Customer Reviews for

The Fiend and the Forge (The Tapestry Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Cool

    Its sooooo sad! Lotsa people die! I was crying half the book! But i loved it. Great read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Oh yeah!

    Just finished reading it and amazing! Just cannot wait for the fourth one to come out in OCTOBER!!!!!! Highly recomended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    Heroes, Demons and Smees--Oh My!

    I was very excited for this installment of The Tapestry to arrive...and it was well worth the wait. In "Fiend," we find Rowan recovering from Astaroth's brutal Siege. Though in the new world order, it's more than just a school, it's a refuge for humankind living at the mercy of powerful demons. Our hero Max has recovered from his storied performance in The Siege as well, and is excited to return to "normal" school life once again. Thankfully for the reader, "normal" is not in Max's future, and he struggles to understand the new world order (Why won't Rowan's staff resist the demon rule? Why is his best friend David keeping dangerous secrets?) and to try to master the powerful Old Magic that threatens to overtake him. Action and adventure abound as "Fiend" continues to blend elements of both Fantasy and Science Fiction, a hallmark of Neff's "Tapestry" series. We're introduced to new worlds, ancient history and myth and intriguing new characters, including the gregarious--and brutal--demon Prusias, a host of terrifying monsters and the charming and multi-faceted Smee (for some welcome comic relief!). Many of our old favorites are back, as well (Cooper, Mum and Bob--I'm looking at YOU!). But "Fiend" is truly about Max's journey-both literal and emotional. "Fiend" is equal parts thrilling, chilling, tragic...and comic just when you need it to be (barrister hags, anyone?). Yes, it is darker than the previous two installments, but necessarily so. "Fiend" truly moves "The Tapestry" series forward to a more epic place (you can feel the progression in both the quality of the writing and the richly detailed drawings). I cannot wait to see how this amazing tale is wrapped up in the fourth and final installment!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    A Thrilled Reader

    The Fiend and the Forge continues the saga of Max McDaniels and positions it squarely within a classical battle between humankind and monsters. I would have said between "good and evil," but just like the character of Max himself-not fully human and not fully predictable in human terms-this simple division falls short of the world created by Henry Neff in this third book of The Tapestry quartet. Not only does Max decisively leave Rowan, and childhood, behind in his venture out into the larger world, he encounters an utterly altered reality. Neff has not just created a post-apocalyptic scenario in which the civilizations and monuments of man have been torn away, he has replaced it with a complex system of hierarchies, government, and mythologies specific to the new ruling class of demons. Their culture-and it is a culture-is complex. There are powerful demons and flunkies; there are brilliant leaders and a multitude of servant beings who simply want to live in peace. Indeed, in terms of honoring nature, aspects of Astaroth's demonic creation seem much more harmonious than when mankind was in charge. The Fiend and the Forge is a great tale of adventure, invoking history as well as mythology, teaching as well as entertaining. It also provokes deep reflection on what it is to be human and how we think about the "other." As a consequence, readers young and old are challenged to consider ideas of "good and evil" in new ways. It is simply a wonderful book. Congratulations, Mr. Neff.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You have to read

    If you read the first two in the series i would highly suggest it, its great!!!!!!!!!!!! I bought it for my nook and it was a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    For fans of fantasy--a must have!

    In this book, Henry Neff reaches a whole new level of excitement and and adventure as Max explores a changed world under the rule of the evil demon Astaroth. It was an awesome book that I could not put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Like a fine wine...

    Like a fine wine, Henry Neff's Tapestry series gets better and better. The plot, character development and illustrations continue to ripen to reflect the compelling storyline. Rarely does one care so much for a book's characters like in the Tapestry - I've quickly read several chapters of the Fiend and the Forge and am already wincing about what may happen to my favorite characters. I'm glad to see that book three continues to expand the story beyond Rowan's borders and take into question our beloved characters' loyalties and personal agendas. Will Max's brawn still protect David's brains or does David even want Max's protection anymore? Neff continues to masterfully tie together myth, history and original fantasy into one compelling plot. Can't wait to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Buy it

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    New book coming soon

    F

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exellent book, a wonderful journeyfrom begining to end.

    Exellent book, a wonderful journeyfrom begining to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ SERIES

    If you like Harry Potter mixed with mythology and family values, then you'll LOVE THIS SERIES!
    I read it numurous times and it never gets old! I CAN'T WAITE for book 4!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    AWESOME

    Loved it! it was like a twist between all my favorite books! Amazing writer! Come out with more please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    So sad yet pleasing

    I cant believe nick dies. Im eager for the next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Will not download

    A 6.2 mb file that only downloads to about 4.3

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    verry awesome

    such a good series. very well done although i would highly recomend reading books one and two first. this is the tapestry series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    rate and review

    looks good but who knows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6