Customer Reviews for

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 13811 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7450)

4 Star

(2152)

3 Star

(1379)

2 Star

(815)

1 Star

(2015)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

603 out of 783 people found this review helpful.

If you're on the fence, take my advice...

I have never felt so passionate about writing a book review. Before choosing to dive into these books myself, I read hundreds of reviews. These reviews left me unsure about spending the $30 to read the trilogy. I can't express how glad I am that I did. There are a few i...
I have never felt so passionate about writing a book review. Before choosing to dive into these books myself, I read hundreds of reviews. These reviews left me unsure about spending the $30 to read the trilogy. I can't express how glad I am that I did. There are a few important points I want to make: So many of the bad reviews consist of comments regarding the repetitive use of words or phrases such as "inner goddess" or "beguile." Come on now, who cares? Other reviews bluntly call this "PORN." I could not disagree more. Does EL James use the same word twice in a sentence? Does she use the phrase "inner goddess" multiple times throughout the works? Did I have to use my dictionary and/or thesaurus countless times while reading the series? The answer to all of those questions is YES. However, when reading, are these the sorts of things readers should really be focused on? My answer to that question is NO. So what if I had to use my thesaurus? So what if Ana and Christian talk differently than most of my American friends in some conversations? This was a beautiful piece of fiction. Rather than nagging about the fact that I had to look up several words, I saw it as an opportunity to expand my vocabulary, which I absolutely did. Now onto the fact that some people consider these books "PORN." That's absurd. Are there countless sexual encounters, most of them very graphic? Yes. Firstly, when you go to read these books, you are likely well aware of these facts. So, don't complain about it AFTER you read them. Secondly, I do not practice, nor do I know much about the BDSM sexual lifestyle. However, I feel that the BDSM lifestyle is essential to the story of Christian Grey. So are the numerous sexual encounters. The sex and the BDSM aspect play an important role in the story. Without it, the GROWTH of the characters would not be as evident. Christian is a troubled man with a disturbing past, which has led him to choose this type of lifestyle. However, Ana saves him. And, that is what makes this such a beautiful love story... Not to mention, the beginning of most new, steamy relationships does consist of a lot of sex. It's reality for most people. Here's another thing most reviews don't mention: These books are LAUGH OUT LOUD funny! The email exchanges between Ana and Christian had me giggling nonstop. In addition to giving me the giggles, the characteris in this story also warmed my heart, scared me to death, made me furious, and even made me cry. This trilogy has it all! My advice: ignore the bad reviews; ignore the repetition of some words and phrases throughout the book; look past all the sex. See what this story TRULY is: a BEAUTIFUL love story that is the perfect example of how love can change even the darkest of souls. I will certainly be reading the future works of EL James. The Fifty Shades Trilogy is by far my favorite series to date. If I could give 10 stars, I certainly would. READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by a_shipman on May 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1348 out of 1603 people found this review helpful.

Fifty shades of a cheesy romance novel

So I just finished this book, and I'll admit it def. had my attention. And yes it was a fast and easy read. So for entertainment factor I give it 2 stars. HOWEVER, do not be fooled...I would NOT consider this well written, nor is this close to the best book I've ever re...
So I just finished this book, and I'll admit it def. had my attention. And yes it was a fast and easy read. So for entertainment factor I give it 2 stars. HOWEVER, do not be fooled...I would NOT consider this well written, nor is this close to the best book I've ever read. One of the other reviewers mentioned phrases repeated over and over again, and I couldn't agree more. At multiple points, it was as if the story was moving in circles. Sex scene after sex scene...which as you can imagine will keep you reading! So, if you are looking for a mindless romance novel full of descriptive sex scenes.... this is your book. But if you're looking for good literature with depth of characters and story...move on.

posted by 7482562 on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 13834 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 692
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Fifty shades of a cheesy romance novel

    So I just finished this book, and I'll admit it def. had my attention. And yes it was a fast and easy read. So for entertainment factor I give it 2 stars. HOWEVER, do not be fooled...I would NOT consider this well written, nor is this close to the best book I've ever read. One of the other reviewers mentioned phrases repeated over and over again, and I couldn't agree more. At multiple points, it was as if the story was moving in circles. Sex scene after sex scene...which as you can imagine will keep you reading! So, if you are looking for a mindless romance novel full of descriptive sex scenes.... this is your book. But if you're looking for good literature with depth of characters and story...move on.

    1348 out of 1603 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Horrible

    I was sucked in by all the great press. It reads worse than a Harlequin Romance. The characters are pithy and stereotyped. Uggh, don't waste your time or money. And there are two more to come? I am fearful that so many people seem to think this is a great book. :(

    864 out of 1139 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    If you're on the fence, take my advice...

    I have never felt so passionate about writing a book review. Before choosing to dive into these books myself, I read hundreds of reviews. These reviews left me unsure about spending the $30 to read the trilogy. I can't express how glad I am that I did. There are a few important points I want to make: So many of the bad reviews consist of comments regarding the repetitive use of words or phrases such as "inner goddess" or "beguile." Come on now, who cares? Other reviews bluntly call this "PORN." I could not disagree more. Does EL James use the same word twice in a sentence? Does she use the phrase "inner goddess" multiple times throughout the works? Did I have to use my dictionary and/or thesaurus countless times while reading the series? The answer to all of those questions is YES. However, when reading, are these the sorts of things readers should really be focused on? My answer to that question is NO. So what if I had to use my thesaurus? So what if Ana and Christian talk differently than most of my American friends in some conversations? This was a beautiful piece of fiction. Rather than nagging about the fact that I had to look up several words, I saw it as an opportunity to expand my vocabulary, which I absolutely did. Now onto the fact that some people consider these books "PORN." That's absurd. Are there countless sexual encounters, most of them very graphic? Yes. Firstly, when you go to read these books, you are likely well aware of these facts. So, don't complain about it AFTER you read them. Secondly, I do not practice, nor do I know much about the BDSM sexual lifestyle. However, I feel that the BDSM lifestyle is essential to the story of Christian Grey. So are the numerous sexual encounters. The sex and the BDSM aspect play an important role in the story. Without it, the GROWTH of the characters would not be as evident. Christian is a troubled man with a disturbing past, which has led him to choose this type of lifestyle. However, Ana saves him. And, that is what makes this such a beautiful love story... Not to mention, the beginning of most new, steamy relationships does consist of a lot of sex. It's reality for most people. Here's another thing most reviews don't mention: These books are LAUGH OUT LOUD funny! The email exchanges between Ana and Christian had me giggling nonstop. In addition to giving me the giggles, the characteris in this story also warmed my heart, scared me to death, made me furious, and even made me cry. This trilogy has it all! My advice: ignore the bad reviews; ignore the repetition of some words and phrases throughout the book; look past all the sex. See what this story TRULY is: a BEAUTIFUL love story that is the perfect example of how love can change even the darkest of souls. I will certainly be reading the future works of EL James. The Fifty Shades Trilogy is by far my favorite series to date. If I could give 10 stars, I certainly would. READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    603 out of 783 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Bad book, poorly written

    Hated it. Found that both the lead chatacters annoying ,i think Ana

    a actually "flushed" three times in the course of one page.geez! Enough with the flushing alteady!! If anyone wants to read a real piece of classic errotica try "the story of O" or perhaps " justine" by the marque de sade.

    450 out of 624 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    This book is godawful. I've given it one star because I can't s

    This book is godawful. I've given it one star because I can't seem to figure out how to give it zero stars. Aside from the amateurish writing that's riddled with conventional errors, it's a gross misrepresentation of BDSM. I'm sure those who engage in that lifestyle will be thrilled to know the novel portrays BDSM as a playground for a female pedophile and an emotionally disturbed who uses BDSM as an excuse to exorcise his inner childhood demons on subs who look like his abusive mother. Sick Oedipus complex aside, this novel is full of gaping holes in plot and character development. And that's quite a feat considering it used to be a work a fanfiction and those elements were already created for the author in the original work. At best this novel would be a guilty pleasure, like it's predecessor, Twilight. But there are many more established and accomplished novelists who do it better. It's a sad day for the literary community when this sub-par derivative work gets top billing.

    396 out of 540 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    I consider myself a well read adult. I have to say I just DO NOT

    I consider myself a well read adult. I have to say I just DO NOT GET IT!!!!!! This is just an ongoing 384 pg book of a boring womans sexual tryst with an equally awful male. There were no surprises and the only reason the pages kept turning was the fact that I purchased this book after it hit No.1 on trade paperback list. I am thankful I had the Nook version....I feel sorry for the summertime beach readers who will undoubtedly show the cover for all to see. I felt it was redundant and too much sex for this novel just became a bad, boring thing. Absolutely no desire to purchase the other two books. Some say it kept the reader on edge...maybe... on the edge of a building about to jump off just trying to get to page 384!!! I wanted to poke my eyes out.....thank God it's over!!!!! I wish I didn';t have to give it one star, maybe this site should consider putting in negative numbers!!!!!!! If you are going to read something make it something else!

    348 out of 451 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    pathetic

    stomach-churning prose with a woefully pathetic plot about a girl (she's of a woman's age, but hasn't the maturity) who, in rom-com form, bumbles and stumbles into this guy's life then does whatever she can to please him - humiliating things - in the hope that he will love her.
    if you're into kink, be into kink. if you're changing yourself in ways you aren't comfortable with in the hope that some power-hungry, manipulative jerk might like you - i feel sorry for you
    what a terrible storyline. what a terrible message for women and men. retro-grade trash.

    327 out of 442 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Poorly written, terrible romance

    Like others I bought this to see what the fuss is about. It does make for a good book club discussion piece on how bad the book is. It's poorly written, choppy and stilted and is one of the worse romance stories I've ever read. Who would enjoy a romance where the woman cries every other page and the man is constantly angry and pathetic. The only thing I can see worthwhile is that some of the erotica scenes are half decent. But there are a lot of great books available that are well written with better romance stories and great sex scenes. Don't waste your money on this one.

    286 out of 387 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Piece of garbage

    UGH...My friend told me everyone.on Long Island is reading this rubbish. Now I know why I moved from Long Island. This book is insulting to anyone who has higher than a third grade education.

    285 out of 416 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended, but Should be Available on Nook

    This is a great read and E. L. James certainly has some great storytelling techniques. The author does a great job of keeping the reader on the edge and she adds amazingly disturbing details in everything she writes. Last, a great book like this should undoubtedly be available on Nook.

    274 out of 465 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Oh my, she flushed. My inner goddess cannot believe she wasted s

    Oh my, she flushed. My inner goddess cannot believe she wasted six hours of her life reading this nonsense. I do not know that I have ever read a more poorly-written book. Did anyone even edit this book, or spell-check the content? The only thing I enjoyed about reading it was that I was able to read it on my iPad. That and the fact that I could hit "delete" when I finished it.

    237 out of 320 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained all the wa

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained all the way through.

    233 out of 368 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    I guess I just expected something more after all of the buzz. I

    I guess I just expected something more after all of the buzz. I was disappointed.

    209 out of 289 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    This book is depressing. That's the only way I know how to descr

    This book is depressing. That's the only way I know how to describe it. It felt like there was a dark cloud over my head while I was reading. I put the book down and felt the need to sit out in the sun for awhile. No exaggeration. The characters are horrible. Is this how young women think and act these days? Like completely clueless dolts? Are we supposed to think Christian Grey is sexy? Because he gave off a serious Ted Bundy vibe to me. I've read my fair share of romance novels and bodice rippers. I have even read and enjoyed the Twilight series. But I have never read such low quality writing in my life. How in the world did this get published? That's another aspect that depresses me. The English language has been butchered to a carcass. "Thomas Hardy" (whom the narrator contuinually mentions) is rolling over in his grave. Save your money, please.

    184 out of 246 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    $21.00? Get real!! Unfortunately, this originated from a Twilig

    $21.00? Get real!!
    Unfortunately, this originated from a Twilight fan fiction titled "Master of the Universe." Google it and add "PDF" to get a copy.
    Basically, the author just changed Edward/Bella into Christian/Anna. Unbelievable.

    139 out of 223 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Wow, did that suck!

    I am not sure if I can find the words to describe how badly written this book is. I actually purchased this for some light reading, something I can read while the tv is on. But I can go no further. I am no writer, and I certainly don't pretend to be, but this was just terrible. 60 pages worth of time I will never get back.
    Take my advice and give this disaster a miss.

    137 out of 193 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Horrible!

    I am a voracious reader, and I have read many erotic romances. Not only was this book extremely poorly written, I also found it incredibly disturbing and downright disgusting in some places. I am not a fan of BDSM, but if it's well written with some real emotion behind it, I'll gladly give it a go. These characters have zero personality. She's a complete twit and he's a very disturbed robot. I knew by the end of the first page I couldn't bear to finish, but I forced myself to read about a third. Honestly, I've read much hotter sex scenes in a good historical romance. Some of the descriptions actually made my skin crawl. I am completely mystified how this book ever got published. No wonder she only used her initials on the cover.

    132 out of 189 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    The stars are for the scenes only...but rent first.

    Rent. Rent. Rent. Overdrive or library. Seriously.

    This wasn't the best. Actually, the MC perspective makes an English Major cry. If she wasn't talking about her 'inner goddess' battling her subconscious -- this was every other page! -- it was a complete repetition of 'Oh my!' or 'Holy <input expletive>'. Even the medula oblogata popped up at least three times... and I've only EVER heard that from The Waterboy. You know what I'm talking about. The D/S scenes were the only thing really holding this story.

    'Aargh!' is also the main characters' orgasm cry. Get used to that.

    Oh, on a final note...the author needs to work on their foreshadowing techniques. In the beginning, if every facial tweek Christian has is secretive... it's obvious. He has a secret.

    121 out of 173 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Fantastic

    I loved this series from beginning to end. Once I picked up this first book I couldn't put it down. I had to read each book right after one another. Definitely worth the purchase and the time to read it. A series in which I loved every book..such a rare thing to find when reading series.

    96 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Dont bother...

    Poorly written. Not good at all. How was this a ny times best seller?

    95 out of 141 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 13834 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 692