Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades Freed (Fifty Shades Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 6713 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4470)

4 Star

(1001)

3 Star

(549)

2 Star

(285)

1 Star

(408)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

301 out of 346 people found this review helpful.

WOW

This series is one of the best series I've ever read in my life. I've never read such a moving book ever. In some ways I wished the story would continue but in some ways I'm glad the author wrote it the way that she did and ended it. One thing is is that I wished tha...
This series is one of the best series I've ever read in my life. I've never read such a moving book ever. In some ways I wished the story would continue but in some ways I'm glad the author wrote it the way that she did and ended it. One thing is is that I wished that I knew what Christian was thinking throughout the story. Since this is a first person book from Ana's perspective; that's all that we see.

Hey E. L. please write the story again in Christian's point of view. That would be awesome.

posted by 3768493 on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

149 out of 244 people found this review helpful.

Book 3 Not Necessary, Save your $$

Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the first two books (in spite of the glaring similarities to Twilight--down to the quotes). However I worked my way through it and kept reading. Book Three was unnecessary. Ana keeps swooning over Christian, her annoying "inner go...
Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the first two books (in spite of the glaring similarities to Twilight--down to the quotes). However I worked my way through it and kept reading. Book Three was unnecessary. Ana keeps swooning over Christian, her annoying "inner goddess" keeps rearing her head, and yes Christian still smells like soap and that Christian smell. Ugh! I bought it so I felt obliged to finish reading it, but honestly the book lost steam and there is very little real story here ... very little. All in all STOP at book 2!! Otherwise you might find yourself being more than a little annoyed with Ana, I know I did!

posted by KDarkling on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Book 3 Not Necessary, Save your $$

    Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the first two books (in spite of the glaring similarities to Twilight--down to the quotes). However I worked my way through it and kept reading. Book Three was unnecessary. Ana keeps swooning over Christian, her annoying "inner goddess" keeps rearing her head, and yes Christian still smells like soap and that Christian smell. Ugh! I bought it so I felt obliged to finish reading it, but honestly the book lost steam and there is very little real story here ... very little. All in all STOP at book 2!! Otherwise you might find yourself being more than a little annoyed with Ana, I know I did!

    149 out of 244 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    1st two books were superior. More of the same in this book ----

    1st two books were superior. More of the same in this book ---- inner goddess, subconscious, Christian is sooo hot, I'm so scared. Ugh. Plot virtually nonexistent. The book just kind of meandered around for 450(!) pages on my nook. I can understand people reading this to wrap up the series, but the glowing reviews??? Don't get it.

    95 out of 149 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Shocked

    Three people told me about these books, so without even knowing what they were about I bought all three and they were only $6.33 each. They were very easy reads and they kept my attention, however I am shocked that an editor let her re-peat as much as she did. It got to the point that I was counting how many times she wrote "I flush, his lips made a hard line, the fact that they never gave up calling each other Mr. And Mrs. Grey. It was so annoying. At the beginning I'm sure every woman who reads this has some picture of Christian in their minds, but by the end, he was so insecure and it was a total turn off. If I had to reassure my "man" every five minutes, he would no longer be mine. Easily this could have been one book, if you took out how many times she blushed and all the other lines we had to read over and over. I am not going to recommend this to anyone, I just wanted it to be over. So in conclusion, this book was more annoying than anything. And a side note, there is NO way any girl would wear that stupid purple dress on every date they went on, I don't care how much he liked it. I hope if she writes more books, there will be more content and less bs lines over and over.

    41 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Trying to stop looking at a train wreck

    I received a nook for my birthday and heard about the trilogy an was intrigued enough, like Ana, to have Mr. Grey be my first!! I agree that the writting was poor in general, but book III sounded different...like it was written by someone else (hmm?) I did get sick of hearing Ana wine about if Christian was mad at her or how much they loved each other, but I knew what I was buying. I hope the author gets a royalty from Audi, Apple, Blackberry, Saab, Nieman Marcus, etc. It was like a long commercial that kept comming over and over (no pun intended) ; D

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Ok, so I got caught up in all the hype and started reading this

    Ok, so I got caught up in all the hype and started reading this series simply out of curiousity. Basically, it's an interesting story, but poorly written. Honestly the amount of sex wasn't as shocking as the elementary writing style of this author. The first 2 books were alright if you can get through all of the "oh, my's" and redundant "inner goddess" references. This 3rd book was a complete disappointment and I found myself skipping through the sex scenes to get to the storyline (which turned out to be weak and mediocre at best). Save your money and stop after book #2. I really wanted to like Christian because it was apparent that he loved Ana very much, but I couldn't stomach how controlling he was and how weak of a character she is. Call me crazy, but I thought true love was about being in a partnership. Not sure why so many books are glorifying controlling men and idealizing needy, insecure women.


    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    I grade it a D for dreadful

    I purchased this book wanting to understand all of the hype surrounding this book series. I leave them feeling more confused than ever. If this is what our country considers great writing today then i am sad indeed. There was no character or plot development (I kept looking for some) and in my humble opinion, a thinly veiled excuse to write sex scene after sex scene that do nothing to advance a poorly developed story. Save your money. This one will insult your intelligence.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Ho-hum

    The 1st book was..... WOW! The 2nd book was pretty darn good. This book is so mushy, it's actually boring. The author should have stopped after 2.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    I cannot believe people give this book a 5 star rating!!! The th

    I cannot believe people give this book a 5 star rating!!! The third book was so boring and repetitive!! The story line throughout the whole seires was weak. It had promise to get interesting, but the author failed in going back the the "am I really enough for him" quesiton over and over again. I cannot believe there is talk of making this series into a movie. Where is the story line?!?!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Why a book 3?

    The first 2 books were really good but I found book 3 really hard to finish. Ana's character really got on my nerves. Felt she was to whishy washy and didn't stick to who she was. The "inner goddess" got on my nerves, what she fears or doesn't want she than pushes herself to do those things ??? Ana seems more confused than Christian at times. And yes, the book is meant to be errotic but a bit over played. When reading the first 2 books i found myself excited to read about their sex and in the 3rd I found myself annoyed. The story line lacked as well. Read if you must but don't expect much.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Not sure what people are reading into this series! 2 Stars at Best

    I have now completed all three books and I'm not sure why everyone is giving these such high ratings! The sex is pretty twisted, and the characters are not believable at all. There is no real substance to these books, no real character development or story worth telling...unless you want to read about nothing but kinky sex. I'm not against sex in a story, but can we at least get a story? The moments where there could of been a plot or intense moment was so short lived that it left me wondering why am I reading this? I guess it was because I bought into all the hype and bought all 3 books and felt I had to finish what I started. It left me wishing I hadn't wasted my time and money!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Love the love story

    I love this story!!! Sex scenes got to be much but i love Ana and her inner goddess!! Christian is so flawed and wonderful. I laughed,cried, and cheered this couple on! I suggest Christian Bale to play Christian Grey in the movie he has the eyes for it!!! I reccommend to any adult just wanting a good read

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No longer a story,!just more about sex,sex,sex"

    First 2 books of series held more interest,only read final series to say "I read the trilogy"became bored.draged out the ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    A little disappointed

    Overall, the series was ok. I read all the books because I paid for all the books. The first book was the best of the series and lived up to expectations, but the second two fell flat. The plot was predictable, the characters were stale and the sex was repetitive. The sex that was hot in the first book became boring by the third book. The mark of a great book/series is when the reader is left wanting more at the end. Suffice to say not the case here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Not that bad

    Not that bad but I would'nt recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Get a life

    The story line of all 3 books suck...every 10 pages theres a sex scene....i cant believe somebody bothered to offer to make this a movie....the only way this should hit the screen is if it plays on a playboy channel...i wouldnt spend a dime on this movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    HMMM?

    After hearing all the hype I broke down and bought the first book. Then I was told they got better, so I bought the second. Should have stopped there and saved the money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Stop the Madness...

    I cannot believe I read all three of these books. The writing is not good at all! She had an idea and ran with it, but seriously it is sooooo repetitive I could predict every emotion written. Ugh.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Personally, I have read better romance novels with a more alluri

    Personally, I have read better romance novels with a more alluring plot line. This book trilogy has very few sub-plots (these keep the story interesting). Another reader said the story was unpredictable, whereas I think it's so predictable I got fed up with the repetitive phrases and even her choice in vocabulary words. I love sex and everything about it, however, I feel there was way too much in the novel and not once did I get turned on. I prefer Karen Marie Moning over this author, because there is substance in what she writes and I can identify with each character. The characters in this book were very blase and I don't feel there was much thought put into character development, except for maybe Christian. Fortunately, I never read the twilight series, because to me it's a tween romance, so I cannot personally pinpoint the similarities between the two series. I have read book 1 & 2 and will read book three because I believe in finishing what I have started. I would say the only enjoyable aspect of the book is the email correspondence between Christian and Ana. I am disappointed in this series and will not be reading any further fiction this author puts out. This series should be called 50 shades of dull.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Well...

    I just had to see what the fuss was about.....and now I feel like I overdosed on junk food instead of eating a real meal. I can’t really say anything that hasn’t already been said: the story in contrived and becomes more and more ludicrous with each book. As far as fiction goes, it fails, but it is quite effective as an aphrodisiac.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Not what everyone makes it out to be

    It was an alright series. Very poorly written. Very predictible and the author used many words repitively. It isn't as erotic and women make it seem.. maybe their sex lives are horrible or something. Who knows.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15