BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Field of Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #24)

Average Rating 4.5
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    "Field of Prey" is now my very favorite John Sanford b

    "Field of Prey" is now my very favorite John Sanford book. Read every preceding Lucas Davenport saga and keep waiting for a disappointment. Not happened yet. Sanford thinks he's a "liberal", but his life comments in each of his recent books indicate that Sanford and Lucas Davenport are coming to grips with reality. There are bad people, not so bad people and good people. The characters in "Field of Prey" are fully developed and very interesting, some disgusting. The story line is riveting and not for bedtime reading. Just a fabulous read!Lucas has become an acquaintance of sorts - in fact, I think I know more about him and his life than most of the folks I see every day. And that's a good thing, but it also means that since I like him, I cannot be fair and even-handed in my review so my only advice to anyone reading this review who has never read a Lucas Davenport novel is to skip back to the beginning and read the first Davenport and move forward in order. If you like the first one, you'll like this one.




    One thing that Sandford does well is to make the horrific seem "business as usual" for Lucas and his partners. The contrast of the midwestern charm of Minnesota and the vile crimes is part of what makes these novels work - the "banality of evil" theme is ever-present.




    So if you are a long-time fan of Sandford, this one will work for you. If you're new to his work, go back and read "Rules of Prey" and move on from there. You'll be glad you did.
      

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Good Read

    Sandford's Prey books are usually good and this is no exception. Definitely one of the best ones I've read. Some are more split between cases whereas this one stayed primarily on the main storyline. Fast paced, suspenseful, some surprises and creepy scary. For Sandford fans what's not to like? Recommended.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    Nothing beats a John Sanford "Prey" book, but this one

    Nothing beats a John Sanford "Prey" book, but this one disappointed me. There were so many obvious clues that Davenport overlooked, just not like him. On the other hand, there was a great story line and surprises galore. I liked Letty being weaved in and out of the storyline. I'd never hesitate to recommend a Sanford book!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Like a moth to a flame

    As horrible as serial murder is, Sandford skillfully draws us to the repellant act repeatedly in a book that is the very definition of "thriller''.
    For devotees, we again get to ponder crime with Davenport -- and we feel his mounting frustration and fear. The author weaves what seem to be minor investigations involving other BCA agents with the main, frightening story, the dialogue as real as any you might hear at a bar or a grocery store. Then come the surprises, and an overall win for the good guys suddenly becomes doubtful.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    Probably the best one yet! Having read all the Prey books, at le

    Probably the best one yet! Having read all the Prey books, at least twice, I believe "Field of Prey" is pure, original John Sandford. If this isn't the best Prey novel, it's got to be in the top five. The twisted, perverted villain is right up there with:  "maddog", "John Mail",  "Qatar", and "Bekker". In addition to the horrific main plot, there are simultaneous sub-plots involving all the BCA regulars with intermittent glimpses into the investigations along the way. We lose one and another gets seriously injured, but Lucas Davenport - the consummate, physical, dangerous hero-figures it all out and races to the satisfying and breath-holding conclusion.. This is a must read! Just don't expect to get any sleep until you have finished this heart-stopping thriller.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Geaa Great read!

    Couldn't put down. Fast and exciting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Great read. Love the author's sense of humor. Kind of confusin

    Great read. Love the author's sense of humor. Kind of confusing with R/A always talking to Horn, but finally figured it out. Don't want to put this one down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Field of Prey: a great harvest

    I've been waiting for a new Davenport novel and bought this one osn its release date. I used to live in Minnesota and I enjoy how the Lucas and Virgil novels take me back.
    I found Sanford to be back in prime form. One of his best.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Another great read

    I have read all of John Sanford and this one does not disappoint! Lucas & his crew are fantastic! I loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    When I see A new Sanford Book, I grab it fast before others beat

    When I see A new Sanford Book, I grab it fast before others beat me too it. One of the best Mystery?,thriller? Entertaining , novelists of today.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Great read from Mr.Sanford...again!

    I lived in Red Wing Minnesota for 10 years. I never knew their was such great story in my backyard. The details are so rich that I could "feel" the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    highly recommended

    Once again John Sanford has hit a home run.A page turner that you cannot put down. the usual twists and turns that you do not anticipate occur to keep you fully engrossed in the story. As always, cannot wait for his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    As usual, Lucas Davenport does not disappoint! Fast moving, with

    As usual, Lucas Davenport does not disappoint! Fast moving, with the right amount of humor, horror and mystery. Sandford should do another story about Lettie. Very interesting character. I am working my way through all the Davenport books and enjoying them all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Must read.

    Have read all the series, does not disappoint!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    Jose

    "Where are you dirty sh<_>it- wallowing, baby-selling, heartless ba<_>stards?!?!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2014

    Great Book Would Recommend

    One of the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Gritty, Gripping and Gruesome

    I've read many of the Lucas Davenport books and they still fulfill every expectation I have for a good crime/mystery novel! I could not put this book down and I genuinely hated the criminal. The characters are interesting, dialog is real and the pacing is just right. I highly recommend this book. Lucas just gets better with age!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2014

    You will love this!

    I have read many John Sandford novels, and intend to read them all. This is the best one yet and I just could not put it down. Sandford just keeps getting better. I could clearly visualize the characters and they are people you encounter every day. The plot was believable and ever changing. Not fantacy, just reality in your face. Read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    To Soulstorm

    Help! At frankenstien res.1! We got an apprentice to save! Redfur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Prey books are one of the longer-running series; they featur

    The Prey books are one of the longer-running series; they feature Lucas Davenport of the Minnesota Criminal Apprehension Bureau, sort of a statewide FBI group under the Governor’s command. In his latest entry, there is no mystery, since the culprits are identified in the first few pages.

    The story then takes the form of a police procedural, following Lucas’ and the CAB’s efforts to capture the perpetrators of many murders. The investigation begins following discovery of the remains of many female victims in a well- hidden cistern on an abandoned property. The skulls and bones of more than 15 bodies are recovered to begin with, apparently murdered over many years.

    Reading the novel leads to the question of whether there is some superfluous content, which might have been edited out, allowing the material to move forward more smoothly. The murderer’s MO is graphically described, leaving little to the reader’s imagination. Character descriptions are well-honed, and, of course, Lucas always comes across well. Notwithstanding the earlier observation, the novel is recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10