Customer Reviews for

The Fifth of March: A Story of the Boston Massacre

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Required read

    I am required to read this book for my ELA class, ( historical fiction unit ). It is ok so far but if it were up to me I wouldn't pick up this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Horrible book

    Save your money for a better read. Not even in cronological order

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    One of Ann Rinaldi's finest!

    I personaly loved this book. I loved how there was non-stop action with all of the riots and the shootings. I was honestly eager to find out what was going to happen between Matthew Kilroy and Rachel Marsh. I don't want to give anything away, so if you want to find out what happens you have to read this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing Book By An Amazing Writer

    The Fifth of March is a book about a girl named Rachel Marsh. Rachel is a teenage nursemaid to John and Abigail Adams between the 1760's and early 1770's.Rachel has always been very loyal to the Adams. But when she meets Matthew Kilroy a young and homesick British soldier she's not sure who to be loyal to. When Matthew get's arrested and accused of manslaughter will Rachel risk her place to save him? This story is like making a cake. You through in some friendship, a Massacre, half a cup of violence, a cup of doubt and a sprinkle of romance and before you know it you'll be half way through this book. Think you really know Rachel Marsh? If you said yes then you thought wrong in my opinion. I'm sure you've not been through half the things Rachel has. Well maybe you have. Read The Fifth of March and find out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    perfect summer read

    This book is very good for lazy days when you don't want to do anything but lay around in a lawn chair and read. It's packed with info and facts about the massacre, but the author keeps it super interesting the whole time. Two thumbs up...way up!! :-)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    I haven't read a book that's worse.

    I was required to read this book for my history class, and I expected it to be alright. I didn't even get that much, however. The book was generally horrid, but what really made it even worse was the ending. Rachel lost everything good in her life- if she got fired because she loved Matthew, why would she refuse to marry him? Then, she made her stay at the Adams' redundant as well, by leaving her dowry there. Then, you realize, Rachel hasn't gotten anything from her experiences except for some pointless memories. I would recommend this to no one- don't waste your time.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I absolutely LOVE this book. One of the best I've ever read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    A Great Read!

    The Fifth of March is a fantastic book that shows a young girl stuggling with her new life in Boston. She's torn between her place at the John Adams' house as a nanny and a dashing young British soldier who has captured her heart. She will have to make a choice that will change her life. Seen though a 14 year old girl's eyes, the Boston Massacre took on new perspective for me and I also learned new things. This is a great book that will have you guessing till the end!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Pretty good

    I've read lots of Ann Rinaldi books, this one is probably the best one. The main character acts so stupid some times though! Overall, READ THIS BOOK if you are a fan of Rinaldi's books!!!! :'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Good

    This book was good, even though the protagonist acted extremly stupid at times. Rinaldi always manages to blend her characters well with the history. It gives a great inside view to John Adams and his family at a difficult time. Even though I knew quite a bit about this time in boston, it still taught me things. No real romance, but really, a great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Mediocre

    I would love to give this book a higher rating, but there are too many overpowering cons to the pros to do so. The Good: Great pre-revolution drama, good plot, likeable smaller characters, believeable plot. The Bad: Annoying heroine, no real romance or anything between Kilroy and Rachael, teidous at times The Ugly: I aboslutely hate Rachael Marsh. She was so stuiped and annoying! She was NOT a very smart girl, and she didn't grow as a character. She also says that she loves Matthew, yet she keeps pushing him away! Then he just leaves and she's like, OK, cool, a new life! And what's with the name of the cook? Sukey? What kind of name is that? But that Crispus Attucks guy gets points for a cool name. And Henry Knox was so awesome. He was my favorite character. B Overall: If you could get a new main character, then this book would rock. But not, so it was pretty fair.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    GOOD

    I love this book because it mixes romance and history. The only quibble i have with it is the main character. there were some incidnets concerning mathew where i wanted to slap her across the face! still it was a good book and i love anne rinaldi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    The Best of the Best

    This book has romance, history, and real life conflicts compiled into one book. I never thought a book like this would come. All of Ann Rinaldi's books are like this. This is just the one I liked the most. Plus the ending isn't given away in the begginning of the book, unlike many other's. Ann Rinaldi should be very proud of this colorful novel that sparkles many people's personalities. Highly reccomended. But be very careful about younger people reading this. It contains a little bit of things little kids don't need to hear.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    I adore this book!

    This book was very well writen. The characters were extreamly complex yet, so timeless we can relate to them today. I have read many of Ann's books. This one is by far my favoret.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    THE GREATIST HISTORICAL FICTION BOOK!

    It would be extremely hard to point out one thing I didn't like. I read this book for my book report and it wokred perfectly. It's one of my very favorite books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    Love or Loyalty?

    This book was honestly, one of the best I'd ever read. I like history, which this book is great on, but I also love a good fling with a semi rebellious kind of guy, which it also has. This book is the perfect blend of historic times and just enough romance. I had my doubts, but by the end I really wanted to read it again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    Great Book!!! Couldn't put it down. Grasping plot.

    This was a great book and a wonderful read. It is an interesting situation that the author puts the main charachter in. Rachel is a 14 year old nursemaid to John and Abigail Adams' children. John and Abigail are majorly on the American side. At the same time, however, Rachel falls in love with a british soldier named Mathew Kilroy. Later when Mathew is thrown in jail, she brings him food daily, but the Adams become unsure they want a girl who goes to jails to bring up their children. What will happen next???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2002

    an 8th grader who likes to read

    This is such a good book. Its kinda like a romantic and historical story rolled in one. IT tells the story of 14 year old RAchel MArsh. She befriends a guy named Mathew Kilroy but he's a soldier and she's a colonist who is an identured servant. She is torn between loyalty to John Adams and friendship to Mathew.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2001

    You won't want to put it down!

    This was one of the best books I have EVER read. I read it basically for the romance and loved it. It has a ending that leaves you hanging and wish it had some sort of sequel. I usually can't get into books and read this one in less than a day. Don't miss out, you will absolutely love it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2001

    The Best Book!

    I loved 'The Fifth of March'! It told the story of the Boston Massacre and it was also a love story in its kind. I felt like I was right there with Rachel throughout the whole book! I only wish there was a sequel because I keep reading it over and over!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3