Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades Darker (Fifty Shades Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 6225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3968)

4 Star

(991)

3 Star

(549)

2 Star

(300)

1 Star

(417)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

261 out of 309 people found this review helpful.

How did she make it better than the first?

When I finished the first book in this series, Fifty Shades of Grey, I was very anxious to start Fifty Shades Darker. I have been an avid reader my entire life, but I've never read any books that invoke such a powerful feeling of reality and emotion as this series does....
When I finished the first book in this series, Fifty Shades of Grey, I was very anxious to start Fifty Shades Darker. I have been an avid reader my entire life, but I've never read any books that invoke such a powerful feeling of reality and emotion as this series does. I had an urgent desire to find out what was next for Ana and Christian, I could so easily see both of them as being real. It was so easy for me to put myself in Ana's place, to be her, to feel what she felt, and to think her thoughts. I know that I am completely enamored with a book and it's characters when I feel as if my 'real life' gets in the way of exploring the world an author has set up for me, and that has happened with this series to the point that I am considering making an appointment with Dr. Flynn to talk about it. *grin*
These two people come together quite by accident, and despite their issues (or maybe because of their issues), find something MORE together...and truly, isn't that what we all are really searching for in life?

posted by Dana_CMD on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

373 out of 603 people found this review helpful.

I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop

I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop there. Honestly, I wanted to stop after the first, but I find it hard to start something and not finish. The writing style is HORRIFIC. 6th grade level, if even that. Once I learned it was written as T...
I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop there. Honestly, I wanted to stop after the first, but I find it hard to start something and not finish. The writing style is HORRIFIC. 6th grade level, if even that. Once I learned it was written as Twilight fan fiction, it made more sense. I couldn't imagine a serious author writing in this manner. If I have to read about her "inner goddess" and how Christian smells, or how hot he is, ONE more time, I may fling this book across the room! It's just 300+ pages (per book) of sex and redundant cliches. I'm baffled by all these 5 star reviews!

posted by EricaV21 on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 6237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 312
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop

    I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop there. Honestly, I wanted to stop after the first, but I find it hard to start something and not finish. The writing style is HORRIFIC. 6th grade level, if even that. Once I learned it was written as Twilight fan fiction, it made more sense. I couldn't imagine a serious author writing in this manner. If I have to read about her "inner goddess" and how Christian smells, or how hot he is, ONE more time, I may fling this book across the room! It's just 300+ pages (per book) of sex and redundant cliches. I'm baffled by all these 5 star reviews!

    373 out of 603 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    How did she make it better than the first?

    When I finished the first book in this series, Fifty Shades of Grey, I was very anxious to start Fifty Shades Darker. I have been an avid reader my entire life, but I've never read any books that invoke such a powerful feeling of reality and emotion as this series does. I had an urgent desire to find out what was next for Ana and Christian, I could so easily see both of them as being real. It was so easy for me to put myself in Ana's place, to be her, to feel what she felt, and to think her thoughts. I know that I am completely enamored with a book and it's characters when I feel as if my 'real life' gets in the way of exploring the world an author has set up for me, and that has happened with this series to the point that I am considering making an appointment with Dr. Flynn to talk about it. *grin*
    These two people come together quite by accident, and despite their issues (or maybe because of their issues), find something MORE together...and truly, isn't that what we all are really searching for in life?

    261 out of 309 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Ummm no.

    I love sex, i love reading about it but this is just stupid. Seriously. The story reads like young adult book with sex scenes in between. The writer should have set the story in london because she has no idea what Americans are like or we speak. The main character lives in Seattle but hates coffee and perfers english breakfast tea and eats crushed potatoes, among the many many Britishisms in the story. The main character has never left America! And what Seattle college student doesn't drink coffee? Who edited this?! I'm no writer but I know that using the same word or phrase is annoying. Everyone murmurs! She murmured, he murmured murmur MURMUR! Inner goddess jumps, inner goddess spins blah blah. Even the sex scenes are the same. No one likes that in real life, much less in this story where everyone is murmuring.

    178 out of 251 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Oops, while reading i forgot about reality...

    Sorry kids....mommy will be back in a few days. ;) excellent series!!!

    177 out of 209 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Lets b honest ladies

    Lets call it what it is, its porn, not thats theres anything wrong with that! Lets not tell our friends lies about caring about these characters. Tell them the truth, its porn and your husband is going to get very lucky. Enjoy.

    135 out of 220 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Great series!

    I have really enjoyed the first two books and am now reading the third. I have to say they are very good, although I'm becoming a bit tired of Ana chewing her bottom lip, her "inner goddess", and Christian's mouth in a "hard line." The intimate scenes are becoming very predictable (when and how) and I have to wonder if anyone can really do "it" that much (although they ARE young!). I wish the author could be more varied in her descriptions in the three books. But with that said, they have been very good for an "escape" into a whole new world.

    111 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    I am not used to reading this type of book but after all of the

    I am not used to reading this type of book but after all of the publicity, I thought I would try the 1st book in the trilogy. I admit, it was on the erotic, dark side but it was enjoyable and I finished it in a weekend. I debated getting the 2nd book because I wasn't sure where else the author could go. Turns out, no where. How many times can you read about a "twitchy palm" and "he smelled like Christian"?? It was the same over and over again and after reading 200 pages out of the 400, I've decided to stop. Now, I finish books about 99% of the time and I can't remember stopping a book mid way through. This book though just wastes my time and there are too many books out there that are so much better.

    I've never written a review before but I was compelled to do so with this book. I will go back to reading quality fiction and getting lost in the quality that I'm used to.

    110 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    ADDICTIVE!!!!!

    Ladies, RUN, dont walk, and buy this series! I have read hundreds of books and I have never felt so obsessed about a character as I do about Christian Grey. I have never really read on this subject before but I can say it was very sexy and not overly shocking... i loved every second of all three books. I'm hoping that the author is already working on her next book! The way this man loves Anastasia is definitely something you need to read for yourself to understand...
    You will not be disappointed!!

    102 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First a warning if you don't like a really steamy romance don't

    First a warning if you don't like a really steamy romance don't read this book, that said I loved this book, actually I love both of them I haven't read the third yet but I read the first two in a day and a half, wanted to start the third but thought maybe I should get some sleep tonight.

    95 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    I suspect a lot of the people going ga-ga over these books have never read a series that was actually really well-written! The story moved along enough that I felt mildly interested and got through them, but as others have said, it is so redundant and unoriginal that it made me want to scream! I never really understood who Ana was as a person, other than a virgin who suddenly unrealisticaly is obsessed with sex - no one is that hot. Oh and someone who thrives in a manipulative, controlling, abusive relationship that is always solved by - you guessed it - more sex. The sex quickly became boring, predictable, and unrealistic (ALWAYS being up for it, always "finding their release" at the exact same moment, etc....get real) She is always biting her lip, his mouth is always in a hard line,whatever that means. Foil packets, inner goddesses......my inner goddess is glad that I am done reading these books, and my subconscious is telling me I should write a mindless sex/love book of my own to get rich off of, because apparently it doesnt take much talent!
    All in all, go ahead and read it if you have bunches of free time. But please borrow it from someone rather than buy it - so as not to further encourage this woman to write more books.

    80 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Very exciting. Hard to put down. kept me entertained all the way through.

    75 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    I can see why this book is doing so well. 99% of the readers are

    I can see why this book is doing so well. 99% of the readers are married women with children. We all know our lives are busy and hectic. There is nothing wrong with grabbing your favorite drink, putting on your snuggly PJ's and getting lost in the erotic world of Christian Grey. We are not talking about rocket science here, nor does it take a literary genius to write this stuff. These series of books are simply fun and very arousing. A pleasurable escape from the stress of everyday life. I am sure there are tons of husbands out there that will be thanking the author for putting a little spark in the bedroom after their wives read these books. I personally could not put them down. I know I am not alone when I say- I hope a 4th book is in the works.

    68 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    I don't get what all the hoopla is about. Book 2 of the series i

    I don't get what all the hoopla is about. Book 2 of the series is so-so, just like the other two books. Being in Ana's head gets annoying quickly and it's just more of the exact same thoughts about Christian over and over and over. Also there are so many British-isms in here it's ridiculous. It's painfully obvious to anyone from the US/Pacific NW that the author has made many mistakes in this regard. Hopefully the new print edition from the author's US publisher will have all of these annoyances edited out. Though the love scenes are hot, I've read better erotic romance over the years. MUCH better. I'd recommend those on the fence about buying this to go check out some other erotic romances instead of spending money (10 bucks!!??) on this one. RT Book Reviews is a good place to start.

    60 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    I have no idea how this series is so popular. The writing is ab

    I have no idea how this series is so popular. The writing is abominable and insipid. What trash this is. These should not even be considered as books ----- can't believe this woman is making (taking) our hard earned money for such trash.

    58 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Cant get enough

    I have not been able to do anything for the past three days because of this trilogy. Im currently half way through the third and final book and i am dreading the end. These are a must!!!

    51 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Loved It

    From beginning to end this series did not let me down. Definitely worth the purchase and the time to read it.

    50 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    This is my favorite out of the series! Love, love, love me some

    This is my favorite out of the series! Love, love, love me some Christian Grey!

    46 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Stupid

    Felt like reading a book of nonsense

    45 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great book

    Couldn't put it down!

    43 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Captivating series!

    I loved all three of the books in this series and wish there were more to read. The characters are incredible and have been woven nicely into a very creative story!

    41 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 6237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 312