Customer Reviews for

The Fifth of March: A Story of the Boston Massacre

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Awesome book!!! I read it in 2 days and I never wanted to put it

    Awesome book!!! I read it in 2 days and I never wanted to put it down!! I love historical fiction so learning about the Boston Massacre in Rachel's perspective was really interesting. I wish it would of told about what might of happened to the REAL Rachel. (What really happened to her when the Adams moved back to Braintree.) The story was really good and I'm going to read a lot more books by this author!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good Book

    I liked this book alot because of its pace and storyline. It defiantly helped that I had already known and read about the Boston Massacre. I recommend this book to all that enjoy historical fiction. <BR/>My one complaint is that I would have liked to know what happened to Matthew.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    This is my favorite book!

    I really enjoyed everything about this book.It had everything.Excitment,romance and a wonderful winter setting.I felt like I was in the story myself because of how much detial this story has and how vivid everything is. I also love the strong personalities of the characters.No two people are exactly the same,which,unfortunately,seems to be the case with many of the books that i have read.I really could not put this book down.This deserves nothing less than five stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    A MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love reading about history and Ann Rinaldi is my favorite author. This is her first book i read and it is all i read now! If you like the American Revolution do not hestitate to read this book. It is a great story and you learn so much about history!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Enthralling Descriptive book.

    Amazing novel starts the thirst for more Rinadi books the worst part is when you realize there are no more words to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    Wonderful Book

    This was one of my VERY favorite books last year. It was very good. I recommend this to everyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Rinaldi's Finest Yet

    I loved this book because it had so much description it made you feel like you were part of the story. You begin to feel for the characters and begin seeing them almost as a real person. I'm an avid reader of Ann Rinaldi and this book was by far one of my favorites!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    WOW

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN. I READ IT IN ONE DAY! I LIKE HOW IT HAS A LITTLE BIT OF ROMANCE,AND A LOT OF HISTORY!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2000

    GREAT

    I thought this book was wonderful because I learned alot about the early years in the war and the Boston Massacre. I read this book about a year ago when I checked it out from the library, and since then I have been looking for it in bookstores, but they have been out. Not only did you learn about the war and the massacre in this book, but also, like in her other books, you learned of famous people in History, such as John and Abigail Adams.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    Very Touching

    I found this Ann Rinaldi book to be very touching and heartfelt. I think this is one of her best books and recommend this book to everyone. Even a few weeks after reading the book I keep thinking about the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2000

    A GREAT book for readers who LOVES History

    The Fifth of March was a great book! Ann Rinaldi is a wonderful auther and I love to read all her books. I liked this book sooooo much I read it twice! It helped me to understand the war better. The story was great, and I hope that anyone who is interested in the wars, like I am, will enjoy this book as much as I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    Fifth of March: A Story of the Boston Massacre

    This book captured me right on the spot and I never let go! It's sooo moving that I actually cried in some places! I also loved the romance along with the history of the Massacare. I recomend this book to everyone! Please don't miss out on it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2000

    I Loved It!!!!

    This was the best book I have ever read by Rinaldi. It was packed full of emotion and lots of interesting facts. One thing I found most interesting were the different perspectives that the people in Boston were feeling at that time. In school when you learn of the Boston Massacre you think that the British were these awful, terrible , mean people who just wanted to kill all of the patriots or something like that. But, in reality, they may have just been fighting off the crowd the night of March fifth not only in self defense of their own flesh and blood, but of their beloved dignity and pride that had been eaten away by the people of Boston for so long. (In the book, this is what Ann Rinaldi suggests is the case.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2000

    Wonderful!!

    This was a great book!! At the beginning it was a little slow, but it picked up after chapter six. I'm not goning to say anything more about the book,because I don't want to give it away,just know this, it was awesome!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    One of Ann Rinaldi's finest!

    I personaly loved this book. I loved how there was non-stop action with all of the riots and the shootings. I was honestly eager to find out what was going to happen between Matthew Kilroy and Rachel Marsh. I don't want to give anything away, so if you want to find out what happens you have to read this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing Book By An Amazing Writer

    The Fifth of March is a book about a girl named Rachel Marsh. Rachel is a teenage nursemaid to John and Abigail Adams between the 1760's and early 1770's.Rachel has always been very loyal to the Adams. But when she meets Matthew Kilroy a young and homesick British soldier she's not sure who to be loyal to. When Matthew get's arrested and accused of manslaughter will Rachel risk her place to save him? This story is like making a cake. You through in some friendship, a Massacre, half a cup of violence, a cup of doubt and a sprinkle of romance and before you know it you'll be half way through this book. Think you really know Rachel Marsh? If you said yes then you thought wrong in my opinion. I'm sure you've not been through half the things Rachel has. Well maybe you have. Read The Fifth of March and find out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    perfect summer read

    This book is very good for lazy days when you don't want to do anything but lay around in a lawn chair and read. It's packed with info and facts about the massacre, but the author keeps it super interesting the whole time. Two thumbs up...way up!! :-)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    I absolutely LOVE this book. One of the best I've ever read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Pretty good

    I've read lots of Ann Rinaldi books, this one is probably the best one. The main character acts so stupid some times though! Overall, READ THIS BOOK if you are a fan of Rinaldi's books!!!! :'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    The Best of the Best

    This book has romance, history, and real life conflicts compiled into one book. I never thought a book like this would come. All of Ann Rinaldi's books are like this. This is just the one I liked the most. Plus the ending isn't given away in the begginning of the book, unlike many other's. Ann Rinaldi should be very proud of this colorful novel that sparkles many people's personalities. Highly reccomended. But be very careful about younger people reading this. It contains a little bit of things little kids don't need to hear.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2