Customer Reviews for

Field of Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #24)

Average Rating 4
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Like a moth to a flame

    As horrible as serial murder is, Sandford skillfully draws us to the repellant act repeatedly in a book that is the very definition of "thriller''.
    For devotees, we again get to ponder crime with Davenport -- and we feel his mounting frustration and fear. The author weaves what seem to be minor investigations involving other BCA agents with the main, frightening story, the dialogue as real as any you might hear at a bar or a grocery store. Then come the surprises, and an overall win for the good guys suddenly becomes doubtful.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    Probably the best one yet! Having read all the Prey books, at le

    Probably the best one yet! Having read all the Prey books, at least twice, I believe "Field of Prey" is pure, original John Sandford. If this isn't the best Prey novel, it's got to be in the top five. The twisted, perverted villain is right up there with:  "maddog", "John Mail",  "Qatar", and "Bekker". In addition to the horrific main plot, there are simultaneous sub-plots involving all the BCA regulars with intermittent glimpses into the investigations along the way. We lose one and another gets seriously injured, but Lucas Davenport - the consummate, physical, dangerous hero-figures it all out and races to the satisfying and breath-holding conclusion.. This is a must read! Just don't expect to get any sleep until you have finished this heart-stopping thriller.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    "Field of Prey" is now my very favorite John Sanford b

    "Field of Prey" is now my very favorite John Sanford book. Read every preceding Lucas Davenport saga and keep waiting for a disappointment. Not happened yet. Sanford thinks he's a "liberal", but his life comments in each of his recent books indicate that Sanford and Lucas Davenport are coming to grips with reality. There are bad people, not so bad people and good people. The characters in "Field of Prey" are fully developed and very interesting, some disgusting. The story line is riveting and not for bedtime reading. Just a fabulous read!Lucas has become an acquaintance of sorts - in fact, I think I know more about him and his life than most of the folks I see every day. And that's a good thing, but it also means that since I like him, I cannot be fair and even-handed in my review so my only advice to anyone reading this review who has never read a Lucas Davenport novel is to skip back to the beginning and read the first Davenport and move forward in order. If you like the first one, you'll like this one.




    One thing that Sandford does well is to make the horrific seem "business as usual" for Lucas and his partners. The contrast of the midwestern charm of Minnesota and the vile crimes is part of what makes these novels work - the "banality of evil" theme is ever-present.




    So if you are a long-time fan of Sandford, this one will work for you. If you're new to his work, go back and read "Rules of Prey" and move on from there. You'll be glad you did.
      

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Geaa Great read!

    Couldn't put down. Fast and exciting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Great read. Love the author's sense of humor. Kind of confusin

    Great read. Love the author's sense of humor. Kind of confusing with R/A always talking to Horn, but finally figured it out. Don't want to put this one down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Another great read

    I have read all of John Sanford and this one does not disappoint! Lucas & his crew are fantastic! I loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    highly recommended

    Once again John Sanford has hit a home run.A page turner that you cannot put down. the usual twists and turns that you do not anticipate occur to keep you fully engrossed in the story. As always, cannot wait for his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    As usual, Lucas Davenport does not disappoint! Fast moving, with

    As usual, Lucas Davenport does not disappoint! Fast moving, with the right amount of humor, horror and mystery. Sandford should do another story about Lettie. Very interesting character. I am working my way through all the Davenport books and enjoying them all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Must read.

    Have read all the series, does not disappoint!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Tito Krime

    He ran in, and did the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Breathless

    As usual, once started, couldnt stop reading until the final page. Strong characters and the special twist to this outcome made it an exceptional read. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Tito Hunter

    Do you have a mate?)) Tito Hunter sented a rabbit and crept twoard it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    I have read all of Sandford's book- and have enjoyed them all.  

    I have read all of Sandford's book- and have enjoyed them all.  This book too was great!!!
     Kept be up two nights in a row!!! Couldn't stop reading needed to know hoe Davenport was going to get
    out of this one.  A great thriller - Strongly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    Highly recommend!

    I've been reading Sanford's Prey novels for years, and Field of Prey is another great one. Lucas Davenport is his usual charismatic self, and Sanford moves the novel along at a great pace. Always riveting and enjoyable, I recommend this suspenseful series to anyone who likes an exciting, unpredictable mystery with the same cast of characters that I have grown to know and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I gave up reading for a while after college. I got tired of it

    I gave up reading for a while after college. I got tired of it and it didn't seem fun to me anymore. I started reading a few months ago and haven't stopped since. In that time I stubbled across Field of Prey. I had never read a John Sandford book until then. I read it in a couple of days and have since read Rules of Prey which i read in two days. He has become one of my fav authors with Vince Flynn, James Patterson, Brad Thor, and Clive Cussler. Everyone should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    It's difficult to write an impartial review for one of John Sand

    It's difficult to write an impartial review for one of John Sandford's books. I'm a fan who believes he can do no wrong. I've read and enjoyed his writing for years and look forward to each new release. Lucas Davenport and his team have a mass murderer on their hands. What makes it tough is that someone's been killing and dumping bodies for years before the police get involved. The cops are highly motivated since one of their own was killed in the course of the investigation. All I can say about Field of Prey is don't miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Sandford does it again! Don't miss it.

    Another outstanding Lucas Davenport adventure. In a carefully crafted and skillfully told tale, Sandford once again creates forceful, interesting and complex characters with plot twists throughout. This one will keep you up late! Sandford and Davenport just get better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Highly recommended

    John Sanford has done it again. I have read almost all of his books, some twice or more, and keeps 'em coming. The suspense is terrific and the way he works his characters is awesome. Don't miss this one because almost all of his characters are in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Another Hit for Sandford

    If you are a fan of the Lucas Davenport series, you will enjoy this one. Davenport was in form and the story kept my interest throughout. I also enjoyed catching up with his daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Good Story

    So glad this was good. After feeling gyped by his last book, it was so awful I stopped reading it. I like his other books so I took a chance. This was really good again. Action, story, and characters all great! Had to force myself to put it down. I liked the ending and hope to see more of the new law officer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5