Customer Reviews for

Fifth Grave Past the Light (Charley Davidson Series #5)

Average Rating 5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Run...run now and get this entire series if you have yet to read

    Run...run now and get this entire series if you have yet to read it.
    Because...
    The. Best. Ending. Ever! I don't understand how you do it Darynda Jones. I really really don't. Every time I finish reading one of the Charley Davidson books I think "No way she can top that." My foot always ends up firmly in my mouth, because you can and you friggin' do. If Charley was a real person I would stalk her. Because A) it would be the most entertaining days of my life and, B) she's friggin awesome. Oh, and C) I would probably come across Rayes Farrow....MMMmmmmmmmm. And I wish Cookie was a real person. I would try and be her best friend because we already have the Winchester brothers in common. These novels never cease to make me laugh out loud continuously and are always ALWAYS good for bringing a smile to my face. Although there are some things I can predict, there always things I think I'm right about and then I'm just not. AND THEN there are the things that just come out of now where. Its like the whole "Pay attention to this hand" then- whack! That is seriously how I feel after reading everyone of her novels. The book was amazing. I don't even know if I have any words for it. I will point out that the scene with the therapist and Charley's "art" made me laugh, because really only Charley would plan ahead enough for that. There was a lot of Reyes...which made me giggle, and just enough Swoopes to satisfy me. Yes, I love Swoopes, and what is unraveling in his life...makes me smile, cry, and just want more. I, like Charley in this novel, do miss the biker boys and I hope they return soon. Usually when I come across a series that has this many books I always find that they start to go downhill after a few books and pick up later on, or there is a book that I find to be a "filler" book, but that's not the case with Charley. We are on book five and I'm just as happy with this book as I was the first. I want more, and I don't know if I can wait a couple of months to a year to get it. Perhaps now would be a time to learn how to hack into people's computers? But, I really respect Darynda Jones and other authors too much to do that...but seriously it's tempting.




    Good:




    EVERYTHING!!!




    Reyes---Because he is Reyes Alexander Farrow. If you've the books you clearly understand. If you haven't...you and I need to have a firm talk.




    Charley---The most entertaining person ever. Really...she should be given an Oscar.




    Swoopes- I love Swoopes. I have always been stuck between Reyes and Swoopes. In my opinion they are both equally awesome. I will forever remember his "5 things never to say to a grim reaper" list.




    Cookie-We are kindred spirits as Anne of Green Gables would say. She understand my love for Sam and Dean. And she is probably just as clumsy and absolutely as fantastic as I am.




    Uncle Umbie- I can't wait for the day when he finally asks Cookie out. And he's been working out. Bless him.




    Bad:




    There will never be anything in this category when it comes to a Charley Davidson book. Never.




    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):




    Overall this book was absolutely amazing. I think it should be turned into a movie...but they would have to make sure there is an inner dialogue for the Charley character because, really, that is where the gold is.
    This book was easy to follow and I never had to re-read to understand what was happening. The plot was awesome and although the mystery wasn't really a fore-front as some of the other novels it really didn't matter because it was entertaining and dramatic in many other ways. There are always punches that you don't see coming in these novels and they always take my breath away. God I love this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Best book in the series!

    Best book in the series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    I don’t think Ms Jones know how to disappoint even if she tried. She yet again delivered a well written and most definitely engaging novel. Fifth Grave Past the Light is written with suspense, snark, good humor and sexy romance. Just like the rest if this series, it was nothing else but awesome!

    Charley is again attemping to solve a mystery she is hired to do. But of course, she stumbles on a super natural clue that leads to a mystery of multiple deaths. I have to warn you that this installment is the scariest, let me rephrase, creepiest soul/ghost encounter Charley has had. While most of the ghost encounters are always with humor and never scary, this book freaked me out a little and broke my heart. You will see what I mean when you read this book, just know that there are some scenes that will be engrained in your brain. Besides that, Charley comes back in this book a bit more refined with her new powers and strength. Her humor never wavers and she is back with the “T-shirt quotes”. Wait until you see what other things/body part Charley blessed with a nick name. Where do Darynda get these? I mean this lady is just brilliant! In seriousness, I think Charley is one funny but a very strong heroine and I would not want to miss any of her adventures.

    When I mentioned having Reyes in the flesh in my review of Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet ….I lied. We really see him in the flesh in THIS installment. We not only see him in the flesh (for reals) but up close and personal. You see him live his daily life without prison, constant stress and issues with his “true being” as the son of Satan. We’re getting Reyes in the flesh!!! No holds bard!!! His playfulness his persona in and out of the bedroom and OMG, he knows what to do with kitchen utensils. Due to “correspondence course”…naturally. I swear I just can’t get enough of this guy!

    Cookie will “Learn the cock…Know the cock. Be the cock.” And she will learn to like it. She will also make some progress with Ubie. I think those two deserves to be happy and no doubt a novella waiting to happen. Angel finds out how much he is worth to Charley and boy she will get it from him. And Garreth, well, he hasn’t made it pass what happened to him with the last book. Poor guy. If you think he was up tight then…you’ll think him worse here. There a few new characters that I’m curious about. Not sure what they mean to Charley yet but if I know Ms Jones, she has something up her sleeve. I do trust that it will be another awesome book…without a doubt.

    *ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    The story keeps getting better and better!

    The story keeps getting better and better!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    This is by far the BEST book in this series, and I didnt think t

    This is by far the BEST book in this series, and I didnt think that would have been possible considering how great the other books were at staying fresh and original.  I am loving how this is playing out. Charley is an incredible grim reaper.  Reyes is, well, he is Reyes, dont need to say more about him.  
    One of the thing Darynda does best is not only develop likable characters, write original story lines, and keep her reading guessing on the edge of their seat from start is finish, but she also develops the supporting characters.  She does such a great job that we fall in love with them also.  
    Definitely a MUST READ series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I love this series and all the characters.  About a year ago I s

    I love this series and all the characters. 
    About a year ago I stumbled upon the audio version of the fist book as I was going on a long car trip. It was perfect, I could listen to half the book on the way there, half on the way back. Well, when I got to my destination, I didn't want to wait to listen to the ending.  I have been hooked ever since.  The characters are well developed and the story line is different and keeps me guessing at what will happen next. 
    The banter between the different characters is great. I cannot say enough great things about this book. 

    I also loved the GPS bit in this book, it had me laughing out loud. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Loved it, Lived it, Loved it

    Wish i could give it more than five stars, i loved this book. As i do all of them!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Darynda Jones did it again!!!! I have enjoyed this entire series

    Darynda Jones did it again!!!! I have enjoyed this entire series but I think this has been my favorite book so far. All of her books have had some wicked humor.....lots of mystery and plenty of sexy characters. I love her sense of humor and how that translates to her characters and story. Charlie and Reyes are fantastic and bring so much to the books. I can only hope there are a few more books she has planned for this series. If you haven't read the series I suggest you do. They have a fantastic twist on the new paranormal characters and a ton of emotions in the storyline. Highly recommend!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    If i could give 10 stars, i would

    I stayed up until 4 in the morning to finish this and I am ready to read it again. Looking forward to number six.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Ready for six!

    I love these characters and the story. I can, but do not want, to wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    really enjoyable read

    I love the series. Usually the later ones are not as good but this one was great. Hope more are being written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    For my review of the first book in this series I said: "Eve

    For my review of the first book in this series I said: "Every so often something rare and wonderful happens to a reader. You come across a book that just clicks. "  Well that is often soon followed by the pure agony of getting all caught up with all the books currently already released for said series and now you have to wait.  I'm talking torture people.   I am bursting at the seems with need to know what happens next because this author can write a cliffhanger like nobody's business.  I'm trying to console myself with the fact that I only need to wait 41 more days.  How awful for everyone that has been waiting since July of last year for book six.   I wouldn't have made it.  Alright 41 days, surely I can make it that long.  I swear these books are like crack for me.  




    This book was another fine addition to the series.  I remember talking about the glacier pace in which Charley and Reyes's relationship was moving in past books.  Well scrap that.  Things have moved up to light speed and it was one hell of a sex filled ride, of which I enjoyed every moment.  A lot less maiming of Charley in this book, but she still ended up with one major moment where her life was put on the line.  We also learned a lot more about Reyes and Charley's role on earth and how the people around them will play into the larger battle that will eventually go down. Still no movement on finding Cookie a man, but I think that might be dealt with soon.  Seems like we also have some new reoccurring characters that were introduced in the last book and beginning of this one.  We also have some people who are determine to figure out just what is up with Charley and how she solves so many cases. 




    There is so much I would love to talk about, but it would be a major spoiler, so I will contain myself.  I'm just going to have to bug friends to either catch up or read the series so I have someone to go all fangirl with.  Perhaps it is a good thing I have to wait 41 more days,I think  I'm developing an unhealthy attachment to these characters... This really is an excellent series.  The writing is well done, filled with witty one liners, serious drama, smexy men, steamy scenes, and some touching ones that will bring you to tears.  The books can be an emotional roller coaster, but it is so worth the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Excellent

    I can read Charley Davidson all day. Ms. Jones delivers witty lines and a great plot in every book. Love all the books and I'm always looking forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    I don't know what it is about these books but they certainly mak

    I don't know what it is about these books but they certainly make me laugh out which gives me great joy. Charley is so snarky, smart, resourceful, and never gives up period. Then you add super yummy Reyes Farrow~there are no words to describe how yummy he is. The grim reaper aspect is particularly getting more interesting with each book. For me, personally the books are good way to break out of depressive funk and escape for a bit. Definitely looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Pure Enjoyment

    Great series.....anxiously waiting for the sixth !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    This whole series is absolutely amazing. My aunt gave me the fir

    This whole series is absolutely amazing. My aunt gave me the first book and I've been hookd ever since!  If you ever wanteda series thatyou could read over and over and have it never get old then this is it. I completely recommend this series to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    O.M.G! Words truly elude me! How to describe the awesomeness tha

    O.M.G! Words truly elude me! How to describe the awesomeness that is Darynda Jones and her story of Charley and Reyes!?! As with all great series, the next book tends to be better and continues to progress in that direction. This series is one of those where each book is better than the previous one, which tends to be hard to do as all the books in this series ROCK!! 

    The fifth installment of the Charley Davidson series does not disappoint! In fact, it makes you want to knock on Darynda's door and tell her you'll take care of everything else so she may have the time to finish book 6 so you can read it ASAP!

    With creative chapter titles like "Chapter 1: "Ask me about life after death." T-shirt often seen on Charley Davidson, a grim reaper of questionable morals." this books provides you with laughter, suspense, that goosebumps feeling of knowing that something awesome is about to happen and of course the hotness that is Reyes Farrow! Check out the audio sample below to get a taste of the first chapter!

    Besides all the awesomeness going on in this book, one of the many reasons why I LOVED it was that we got to see more of the Charley and Reyes relationship and even a different side to Reyes. Won't say more regarding this so I don't spoil it for you.

    Darynda Jones is an auto buy author (both this series and her YA Series "Dark Light") and will continue to be!! 

    Narrator Review: Lorelei is a fantastic narrator! She gives each character their unique voice and personality bringing them to life! The transitions between characters and the narration is smooth and seamless! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    great book

    The series itself is great. Looooved this book and all the other Charley Davidson books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Outstanding book

    Funny, sexy , great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Wonderful! Absolutely love this series! Wish the Sixth would co

    Wonderful!
    Absolutely love this series! Wish the Sixth would come out sooner or later. Very entertaining!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7