BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set

Average Rating 4
( 3217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2075)

4 Star

(443)

3 Star

(240)

2 Star

(155)

1 Star

(304)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

129 out of 170 people found this review helpful.

I finished this book last night.. and now I know the saying of &

I finished this book last night.. and now I know the saying of "I feel like i've lost a friend". I won't say these are the best written books out there. They aren't suppose to be. I had so much fun reading them every day. I love books that go day by day. It ma...
I finished this book last night.. and now I know the saying of "I feel like i've lost a friend". I won't say these are the best written books out there. They aren't suppose to be. I had so much fun reading them every day. I love books that go day by day. It makes it seem more real that way, like I know what they're doing every day. I never in a million years would have thought I would like these books.. let alone LOVE them! This is why I think everyone should give any book a chance.. it might surprise you. I love how this book played with your emotions. One minute I hated Christian and the next I loved him. You could totally feel the emotions through this book. I'm not sure what i'm going to do with myself now that i'm done. They were my first 5 star books of the year and I know I will have a hard time thinking about anything else but these books. So glad my book club suggested them.. otherwise I would have missed out on this wonderful trilogy.

posted by Kristy1984 on April 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

279 out of 352 people found this review helpful.

Sad to say that I caved into the hype about Fift Shades and boug

Sad to say that I caved into the hype about Fift Shades and bought the first book two weeks ago. Needless to say I zipped right through it less then a week (even though I have a very full schedule) and somehow was intrigued enough to buy the second book. Another week la...
Sad to say that I caved into the hype about Fift Shades and bought the first book two weeks ago. Needless to say I zipped right through it less then a week (even though I have a very full schedule) and somehow was intrigued enough to buy the second book. Another week later and I'm done, left with a feeling of loss. What on earth compelled me to even continue after reading through the first book when all the lines seemed to be duplicating themselves? I was so hoping that perhaps if I continued reading, the characters would improve and the story would become more interesting. Needless to say, it was just all erotic scenes full of lust and didn't nothing to stimulate your intellect. I feel like I've been swindled into making a purchase by all the publicity this trilogy has gotten. Even when I read Twilight, I didn't feel like I had been bamboozled, because the story behind that trilogy was actually intense and full of suspense. For those books, I actually went and saw the movies too! But I would absolutely protest of Fifty Shades ever made it into the theaters. It would be a total waste of time and money for both movie-goers and Directors.
Okay, so Ana and Christian both have issues. I think it's been re-iterated to us so many times that everyone knows that by now. Through almost evey page of the book, that is all we ever read. Christian experience something traumatic as a child, that's the reason why he bahaves the way he does now. Ana lacks self-esteem, since she continues to beat herself up and question why this utterly HOT guy wants to be with her, yet she feels the need to be defiant when he tells her to do something? I feel like she's bipolar in so many ways and perhaps they both need to have more sessions with Dr. Flynn. And this BDSM or whatever the heck it's called is down right frightening. I could not even begin to picture the things that was described in this book. It sounds like something out of a scene from Law & Order SVU when they talk about psycho rapists and what not. I almost wanted to through my nook at the wall when I finished the second book. It just never developed into anything that a normal reader would be interested in. Perhaps the readers who are into things of this nature might love this trilogy, but I for one would not recommend it to my friends. I felt bad giving it one star, since there were moments when the story had decent snippets here and there, so I gave it two stars. Since all in all, it's not exactly poor, but it's definitely WAY below average in my standards.

posted by lilshai on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 304 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Eye-rollingly repetitive

    With such a racy synopsis, one would expect negative reviews to spawn from prudishness. However, I have no problem with a good sexy book, and like a hot Alpha male as much as the next girl. This series *could* have been good - erotic and interesting... but fell far short.

    My problem is with the stilted, awkward,repetitive writing. Seriously, Ana says "oh, my" and "holy crap" enough to induce nausea. And don't get me started on "ah" and "argh", eye rolling, and inner goddesses, among many other turns of phrase. I know that this is not supposed to be Pulitzer Prize-winning literature, but I can NOT believe it is bestselling!

    The main characters are washed-out stereotypes, and Ana ish completely unrealistic - especially her innocence. (Seriously, a college graduate who is shocked to feel things "down there"?! And who actually says "down there", lol?) Christian's emotionally crippling childhood and subsequent fifty shades of messed up feel insipid and forced. I don't feel that the whole BDSM lifestyle was well researched or portrayed, and Ana's willingness to completely subjugate all sense of self is sickening.

    The writing is so redundant it is absurd, to the point where you can just read the first couple of sex scenes and fights and skip the rest. The story isn't bad - I was involved enough to buy all three books - but could have been better told as one book if the author removed the gratuitous, ridiculously frequent, repetitive sex, and rethought the stilted dialogue. With such a risque premise, who'd have thunk the sex would be boring? I know I was rolling MY eyes! The Twilight overtones are unmistakeable and awkward, and the flavor of fanfiction is blatantly obvious in a bad way. I liked the idea of the book much better than the actuality, but these books were not a total wash. I just wish I had borrowed them instead of contributing to their climb up the bestseller list and wasting 30 bucks.

    194 out of 230 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Dont bother

    I've heard you either love it or hate it, and I'm in the hate it camp. If I had to read oh my or holy crap or feelings down there one more time, I thought I would hurl. Not to mention her inner goddess. Besides all that, it was just a poorly written book with unrealistic characters, repetitive writing, scenes and dialouge.

    111 out of 147 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    I'm very disappointed in you, world

    It saddens me that someone out there is actually getting paid for writing this crap. This story originated as TWILIGHT FANFICTION - all this author did was change some names.

    How on earth is this a bestseller? Is the world's average IQ dropping like a bomb?

    82 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    I'm not a prude by any standards and I love a good racy, sexy bo

    I'm not a prude by any standards and I love a good racy, sexy book, but these books have no redeemable value in my mind. I read the first one and half of the second one and said "enough!" Not only are they poorly written but I had absolutely NO sympathy for Anastasia and maybe even less for Christian. What WAS the point of these books?

    50 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    The entire trilogy leaves much to be desired.

    I listened to all the hype about FIFTY SHADES OF GREY and got really curious. I wanted to see what all the hurrah was about. Curiosity killed the cat, and in my opinion, it killed my curiosity in the first book. There is a story line if you can pick it out from among all the repetitive porno. I enjoy a little sex and doodling in a story, but I read for the story line:the plot. This was like reading the same stupid porno flick over and over and over; repetitive and boring.... If I could, I'd take the whole trilogy back to the seller and demand my money back! Anastasia was a ditzzy Cinderella wannabe, Christian was a whole other kind of obscenely rich, spoiled rotten, selfish bastard. The fact his life started out bad did not excuse his horrid behavior toward others.
    In short, the story was poorly written, repetitive, boring and a complete letdown. To have the sort of publicity this book had I expected a lot more. I'm just sorry I bought the whole trilogy, furthering it's upward move. I can honestly say, I'll never give a second look to anything from this author again. I think a "creative" writing class would be to her great advantage. Start with a beginners class!

    49 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Save your money

    Save your money. If you must try this story just buy the first book. If you are looking for a good read rather than a sex book you won't want the next two.

    48 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Eh not that good.

    The book wasn' t that good, I mean Eragon has 10x better vocabulary and it was written by a 15 years old. So pretty much it was bad...

    28 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Awful

    If I could rate this less than one star, I would. My high school English teacher would have given me an "F" if I had turned in a paper that was as repetative and cliched as this one is. I hope she bites her lower lip off! I won't waste my money on the second and third book in the series.

    22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    I have to agree with those that thought it was a poor book unles

    I have to agree with those that thought it was a poor book unless you want to read about sex and no story in first book but not interested in purchasing 2 & 3. I did as others and skipped sex scenes. which left little to read. Don't bother purchasing.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Redundant, derivative, and poorly written ***POSSIBLE SPOILERS**

    Redundant, derivative, and poorly written
    ***POSSIBLE SPOILERS***

    The main characters in these books are extremely 2-dimensional. Ana is one of the most annoyingly immature young adult characters I have ever had the displeasure to read. I stopped reading the series about halfway through the second book even though I was tempted to stop about halfway through the first. The frequency with which the author refers to Ana’s internal goddess (and her other inner…whatever, I can’t recall the word she uses for it) is maddening. Virtually none of the characters ring-true.

    The inclusion of BDSM in the book is pointless since the author obviously didn’t feel she needed to adequately research it and use it correctly. (Though BDSM can be practiced sexually or as a lifestyle in virtually countless ways, it is extremely unlikely that a person who previously used it as an exclusive expression of his or her sexuality would easily revert to and gain total satisfaction from “vanilla sex,” as Christian does in this book.)

    I found it difficult to believe that a person such as Ana would be beautiful, extremely intelligent as well as educated and still be as naïve as described while living with and having as a best friend a worldly character such as Kate. In addition, it seems that Ana could potentially have an eating disorder, which is not addressed. The sex scenes are so vague and boring, the story would have been best served had they been eliminated and alluded to rather than included in the book as written.

    I foolishly bought the second and third books in this trilogy prior to reading the first book, so I cannot rightfully blame anyone for my wasting good money and time on poorly written and derivative novels. I can only assume that the pervasive repetitiveness of segments of the story existed to expand a slim plot to three large volumes. The only aspect of this book that would recommend it to potential readers is that I actually had to use a dictionary for some of the words. However, there are far better and enjoyable ways to improve one’s vocabulary.

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Not worth reading for so many reasons

    Not worth reading for so many reasons

    18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Horrible

    Stupid

    16 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Really

    If this book really changed peoples sex lives I wonder how bad their sex lives sucked before. The author never researched BDSM and then tried to write a book about it. Really? This served better as the fanfiction it was before some idiot publishing company decided to pay and print it.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Reader beware

    If you like pornography and poor writing this is the book for you. Otherwise do not waster your time or money. This is simply trendy trash.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    This book becoming a national bestseller marks the end of humani

    This book becoming a national bestseller marks the end of humanity itself.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I've never posted a review before, but am compelled to do so aft

    I've never posted a review before, but am compelled to do so after reading this book. I was first intrigued seeing as how all three books were at the top of the top 100 list. However, after reading some of the reviews I wasn't interested. Apparently, almost every female I worked with has read or was reading this series and praised it. They told me I just had to read it. So I gave it a shot. I'm not sure how I even made it through the first book. Despite all the BDSM it was juvenile. Ana did not act like she just graduated college, she was more of a freshmen in high school. There was not a whole lot of room for character development or growth because the book was filled with page after page of sex scenes. Don't get me wrong I am no prude, but it really gets tedious to where I wanted to put the book down and tell it I had a headache. Every time they had a fight and I thought ok, we will actually get to see some good dialogue here and Ana is going to come into her own...no they have sex instead and all their problems are discarded. One of my other pet peeves about this book series is that it's very repetitive. They both say the same phrases over and over again, and the sex scenes seemed recycled. Christian was unbelievably rich and Ana who was supposed to have graduated college and going into the publishing field spoke as if she were a teenager. Even Christian who was supposed to be sophisticated and acted older than 27 used terms and phrases that where uncharacteristically young. I absolutely would not recommend this book/series. You will not be missing out on anything by skipping it. You might actually be saving some of your brain cells by not reading it, I feel as if I may have lost quite a few reading this garbage. Do yourself a favor and don't listen to your friends and family as I have. Read anything else instead. I could read the direction booklet to a vacuum cleaner right now and be more entertained.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Save your money....

    So not worth it. I've read steamy novels before, but this one is just boring.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    These books set everything feminism has worked for back to the D

    These books set everything feminism has worked for back to the Dark Ages. Disgusting.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    The bad, the bad, and the even badder

    To be 100% honest.... I really am appalled by how popular this book series is. Not because of the "kinky f*ckery"- because of the disgusting attitude toward women. And even worse... it's fan fiction! It's Twilight. Literally. She read Twilight, she wrote fan fiction, she took the fan fiction down, changed the names from Bella and Edward to Ana & Christian, and sold it. And now she is raking in the cash as women everywhere drop their panties and run to buy this drivel.

    Ana is a HORRIBLE female lead. Her stupid inner goddess should have hung her head in shame. Ana was a total doormat. She was afraid of EVERYTHING. I guess we are supposed to applaud that she never signed his stupid contract and she didn't let him beat her?? But frankly, she was a total pansy. Christian isolates, demoralizes, abuses and treats her like a moron. HOW IS THIS HOT??????


    The writer describes Christian as someone who has not matured beyond the age of 15. His past "relationships" all began with him having the "subs" sign a non disclosure contract. How hot. NOT. Then there was the list of things the dom/sub would agree on. This included anal fisting, vaginal fisting, caning, and a bunch of other equally ridiculous garbage. I marvel at the fact that a book that talks about fisting, urination and bowel movements in sex is not only a best seller, it has now become one of the fastest selling books IN HISTORY. What this says about our society is frightening.

    S&M, Erotica... all fine. I have no issue with it. This crap is another thing entirely. "He touched me DOWN THERE." Seriously??? I just about threw the book out the freakin window when it was revealed that all of Christian's ex subs (and Ana too) looked like his dead drug addict mother.

    Christian says he "liked to beat dark haired girls that looked like his mom". Yeah. And have sex with them. That's real titillating. NOT. Nothing turns me on less than reading about some nut who needs major psychiatric help because he is so crippled by life that he chooses to bang women that look like his mommy.

    The stupid sub plots with Mrs. Robinson, then Christian's crazy ass ex sub, and then Ana's boss were just AWFUL. And Ana being out of school for 4 weeks and becoming the boss of the company? Seriously? Then this dumb ass gets knocked up? So formulaic.

    Here's the bottom line. The book is poorly written, to the extreme.

    For all those who thought this was hot, I shake my head at you in horror. Christian was a 1,000 percent flawed human being who was molested as a child and never grew up. He needs SERIOUS PSYCHIATRIC HELP. It was sad.

    For all the housewives who are buying this "mommy porn"... Face it. If this book was written with the EXACT same characters, but Christian was a plumber instead of a millionaire, you wouldn't think it was good. And if Christian was black and lived in Compton, you'd be appalled. The only reason women like this is because he's written as being white, attractive and RICH.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Ugh!

    Good idea for a story.. Baaad writing. I wrote this massively long review for this on goodreads so I am just gonna keep this short and sweet.

    This will either offend you, enthrall you, or make you want to punch stupid people. The writing is bad but that is the least of it's problems. The man is a supposed dominant type who in actuality never takes control and the woman is an obnoxious clumsy twit with the maturity and complexity of a five year old.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 304 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16