Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades Darker (Fifty Shades Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 6383 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4063)

4 Star

(1013)

3 Star

(563)

2 Star

(313)

1 Star

(431)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

263 out of 312 people found this review helpful.

How did she make it better than the first?

When I finished the first book in this series, Fifty Shades of Grey, I was very anxious to start Fifty Shades Darker. I have been an avid reader my entire life, but I've never read any books that invoke such a powerful feeling of reality and emotion as this series does....
When I finished the first book in this series, Fifty Shades of Grey, I was very anxious to start Fifty Shades Darker. I have been an avid reader my entire life, but I've never read any books that invoke such a powerful feeling of reality and emotion as this series does. I had an urgent desire to find out what was next for Ana and Christian, I could so easily see both of them as being real. It was so easy for me to put myself in Ana's place, to be her, to feel what she felt, and to think her thoughts. I know that I am completely enamored with a book and it's characters when I feel as if my 'real life' gets in the way of exploring the world an author has set up for me, and that has happened with this series to the point that I am considering making an appointment with Dr. Flynn to talk about it. *grin*
These two people come together quite by accident, and despite their issues (or maybe because of their issues), find something MORE together...and truly, isn't that what we all are really searching for in life?

posted by Dana_CMD on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

385 out of 619 people found this review helpful.

I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop

I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop there. Honestly, I wanted to stop after the first, but I find it hard to start something and not finish. The writing style is HORRIFIC. 6th grade level, if even that. Once I learned it was written as T...
I read the first and second books of this series and had to stop there. Honestly, I wanted to stop after the first, but I find it hard to start something and not finish. The writing style is HORRIFIC. 6th grade level, if even that. Once I learned it was written as Twilight fan fiction, it made more sense. I couldn't imagine a serious author writing in this manner. If I have to read about her "inner goddess" and how Christian smells, or how hot he is, ONE more time, I may fling this book across the room! It's just 300+ pages (per book) of sex and redundant cliches. I'm baffled by all these 5 star reviews!

posted by EricaV21 on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4063 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 204
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    How did she make it better than the first?

    When I finished the first book in this series, Fifty Shades of Grey, I was very anxious to start Fifty Shades Darker. I have been an avid reader my entire life, but I've never read any books that invoke such a powerful feeling of reality and emotion as this series does. I had an urgent desire to find out what was next for Ana and Christian, I could so easily see both of them as being real. It was so easy for me to put myself in Ana's place, to be her, to feel what she felt, and to think her thoughts. I know that I am completely enamored with a book and it's characters when I feel as if my 'real life' gets in the way of exploring the world an author has set up for me, and that has happened with this series to the point that I am considering making an appointment with Dr. Flynn to talk about it. *grin*
    These two people come together quite by accident, and despite their issues (or maybe because of their issues), find something MORE together...and truly, isn't that what we all are really searching for in life?

    263 out of 312 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Oops, while reading i forgot about reality...

    Sorry kids....mommy will be back in a few days. ;) excellent series!!!

    178 out of 211 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Great series!

    I have really enjoyed the first two books and am now reading the third. I have to say they are very good, although I'm becoming a bit tired of Ana chewing her bottom lip, her "inner goddess", and Christian's mouth in a "hard line." The intimate scenes are becoming very predictable (when and how) and I have to wonder if anyone can really do "it" that much (although they ARE young!). I wish the author could be more varied in her descriptions in the three books. But with that said, they have been very good for an "escape" into a whole new world.

    114 out of 137 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    ADDICTIVE!!!!!

    Ladies, RUN, dont walk, and buy this series! I have read hundreds of books and I have never felt so obsessed about a character as I do about Christian Grey. I have never really read on this subject before but I can say it was very sexy and not overly shocking... i loved every second of all three books. I'm hoping that the author is already working on her next book! The way this man loves Anastasia is definitely something you need to read for yourself to understand...
    You will not be disappointed!!

    105 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First a warning if you don't like a really steamy romance don't

    First a warning if you don't like a really steamy romance don't read this book, that said I loved this book, actually I love both of them I haven't read the third yet but I read the first two in a day and a half, wanted to start the third but thought maybe I should get some sleep tonight.

    96 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Very exciting. Hard to put down. kept me entertained all the way through.

    76 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    I can see why this book is doing so well. 99% of the readers are

    I can see why this book is doing so well. 99% of the readers are married women with children. We all know our lives are busy and hectic. There is nothing wrong with grabbing your favorite drink, putting on your snuggly PJ's and getting lost in the erotic world of Christian Grey. We are not talking about rocket science here, nor does it take a literary genius to write this stuff. These series of books are simply fun and very arousing. A pleasurable escape from the stress of everyday life. I am sure there are tons of husbands out there that will be thanking the author for putting a little spark in the bedroom after their wives read these books. I personally could not put them down. I know I am not alone when I say- I hope a 4th book is in the works.

    71 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Cant get enough

    I have not been able to do anything for the past three days because of this trilogy. Im currently half way through the third and final book and i am dreading the end. These are a must!!!

    52 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Loved It

    From beginning to end this series did not let me down. Definitely worth the purchase and the time to read it.

    51 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    This is my favorite out of the series! Love, love, love me some

    This is my favorite out of the series! Love, love, love me some Christian Grey!

    47 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great book

    Couldn't put it down!

    44 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Captivating series!

    I loved all three of the books in this series and wish there were more to read. The characters are incredible and have been woven nicely into a very creative story!

    42 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    guilty as charged...

    couldnt put the first one down. as a matter a fact i read it one day. my husband was pretty pissed when i did it again with this one :) this is definetly my guilty pleasure! love love love

    29 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Great series! Couldn't put it down. It was everything I had ho

    Great series! Couldn't put it down. It was everything I had hoped. To everyone who loves to use the phrase 'poorly written' get over yourselves and get on with your life! You don't need to spend 4 paragraphs convincing people how brilliant you are by picking apart entertainment and warning everyone not to buy it. It's not that big of a deal and it is NOT poorly written.

    26 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Awesome

    The first book of the trilogy was good and this one is even better. Well written, awesome trilogy.

    21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    A must read!

    A really good book. I hope the author writes another trilogy with terrific but flawed characters that are relatable.

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Must read

    I could not put it down or any of the other books in the series for that matter. Amazing series

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Absoutely Wonderful!!

    Excellent book, as good as the first, could not recommend more!!

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I've never read a better book. It's my bible! Obsessed beyond al

    I've never read a better book. It's my bible! Obsessed beyond all rational reasoning.

    I'm glad to see I'm not crazy, and that almost everyone else who has read this book, and loved it, feels the same way. It pulls you in so hard that you forget your real life all together. And when you do snap out of it you have this sad, longing feeling that something is missing. I don't think anything, and I mean ANYTHING, has affected me the way this book has. Its seriously the best love story ever told. Romeo & Juliet move over....Christian and Ana are here to stay! All i can say is....wow. I'm. In. Love.

    Laters, baby ;) x

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    Read until 4:30am, got up at 8am & couldn't stop until i was finished. Waited 2 hours & bought 50 shades freed. If you are between the ages of 21-60, read this book!! Then beg for a movie as i will.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4063 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 204