Customer Reviews for

The Fifth Witness (Mickey Haller Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 1008 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(400)

4 Star

(278)

3 Star

(168)

2 Star

(76)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

What happens to a lawyer when he develops a conscious?

Mickey Haller has always played it a little to the left of respectability and liked it there. He learned how to play the game well from his late father reputed to be the greatest lawyer ever to hit the legal system. Mickey is a great guy, wonderful father and not to b...
Mickey Haller has always played it a little to the left of respectability and liked it there. He learned how to play the game well from his late father reputed to be the greatest lawyer ever to hit the legal system. Mickey is a great guy, wonderful father and not to bad ex-husband, but with the legal system it is all about the check mark in the win column and how you get there is not the issue but the answer. But when you are faced with doing something that even crosses your line what are you going to do?

Now that times are a little rough economically Mickey is dealing with the lucrative foreclosure market. This new avenue to obtain clients is paying well and still lets him keep his office in the back of his Lincoln, traveling around from one court house to another kicking legal butt. But when one of his foreclosure clients is accused of killing the banker who is about to kick her out of her house Mickey get back in full lawyer mode and takes this one head on. Mickey never asks if his client did the deed he just asks "can you cover my retainer and do you have a credit card that can handle the monthly charge"?

But this client is setting off even Mickey's sense of something is not right when the pieces of the crime too perfectly don't fit the client or her ability to have murdered the banker. When she makes bail and shows up with her movie producer the situation goes from bad to ridiculous with Mickey indignant and threatening breach of contract. But this time perhaps Mickey took on something he can't handle and finds out quickly someone does not like his courtroom tactics and he winds up in the hospital after a brutal attack. This may be a murder case, but it is definitely one that appears be a guilty client committing the perfect crime he just can't figure out how.

Michael Connelly consistently knows how to write a great mystery with characters that show up and get the job done with every book. The stories are always current with a twist of what is going on in the world around us and they never stop surprising me with their depth and ability to follow the leads through regardless of where they take them. I thought The Lincoln Lawyer was going to be Mickey Haller's best story written but this one showed me how wrong I am. Pay attention as you read this book because the nuisances will shock you in the end if you miss them and you will find yourself going back to figure out "where did I miss that clue at"?

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

More $ for ebook - no way

Sorry Michael I'm boycotting your books until you price the ebook at the 9.99 pushed by publishers last year. I will not pay for their bloated business model.

posted by DrakeBullet on March 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 278 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    What the hell People!!!

    First off, Great book! Not as good as the firs 3 Mickey Haller books, but still a good read. Now, for all you people complaining about the price. It's just $12.99 for a BRAND NEW BOOK!! I'd like to see you go buy it brand new in hardcover for that price. Can't do it. Sure you can get papperbacks for less, but your gonna wait for a year before this comes out in papperback. I'm Just Sayin!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    love this book

    great read can not puy it down

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Recommend

    Loved the Book, love the Nook!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book from the master

    Great book, and Mickey had me right from the first page. It is a testament to Connelly's skill that I was completely enthralled with a story featuring a completely unlikeable defendent about a case involving foreclosure. Anyone else writing about this type of thing would put me to sleep within 5 pages. I have one minor complaint, and that is I didn't see the purpose behind the beating Mickey took. Even in hindsight after all the revelations are out on the table, it didn't make sense to me. But I liked Mickey's decision at the end of the book and it makes me eager for the next installment. I also have high hopes he and Maggie will get back together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Good read

    Enjoyed the biok

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Good

    My favorite book so far has been The Lincoln Lawyer, so this one was pretty good. I like more Micky and Maggie and did enjoy the ending. I thought this was slow moving and buried in briefs and motions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Good story

    Nice assoortment of characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Fun Stuff to Read

    I like Mickey Haller and I'm glad he's back in the car and out of the office. Looking forward to the next one, which is a little strange to me because I've never gotten along at all with Harry Bosch. Good book, good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Never knew where this story was going

    Leave it to Mickey to pick up a flakey forclosure client who knows how to manipulate like a pro. Love the relationships with the team and his familiy and how they are intertwined into the store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    Mickey Haller is one of my favorites of Michael Connelly's characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Once again lawyer, Mickey Haller, has found himself defending a

    Once again lawyer, Mickey Haller, has found himself defending a murder suspect, even though he has sworn off all cases but his money making defense of foreclosures. 




    The Harper Lee Award winning mystery focuses on the present 
    day foreclosures in the housing market.  Everything is these cases seemingly depends on the game playing of the lawyers and finding golden loop holes in the law.   For the mortgage lenders, there is much money to be made too.  Some of the householders are innocents and some are just playing the system. 




    Lisa Trammel, an extremist for the cause,  is one of these homeowners on the verge of loosing her house.  When her mortgage lender is murdered, she becomes the prime suspect in his murder.  Shady deals, greed, movie and book deals, and mob involvements apparently drive all the action.  Despite the odds, Mickie begins to believe that his client may very well be innocent, and was probably set up for this crime. 




    Connelly keeps this readers interest on the fast tract, with the modern additions of texting during the trial, Facebook evidence, and even the addition of the consideration of Matthew McConaughey to play Mickey in a movie about the case. 




    I was thoroughly engrossed and would give this book five stars except for two loose ends that really needed answering for me.  But, would I recommend this book, definitely!!!  Especially for a book group where these loose ends could be discussed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Lots of surpx Lots of surprises

    A good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Good novel.

    Author is oin good form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Fast-paced, Mickey Haller at his best.

    Wonderful, fast paced legal thriller. Life through the eyes of Mickey Haller is fascinating; Connelly has created a masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Jfldh Twilight

    Awsomee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Absolutely a page turner

    Have read all of Michael Connelly (Harry Bosch, Mickey Haller) adventures.. I have yet to find thrills ans suspense lacking.. Need more Harry Bosch and Mickey Haller. There needs to be crisis intervention on these addictive books by Michael Connelly. Having just completed The Fifth Witness, I can honestly say that it has reached my expectations. Thank you once again for a fantastic read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    A very timely piece

    Michael Connelly wrote another thriller that fit the same formula as the Lincoln Lawyer but in this case he set the court battle between a victim of the housing bubble and a murder victim, a mortgage banker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Another good read from Michael Connelly

    Love the Mickey Haller series and this one did not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    a real thriller

    A very good mystery that keeps you on edge with suspense of finding the victim

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 278 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14