Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed 3-volume Boxed Set

Average Rating 4
( 3115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2004)

4 Star

(432)

3 Star

(236)

2 Star

(152)

1 Star

(291)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

127 out of 167 people found this review helpful.

I finished this book last night.. and now I know the saying of &

I finished this book last night.. and now I know the saying of "I feel like i've lost a friend". I won't say these are the best written books out there. They aren't suppose to be. I had so much fun reading them every day. I love books that go day by day. It ma...
I finished this book last night.. and now I know the saying of "I feel like i've lost a friend". I won't say these are the best written books out there. They aren't suppose to be. I had so much fun reading them every day. I love books that go day by day. It makes it seem more real that way, like I know what they're doing every day. I never in a million years would have thought I would like these books.. let alone LOVE them! This is why I think everyone should give any book a chance.. it might surprise you. I love how this book played with your emotions. One minute I hated Christian and the next I loved him. You could totally feel the emotions through this book. I'm not sure what i'm going to do with myself now that i'm done. They were my first 5 star books of the year and I know I will have a hard time thinking about anything else but these books. So glad my book club suggested them.. otherwise I would have missed out on this wonderful trilogy.

posted by Kristy1984 on April 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

269 out of 336 people found this review helpful.

Sad to say that I caved into the hype about Fift Shades and boug

Sad to say that I caved into the hype about Fift Shades and bought the first book two weeks ago. Needless to say I zipped right through it less then a week (even though I have a very full schedule) and somehow was intrigued enough to buy the second book. Another week la...
Sad to say that I caved into the hype about Fift Shades and bought the first book two weeks ago. Needless to say I zipped right through it less then a week (even though I have a very full schedule) and somehow was intrigued enough to buy the second book. Another week later and I'm done, left with a feeling of loss. What on earth compelled me to even continue after reading through the first book when all the lines seemed to be duplicating themselves? I was so hoping that perhaps if I continued reading, the characters would improve and the story would become more interesting. Needless to say, it was just all erotic scenes full of lust and didn't nothing to stimulate your intellect. I feel like I've been swindled into making a purchase by all the publicity this trilogy has gotten. Even when I read Twilight, I didn't feel like I had been bamboozled, because the story behind that trilogy was actually intense and full of suspense. For those books, I actually went and saw the movies too! But I would absolutely protest of Fifty Shades ever made it into the theaters. It would be a total waste of time and money for both movie-goers and Directors.
Okay, so Ana and Christian both have issues. I think it's been re-iterated to us so many times that everyone knows that by now. Through almost evey page of the book, that is all we ever read. Christian experience something traumatic as a child, that's the reason why he bahaves the way he does now. Ana lacks self-esteem, since she continues to beat herself up and question why this utterly HOT guy wants to be with her, yet she feels the need to be defiant when he tells her to do something? I feel like she's bipolar in so many ways and perhaps they both need to have more sessions with Dr. Flynn. And this BDSM or whatever the heck it's called is down right frightening. I could not even begin to picture the things that was described in this book. It sounds like something out of a scene from Law & Order SVU when they talk about psycho rapists and what not. I almost wanted to through my nook at the wall when I finished the second book. It just never developed into anything that a normal reader would be interested in. Perhaps the readers who are into things of this nature might love this trilogy, but I for one would not recommend it to my friends. I felt bad giving it one star, since there were moments when the story had decent snippets here and there, so I gave it two stars. Since all in all, it's not exactly poor, but it's definitely WAY below average in my standards.

posted by lilshai on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sad to say that I caved into the hype about Fift Shades and boug

    Sad to say that I caved into the hype about Fift Shades and bought the first book two weeks ago. Needless to say I zipped right through it less then a week (even though I have a very full schedule) and somehow was intrigued enough to buy the second book. Another week later and I'm done, left with a feeling of loss. What on earth compelled me to even continue after reading through the first book when all the lines seemed to be duplicating themselves? I was so hoping that perhaps if I continued reading, the characters would improve and the story would become more interesting. Needless to say, it was just all erotic scenes full of lust and didn't nothing to stimulate your intellect. I feel like I've been swindled into making a purchase by all the publicity this trilogy has gotten. Even when I read Twilight, I didn't feel like I had been bamboozled, because the story behind that trilogy was actually intense and full of suspense. For those books, I actually went and saw the movies too! But I would absolutely protest of Fifty Shades ever made it into the theaters. It would be a total waste of time and money for both movie-goers and Directors.
    Okay, so Ana and Christian both have issues. I think it's been re-iterated to us so many times that everyone knows that by now. Through almost evey page of the book, that is all we ever read. Christian experience something traumatic as a child, that's the reason why he bahaves the way he does now. Ana lacks self-esteem, since she continues to beat herself up and question why this utterly HOT guy wants to be with her, yet she feels the need to be defiant when he tells her to do something? I feel like she's bipolar in so many ways and perhaps they both need to have more sessions with Dr. Flynn. And this BDSM or whatever the heck it's called is down right frightening. I could not even begin to picture the things that was described in this book. It sounds like something out of a scene from Law & Order SVU when they talk about psycho rapists and what not. I almost wanted to through my nook at the wall when I finished the second book. It just never developed into anything that a normal reader would be interested in. Perhaps the readers who are into things of this nature might love this trilogy, but I for one would not recommend it to my friends. I felt bad giving it one star, since there were moments when the story had decent snippets here and there, so I gave it two stars. Since all in all, it's not exactly poor, but it's definitely WAY below average in my standards.

    269 out of 336 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Trying to find the magic

    I am reading the books again to see if I missed something that everyone else found. I thought they were okay and kept buying them hoping they would improve and live up to the hype but I was disappointed. They stories were typical romance with a little kink tossed in. It felt like the author learned about bdsm from google and hadnt experienced it in real life so the characters emotions and actions during a scene left me disappointed. I started skipping over the sex parts because they all started to be the same.

    61 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Why is it that everyone involved in a BDSM lifestyle has to be m

    Why is it that everyone involved in a BDSM lifestyle has to be mentally and/or emotionally broken in books? Yet another book that preys on the perception of the public in regards to an alternative lifestyle - no, no, it's not listed as a mental illness, but buddy you have got some serious mental issues to cope with. There's not a single character directly involved in the lifestyle isn't completely dysfunctional in this book and in the case of his former Mistress, downright criminal. He's completely, emotionally blocked, his former subs are all written off as self-debasing, mentally ill females incapable of coping with life and is mistress is a self-serving predator. Come on, already, please stop insulting the varied and perfectly "normal", functional and competent people in the lifestyle. Not to mention, can we get an editor in here? The books still have to much of a Usenet feel to be really enjoyable. I mean these people do virtually nothing but f*ck (not to offend anyone, but if you read the books, you really shouldn't be anyway) and between way to many scenes that are virtually a dead bore by the middle of the 2nd book, they're busy having emotional catastrophes of unrealistic proportions.

    45 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    It's not worth the hype

    On and on it goes. Mostly boring parts sandwiched in between action. They want to make a movie out of this. No Way!

    39 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    After awhile I found them to just be annoying and by the third b

    After awhile I found them to just be annoying and by the third book I would find that I skipped the sex in search of a story.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    This trilogy is like watching a trainwreck. You don't want to w

    This trilogy is like watching a trainwreck. You don't want to watch but you can't tear your eyes away. Like another reviewer here, I found myself rolling my eyes more time than I can count. The sex scenes became boring after a while and to me, seemed more like page fillers than anything else. The plot is mediocre at best, nothing too intriguing but I read the darn books so I could justify wasting $30.
    I am sick of the words "carnal" , salacious and God help me, I wanted to scream everytime I read about Ana's inner Godess. What the hell was that all about? She's as screwed up as Grey!
    And to think, they 're looking to make a movie out of this - I just don't see how it could be anything other than x-rated. These books seem to revolve around sex than an actual storyline. Honestly, these books were hyped up and given way more credit than they're worth. I would not recommend buying these - borrow them if you could and save yourself some $$...

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    wow

    I don't know how this book is on the best sellers list. I have never read a book so poorly written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The series started off good. I enjoyed the first book. but th

    The series started off good. I enjoyed the first book. but then it just became the same thing over and over. the same fights. the same sex. by the third book I could not read another sex scene so I ended up going past all of them. I really wish I had not spent the money on these books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    ?????

    Not sure what all the hype was about-i wouldnt let anyone treat me like this. Everyone kept telling me to read these books. Glad when it was over and that one chapter didnt have any sex or mention of inner goddess in it. I wouldnt recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Fifty Shades of Disappointing

    What's all the fuss about these books? I knew this was fan fiction going in, so I wasn't expecting great literature. But the best I can say for this series is that it was easy to read and diverting. I was distracted by the many (overwhelming) similarities to the Twilight series. Hair and crooked smiles - didn't we get enough of that from Stephanie Meyer?

    (Spoiler alert) The big conflict with Jack at the end of the third book was anticlimatic (forgive the pun). It left me as exhausted and disappointed as Ana when she invoked the safe word. It had potential - the author had laid some really great ground work for an extremely intense confrontation but failed to live up to expectations. The entire drama with her father's accident was superflous and did nothing to develope the characters or move the story along.

    At least the epilogue tied things up tidily.

    I can't honestly say that I would recommend these books to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    The sex was fun but by the 3rd book even that was boring. The p

    The sex was fun but by the 3rd book even that was boring. The plot was predictable and reminiscent of Twilight

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Straight Up Porn!

    Bought the trilogy and hate i did. 50 Shades of Grey was not worth all the hype. I put the book down several times. 50 Shades Darker pretty much sucked. I just completed it to see what was wrong with Christian and to see how much more dumb Ana cld get. That character (Ana) truly urked my nerves! If youre into porn then u will def love this book. A love story? More like a sex story. Didnt bother to read 50 Shades Freed...I just skipped to the last few pages to see wht happens to the sex crazed couple and i was further more disappointed and happy i didnt waste my time reading the rest of this pornographic book. NEXT!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Long

    This trilogy was long & not well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Good story, but.......

    I'm in the middle of the third book now. The writing really isn't very good...I'd give her a D in Writing 101.

    Really tired of the over-use of phrases like "the foil packet", "my favorite scent...Christian", and the most ridiculous "his hand cups my sex (actually, anything to do with "my sex"). There are others, but, moving on....

    The sex scenes are boring and, really?.....she has orgasms on demand???

    Right now, they're about 12 weeks into knowing each other and she lost her virginity to him, they broke up after rough sex, got back together, got engaged, got married and honeymooned for 3 weeks. Oh, yes.....in this short time, she cured him of his fear of being touched and his need to dominate and hurt women.

    The underlying story is good, but could have been done in one book without all the ridiculousness. If a movie is made, PLEASE let it be limited to one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    The story behind all the sex in this book is very good. However

    The story behind all the sex in this book is very good. However, I got so bored with all of the "in too much detail" sex scenes" that I started skipping over them in order to read the basic plot. I feel that I wasted my money (and WAY too much time) on this trilogy.....I love a good sexy book, but this ridiculously overkill.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    ugh

    There was way too much chatter about this book. I think book one was the best, after that I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    so repetitive and predictable

    Eith all of the hype surrounding these books, I caved and bought them. Ive gotten through the first two but absolutely CANNOT get into the third. Perhaps I'm a rare female reader that isnt interested in the constant insatiable carnal desires of the male figure. I just found these books to be time wasted as well as money wasted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    I enjoyed 50 Shades of Grey, however, 50 Shades Darker & 50

    I enjoyed 50 Shades of Grey, however, 50 Shades Darker & 50 Shades Freed were AWFUL. Definitely was not worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Rt

    R??tyregyhyvvvbbnmmm,,,n cxzzBnmmmmm,kkeeeeweyytiiioin zaaaaddd?ytyuujjj6

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    The first book of the Trilogy really drew me in and wanting more

    The first book of the Trilogy really drew me in and wanting more. That's why I bought the rest of the series. Not far into the second book, I found myself hoping that the storyline would somehow change and the story would have more meaning. There is no point to the story at all. I did enjoy the sex scenes, as I like to read steamy books as much as the next person. However, it was totally unbelievable that anyone, especially an "innocent" young woman, could want sex at just the touch of "her" man. I, like others, found the story to be repetitive with "Holy crap! Oh, my" and them calling each other Mr.Grey and Ms.Steele got really tiring, along with all their playful bantering. Yes, this is fiction, so it is not supposed to be totally believable, but I found the whole story unreal. I was so hoping for something other than just the typical romance, and 50 Shades was a complete disappointment. lf you must read all three books, save your money and borrow them--don't buy them. It's a crime that the author made so much money off of horrible writing. I wish I wouldn't have gave into my curiosity, which is the only reason I went out and purchased the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8