Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades Darker (Fifty Shades Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 6168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3934)

4 Star

(978)

3 Star

(545)

2 Star

(299)

1 Star

(412)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

257 out of 305 people found this review helpful.

How did she make it better than the first?

When I finished the first book in this series, Fifty Shades of Grey, I was very anxious to start Fifty Shades Darker. I have been an avid reader my entire life, but I've never read any books that invoke such a powerful feeling of reality and emotion as this series does....
When I finished the first book in this series, Fifty Shades of Grey, I was very anxious to start Fifty Shades Darker. I have been an avid reader my entire life, but I've never read any books that invoke such a powerful feeling of reality and emotion as this series does. I had an urgent desire to find out what was next for Ana and Christian, I could so easily see both of them as being real. It was so easy for me to put myself in Ana's place, to be her, to feel what she felt, and to think her thoughts. I know that I am completely enamored with a book and it's characters when I feel as if my 'real life' gets in the way of exploring the world an author has set up for me, and that has happened with this series to the point that I am considering making an appointment with Dr. Flynn to talk about it. *grin*
These two people come together quite by accident, and despite their issues (or maybe because of their issues), find something MORE together...and truly, isn't that what we all are really searching for in life?

posted by Dana_CMD on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

370 out of 598 people found this review helpful.

I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop

I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop there. Honestly, I wanted to stop after the first, but I find it hard to start something and not finish. The writing style is HORRIFIC. 6th grade level, if even that. Once I learned it was written as T...
I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop there. Honestly, I wanted to stop after the first, but I find it hard to start something and not finish. The writing style is HORRIFIC. 6th grade level, if even that. Once I learned it was written as Twilight fan fiction, it made more sense. I couldn't imagine a serious author writing in this manner. If I have to read about her "inner goddess" and how Christian smells, or how hot he is, ONE more time, I may fling this book across the room! It's just 300+ pages (per book) of sex and redundant cliches. I'm baffled by all these 5 star reviews!

posted by EricaV21 on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 978 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 49
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Great Literature.....NOT!!

    However, it is compellingly addictive. I, too, tire of the "inner goddess", the "oh my", and the lip biting which turns Grey into a "smokey eyed devil" with his mouth in another hard line....

    BUT....it's Summer, just about....so why not enjoy some brainless meandering through a few bouts of bondage, flogging, and some serious spanks? Lol....it ain't no Jane Austen and THAT'S FOR SURE!!!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Great Book!

    I Liked this book more than the first. Its hot and steamy, just like the first in the series. But in my opinion the story line got better in this one. Loved it and cant wait to read the last book in this series!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    I gave the first two books 4 stars because it kept me quite intr

    I gave the first two books 4 stars because it kept me quite intrigued. I guess I found myself wanting a relationship like theirs, for a brief second. However, there were some grammatical errors and the repetition was annoying. The scenes became predictable and Anna started to seriously annoy me with her badgering. Overall, I enjoyed the first two books. I am skeptical to buy & start the third because I feel it will lack "more". I recommend people to try the 1st book and if interested continue with series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    darker

    darker for sure, but held my interest, liked that it picked up where the first book left off, was one of those hate to put it down type of books...still enjoyed the story line and the characters

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Awesome Second chapter

    This is a perfect second chapter to Christians and Ana love story. Read this book in five hours. It is sexy and sultry. The relationship between these two characters is exilarating. Cant wait to read the final book...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    OMG...AMAZING!

    What an incredible book! I am not one that normally reads romance novels however, this book is intense. I couldn't put it down and I couldn't get enough. My husband is jealous! I loved it!!!! I can't wait to start the 2nd book. The only problem I have is when the book is over...what am I going to do after the third book???

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Loved the trilogy

    Okay, so it's not high art, but it IS a fun, sexy, diverting read. Go ahead and indulge in this bit of fantasy: sexy gorgeous boyfriend, fabulous wealth, a personal driver, a housekeeper/cook, fast cars and exotic hobbies. And let's not forget the mind blowing great sex that happens with super human frequency - yum. This is a fantasy story, so go ahead and swing from the chandeliers! Put aside high brow literary expectations and enjoy this frothy, slight naughty, slightly kinky romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Really enjoyed

    Recommend if you like romances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Test lak lak

    Lak

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really didn't think I would like this book book, I thought it

    I really didn't think I would like this book book, I thought it would be raunchy and wasn't interested. A friend of mine suggested that I may like it so I caved and read it, I don't regret it at all, I loved it, I got sucked in by the storyline and the characters. I wouldn't say it's the best I've ever read but it was a great series and I will read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Great escape

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading ana and christian's sex adventures as well as their trials and tribulations of many relationship "firsts". Yes, it can get repetitive and the writing simplistic, but come on ladies, the good writing is really not why we're reading to the end of book 3! I love that the story takes place in seattle, my home town. The colombia tower elevator scene is one of the best. I used to work in that bldg and it's a long elevator ride!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Good Read

    Loved the way the characters were revealed a bit more and that nothing is too choppy. It is a fluid read and kept my interest. Sex was still there but either I got used to it or wasn't as shocked by it. Enjoyed it and looking forward to the final book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Not as good as the first but still very good

    Enchanting

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    YardieBookFanatic

    A well written book with a strong female charater, Mia and a hot, sexy male character, Lucas. Both met in Paris, both coming off of bad relationships, and both experiencing 10 days of fun, chemistry and witty dialogue....not to mention beautiful Paris and the country... I would read more from this author.

    LOVETOREAD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Of the three I like this one the best.

    Trying to change a stubborn man that is set in he ways is never an easy task. This guy is a real challenge. I will stick to my books. The out takes I have seen from the first movie don't look promising. They can't even get her Beetle the right color.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Nice...

    Awesome....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Great

    I have read many of Ms. Sands books, some I have really liked and some not so much. This one I I really enjoyed. I didn't care much for the nearly slapstick humor of their introduction to each other and almost set the book aside due to it but just a couple of chapters later the story really took off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Better than the first book.

    The second book is written better than the first but not quite there. It's still a fast read and she still uses the same phrases and words over and over but the love story is still there and that's why I am still reading. There is less sex and more story line but there are holes that I am finding hard to fill in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Great book!

    I almost didn't read this book because i wasn't a huge fan of the first book in the series but i'm so glad i didn't give up on this series. I loved this book along with book three. I would give it five stars but the writing style can be a little repetitive at times but the plot and characters will hook you no doubt and you'll have trouble putting these books down until you finish the series. Loved this book and i'm so sad that i've now finished the series and don't have a book four to look forward to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 978 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 49