Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades Freed (Fifty Shades Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 6823 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4535)

4 Star

(1019)

3 Star

(558)

2 Star

(294)

1 Star

(417)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

310 out of 356 people found this review helpful.

WOW

This series is one of the best series I've ever read in my life. I've never read such a moving book ever. In some ways I wished the story would continue but in some ways I'm glad the author wrote it the way that she did and ended it. One thing is is that I wished tha...
This series is one of the best series I've ever read in my life. I've never read such a moving book ever. In some ways I wished the story would continue but in some ways I'm glad the author wrote it the way that she did and ended it. One thing is is that I wished that I knew what Christian was thinking throughout the story. Since this is a first person book from Ana's perspective; that's all that we see.

Hey E. L. please write the story again in Christian's point of view. That would be awesome.

posted by 3768493 on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

152 out of 251 people found this review helpful.

Book 3 Not Necessary, Save your $$

Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the first two books (in spite of the glaring similarities to Twilight--down to the quotes). However I worked my way through it and kept reading. Book Three was unnecessary. Ana keeps swooning over Christian, her annoying "inner go...
Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the first two books (in spite of the glaring similarities to Twilight--down to the quotes). However I worked my way through it and kept reading. Book Three was unnecessary. Ana keeps swooning over Christian, her annoying "inner goddess" keeps rearing her head, and yes Christian still smells like soap and that Christian smell. Ugh! I bought it so I felt obliged to finish reading it, but honestly the book lost steam and there is very little real story here ... very little. All in all STOP at book 2!! Otherwise you might find yourself being more than a little annoyed with Ana, I know I did!

posted by KDarkling on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 417 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Awful

    Are you kidding me? Truly? Alot of money went into marketing for this series. Perhaps a friend or family member of this author? Because I can tell you that they wasted their money. What a hack. Im sorry I can't see any good writing or storytelling here. So blase' and mediocre, hence the one star. The reason I'm so critical is because of all the fantastic hype in promoting this trilogy. It got my hopes and and then BAM disappointment. Reads like the tween books, but has adult content. Not a good combination for intelligent readers. My opinion? Do Not Believe the Hype. Don't waste your time or money. DM

    145 out of 270 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Horrible, predictable and boring

    I suffered through this series thinking there was something good about it, but it was very stale. I started skipping through the sex scenes as it was the same thing over and over. If you cut out all of the repeatiton you'd be lucky to have a whole book left.

    93 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    I really just spent $30 on this trilogy...?

    I bought the first book out of pure curiousity, and figured that I might as well just buy the rest since I had started the trilogy. The first two were intresting enough but the last one is absolute crap. The writing is horrible, I grew to absolutely despise Ana and Christian. Ana is so feeble and pathetic and Christian is a psychotic control freak. I truly hate these characters. The sex got so repetitive that I ended up skimming through every single sex scene I came across. The author actually managed to make steamy sex boring and irritating. If I ever hear the phrase ''inner goddess" again, I will scream! And Ana kept referring to her vagina as her "sex." Even the "c" word would have been more preferrable after the hundredth reference to her "sex." I should have stopped reading them, but if I'm going to spend money on a book I'm going to finish it.

    67 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Really?

    The only reason im finishing this series is because i already paid for the books..i hate it..its awful..but my OCD refuses to let me not finish..i feel like ive lost IQ points..maybe sex and romance is just not my thing...and constant bickering and some serious mental abuse..i hate these books

    45 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Such poor writing, did a 12 year old write this

    Can' t believe so many good reviews, the writing is poor, the plot is sophomoric and really, what woman acts like that? What a whiny wuss. In three books it was still the same old whine. The only good thing was I borrowed them from the library instead of buying them so no money lost, just too much time lost. I read the first one, skipped a bunch of passages in the second one and skimmed the third one. I am an avid reader and rarely find a book that I can't find some redeeming value but this book is the first. I cannot recommend this book.

    33 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Here's a brief synopsis: Christian gets mad at Ana. Sex. Ana ge

    Here's a brief synopsis:
    Christian gets mad at Ana. Sex. Ana gets mad at Christian. Sex. Sex. Christian gets mad at Ana. Ana gets mad at Christian. Sex. Sex. Sex. Christian and Ana are mad at each other. Sex. You get the picture.

    31 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Bad

    50 shades of awful

    30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Overall, this "trilogy" gets a big Mehhhh from me. The

    Overall, this "trilogy" gets a big Mehhhh from me. The storyline was familiar; the characters were not all that original or interesting. I bought all thee books for my iPad and for the first time after buying many dozens of books, I have serious buyer's remorse over having spent the big bucks for three extremely short reads that could have been one longer and more compelling novel. I feel ripped off.

    Now for specific issues I had with the story of christian and Ana: first off, I am getting really tired of the BDSM lifestyle being related to some sort of childhood trauma-- in other words, the man was an abused child therefore now the only way he can get sexual gratification is to inflict pain. this is so wrong on so many levels. It basically implies that anyone who is intoD/s is mentally unbalanced somehow, and I don't believe that's true. This part of the storyline was Very trite and cliche. How about C is just a very control freaky kind of guy who likes to spank girls? Big deal.

    Many of the author's little expressions like "my inner goddess jumped for joy" and that kind of thing add nothing to the dialogue and indeed became very tedious to read.

    This would have been an Ok purchase if the entire story (which really isn't very complex) were in one book. But I had to buy all three just to find out what happens to poor Ana. I really hate that and I feel totally ripped off. Clever marketing, but I sure won't fall for thAt trick again. And for those of you haven't our gases these books yet, I want to warn you that if you buy into the hype, you're going to end up with buyers remorse, too. There is NOTHING an any of these three short volumes that you haven't already read or seen. Skip it.

    25 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Seriously,What are people thinking?

    There are so many things wrong with this series that I cannot for life of me understand why so many people have given it such a high rating. I managed to get through the 2nd book only because i had already bought it. I hoped for the best, but it just didn't happen. What a waste of time and money. I just don't get it. The author did nothing but repeat herself over and over again. BORING! It is obvious that the sex scenes are what is piqueing people's interest in these books. Even they got boring. I had such high hopes.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    This was horrible. Ana is one of the most annoying characters ev

    This was horrible. Ana is one of the most annoying characters ever! Yes, Christian is an overbearing, power control freak. But she knew that all along and she married him. Then she does stupid things she know will make him mad, then once he's mad she says "oh my, what was I thinking?" UGH! CHILDISH! The first book of this series is good, I liked it, second book was so so, but this book just plain sucks. It's just too childish to me. This series could have been so great but it just falls short.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Not worth the time or money!

    I keep wondering why I finished all three books! There is nothing in the way of character development or characters worth reading about. Plot!!! What Plot! Yes it had kinky sex...but that is all the author had to offer us! I was so sick of the characters and their stupid dribble, at most times I thought I was going to put it down and not finish. I guess the only reason I finished all 3 books is because I bought into the hype and all of the 5 star ratings and purchased the whole series, and I felt I had made a commitment. Now I feel like I should just be commited, for reading such garbage! I like a little sex and romance as much as the next girl, but who would allow "the man you love" to do those sort of things to them? Apperantly this is all the author had to talk about! When ever I thought there might be a plot or that something interesting might happen, I was let down and led right back to a sex encounter that was just plan maddening. Really ladies...do you want to be spanked?? See a shrink! I would of hit him back no matter how good he smelled!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Horrible. This is quiet possible some of the worst writing I ha

    Horrible. This is quiet possible some of the worst writing I have ever tried to read in years. Seriously did the character really just describe herself by looking the mirror? Can it get more amateur than that? I love a well written erotic book. This isn't one. It just isn't. It fails to live up to the hype. It was was a complete waste of my money. Simply put, there are better written books in the erotica genre out there. If Barnes and Noble and Amazon didn't make it such a pain in the ass to find them, then maybe this piece of tripe would have some competition.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    I Don't Get the Hype

    Read all three books, the second of which was the most tolerable, barely. I was not offended or shocked by all of the sex in the books. I WAS offended and shocked at the treatment of Ana by Christian. Maybe it is because personally, someone would pull the controlling crap of "Do as I say, NOW. Eat this, NOW" for about five seconds before I was out the door. And it got to the point where it was passed off as "Oh, that's just how Christian is!" or having Ana rationalize it as it's her fault in some instances why he reacts the way he does. It screams abuse. I could care less about Christian's abusive upbringing. That doesn't give him the right to call his accidentally pregnant wife stupid, and then walk out on her. All in all, the entire trilogy was poorly written, repetitive in scene and terminology, and all I took away from it was she was in an emotionally abusive relationship with a sick control freak. Read it if you want interesting sex, but the substance is just infuriating for any self respecting female.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Boring, twilight knock off....

    The story itself should have stopped after the second book, and that is almost too much of a good thing. I get it, some women don't get enough sex maybe, but the story dragged and dragged repeating itself over and over. How many arguments about food do we need, enough with the lip biting, Ana's subconscience and inner goddess need to figure themselves out, and really Ana have a little confidence in youself it's exhausting.

    Now has anyone noticed the very distinct similarities to the Twilight Saga? Christian is this beautiful man every woman wants, much like Edward Cullen who has highschool girls swooning over him before he meets Bella. Christian is also adopted into a family of beautiful adopted siblings with a doctor parent. Mia is Alice, same over bearing instant best friends attitude. Jose is Jacob, Bellas best friend who Edward hates. Did I mention he is Indian with dark skin, go figure. Anas dad reminds me of Bellas dad Charlie, same quiet temper. Anas mom is married multiple times and down south with a new hubby, just like Bellas mother Renee. The whole story takes place in the same part of the country. There are just so many similarities it made me crazy! Down to even Christian and Edward are both expert piano players. In both series they both save their ladies from drunk men in an ally.
    The only difference is Edward doesn't want to have sex with Bella because he does not want to hurt her and Christian wants to have sex so that he can cause her physical pain!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Fifty shades grey

    Lame didnot enjoy. I suffered through it.

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    How did this happen

    Ok, how did this trilogy make it to the top. I have to say the story suckered me into to buying 3 of the worst written books I have ever read. Yes, there were naughty bits, which were entertaining in the beginning but became so tedious, when I knew they were about to get into it, I just paged through.
    The story had some promise and the characters were compelling. But the writing! Holy moly.
    I have may never say the words "body wash" again.
    For real fun erotica, good story telling try Louisa Burton's books. Wow.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    My inner goddess was rolling her eyes in disappointment.

    Again the best I can say is it has a tiny plot. The only way I can explain the hype about this series is it take all the typical mainstream fantasies of women and puts them to paper …in a very poorly written novel.
    He’s super rich and oh so dreamy that every women that comes in contact with him visibly swoons. She’s very pretty and smart (supposedly) from middle class, again all the guys want her.
    She’s an inexperienced virgin and he’s into bondage, etc. They have more sex in ten pages that most people have in a month. Oh and his main goal is to get her off. Be prepared though that the sex is written in exactly the same way. It is a huge turn off.
    She is self-sacrificing, and wants to heal his inner issues. He is very protective. She goes out of her way to help him and in the end gets physically harmed while he comes in to save the day.
    There are other horrible clich¿s. My inner goddess was rolling her eyes in disappointment.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Its ok

    The sex scenes are very graphic but feel as if they are only put in the book for the sex alone. Just when i begin to like Ana she again becomes a meek woman who's will is always bent by her husbands sexual advances. No matter how angry she is she always forgives him after an orgasm. I kept hoping for her or Christian to become deeper characters but i ended up disappointed.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Not worth the hype. This trilogy could be a book of about 150 p

    Not worth the hype. This trilogy could be a book of about 150 pages if all the sex and the insecurities of these characters in each other were left out. I finished the first book at 3 in the morning after starting it, and now by the time I have gotten to the third I want to throw it across the room. Seriously if you are in that much in love and supposedly feel so deeply about each other how can they questions themselves. And really do people have that much sex over a bitten lip and a brooding look! And the inner goddess thing is so stupid and used waaaaayyyyy to much. Don't get me wrong I liked the sex scenes to a point, but come on. If you are looking for a story don't read these book. This is porn, people...

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Not recommended

    I was just as if not more so disappointed with "Freed" as I was with "Darker." I was hoping for more of an actual "intrique" story line than I got. Fifty Shades of Grey was a surprise. Darker gave a hint of an actual story and left me hoping that Freed would amount to something. I got bored with the repetiveness of words, statements innuendoes and situations within the trilogies and actually was sorry that I didn't stop with Fifty Shades of Grey.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 417 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21