Customer Reviews for

The Fifth of March: A Story of the Boston Massacre

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Incredible!

    This book is quite easily one of my favorite books. I got it when I visited John Adams house a few years ago. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Not only did it provide an excellent portrayal of the time period, but the love story topped it off. Although the book made me cry at times, it was this story by Ann Rinaldi that made me interested in historical fiction stories. Excellent read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Great book

    Ann Rinaldi is such a talented author. This is another one of her great books! Definitely worth getting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    The Fifth of March

    Rachel Marsh works as a servant to John and Abigail Adams in Boston during the early 1770s, during the tense period surrounding the Boston Massacre. She admires them greatly, but falls in love with Matthew Kilroy, a British soldier who kills an American in the Massacre. She is surprised when Matthew is accused of participating with soldiers and firing upon a mob of citizens. Rachel can't decide where her loyalties lie, she is continually caught in the middle of the friction between the troops and the colonists. She meets many people in which influence her to find where she belongs and what she believes. She struggles to find a solution of how to respect everybody around her and stand up for what she believes in. The protagonist of the story is fourteen year old Rachel Marsh who moves into John and Abigail Adams' household to work as a servant. She cares for the kids and venerates the Adamses. Rachel is a very cryptic girl and has trouble dealing with whom her loyalties should be with and often wavers between them. Over time Rachel evolves into who she thinks she should be. Matthew Kilroy is a British soldier who was put into the war to pay off his brothers gambling debt, he didn't want to be a soldier. He realizes that though he doesn't want to be in this position, he has to do his job. He is very responsible and caring. When the soldiers arrived in Boston, in jaunty attire, he stood watch in front of the Adams household, where he meets Rachel. He immediately admires her and they become close. His feelings amass for Rachel and becomes very fervent with her. He and Rachel wrangle often, but they fall in love. John Adams is a well-respected lawyer from Braintree. He is very congested with all of the work he has to do and is asked to defend the British soldiers following the Boston Massacre, and he accepts. John is said to be a turncoat because of this. John is very enterprising and resolute and his stance is strong. John Adams' wife is Abigail Adams. Abigail is a very strong and caring women. John and she had 2 children and have another in the novel, but the baby has trouble breathing and dies. Following this detriment, Abigail becomes laggard and feels great anguish. She also has premonitions that bad things will happen even after that baby's death, and then the Boston Massacre occurs. She is belittled by many people after her husband decides to defend the British soldiers, but she is independent and isn't affected by this treatment. ' 'Why do the soldiers call us American? I've always thought of myself as a loyal British subject, when I've thought of the matter at all.' He 'Henry Knox' mused for a moment. 'So have we all, Rachel,'he said sadly,'but perhaps it is time for some new thoughts, then.' 'I wouldn't know where to start,' I said. 'What is a plain American, without the British in front of it?' 'Perhaps,' he said,'it is time to find out.' ' This passage is very important to understanding the novel and to understanding Rachel. In this quote, Rachel is in a bookstore owned by Henry Knox, a friend of the Adamses. Since the British soldiers have been in Boston, they have started to call the citizens 'American'. They have never seen themselves as just 'American', but instead 'British American'. Rachel finds it difficult to understand and is not used to this, neither is Henry. But, he suggests that maybe they should accept this and call themselves this, he says that it is time to find out what makes them 'American' and to live up to this title and to fight to defend their homeland. In The Fifth of March, I strongly agree with standing up for what you believe in and not being afraid of it. That is what Rachel did many times. She stood up for Matthew and believed in him because she loved him, even though Matthew was a British soldier. She didn't care what the Adamses thought of her anymore. There are not any serious errors in this book. This book influences people not to judge anyone because they are not on the 'same si

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2004

    8th grader who loves books!

    This really is a great book! I had to read it for school but I'm glad I did! It has so many descriptions that i felt like I was actually in the book! It's a great read! You really should read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2001

    moving

    this book brings the boston massacre alive. it shows how people like rachel dealt with it. her friendship with matt helps show how difficult it was for americans to assocciate with the british since most of boston hated them. it also shows historical figures like john and abigail adams. it was pretty good but not my favorite

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2000

    Brilliant

    I read this book two years ago when I was in 8th grade. This book had such a great impact on me and it really made the study of the Boston Massacre more interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    A Great Read!

    The Fifth of March is a fantastic book that shows a young girl stuggling with her new life in Boston. She's torn between her place at the John Adams' house as a nanny and a dashing young British soldier who has captured her heart. She will have to make a choice that will change her life. Seen though a 14 year old girl's eyes, the Boston Massacre took on new perspective for me and I also learned new things. This is a great book that will have you guessing till the end!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Good

    This book was good, even though the protagonist acted extremly stupid at times. Rinaldi always manages to blend her characters well with the history. It gives a great inside view to John Adams and his family at a difficult time. Even though I knew quite a bit about this time in boston, it still taught me things. No real romance, but really, a great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    GOOD

    I love this book because it mixes romance and history. The only quibble i have with it is the main character. there were some incidnets concerning mathew where i wanted to slap her across the face! still it was a good book and i love anne rinaldi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    GREAT AT THE END

    I wanted to read this book because I wanted to know more about the Boston Massacre after I read about it in my social studies book, but after I read it all I thought this book was one of the best I have ever read. I though this book was slow at the begging but I cought on in the second half after the massacre.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1