disbelief.

    This is a sophisticated story--there are enough plot twists to make a perm look straight. It's not hard to follow, but if you like to daydream about other things while you're reading a novel, this book will make you concentrate.

    Although a spiritual thriller, this is not for the faint of heart. It will scare you. If you frighten easily, I suggest you read it in broad daylight, with the lights on...and the doors locked.
    Wilson proves it's possible to write a hair-raising, Stephen King-esque novel without the extravagant gore and profanity. It is startling, harrowing, and totally compelling. This is book one in the Jerusalem's Undead series, a series destined to be one of the most talked about in literary circles.

    You'll never again look at a mysterious insect bite in the same way. Was it really just a mosquito?

    www.fictionaddict.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    The Perfect Blend of Truth and Fiction

    I've waited a long time to read this book. From the first time I read the premise over a year ago, I wanted to read it. The idea of a book's foundation rooted in the Akeldama and Matthew 27:52-53 (The tombs also were opened. And many bodies of the saints who had fallen asleep were raised, and coming out of the tombs after his resurrection they went into the holy city and appeared to many.) just seemed to be a powerful combination rich with themes to explore. Wilson did not disappoint. Field of Blood was everything I hoped it would be and much more. With a gentle touch, this dark and gripping story is written with the conviction of an author with a story to tell that the world needs to hear.

    Consolidating Field of Blood to a paragraph does little good. There's plenty of background on the book at www.jerusalemsundead.com and it does a far better job than I could ever begin to do. Also absent will be any true critique of the author, style, or overall writing of this book (that's better left in more capable hands anyway). Very quickly--it's well written, well researched, and enjoyable to read. So with all that out of the way, I'll get to the point. This is an excellent book for a multitude of reasons. First off, it's different. It offers a glimpse of what Christian fiction without pious constraints can be. Christian fiction can be original and inventive and it can use elements from secular entertainment to create a mind blowing spiritual novel.

    Not lost is the use of many Biblical passages. From Abraham's conversation with God regarding Sodom and Gomorrah to Jesus' death and resurrection, we are given a wonderful reminder of some of the Bible's powerful stories and an awesome demonstration of God's unfailing love. While many books get so tied up in teaching the Bible and specific lessons, they isolate people, Field of Blood takes a more subtle approach and draws the reader to the story, letting God open their heart to His word.

    While most of the characters in this book are deeply flawed and struggle with their beliefs, Wilson gives us a couple of awesome and beautiful examples of believers without fear--those who hold the knowledge of Christ and the power of His blood. They are bright and shining lights in an otherwise dark and frightening world.

    Couple of more thoughts and I'll wrap up. I don't think there is anyway to not mention the tenderness in this rather rough book. The pain of those in a world that's dying and suffering is often times overlooked in an effort to convince people to just believe. The problem is when we ignore their pain, why should they listen. With a market flooded with `perfect' heroes and squeaky clean Christian characters, Wilson gives us a healthy dose of reality. We all struggle, we all hurt, we all cry, and we all need Jesus.

    Lastly, for anyone who might question the appropriateness of a book which includes vampires and other lore, let me put your mind at ease. There is nothing unbiblical about Field of Blood. From the prologue to the last page, there is a depth to this book that goes well beyond the fictional story being told. There is truth to be seen and there are lessons to be learned. Field of Blood is Christian, but it's not a 400 page sermon. It's realistic and accurate where it should be and pure entertainment where it should be. It's everything you could hope for in a Christian book--something for the lost to contemplate and for the believer to never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Not what I expected but still a good read

    I was thinking this was a Christian version of "Twilight" and in some respects it is. For instance, there is the Biblical references and the book does touch on Christian themes and redemption. However, it was not as much as I expected. Still this is a great story - written well and with characters well developed. This book was hard to put down once I started reading it and I can't wait for the sequels to come out. If you're looking for a good read, this is the book for you. If you're looking for Christian fiction, this might not be your cup of tea. Peretti and Dekker fans will like this book, IMO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    Amazing!

    Doubly Dead, or Doubly Alive? <BR/><BR/> With Field of Blood, Eric Wilson delivers another action-packed, yet thought-provoking novel. The content of this novel is not for the faint-hearted. Read with caution, for your very soul is at stake. <BR/><BR/> The Field of Blood, or in Aramaic, the Akeldama, was the final resting place for Judas Iscariot. Or was it? When a freak accident opens up ancient burial grounds within the Field, an evil unlike any other is unleashed on all the world. Their purpose? To kill, corrupt, and destroy. <BR/><BR/> Enter Gina Lazarescu. A small, yet strong-willed woman with a shrouded past and a uncertain future. When she uncovers buried secrets about her past, her life is turned upside-down as she learns more about her heritage, and her purpose.<BR/><BR/> Eric Wilson is truly in his prime with this novel. This is one of the rare novels that, quite literally, had me ripping through the pages as fast as I could. It seemlessly combines elements of the supernatural realm with our physical world, and the result? A novel that reads like the next blockbuster movie, all the while, scintillating with truths that pertain to everyday life. This novel will surely expand his fan base exponentially.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    The Missing Link

    Eric Wilson took on a seemingly insurmountable challenge in writing a Christian vampire novel in the first place. But that wasn¿t the only difficulty with so much advance buzz about the announced Jerusalem¿s Undead trilogy, he ran the risk that, no matter how rich the story, it might not be enough to match the hype. Anticipation is its own kind of monster it often turns on its masters. In the hands of a lesser writer, a lesser researcher and man less acquainted with his scriptures, it might have been a disaster. In the hands of Eric Wilson, it¿s a tour de force. Wilson merges folklore and Biblical theology to effectively bridge the vampire¿s Christian themes with Romanian lore, supplying a long-missing link. In doing so, Wilson has supplied something lacking in the slew of vampire fiction today: originality. In Field of Blood, the undead are founded in the betrayal of Judas Iscariot, who managed to bleed out in the half-botched act of hanging himself, loosing unholy blood on the soil of the Akeldama. While staying true to the bloody death and blood-as-life staples of vampire mythology, Field of Blood offers a new angle on character redemption, new boundaries on the realm of the vampire, and new charges for the anti-vampire protagonist. Wilson introduces an entire cast of undead characters all too deliciously easy to hate including the convicted criminal, Barabbas¿the very man released at the urging of the mob in lieu of the Nazarene, Jesus. My main fascination with Field of Blood, however, is the genius behind the story itself. Having visited Romania and grown up in the church, I was intrigued in a how¿d-he-do-that? kind of way at Wilson¿s weaving together of post-revolution Romania, world news, scripture and Hebrew lore. As a reader, I was delighted. As a writer, I was envious. In breaking the Christian publishing vampire barrier, Wilson has set an incredible bar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1