BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Fifth Angel

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Green nails another one.

    You like one of his books, you'll like them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    Convenient, but twisty.

    I'll agree with the previous reviewer that the plot of this book was often very convenient. I don't think you would find anything similar to this in the real world. And unlike the previous review, I don't see any right wing stances being made by the author or really any stances at all. With that said, however, I really enjoyed this book. This was the first book I have read by Green and I was just expecting an average read to pass some time. I figured I could guess about anything that was going to happen, but if it got my heart rate up a few times, it would be worth it. Then, so many unexpected events and twists starting occuring I was constantly asking 'what is he going to do?'. You are constantly wondering how he is going to get through this, but also when the shoe is going to fall. This is not the most incredible fiction ever written, but if you want a quick, entertaining read that can get your heart pumping, I definately recommend this book for you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Not a well plotted book

    I came away feeling like I'd just listened to a book written by a right-wing, extremist vigilante with an overly inflated sense of the infallability of his own opinions. The 'what happened to my daughter is all my fault' angst did nothing but make the protagonist look like a self-serving, it's-all-about-me whiner. The look-the-other-way responses attributed to the law enforcement types were just too damned convenient to the plot. In fact, Mr. Green painted as a total buffoon the the only detective truly trying to find out what was going on. The unbridled success of the main character's forays into vigilantism was simplistic at best, and probably better described as absurd. Apparently everyone in his vicinity at the time of his crimes was deaf, dumb and blind. I know this is fiction, but the whole thing was just too contrived, too pat. It's almost as if Mr. Green wrote an outline for the book, filled it in a little, then dropped it in the mailbox to meet a deadline. The only reason I finished it was that I was on a road trip and it was the last one I had in the car for listening. I don't think I'll bother to try any more of Mr. Green's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2008

    OUTSTANDING!!!

    I read this book about 4 years ago. I am not much of a reader but after reading this book, I now read at least a book a month. The Fifth Angel is by far my favorite book. Tim Green has quite a few tricks up his sleeve even for a retired NFL star. When you get the chance, buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    Tragic yet enthralling

    Jack Ruskin's daughter, Janet, has been abducted and he doesn't know if she will ever get better after the traumatic experience. Of course Jack blames himself and so does his now ex-wife. To try and rid himself of some guilt, Jack decides it is his duty to rid the world of some of these monsters. But when he strikes in an area where McGrew is working, he has made a mistake. McGrew, a small-town cop, together with Amanda, a big-time FBI agent, make it their mission to stop this killer. This novel is exciting and really makes you think. The people that could have identified Jack, didn't. These people knew he was in the right, even though he was committing murder. I would recommend this book to high school readers and above or anyone interested in the law.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    A Must Read

    WARNING: Only start this book if you have nothing else to do because you won't be able to put it down. This was a great book that kept me reading well into the night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    HIGHLY ENJOYABLE

    I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I picked it up thinking it was going to be another trite serial killer novel but I was pleasantly surprised. I was highly entertained and I must admit, the book did really scare me! Don't read this one at night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    'The Fifth Angel' soars!

    When Jack Ruskin's Daughter, Janet, is kidnaped, tortured, and raped, Jack feels he is to blame. So, in a quest for 'redemption', he goes on a vigilante killing spree (Calling himself The Fifth Angel) that keeps escalating. Although your sense of justice is satisfied by these killings, it is also outraged by them. A morally questionable and yet strangely fulfilling tale of intrigue, murder, sexual perversion, and justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    A page turner

    I couldn't put this book down. It definitely made you question what is appropriate given the intense emotional situations the characters are in. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    interesting serial killer tale

    Though the proof is overwhelming that repeat sex offender Eugene Tupp raped the fifteen year old teen, the New York Judge rules key evidence was illegally obtained by the police and not admissible. Apparently, the search warrant was for Tupp¿s house and not his garage. Former prosecutor and highly regarded attorney Jack Ruskin is irate that while his daughter lies semi-comatose this animal will receive a slight slap of the wrist instead of locking him away forever. Jack needs vengeance and he finds it by killing an Upstate sex offender. Tasting blood and not feeling fully satiated, Jack is obsessed with wanting to exterminate sex offenders. He uses the net to find his prey, but soon the FBI realizes that a serial killer is murdering sex offenders. Special Agent Amanda Lee begins searching for a culprit, who she sympathizes with as she has a child and her partner was recently killed by a child abuser. Though the premise has been used before (Bronson), THE FIFTH ANGEL starts off as if the reader will receive an action packed yet philosophical look at defining justice. However, once Jack turns into a typical serial killer, the story line intensifies the action at the expense of moving the audience into the gray definitions of justice. Tim Green provides a strong thriller that many fans will say could have been brilliant. Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1