Customer Reviews for

The Fifth Witness (Mickey Haller Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 1009 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(400)

4 Star

(279)

3 Star

(168)

2 Star

(76)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

What happens to a lawyer when he develops a conscious?

Mickey Haller has always played it a little to the left of respectability and liked it there. He learned how to play the game well from his late father reputed to be the greatest lawyer ever to hit the legal system. Mickey is a great guy, wonderful father and not to b...
Mickey Haller has always played it a little to the left of respectability and liked it there. He learned how to play the game well from his late father reputed to be the greatest lawyer ever to hit the legal system. Mickey is a great guy, wonderful father and not to bad ex-husband, but with the legal system it is all about the check mark in the win column and how you get there is not the issue but the answer. But when you are faced with doing something that even crosses your line what are you going to do?

Now that times are a little rough economically Mickey is dealing with the lucrative foreclosure market. This new avenue to obtain clients is paying well and still lets him keep his office in the back of his Lincoln, traveling around from one court house to another kicking legal butt. But when one of his foreclosure clients is accused of killing the banker who is about to kick her out of her house Mickey get back in full lawyer mode and takes this one head on. Mickey never asks if his client did the deed he just asks "can you cover my retainer and do you have a credit card that can handle the monthly charge"?

But this client is setting off even Mickey's sense of something is not right when the pieces of the crime too perfectly don't fit the client or her ability to have murdered the banker. When she makes bail and shows up with her movie producer the situation goes from bad to ridiculous with Mickey indignant and threatening breach of contract. But this time perhaps Mickey took on something he can't handle and finds out quickly someone does not like his courtroom tactics and he winds up in the hospital after a brutal attack. This may be a murder case, but it is definitely one that appears be a guilty client committing the perfect crime he just can't figure out how.

Michael Connelly consistently knows how to write a great mystery with characters that show up and get the job done with every book. The stories are always current with a twist of what is going on in the world around us and they never stop surprising me with their depth and ability to follow the leads through regardless of where they take them. I thought The Lincoln Lawyer was going to be Mickey Haller's best story written but this one showed me how wrong I am. Pay attention as you read this book because the nuisances will shock you in the end if you miss them and you will find yourself going back to figure out "where did I miss that clue at"?

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

More $ for ebook - no way

Sorry Michael I'm boycotting your books until you price the ebook at the 9.99 pushed by publishers last year. I will not pay for their bloated business model.

posted by DrakeBullet on March 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 400 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What happens to a lawyer when he develops a conscious?

    Mickey Haller has always played it a little to the left of respectability and liked it there. He learned how to play the game well from his late father reputed to be the greatest lawyer ever to hit the legal system. Mickey is a great guy, wonderful father and not to bad ex-husband, but with the legal system it is all about the check mark in the win column and how you get there is not the issue but the answer. But when you are faced with doing something that even crosses your line what are you going to do?

    Now that times are a little rough economically Mickey is dealing with the lucrative foreclosure market. This new avenue to obtain clients is paying well and still lets him keep his office in the back of his Lincoln, traveling around from one court house to another kicking legal butt. But when one of his foreclosure clients is accused of killing the banker who is about to kick her out of her house Mickey get back in full lawyer mode and takes this one head on. Mickey never asks if his client did the deed he just asks "can you cover my retainer and do you have a credit card that can handle the monthly charge"?

    But this client is setting off even Mickey's sense of something is not right when the pieces of the crime too perfectly don't fit the client or her ability to have murdered the banker. When she makes bail and shows up with her movie producer the situation goes from bad to ridiculous with Mickey indignant and threatening breach of contract. But this time perhaps Mickey took on something he can't handle and finds out quickly someone does not like his courtroom tactics and he winds up in the hospital after a brutal attack. This may be a murder case, but it is definitely one that appears be a guilty client committing the perfect crime he just can't figure out how.

    Michael Connelly consistently knows how to write a great mystery with characters that show up and get the job done with every book. The stories are always current with a twist of what is going on in the world around us and they never stop surprising me with their depth and ability to follow the leads through regardless of where they take them. I thought The Lincoln Lawyer was going to be Mickey Haller's best story written but this one showed me how wrong I am. Pay attention as you read this book because the nuisances will shock you in the end if you miss them and you will find yourself going back to figure out "where did I miss that clue at"?

    37 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Finally, Something Good To Read

    I had hit a spell of books that did not stir my interest, so I was pleased to spend a few hours in the court room with Micky Haller, who, of course, now looks just like Mathew McConaughey from the film version of The Lincoln Lawyer. Michael Connelly is an author who can write a courtroom drama without messing up the reality of how a court really works. He maintains the suspension throughout- I finished it all in one day. There are plenty of surprise twists, and I ended up rooting for Mickey to have a bright future.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Lincoln Lawyer Novel to Date!

    This engaging courtroom thriller is by far Mr. Connelly's best Lincoln Lawyer tale to date! This time Mickey Haller has jumped on the foreclosure bandwagon and is servicing clients who are about to lose their house. One of those clients is Lisa Trammel who has started a protest group that against her bank that garners national attention.

    When the Bank Officer servicing Lisa's loan is murdered, Lisa is the prime suspect and it is up to Mickey to defend her. Through the handling of Lisa's mortgage case against the bank, Mickey knows that there were a lot of "fishy" practices going on and that Lisa may have been set up. The courtroom drama is intense and Mr. Connelly has the reader hooked on every sentence of the narrative.

    Mr. Connelly also paints a picture of LAPD law enforcement (with the exception of Harry Bosch) working with "tunnel vision," meaning that once they have a possible suspect, they ignore all leads not related to the suspect and only pursue what will make a case against that suspect. This may in part be due to the economics of doing an investigation. The prosecution in this case seems to only be interested in seeing the accused go down and to discount any other "theories" of what may have occurred, especially if those paths may point to a different individual as the perpetrator of the crime.

    Mr. Connelly also gives us more insight into Mickey's supporting team, especially his investigator Cisco. Mickey seems to have evolved from the "sleezy" lawyer we had seen in the first Lincoln Lawyer novel and is now a relentless pursuer of getting to the truth. There are also some surprises with Mickey's evolving "post-married" relationship with Maggie, his ex.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish and look forward to more Mickey stories!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    one of the BEST ever

    I cant believe anyone would quibble over these prices--i used to pay 20+ dollars every
    time i bought a hardback book --this is one area prices have gone down---- And I think this book is one of the best legal mysteries I have ever read --- and the ending i never saw coming!!

    10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an excellent tale.

    Los Angeles lawyer Mickey Haller runs a "foreclosure defense" from his Lincoln town car. Lisa Trammel becomes his first foreclosure client. However, the bank holding her mortgage files a legal restraining order to end her shenanigans. Soon afterward someone kills mortgage banker Mitchell Bondurant with a hammer in a parking lot.

    The police suspect Trammel killed the banker in a rage. Haller defends his client against a homicide charge in which the evidence overwhelmingly condemns his client and he believes she is guilty. He begins to change his mind when someone assaults him when he and his team search for evidence that Bondurant was working unethical and probably illegal mortgage schemes

    The latest Lincoln Lawyer legal thriller (see Reversal) may prove to be the sub-genre book of the year as Michael Connolly provides a fascinating detailed look at the mortgage crisis; those who still insist the market corrects its mistakes need this primer. Yet with that theme running throughout, the author shows his talent as he makes that theme interesting and intertwines it inside a legal whodunit that will have readers staying up later than the second half of the Superbowl. This is an excellent tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    How does he just get better and better?

    I love Michael Connelly--books and cameos in "Castle". Each time a new book comes out I think, "He can't do better than the last one" and then I'm proven wrong. Same thing this time.

    Connelly's "The Fifth Witness" is very much a courtroom thriller as opposed to a straight murder mystery. And, as an attorney, I am amazed at the details and, mostly, correct procedure and law there is in this book.

    The sometimes moral issues faced by a criminal defense attorney are played out well--nothing preachy or overreaching just the moments when an attorney must balance Constitutional guarantees with defending people the attorney doesn't really like.

    In my opinion, nothing can kill a book quicker than shallow characters. "The Fifth Witness" is abundant with reach, full dimensional characters and backstories that help bring them to life.

    I don't write synopsis type reviews--you can get that from the back of the book and I don't want to spoil the book by leaking details.

    But I do want to say that, once again, Connelly makes me wonder why there are so many Grisham fans--nothing after "The Firm" written by Grisham even comes close to Connelly's books and, at least for now, "The Fifth Witness" may be the best of all.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    huh.

    Not sure, but I thought this section was for book reviews not reviews of pricing?

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another hit for Mr. Connelly

    Mickey Haller is a defense attorney by trade but that doesn't define him by any means, he's served as a special prosecutor and now that the need for defense is way down in LA he's decided to follow national trends of foreclosure law and play a modern day David keeping people in their homes against a Goliath bank or mortgage company. Business is brisk which is great for he and his associates and he even has some very deserving clients. One of his other kind of client the whiny, pain in the rump kind was just arrested for killing her Goliath banker so it's back to Mickey Haller for the defense. The more he digs into this case the more murky the waters become and to get to the bottom of this he and his team will need to get their feet wet, and yet at every turn the prosecution seems to be one step ahead, but one thing Mickey never does is give up and he'll go down swinging for his client.
    Michael Connelly is a master storyteller and a brilliant author. He can lead a reader to open a book and that reader will not put it down until the last page is finished. As with most of Mr. Connelly's novels, this one is right up there in it's timely and trendy content and is right off the headline newsreel. His narrative is also a stand out as he often discusses very meticulous legal issues and yet a layman will never feel the need to turn to a dictionary as he does an amazing job of explaining all technical and difficult terms in a language that is easily understood. His characters are all rock star status as far as I'm concerned and in his Mickey Haller series that's even more evident when Mickey's two ex-wives are very much a part of his everyday life.
    If you've never read Michael Connelly you can start with any novel, even within the series as they all make excellent stand a lones, but do yourself a favor and in the series go back and start from the beginning where you'll learn all the history of the characters and their stories. No matter what you do, do read The Fifth Witness, not only for the fast paced action, not for the nail biting trial results, not even to find out what he and ex-wife number one are up to, read it for the explosive cliffhanger at the end of the book.
    Mr. Connelly you have constantly surprised me, but this takes the cake. I can't wait to see where Mickey goes from here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Great Read!!

    Great Read!! Captivating and Intriguing, a real must!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    excellent read!

    absolutely lived it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    High expectations

    I just downloaded & started reading it,so enjoying it; I am writing this because I am sick of people using this forum for complaints about costs etc. Try living in a small town before internet and always paying full price for a book if you could even find it! Barnes & Nobles have great discounts and free shipping for regular books. Now with the Nook you can buy a book in the middle of the night without leaving the comfort of your home and in case you haven't notice, no sales tax,(for me that is 7% not paid) There is an alternative; get it in hardback from the library, that is if like a friend of mine; you don't mind waiting until your name comes up on the list of those requesting a copy!

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Connelly did not disappoint.

    In anticipation of this release I reread all Connelly's novels over the past six (6) weeks. This was very good story plot, great intrigue and solid writing. A very enjoyable read. In addition to the story and fantastic descriptions of Los Angeles, the book has believable characters and a humanity that is Connnelly's trademark. Highly recommend this read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Great Read

    I couldn't put the book down loved it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Highly Recommended!

    A good read! Plenty of turns and angles to the plot! Connelly knows how to spin a mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Get it and don't forget it!

    Come back Lincoln Lawyer. I wish there were more novels in the series. The Fifth Witness is skillfully written, a fast and enjoyable read, believable characters and a smash ending. The courtroom scenes jump out at the reader and ring with authenticity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I like most of Michael Connelly's books, this one is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    More Mickey Haller

    The Lincoln Lawyer series never disappoints! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    as usual, michael connelly excels! this is a great book. held my attention throughout.

    really enjoyed this book. michael connelly at his best. held my attention throughout!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Awesome

    Ahhh soooo good! Couldnt put it down. A must read. I accidentally started this instead of the next Harry Bosch book but loved this. So awesome. Trying to decide who to share with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Great read!

    Michael Connelly and his Lincoln Lawyer at their best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 400 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20