Customer Reviews for

Fifth Born: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

poet, reader, writer

Simply wonderful! I laugh, I cried, I felt Odessa's pain. Best book since Child of God.

posted by Anonymous on March 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

This book was horrible. I have no idea what the author is talking about. A waste of money

posted by STEELO07 on March 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    poet, reader, writer

    Simply wonderful! I laugh, I cried, I felt Odessa's pain. Best book since Child of God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Great...

    This book was great; U couldn't wait to get to the end. Definitely a page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Entertaining

    Love this book...very entertaining..odessa, odessa!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    Amazing!

    I started this book and couldn't put it down. Being a survivor of childhood trauma, it was incredible how well Zelda put into words the feelings of the child. Amazingly written. Zelda is one of three things....an amazing writer, a survivor or childhood trauma, or both!
    Eagerly waiting for the next chapter in Odessa's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    Great Read!!

    I couldn't put it down. I've given it to 5 people already and I never do that. Great Job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    the best ive read in awhile

    its very hard for me to find a book to catch me right away..and NOT ten chapters later. this book took my interst right away and i loved reading it all the was through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    A page turner

    I read this novel in less than 5 hours. A page turner. Riveting and gut wrenching. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    'Absolutely Amazing'

    The author's writing is well planned and brilliantly executed. We are drawn in to the life of Odessa, who is also the narrator, from the age of 3 to 12. Odessa experiences alcoholism, physical abuse, murder, betrayal, poverty and rape, just to name a few. This book will make you laugh, cry, experience happiness and hope for revenge and redemption.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2004

    Brava!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was a tour de force! It possessed a brilliant cadence of well placed words and imagery. The story drew out a series of emotions, it evoked compassion for this child, and brought forth an inevitable---necessary indigantion for her plight that was as intimate as if it were your very own!!--I so look forward to any future offering from this author. Encore PLEASE!!!! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    every child deserves a chance to be loved.

    If I could give this book a 10 stars I would. The characters come to life like they are right there with you, I cried,& laughed, but it makes you stop and think what some children go thru, very interesting to read, you won't be disappointed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Outstanding''

    This book kept my intrest to the very end. Loved the way the book keeps unravling with surprises concerning this familys history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Beautifully written

    I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. With each page I read, I felt Odessa's story getting more interesting and more captivating. I definitely recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    Excellent New Author

    This book held my attention from cover to cover! I cried with Odessa. I felt the pain she suffered at the hands of her family. I can't wait for Ms. Lockhart's next book! Thanks for a great read, Ms. Lockhart. It was worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    Family Ties

    This is a must read. This book brings us to the realization that every family has a story and behind every story is a story. I can not wait for the follow up to this family's story. I read this bookin less than a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    WONDERFUL!

    hAVING WORKED WITH WOMEN WHO HAVE SURVIVED CHILDHOOD TRAMUA, I WAS ROCKED BY THIS BOOK. THE CHARACTERS ARE FULLY 3-D AND THE DETAIL SO EXACT(WITHOUT BEING WORDY) THE AUTHOR EITHER IS A GOOD RESEARCHER OR A SURVIVOR HERSELF.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1