Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades Freed (Fifty Shades Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 6558 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4391)

4 Star

(973)

3 Star

(527)

2 Star

(276)

1 Star

(391)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

289 out of 333 people found this review helpful.

WOW

This series is one of the best series I've ever read in my life. I've never read such a moving book ever. In some ways I wished the story would continue but in some ways I'm glad the author wrote it the way that she did and ended it. One thing is is that I wished tha...
This series is one of the best series I've ever read in my life. I've never read such a moving book ever. In some ways I wished the story would continue but in some ways I'm glad the author wrote it the way that she did and ended it. One thing is is that I wished that I knew what Christian was thinking throughout the story. Since this is a first person book from Ana's perspective; that's all that we see.

Hey E. L. please write the story again in Christian's point of view. That would be awesome.

posted by 3768493 on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

147 out of 241 people found this review helpful.

Book 3 Not Necessary, Save your $$

Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the first two books (in spite of the glaring similarities to Twilight--down to the quotes). However I worked my way through it and kept reading. Book Three was unnecessary. Ana keeps swooning over Christian, her annoying "inner go...
Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the first two books (in spite of the glaring similarities to Twilight--down to the quotes). However I worked my way through it and kept reading. Book Three was unnecessary. Ana keeps swooning over Christian, her annoying "inner goddess" keeps rearing her head, and yes Christian still smells like soap and that Christian smell. Ugh! I bought it so I felt obliged to finish reading it, but honestly the book lost steam and there is very little real story here ... very little. All in all STOP at book 2!! Otherwise you might find yourself being more than a little annoyed with Ana, I know I did!

posted by KDarkling on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 6566 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 329
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    WOW

    This series is one of the best series I've ever read in my life. I've never read such a moving book ever. In some ways I wished the story would continue but in some ways I'm glad the author wrote it the way that she did and ended it. One thing is is that I wished that I knew what Christian was thinking throughout the story. Since this is a first person book from Ana's perspective; that's all that we see.

    Hey E. L. please write the story again in Christian's point of view. That would be awesome.

    289 out of 333 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    I cant breathe...

    I heard about the series on a tuesday morning and sunday I came up for air (and i am a full time working mother) i could not put the series down, i stayed up late, i was late for work
    I blew off anything i could to get back to Christian and Ana. When it was all said and done --I missed so much what my husband and i had in the beginning. It reminded me that relationships are hard, but if i want to be happy... really happy... then it takes work. My husband used to call me 3 or 4 times a day (pre-tech) he used to dry my hair after we made love and took a shower. We used to never shower apart as a matter of fact... so many little things. Life is so hard and if we can find our way back to even a little bit of the jealousy, the great sex, and being so into each other we cant stand it then maybe, just maybe, we wont end up on the down side of the statistics. Maybe... heres hoping.

    199 out of 267 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Book 3 Not Necessary, Save your $$

    Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the first two books (in spite of the glaring similarities to Twilight--down to the quotes). However I worked my way through it and kept reading. Book Three was unnecessary. Ana keeps swooning over Christian, her annoying "inner goddess" keeps rearing her head, and yes Christian still smells like soap and that Christian smell. Ugh! I bought it so I felt obliged to finish reading it, but honestly the book lost steam and there is very little real story here ... very little. All in all STOP at book 2!! Otherwise you might find yourself being more than a little annoyed with Ana, I know I did!

    147 out of 241 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Awful

    Are you kidding me? Truly? Alot of money went into marketing for this series. Perhaps a friend or family member of this author? Because I can tell you that they wasted their money. What a hack. Im sorry I can't see any good writing or storytelling here. So blase' and mediocre, hence the one star. The reason I'm so critical is because of all the fantastic hype in promoting this trilogy. It got my hopes and and then BAM disappointment. Reads like the tween books, but has adult content. Not a good combination for intelligent readers. My opinion? Do Not Believe the Hype. Don't waste your time or money. DM

    137 out of 257 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    OMG!!!!! read all three of the Fifty Shades Trilogy in 5 days,

    OMG!!!!! read all three of the Fifty Shades Trilogy in 5 days, I could not put these books down. Thank goodness for the Nook on Android. This last book Fifty shades of Freed had everything you could ever want in a book. Romance, Adventure, Drama, it was so exciting. I laughed, I cried and I was even anxious and angry at times. Absolutely the most amazing books I have ever read. I loved the story of Anastasia and Christian. I can not get these books out of my head and I am so sad that the journey is over. I really miss reading about these two characters. But I do love how it ended. Thank you E.L. James. I recommend these books to anyone who wants a good read and does not mind lots and lots of dirty kinky sex. Loved it, Loved it, Loved it !!!!!!!!

    133 out of 149 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Compelling

    For those who are not versed in erotic fiction, BDSM or familiar with mental health these books might not be your cup. It is a long emotional evolution with an honest description of the realities of what abject abuse and neglect in childhood does to a person. There were a few repeating words and phrases that could have been changed up but the story of these two people was deep enough to overlook that
    I look forward to seeing this author evolve. One of the best most raw depictions of personal demons ive read

    99 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    1st two books were superior. More of the same in this book ----

    1st two books were superior. More of the same in this book ---- inner goddess, subconscious, Christian is sooo hot, I'm so scared. Ugh. Plot virtually nonexistent. The book just kind of meandered around for 450(!) pages on my nook. I can understand people reading this to wrap up the series, but the glowing reviews??? Don't get it.

    94 out of 147 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. will buy more.

    89 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Horrible, predictable and boring

    I suffered through this series thinking there was something good about it, but it was very stale. I started skipping through the sex scenes as it was the same thing over and over. If you cut out all of the repeatiton you'd be lucky to have a whole book left.

    86 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    At the heart of it all, this trilogy is a wonderfully romantic s

    At the heart of it all, this trilogy is a wonderfully romantic story about true love. Yes, it's very sexual, sinfully delicious even, but that becomes the background as you continue on into the lives of Christian & Ana. I couldn't stop reading. It was as if I hadn't eaten in days (don't be mad Grey!) and the books were my sustenance!
    Dive in and you may forget to come up for air! Beware!! (wicked grin)

    81 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    I really just spent $30 on this trilogy...?

    I bought the first book out of pure curiousity, and figured that I might as well just buy the rest since I had started the trilogy. The first two were intresting enough but the last one is absolute crap. The writing is horrible, I grew to absolutely despise Ana and Christian. Ana is so feeble and pathetic and Christian is a psychotic control freak. I truly hate these characters. The sex got so repetitive that I ended up skimming through every single sex scene I came across. The author actually managed to make steamy sex boring and irritating. If I ever hear the phrase ''inner goddess" again, I will scream! And Ana kept referring to her vagina as her "sex." Even the "c" word would have been more preferrable after the hundredth reference to her "sex." I should have stopped reading them, but if I'm going to spend money on a book I'm going to finish it.

    63 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Don't believe the hype

    This is a good series, but better are out there. Try Lora Leigh or Maya Banks.

    Sorry folks, I set the bar high when the books are $9.99 each.

    58 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! Not predictable, I was on edge throughout, ready to duck. A

    Wow! Not predictable, I was on edge throughout, ready to duck. A true to life complicated existence that real people face, except for possibly being tangled with a millionaire boyfriend who is a bit overbearing. Otherwise, this is a fun journey between opposites, as in “opposites attract”, Christian and Ana. They prove to each other that strength comes in many ways and many forms. An amazing love story that I absolutely recommend to all.

    57 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    How good is this trilogy? I've read each book twice in maybe lit

    How good is this trilogy? I've read each book twice in maybe little over a week. No joke. If I had to compare the plot to something I'd say its a more erotic and exciting mix of Pretty Woman, Cruel Intentions, Twilight, and The Graduate I felt emotionally invested and that just doesn't happen very often for me. If you tend to skim through the "fluff" while reading, well, you won't here and that's because there's back-to-back drama, romance, action, and very witty humor. It's a sexy kind of twisted. Everything I've read after these books, doesn't even compare now. This is my favorite trilogy hands down. I've bought the nook books but I will absolutely buy the hard copy still.


    49 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Really?

    The only reason im finishing this series is because i already paid for the books..i hate it..its awful..but my OCD refuses to let me not finish..i feel like ive lost IQ points..maybe sex and romance is just not my thing...and constant bickering and some serious mental abuse..i hate these books

    44 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    I want this series to go on and on and on.

    I have every part of my body that can be crossed, crossed in the hopes that this isn't the end of this fantastic series! I was hooked on every single book and I absolutely love how the characters grow and transform throughout the series, as well as their relationship with one another. It's steamy and romantic without being embarrassingly erotic. There were moments where I felt like crying and moments that made me laugh out loud. I'm recommending this book to all of my friends! Hopefully I'm not the only one going through Grey withdrawals!

    43 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Shocked

    Three people told me about these books, so without even knowing what they were about I bought all three and they were only $6.33 each. They were very easy reads and they kept my attention, however I am shocked that an editor let her re-peat as much as she did. It got to the point that I was counting how many times she wrote "I flush, his lips made a hard line, the fact that they never gave up calling each other Mr. And Mrs. Grey. It was so annoying. At the beginning I'm sure every woman who reads this has some picture of Christian in their minds, but by the end, he was so insecure and it was a total turn off. If I had to reassure my "man" every five minutes, he would no longer be mine. Easily this could have been one book, if you took out how many times she blushed and all the other lines we had to read over and over. I am not going to recommend this to anyone, I just wanted it to be over. So in conclusion, this book was more annoying than anything. And a side note, there is NO way any girl would wear that stupid purple dress on every date they went on, I don't care how much he liked it. I hope if she writes more books, there will be more content and less bs lines over and over.

    39 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Loved this Trilogy

    I absolutely loved this trilogy. I was captivated from the first book to the last. So much emotion keeps you on a roller coaster ride throughout all 3 books.

    39 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Best of the 3...still not great

    Of the 3, this one was the best but still not great. I don't care for 1st person writing style. It's next to impossible to get to know the rest of the characters. This final book in the trilogy did have more of a story line than the other 2 books which is why I gave it 3 stars instead of 2. Christian is not a likable guy. Though he has issues from his past, that is no reason to be an abusive control freak. His personality did not appeal to me at all, therefore I didn't find the trilogy erotic. The fact that Ana put up with physical and mental abuse and his issues with control didn't endear her to me either. Whether writing erotic romance or contemporary romance an author needs to have to the characters appeal to the readers. These 2 did not. I found Ana to be spineless and boring, and I wanted to strangle her every time she made excuses for his horrid behavior.

    The author got what she wanted though, I paid for all 3 books. I would not read anything else published by EL James.

    35 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Captivating story!

    I loved this series and wish there were more to read!

    34 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 6566 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 329